Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 95BOASK Boar Spear 82-1/8" Overall, Secure-Ex Sheath

Cold Steel 95BOASK Boar Spear 82-1/8" Overall, Secure-Ex Sheathrated 4.364 stars out of 5 (11 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Cold Steel 95BOASK Boar Spear 82-1/8 inch Overall, Secure-Ex Sheath

 

Price: $63.95

Save $42.04 (40%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 95BOASK Boar Spear 82-1/8" Overall, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Skylar
DE
May 09, 2011
Pros: Finish, Usability, Handle Material, Head Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None
It's a spear no home should be without.
I got this mostly for display, but it is definitely battle ready! It does take some minor assembly, cause the head is held on with tension, and two screws keep it from coming off. I would recommend drilling out a pilot hole before screwing them in. It's not really a thrower, but it could be thrown, it's just really stout. The thick hardwood shaft is nicely finished, and still leaves the spear feeling lively in the hands. Certainly boar hunting quality. The sheath is excellent as well! Stays on without the strap, which is removable. The head has a needle sharp point and very sharp sides, a short sword in its own right. Just buy one!
Cold Steel 95BOASK Boar Spear 82-1/8" Overall, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert
Indiana
Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Materials, Usability, Handle Material, Head Material, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Finish
Cuts like a hot knife through butter
Order the spear on a Monday. Delivered on Wednesday. You have to attach the Spear head to the shaft with 2 screws not provided. On Friday- Sunday of that week will killed 5 Russian boars, 175-300lbs each. Everyone was amazed how easy this thing cut though a hog. We already are planning the next trip. Pro - the head can bend 45 degrees and return to original. Sharp as heck. Cons- afterwards we have coated the wooden ash pole with rubber. We felt the varnish was to slick, so everyone sanded theirs and found a new coating. I used a spray rubber for tools. Gonna hang the blade next to the boar mount!
Cold Steel 95BOASK Boar Spear 82-1/8" Overall, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Crazylarry
west virginia
Oct 23, 2012
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Head Material, Overall Quality, Usability
Cons: None
great spear
Now this is one heavy-duty spear love it I cut about a foot off of it so I could throw it better
Cold Steel 95BOASK Boar Spear 82-1/8" Overall, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fed
Canada
Sep 14, 2015
Pros: Head Material
Cons: None
Excellent weapon for hunting boar
Excellent product more effective than I was thinking for boar hunting and we get our first boar with it ^^.
Cold Steel 95BOASK Boar Spear 82-1/8" Overall, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nhu N
North Carolina
Apr 11, 2013
Pros: Finish, Usability, Handle Material, Head Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Quality
This is a great product! Me and a few friends put it through some abuse and it performed excellently. The spear was bigger than i thought but was surprisingly light for its size. The spear head came sharp and seemed to be oiled which was a nice touch. The shaft is tough and sturdy. The only problem with the spear is that the screws that comes with the spear are a little small, but that's not a big deal. Also, whenever the spear was shipped, it came very quickly which was also a nice touch.
Cold Steel 95BOASK Boar Spear 82-1/8" Overall, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Julian Parker
picayune,ms.
Jun 11, 2011
Pros: Materials, Usability, Handle Material, Head Material, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Finish
cold steel boar spear
its a great spear plenty of reach,ballanced well,strong,good edge,needs to be sharpened a little to make it razor sharp,strong pole,but it is a bit heavy takes some time to get use too.
Cold Steel 95BOASK Boar Spear 82-1/8" Overall, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mecomak
north cal
Sep 13, 2015
Pros:
Cons:
Excellent spear
Went hunting the boar yesterday with mi pal, sliced trought it like melted butter.
Cold Steel 95BOASK Boar Spear 82-1/8" Overall, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bini Louis
Montois La Montagne,
Nov 06, 2011
Pros: Head Material
Cons: None
Great spear
Cold Steel 95BOASK Boar Spear 82-1/8" Overall, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Barnabejay
Pacific Rim
Mar 30, 2016
Pros: Usability, Handle Material, Head Material, Materials
Cons: Finish, None
Functional, durable, heavy-duty
Although this spear isn't exactly beautiful, it is a very sturdy and fully-functional hunting tool/weapon. DO NOT mistake this for a throwing spear as it is simply too hefty. The long, sharp edges allow this piece to work as a chopping tool in a pinch, but its true strength is found as a lance/thrusting spear. The CS Boar Spear comes with a noticeably heavier, thicker shaft than its cousins, the CS Assegai spears. Furthermore, the spear head is considerably thicker, and sports a crossbar to keep game from sliding all the way up the shaft. Like a lot of CS products, this was built with simplicity and functionality in mind, with relatively little focus on appearance.
Cold Steel 95BOASK Boar Spear 82-1/8" Overall, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
David L
Clarksville Tn
Dec 04, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Usability, None
Cons: Head Material
Boar spear
I intended it for hunting. Really have no complaints other than the spearhead itself. Edge angle was too steep to put a decent edge on it. So I decided to adjust the angle and hone. However...Rockwell hardness exceeded that of files. Electric Knife sharpener and coarse stone's also failed. Finally achieved results using Dremel with sanding drum.
Cold Steel 95BOASK Boar Spear 82-1/8" Overall, Secure-Ex Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Dave
Minnesota
Apr 29, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, None
Cons: Materials, Finish, Head Material, Overall Quality, Usability
sharpened garden trowel
This is the worst design I have ever seen. The picture is misleading. Turn the spear head over, and you will see it is a piece of sheet metal STAMPED into a spearhead like shape on ONE SIDE. It doesn't even look good on the wall because it is obvious to anyone that looks. Once I had it in my hands, it looks like a sharpened garden trowel.