Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 97BWM12S Bowie Machete 12" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath

Cold Steel 97BWM12S Bowie Machete 12" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheathrated 4.720 stars out of 5 (25 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
18
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Cold Steel 97BWM12S Bowie Machete 12 inch Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath

 

Price: $19.95

Save $13.04 (40%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 97BWM12S Bowie Machete 12" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Maurice M
627 Lakeview Blv. Apt. 422/78130
Sep 25, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Cold Steel Bowie Machete 12" Great!
Love it! Best buy on a knife I ever made. I marvel at the quality I got for the price. It's as sharp as a razor. I have a heavier made Bowie of Damascus Steel that I paid a $100 for, and it is junk compared to this knife. Knife Center does a good job of getting it to you. I bought one, put braided rawhide, (which it doesn't need), on the handle and sent it to a friend. Had a little burr on the blade which was easy to get rid of, and now sharp as a razor.
Cold Steel 97BWM12S Bowie Machete 12" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jash
Australia
Dec 30, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
That’s not a knife....
THIS IS A KNIFE! Definitely the best value large knife/small machete money can buy. This is what you want in your hands if you come across a wild pig while out hiking or camping. The blade will sharpen to a razors edge with a bit of work on a stone, and being a machete it will take a beating that would destroy other large and more expensive knives. For the price I cannot think of a single other blade that will match it on value for money. It doesn’t have the best finish, but it’s a tool, not a showpiece. Buy it, use it, love it!
Cold Steel 97BWM12S Bowie Machete 12" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joey
Virginia Beach Virginia
Nov 25, 2013
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
bang for the buck
if you want a heavy duty field knife that will chop anything this is the blade for you, well priced and with just a little touch up took an edge nicely.
Cold Steel 97BWM12S Bowie Machete 12" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
David M
oklahoma
Jun 19, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Great light chopper, great thrower, sharper than expected, strong durable blade, easy to cary on long hikes worth every penny
Cold Steel 97BWM12S Bowie Machete 12" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stjohnso
chicago
Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Weight, Blade Material
I bought three
Delicate handling and solid power. I use it for gardening. The tip is thin and delicate enough for poking and weeding. I pick and sort with the tip, the blade tip easily inserts into dirt 4 inches and its stiff enough to torque or do roots. No cap on handle so you cant't hammer it in but a little light baton on the cap is OK. 1055 Blade is what I call dead. I don't especially like 1055 for edges but that's just me. I like AUS 8a and spring steel. The Bowie Machete does not sing like my 1095 imacasa double edge machete which I can make evil sharp in no time at all. Being short and stout the Bowie isn't really quick enough to cut tall grass and bush leaves but it's ok for stiffer twigs and vines. A bit tip light, and heavy in the belly it sort of seems like a light hatchet. However, it doesn't seem likely to cut firewood or big pine trees. Your elbow will hate you. No wild limbing and slashing through willow thickets like the long old army latin style ontario? machete I had in Alaska. Not for building tree forts but the bowie can handle cutting in tight areas where the latin machetes don't have room to swing and are long and clumsy. All in all, I consider it a machete bowie more than a bowie machete. But hey..I bought three!
Cold Steel 97BWM12S Bowie Machete 12" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Resident
Guam USA
Jun 22, 2013
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
My blade came with a convex edge. The cutting edge of the blade is rough because the factory sharpening did not take the time to remove the feather left by this sharpening technique. Remove the feather by stroking the blade edge very softly backwards away from your stone instead of into the stone as normal. It is essential that only the tip of the edge touch the stone. Also, to help remove the feather, when you rock the edge until it meets the stone, raise the back of the blade slightly, light touch on stone and the feather will come off. This is a very fine blade and grip. I will however, wrap the grip with tennis racquet grip tape and cut down an old GI plastic machete sheath to length. I keep all my machetes in these sheaths. Much better safety and protection. You won't be sorry! 1055 carbon steel at 53-54 Rc is as tough as blades get.
Cold Steel 97BWM12S Bowie Machete 12" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Texas John
Texas
Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
This is the best bargain on Knife Center. It came ith a good edge, but I smoothed it out with a crock stick. It is light enough to wear on a belt without feeling the extra weight.
Cold Steel 97BWM12S Bowie Machete 12" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dameon
AL
Dec 30, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Handle Material, Finish, None
Good machete
This machete is shorter than most so it's good if you're trying to keep your pack light. The Bowie style works well for a machete.
Cold Steel 97BWM12S Bowie Machete 12" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
James
USA
Sep 14, 2019
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Finish
Cons: None
Great value and multi-purpose
I agree with comments about the value. I bought several to give to in-law relatives in the Philippines who need a defensive knife that can double as large field knife. I am sure they will also use this on green coconuts, roast pig, and large fish. Very fast in hand and easy to carry. I will probably buy more. EDC Philippine style!
Cold Steel 97BWM12S Bowie Machete 12" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert
Bremerton WA
May 30, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Another Cold Steal Steal!
This knife is another example of a Cold Steal product that works like crazy but costs next to nothing! The Bowie and the Gladius Machete are two of my favorite products, tools that feel like they would work as well in ancient Rome as they would in modern day. If I had to choose one item to take with me into the wilderness, it would be one of those two knives. They are easy to sharpen and durable as heck. The Bowie is smaller and more compact, while the Gladius is just awesome.
Cold Steel 97BWM12S Bowie Machete 12" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Genghis
Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Bowie MONSTER machete
I bought this on a whim and boy what a surprise ! Hair popping sharp right out of the bag . This is Cold Steel QUALITY , too bad the company dropped the ball with the other "machetes" . I haven't seen quality like this since the early 90's .
Cold Steel 97BWM12S Bowie Machete 12" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charles N
California
Oct 31, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
best buy for the buck
Love this cold steel bowie machete. A perfect balance of knife and machete. I probably have fifty machetes and at least as many large knives and this is the handiest of the lot. It did however require a LOT of sharpening. I'll be buying a few more for my van and B.O.B.
Cold Steel 97BWM12S Bowie Machete 12" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Roy
Houston, Texas
Jun 06, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Solid for the price
Cold Steel makes some of the best cutting tools in the world. This one isn't pretty but for the price it's perfect. The blade holds an edge, the size and weight make it ideal for use as a general purpose camp knife. It's heavy enough to chop light underbrush and it turns over frying bacon strips quite nicely. A good value.
Cold Steel 97BWM12S Bowie Machete 12" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Maurice M
78130
Sep 07, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
I don't know what you mean here.
The best buy for the money I ever made on a knife. I've ordered another to give to a friend. Bowie Machete by Cold Steel.
Cold Steel 97BWM12S Bowie Machete 12" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim W
Kirkland, WA
Jun 23, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
A beast
It's not pretty, but you can't beat the value. It took a bit of work to get the edges where I want them, but I'm confident it will do whatever I want it to.
Cold Steel 97BWM12S Bowie Machete 12" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vince C
Virginia
Jun 17, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Awesome Value
For the price you pay this is everything you could ask for. Some people complain of dull blades but mine came really nice and sharp. Get it if you want a good knife for 17 bucks. Make sure you keep it oiled though.
Cold Steel 97BWM12S Bowie Machete 12" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gerry
Georgetown TX
Jun 18, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Outstanding Value
Great price from Knife Center and the expected quality product from Cold Steel. Cutting edge is sharp and clip can be easily sharpened. Light weight makes it easy to carry and use for all camping chores. Good length for a hallway:)
Cold Steel 97BWM12S Bowie Machete 12" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Yosemitesam
Pactolus NC
Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
12" Bowie Machete Review
This Bowie machete is exactly as described and expected. There were no surprises. The balance and heft are appropriate for light chopping, clearing vines or light brush, and if you take time with the edge it's pretty good as a knife. Being that it is all black, I highly recommend tying it to the sheath, a belt or belt loop, something, so it doesn't get left on the ground somewhere. I would like to see an option for a LH sheath. I did not list finish or blade sharpness as pros because finish of a machete is unimportant to me and I feel the edge on a machete is my responsibility to get it to my liking.
Cold Steel 97BWM12S Bowie Machete 12" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Nick G
NE pa
May 31, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
needs work but worth it.
if youre willing to put a few hours work into sharpening this blade ( out of the box cant even cut paper) , you will have a short machete shaped like a bowie that takes a razor edge, is super light, and chops like a madman. mill file first, then stones: coarse - medium - fine. and you can literally shave with this. it can effectively replace a large knife and a medium machete. keep the edge oiled or it will rust (one drawback of carbon steel). overall welll worth the 18 bucks.
Cold Steel 97BWM12S Bowie Machete 12" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Boone
West Virginia
May 27, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Finish, None
Worth the price
Would be a 5 star except the grind was uneven.
Cold Steel 97BWM12S Bowie Machete 12" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jimd
Indiana
May 30, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Great camp knife!
I bought this machete for a camp knife and it will work very well for this, the only problem I had was getting the sticker from Cold Steel off of the blade...small problem.
Cold Steel 97BWM12S Bowie Machete 12" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Guy
italy
Nov 24, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
hog and hogs
good for everything
Cold Steel 97BWM12S Bowie Machete 12" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mihalachi A
belgium
May 06, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Overall Quality, None
Cold Steel Bowie machete
Hello dear friends. I'm happy to be the first to leave a review about the new small machete from Cold Steel. All of you are probably looking at a price of 17.95 US dollar and immediately thinking. What can you buy for the money? Or. Is it for the money you can buy a normal knife for hiking and traveling? You know, maybe. And a knife in front of you. And it's Bowie Machete 12 "Carbon Steel Blade. Believe me, I do not work for Cold Steel, and not even on the Knife Centrum. Simply express my opinion. Upon receipt of the box we obtain twelve inch large knife. Made in South Africa. Rubber grip. An ideal and comfortable for weight and length of the blade. The blade is black, coated with resin. The blade is perfectly smooth, but very rough and poorly sharpened. And what we expected for 17.95? But with normal hands and a great love for knives, this piece of poorly trimmed with metal handle can be turned into a beautiful and comfortable knife for all occasions. Personally, I first washed with acetone all the paint. Then, picking up a good file, made the blade smooth and perfect. Then re-plated blade with black lacquer. And at the very end sharpened to a razor blade under the condition of 21 degree angle. It turned out not even bad. And believe me now does not look like a knife to 17.95. So that's it. Some work to do and you get a utility knife for all occasions. Buy, do not hesitate. All you get, and everything will be OK Hello everyone. Thank you. A. Mihalachi
Cold Steel 97BWM12S Bowie Machete 12" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mike S.
rhode island
Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
cold steel bowie machete
i bought this bowie as a purley defensive tool. and it does that job very well. it could have been a little sharper. but what do you want for twenty dollars? it has a pleasing heft to it but at the same time it is Quick. penatration is outstanding. could have used a handguard (quillion) when used in conjunction with a tomahawk it makes an outstanding defensive package.
Cold Steel 97BWM12S Bowie Machete 12" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kelly S
Rolla, Mo
Mar 05, 2019
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
RENDEZVOUS BOWIE
I will be using this for my Mountain Man Rendezvous. I've a very long, think & large deer antler that I'll use to replace the handle. NO shiny stainless steel; I'll antique it a bit. Knife came fairly sharp but had some metal burrs on edge. Doesn't matter to me; I sharpen all new knives I buy. If used for camping, this would be great for batoning firewood, although I've not tried it. Would have liked a finger choil, but it's not necessary; I can make one if I want. Nice handle with a solid grip for those who want it as is. PRICE CAN'T BE BEAT FOR THE SIZE AND QUALITY OF A MACHETE BOWIE THAT WILL BE A CAMPFIRE CHOPPER AND A KNOCK AROUND CAMP KNIFE.