Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 97TMSTS All Terrain Chopper 21.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath

Cold Steel 97TMSTS All Terrain Chopper 21.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheathrated 4.875 stars out of 5 (16 reviews)
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Cold Steel 97TMSTS All Terrain Chopper 21.5 inch Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath

 

Price: $26.95

Save $18.04 (40%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 97TMSTS All Terrain Chopper 21.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pels
NJ
Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Awesome
This will do well clearing brush, very heavy duty and easy to carry with the back sheath. Don't be in a hurry to get it out though as it has three snaps before it comes loose
Cold Steel 97TMSTS All Terrain Chopper 21.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Craig S
Phoenix, Ax
Jun 10, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
This is no light weight chopper
I bought this as a gift so I didn't get to try it out too much. It is nice, sharp and heavy with a thick blade. It looks really cool too. I can tell it will be great for executing tree limbs and big bushes. Plus I'm giving it to my ex girlfriend. Chances are she won't want it. That's good for me. I'll take it.
Cold Steel 97TMSTS All Terrain Chopper 21.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michele
Napoli ( Italy)
Aug 20, 2013
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Finish
DEVASTATING!!!!!
devastating on vegetation and .....!!!For the price is a very good machete, really very good. Sharpness could be better and handle material is poor but in line with price tag.
Cold Steel 97TMSTS All Terrain Chopper 21.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Earl
Florida
Jun 13, 2017
Pros: Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
Great machete for heavy brush.
I use this machete for cutting large brush 2" or more in dia. It is heave enough to use two handed and the handle is big enough for that. Blake shape is better for heavy work than a lighter drop point. I did have to resharpen it because of the angle of the grind. It cut twice as well after that slight modification.
Cold Steel 97TMSTS All Terrain Chopper 21.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Natasha
Washington
Oct 14, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Wow!
This was a great purchase although I definitely underestimated what 21 and a 1/2 inches would be in my hands! Ha, it's a beautiful and deadly weapon, can't wait for a need to arise to use it properly.
Cold Steel 97TMSTS All Terrain Chopper 21.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tricky Dick
Arkansas
Jul 10, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Finish, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Good value chopper
It's just as mean and ugly as expected. The grind is decent enough for a machete. It arrived pretty sharp. The finish under the stupid sticker they put on it peeled off with it so don't expect that to last, still it's better to have some protection rather than none. The handle is nice. It's a pain to mess with the sheath, it's either out or in, there's no quick draw and it has several snaps to deal with. Overall, this thing is a beast, well worth a purchase. I chose this over the new katana and I'm glad I did, this is way more brutal, which suits my style.
Cold Steel 97TMSTS All Terrain Chopper 21.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eric
Nashville, Tenn
Nov 30, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Handle Material
Excellent Clearing Tool
After a significant storm blew down some small trees, I used this to hack off limbs and vegetation. Heavy enough to cut through medium green branches and completely through deadfall. Only con I really have is the handle. Too slick as the length and heft make it difficult not to use two hands and a wide swing path. I got tennis racket re-wrap and did the handle. Much better. The top snap on the scabbard will not fit around the wrap, but it is a tool. Cleans with soap, water and some WD40.
Cold Steel 97TMSTS All Terrain Chopper 21.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom
little Rock,AR
Jun 16, 2013
Pros:
Cons:
Cold Steel got it right with this one
I bought this machete because I thought it looked cool. I didn't expect it to be of much use to me since I already own a few condor and handmade machetes. Much to my surprise, this chopper has shown to be a highly useful tool. I even used it to chop down an old fence post ( freaked the hell outta my neighbor). The 18 inch blade has such good heft, u don't have to swing that hard to get the job done. Even when the blade isn't that sharp. That shape makes all the difference in the world. My favorite thing about the chopper is the balance and weight. You can use it like an axe or a katana. The Chopper is much more graceful than it looks. For those out there looking for both a weapon and a tool, this is it...Ohh sure! There might be better stuff out there, but for $22? This blade will exceed your expectations. And this is coming from a guy who is a Condor fan.
Cold Steel 97TMSTS All Terrain Chopper 21.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dewdds
Tucson, Az
Sep 09, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Hack & Slash Delight
I was looking for a good, all purpose machete to go the extra step beyond the 21" Latin machete already in my tool shed. I saw the price of this one and paid heed to the many favorable reviews and bought it. This monster has more than paid for itself with the work its done in my yard. It'll slice weeds like butter and trim small branches with ease. I've even used it as an axe to hack apart smaller sized branches of mesquite wood with little more than a few dings and notches on the hefty blade. It beats the Latin machete hands down, mainly owing to the extra weight and thickness of the blade. It's probably one of the best bangs for the buck, as far as landscape clearing tools are concerned. It's easy to maintain - I clean with soap & water and sharpen the blade using metal files and a dual grit sharpener before storage in the sheath. The anti-corrosion paint job keeps the rust at bay, but I still add a smidgen of oil to the exposed blade metal. The downsides to the All Terrain Chopper are that its a bit heavy for the less brawny folk, it ain't purdy, and the sheath is cumbersome to use, but for my needs, this beast is great for its utilitarian value alone.
Cold Steel 97TMSTS All Terrain Chopper 21.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Peter
Dripping Springs Texas
May 29, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Light Machete..... All Terrain Chopper
I have been using this Machete for 7 years now. Then it was called " A light Machete" . I live in the Texas Hill country so it's seen plenty of use. Clearing cedar and other heavy brush is no problem. What impresses me is the fact that it is easy to sharpen and will shave hair with little effort. The durability is very good and it cuts much better than my original Kuckri that I have used for many years. If this product is still being manufactured the same way then I would highly recommend it.
Cold Steel 97TMSTS All Terrain Chopper 21.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rakurudy
Florida
Jan 20, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
ATC Chopper
Aloha, I'm using the Chopper as a training sword, like the Condor Dadao that I also have. The balance of both swords are pretty similar. I'm using the Ymaa Chinese Saber DVD, and slowly learning the 25 basic saber techniques. The Chopper has a textured hilt that helps with my grip after an hour of sweaty training. It is very blade heavy and takes strength and concentration to do multiple overhead blocks and slashes. This is weight training with a purpose, and good exercise for me. The scabbard is ok and securely holds the Chopper, and the shoulder strap looks sturdy, too. But my main use will be as a trainer, along with the Condor, so I won't be hauling it outside. Take care of yourself.
Cold Steel 97TMSTS All Terrain Chopper 21.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jasper
Nederland
Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Finish, Weight, Blade Material, Materials
Nice
It is a very good at chopping things, it can be used as sword axe and machete Bad thing is that it's a little lightweight but still very powerful The sheath is great too, it's pretty big but it is easy to carry. It would be a good improvement if colsteel would use 1095 carbon for machetes But it's still very durable.
Cold Steel 97TMSTS All Terrain Chopper 21.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
David D
California
Jan 14, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Chop chop!
This is a large and solidly made machete with a nice sheath. It has a well-sharpened edge and just plain looks bada$$. I haven't used it yet but I'm sure it's up to handling any brush or small branch chopping that doesn't require an axe instead. I own the two-handed Cold Steel machete as well as other of their products and have been satisfied with them all. I wanted a machete that would last and not fold under pressure and that's what I got.
Cold Steel 97TMSTS All Terrain Chopper 21.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mawp
Golden, Colorado
Apr 04, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Finish
Cons: Handle Material, None
Awesome Buy
When they say chopper, they mean it. Fantastic weight, heavy enough to get the job done but light enough to use one-handed if needed. It is very long, with a long grip, and seems to be intended to be used two-handed. Blade is good and sharp, and needed almost no sharpening. Although the majority of the blade is covered in an anti-rust finish, the edge will need to be oiled to avoid rust. The polypropylene handle can be a bit slippery, but if using two-handed it won't be an issue. Not the best for clearing light brush, but very useful for chopping branches and small logs for camping. For the price, this machete is amazing, I would definitely recommend to anyone in need of a big-ass blade.
Cold Steel 97TMSTS All Terrain Chopper 21.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Zach
Houston TX
Jun 16, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
A real review of Cold Steel Machetes
CS makes machetes that are great at any price. Why spend more when you can get something equally functional without all the worry about losing it? CS uses high carbon steel, but its blade finish keeps you from having to apply oil too often. These things are tough tough tough, and you'd have to actively abuse your machete to make any real damage. Comes wicked sharp. You'll wanna wear gloves when using for longer than 15-20 because the handle material is rather abrasive. That's a good thing. Only brand I would say trumps CS in the machete department is Condor/Imacasa. If you like what you see, take the plunge. You won't regret it.
Cold Steel 97TMSTS All Terrain Chopper 21.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Cor-Ex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Charles H
South Carolina
Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Weight, None
Lives up to it's name
I have used this on weeds, black berry bushes and small trees. Works great on all of them. Can't beat it for the price.