Reviews and Ratings for Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel - CW1

Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheelrated 4.515 stars out of 5 (33 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
20
4 star
10
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8 inch Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel

 

Price: $27.95

Save $9.05 (24%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rocketdog
North West U.S.
Nov 16, 2009
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Charlie's Wheel of Fortune Magic

I have collected hunting and kitchen knives for many years, and long ago learned how to sharpen a knife properly. Charlies saves a lot of time on knives that are hard to sharpen or that are near sharp, but not quite smooth shavers. I would not use it on a knife that needs coarse sharpening or re-shaping, but for final edge and honing it is amazing.
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ben G
San angelo, tx 76901
Feb 02, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott G
Saint Augustine, FL
Nov 05, 2009
Pros: Effectiveness
Cons: None

Awesome product

These wheels are skinnier than what I am used to so it makes you pay close attention. It seems to do a great job in a short time and it doesn't heat the blade as much.
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dennis B
KANSAS
Apr 16, 2013
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

BEST METHOD AVAILABLE

I SHARPEN WITH THE WHEELS TURNING BACKWARDS, THIS ALLOWS ME TO SEE WHAT I;M DOING. SHAVING SHARP IN MINUTES.
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 5 stars out of 5
Yvan L
Quebec
Jul 03, 2015
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Makes your knives sharp in seconds.

Great product. Easy to use and make razor sharp knives!
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 5 stars out of 5
Skip Calvert
Missouri
Jan 28, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Super Paper Wheels

Wheels run true. Every bit as the best at half the price.
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 5 stars out of 5
G H
Stlmo
Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Love these wheels like a fat kid loves cake

This is the 2nd set of these I've owned. Sharpened well over 2000 knives. First set of wheels got ruined from moisture out in the garage. Recoating is easy. Use 40-80 grit sandpaper to knock old coating off the grit wheel and straighten it out if it's gouged, remove wheel from grinder. Take grit pack and pour some out into the fold of a newspaper, spread out about 10-12
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hddm3
Indiana
Sep 08, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Wheels

I love these wheels. I was going to start looking at buying a bunch of diamond stones when I came across these wheels. I have some kitchen knives that are so hard, the stones did nothing. I hooked up the wheels to my grinder and in 10 minutes, my unsharpenable knife was razor sharp. I ended up sharpening all my knives that day. Ive never used this type of sharpening system before, but let me tell you, it didn't take long to master. If you guys want a quality sharpening system without having to buy a lot of sharpening stones, this is it. I would buy recommend this system to anyone. Thanks for your time.
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael M
Lamesa, Texas
Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Received order rather quickly. Good product

Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 5 stars out of 5
R.K.
Richmond, VA
Jan 15, 2013
Pros: Durability, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Use, None

Razor Edge

I've used this system for the past several years. I have used it for my knives of all types, tactical knives, kitchen knives, as well as for my wood carving tools. Once you grind a fine wire on it and buff off the wire, you basically have yourself a razor. I have literally shaved with the edge made by this system. One thing I keep seeing in the reviews is the danger factor of using the system. I haven't experienced that and here is why... The wheels are larger than the 8 inch wheels which came with my grinder, so I had to remove the guards anyway. I then turned the grinder around and have the wheels turning away from me. Sharpening on the top half of the wheel makes it impossible to have the blade grabbed and thrown from your hands, plus you can see your angle easier. Being sure to use some good wax on the grinder side and then a jewelers rouge on the other side makes for a mirror edge and amazing edge. It does take practice to keep the edge and angle appropriate for the knife, but it isn't hard to get the hang of it. That was my only issue when I began using it. I have had the wheels for probably 12 years and have never had to resurface the grinder. I used some sand paper to true the buffing wheel before first use. Aside from some slight warping and splitting of the laminates from keeping the wheels in a garage which had a major moisture problem, they have held up wonderfully.
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 5 stars out of 5
Felix
long beach
Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

fast sharp knives

the best sharpening tool out there for all knives.
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rod D
Bartlett, Tn
Feb 05, 2016
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Sharpening Wheels

Sharpening knives.
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dallas
Hobe Sound FL
Jul 15, 2010
Pros: Effectiveness, None
Cons: Ease of Use

Very sharp

A fast and easy way to clean up very dull knives, but care must be used to avoid over heating.
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jon P.
Ohio
Jun 03, 2013
Pros:
Cons:

Hard to beat once you get the hang of it !

I have used this style sharpening system for years and once you get the hang of them, they are hard to beat. I started on cheap blades and when I got the bugs worked out of myself I moved up. Never point the edge into the wheel as I guarantee you will not be big enough to hold onto it !!!!! I hold the blade horizontal Lw. and vertical ww. and just above center of the spindle , depending on condition and temper of the blade a couple passes on each side or until you have a burr on edge then apply a small amount of the supplied compound to the wheel and buff the edge once or twice to remove the burr and you should be done. Again I practiced on cheap blades until I got the angle , feel for the burr etc. down. It is easy to over sharpen or grind/ grit wheel to heavily . Blades will come out razor sharp and will last as long as your steel and use will allow. Just like with your lady a gentle touch will go a long way!
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 5 stars out of 5
Angela
Spotsylvania, Va
Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great product

My father borrowed my husband's once to sharpen all the knives in his house. Loved it so much that I decided to buy him one for Father's Day. We are both very satisfied with the product!
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hanson
Louisiana
Feb 02, 2014
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Pro sharpening

I am a sharpener Professional sharpener. I have sharpened since I was 9 or 10 because I grew up on a farm, and there was NO SUCH THING as a 'weedwacker'. I had a lawnmower, a SCYTHE, and a SCYCLE. I also made knives, sinse I was 12, I slowed down on making knives when I learned about women, and beer. I used stones for 18 years in my business,'cause I can do it quickly, and I still finish with the leather strop. I heard about this system but never saw it. A retired barber customer called me, was bored, went back to working 2 days a week. Had 15 shears he wanted done. Wile I was sharpening for him at his NICE acreage, he comes up to me with this grinder, with these wheels. Never used it, bought it at a gunshow." How much you give me for it ?" Traded him for the sharpening. Works GREAT. I don't use what THEY call " Goose Grease ", I found beeswax works much better. Great system.
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 5 stars out of 5
Timothy K
Florida
May 09, 2015
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

How dangerous can you get?

Great system, but even the PDF shows sharpening a knife by holding in on top of a wheel that IS TURNING TOWARD YOU WITH THE BLADE FACING YOU. If it slips, it's coming straight at you, and you just sharpened it. Use a little common sense and turn your grinder around so the wheel turns AWAY from you. Sharpen with the blade on top of the wheel, as expected. Yes, it can make the switch position awkward, but if you slip, the knife is going to fly away from you, not straight at you.
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ohen Cepel
ny
Jun 21, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Extremely happy with this system!

Been wanting a wheel system for a while now. This one is great! Seldom am I this happy with a purchase. Been gathering up all the knives that I couldn't get sharp in the past so that I can get them right now. Very happy with it, great buy for the money!
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ron C
Tulsa Oklahoma
Jan 03, 2013
Pros: Durability, Effectiveness, None
Cons: Ease of Use, Overall Quality

Sharpening Wheels Review

This product is easy to use and provides the sharpness I desire on all my knives. The Polishing Wheel allows me to touch up my knives without having to resharpen each one. This is the fourth set of wheels I have owned and I plan on using them for all my sharpening needs in the future
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Wichita, Ks
Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Razor sharp

Great product, easy to use. Sharpens knives quickly and easily.
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mills
Las Vegas, NV
Aug 02, 2010
Pros: Durability, Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: Overall Quality, None

It Doesn't get much more sharp!

I do a LOT of sharpening. For Standard Blades, once you get the hang of it, there is no easier, faster way to generate a superb slicing edge. I have tried most of the sharpeners on the market, and was left wanting with them, If they were fat, the edge quality was poor, if the edge quality was good, it was very time consuming or expensive. I am on my second set, after sharpening well over 500 blades. Now for the downside. The set I received was NOT true and straight. The wheels arrived ecentric and wobbly. Once mounted and as centered as I could make them, I still had to use an abrasive plate to remove material until they turned without vibrating the whole buffer off the workbench. Summary: EXEMPLARY Product, poor execution.
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 4 stars out of 5
John
michigan
Dec 27, 2013
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use, None
Cons: Overall Quality

fast shipping

the wheels work very well but the sharpening wheel was poorly prepared, the grit wasn't done well, almost to thin in places and un-even.
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 4 stars out of 5
Sensquid
iowa
Aug 17, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

great sharpener, but dangerous

Ihave had one of these sharpener for several years and sharpened knives to shaving sharpness hundreds of times. The only thing that I would recommend is to be very careful. I was sharpening a filet knife a few months ago and evidently went too keep in the grinder. The knife was ripped out of my hands and when I looked down, I saw it was sticking straight up in the air stuck in the tendon of my big toe. It went clear to the bone, but because it was a filet knife and not very wide at the tip, it did not completely sever the tendon. I was afraid to use it for several month, but liked it so much that I am now using it again. My advice keep a very tight grip on the knife and make sure the angle to the the grinder is not too steep.
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kevin
greenbrier Ar. 72058
Dec 12, 2009
Pros: None
Cons: Durability, Overall Quality

KCREVIEW

seems to be a little out around, Called the customer service 800 # and the person who answered said he would have the owner cal back. Still waiting for the OWNER to call back.
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 4 stars out of 5
Carpetman65
cordova tn
Oct 07, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

charlies wheel of fortune

instructions could be clearer,with a little more information.
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 4 stars out of 5
Big Al
brooklyn,ny
Dec 27, 2014
Pros: Durability, None
Cons: Effectiveness

knife sharpening

my name is"big al",i have been sharpening knives for resturants,butchers,pizza palors,bagel shops for 40 years. wanna know the best,fastest way to sharpen knives? a 4x36 belt sander using 3m ceramic belts and a tru hone sharpening machine with 400 grit wheels.i gotta laugh when see these so call "pros" with there $20,000 hollow grinders.ha! my knives are just as sharp as theirs and cost much less to sharpen per knife. thust me, the Mexicans in the resturants,pizza place don't know if you used a $90.belt sander or a $20.000 hollow grinder,he don't care! all he wants to know will the knife cut the onion,pepper,tomato. also,i don't use sharpening stones, too slow,too hit and miss.
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 4 stars out of 5
J Rome
Lewisburg,TN
Aug 28, 2009
Pros: Ease of Use, Durability, None
Cons: Durability, Effectiveness

very good still practicing

I am having trouble keeping the knives,at the same angle.
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mason
oregon
Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Ease of Use, Effectiveness, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Durability

wheel sharpening system

Once you get the hang of its easy, but if dont know what your doing you WILL destroy your knifes. That being said if you know what your doing you can have shaving sharp mirror edges In seconds. the grit gums up and comes off pretty fast but that can be fixed. i would definitely buy these again
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 4 stars out of 5
Todd D
Southern Illinois
Jan 10, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: Durability, None

Great Sharpening System

Works great for sharpening of all types of knives. I use this system on hunting knives, fillet knives and butcher knives. saves a lot of time sharpening.
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bob L.
Tucson, AZ
Mar 13, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Fast Way to a Sharp Edge

These wheels really do the trick fast. A few swipes and your knife is ready to go. I even put an edge on a knife blade blank that had no edge at all, but doing that wore down the sharpening grit and the wheel had to be resurfaced prematurely with the extra grit provided in the package. Not a big deal. This system does require a "feel" for the edge bevel which may take a little practice for some. Be sure to use all safety precautions because if you turn the blade edge at a right angle into the wheel it can rip the knife from your hands and send the blade flying at you. For this reason I gave it 4 stars and not five, but these wheels do the job quite well in the right hands.
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 3 stars out of 5
Mike Jensen
woodward ok.829561
Jun 02, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use, None
Cons: Durability

Delivery was fast. Thought shipping cost was a little high.

to sharpen kitchen and hunting knives does a good job grit wears off and cannot recoat like a new one
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 3 stars out of 5
Gary
Austin, Texas
Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Effectiveness, None
Cons: Overall Quality

Slicing Edge quality control issues. No technical support.

I mounted the wheels on a new buffer and it vibrated so much that the machine walked around. A dial indicator registered 32 thousands inch runout on the wheel with the grit and 27 on the other. A knife skipped and bounced on both. I called the technical support number on the wheel and the answer I received was that it was the buffer not the wheels. So, I took a very coarse sanding sheet and resufaced both wheels and now they run true. The grit wheel was a problem as it was like rubbing two peices of sandpaper together. After all that the system runs very smoothly and does a great job on knives. The system would be a good value if you are willing to fix the poor quality control issues.
Slicing Edge Sharpening System With 8" Grit Wheel and Polishing Wheel
rated 3 stars out of 5
Emmitt
SETX
Sep 07, 2015
Pros: Ease of Use, None
Cons: Durability

Small wheels

Wheels are half the width of my original set. Hopefully they will last half the time. These are only for personal use....not for financial gsin...if so they would not last.