Reviews and Ratings for DMT DS2E 12" Diamond Steel, Extra-Fine

DMT DS2E 12" Diamond Steel, Extra-Finerated 4.5 stars out of 5 (10 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
DMT DS2E 12 inch Diamond Steel, Extra-Fine

 

Price: $39.95

Save $13.64 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
DMT DS2E 12" Diamond Steel, Extra-Fine
rated 5 stars out of 5
Patrick
Pflugerville, Texas
Nov 06, 2014
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Diamond Steel Extra Fine Review

I have wanted to get one of these since I first saw it probably 20 years ago at LL Bean in Maine. (I guess I did not want to make an impulsive buy). I have used it many times and it works just as I expected it to work, and I really like it. Very beefy handle that I think would be good for large hands.
DMT DS2E 12" Diamond Steel, Extra-Fine
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jack L
Ohio
Jul 01, 2020
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Great for More Aggressive Honing

I have a penknife that resisted good honing with my ceramic and metal hones. The Diamond Steel gave it a good edge so that I'm willing to EDC-carry it again. I filleted pork chops for sandwiches, and gave the knife a quick hone beforehand with the Diamond Steel. The cut went smoother and more sure than usual. A worthwhile purchase for me. .
DMT DS2E 12" Diamond Steel, Extra-Fine
rated 5 stars out of 5
Walter
Evanston, IL
Jul 23, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Just what I needed

I had purchased the DMT ceramic steel a few years ago, but I applied far too much pressure and tiny bits of the ceramic came off. I bought the DMT Diamond Sharpening Steel as a replacement and am delighted with it. I sharpen my knives on DMT diamond hones every four months or so, but this diamond steel keeps them in excellent shape in the intervals.
DMT DS2E 12" Diamond Steel, Extra-Fine
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lee W
Severn, Md
Jan 03, 2013
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great flexibility still like to have a polished steel as well

I've owned one of these, DMT DS2E 12 extra fine steels for six or seven years now. It is my final step when sharpening. It serves very well for touch up sharpening for well maintained blades. It is simple and safe to use while the plastic handle is fine since it saves money and keeps this steel series affordable.
DMT DS2E 12" Diamond Steel, Extra-Fine
rated 5 stars out of 5
2087
new mexico
Dec 01, 2009
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Excellent Steel

I process my own wild game and this put a razors edge on any knife I run across it. Any well maintained knife.
DMT DS2E 12" Diamond Steel, Extra-Fine
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mrhoohaa
Carmel, N.Y.
Feb 03, 2010
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Exactly what I wanted and half the price as "well known brand"

This was bought as a gift for my father. He sharpens his knives with stones and oil! You could shave with them. That is how well he does. I bought this so he can "touch up" the knives without the long sharpening process. I looked on line at the well known knife companies web sites and found the same thing for twice the price. That is good enough for me. And, by the way the quality did not suffer
DMT DS2E 12" Diamond Steel, Extra-Fine
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nebnotik
jersey city
May 14, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great steel
DMT DS2E 12" Diamond Steel, Extra-Fine
rated 4 stars out of 5
Gary
utah
May 19, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: Durability, None

flat works!!!!

I am a kill floor inspector so I use my knives 8 hours a day. Head inspections are very hard on knives as teeth are harder than steel. This steel puts the feather edge b ack on your knife in 4-5 strokes. Now everybody is bugging me to use it. Will be purchasing 2 more today. Would have gave it a 5 but not sure how long it will last.
DMT DS2E 12" Diamond Steel, Extra-Fine
rated 3 stars out of 5
Meat Man
NY
Jul 08, 2010
Pros: Effectiveness, None
Cons: Ease of Use

too small for large knives

Its a fair deal- the hone is great- puts a nice edge on small knives- is clumsy on large butcher knives. Feels too light, but the color coding is great. The plastic feels a little chintzy.
DMT DS2E 12" Diamond Steel, Extra-Fine
rated 3 stars out of 5
James
Placerville CA
Dec 29, 2010
Pros:
Cons:

Need more use

Not used enough for a accurate review. Get back to you soon.