Reviews and Ratings for Estwing Sportsman Axe 11.5" Overall, Stacked Leather Handle, Nylon Sheath - E14A

Estwing Sportsman Axe 11.5" Overall, Stacked Leather Handle, Nylon Sheathrated 4.727 stars out of 5 (11 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Estwing Sportsman Axe 11.5 inch Overall, Stacked Leather Handle, Nylon Sheath

 

Price: $44.95

Save $15.00 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Estwing Sportsman Axe 11.5" Overall, Stacked Leather Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Slee
Chicago
Dec 15, 2018
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None

Lifetime purchase with this item.

If you’re interested in an all-around hand axe around this size, look no further. I’ve owned four or five hand axes in my life (some pricier than the Estwing) and none can even compare, particularly when it comes to durability/reliability. This item should last you a lifetime and will come in handy more times than you might expect. Great buy.
Estwing Sportsman Axe 11.5" Overall, Stacked Leather Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Slee
Chicago
Dec 15, 2018
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None

Beautiful leather sheath now nylon

As mentioned in my earlier review, I love this item. However, please disregard my statement about the leather sheath. I see now that they’ve replaced it with a nylon sheath. This is unfortunate, but this is still a great buy.
Estwing Sportsman Axe 11.5" Overall, Stacked Leather Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jonathan
texas
Apr 10, 2013
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Excellent axe took it out of the box and put it to work and did it's job well. Feels good in your hands. Overall very satisfied and will buy estwing products in the future.
Estwing Sportsman Axe 11.5" Overall, Stacked Leather Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alabama Hiker
Alabama
May 29, 2017
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None

last forever

I was given this hatchet when I was starting the Scouts. That was 30 years ago. It's gone on every hike, camp out and even a deployment. So it has more nights in the woods then anything else I own. I sharpen it once a year and clean it off when I unpack. Mine has the original leather sheath that it came with. All in all I've never needed to buy another hatchet but being a gear head I have tried others but none have the same feel or weight. And after a good sharpening none cut or chop as well in my opinion. Give it a try and maybe you'll have the same luck. Good camping.
Estwing Sportsman Axe 11.5" Overall, Stacked Leather Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert B
Morton Grove, Il
Jan 05, 2012
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None

Great Axe

It's a well weighted axe that's made out of one piece of steel. Made in America! It's going to do the job and do it forever. Built tough.
Estwing Sportsman Axe 11.5" Overall, Stacked Leather Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
John M
Logan City, Australia
Sep 27, 2012
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None

Handy & Lightweight

Use this axe whilst camping have found it to be of excellent build quality, lightweight, sharp and I really like the leather edge cover. Also it came sharp but with a few strokes on the ceramic sharpening stones it came up super sharp.
Estwing Sportsman Axe 11.5" Overall, Stacked Leather Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Slee
Chicago
Dec 15, 2018
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None

Lifetime purchase with this item.

If you’re interested in an all-around hand axe around this size, look no further. I’ve owned four or five hand axes in my life (some pricier than the Estwing) and none can even compare, particularly when it comes to durability/reliability. This item should last you a lifetime and will come in handy more times than you might expect. Tips: Treat the beautiful leather sheath with samething like Mink Oil to preserve it. Sharpen regularly and dry when wet. You’ll then have a great tool for the rest of your life. Great buy.
Estwing Sportsman Axe 11.5" Overall, Stacked Leather Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
The Prepared Fat Dude That Cleared The Road In The Storm.
Im in South Carolina
Sep 12, 2010
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None

Very capable in a small package.

I have carried one of these since I was 13 (1984). They come shaving sharp and are easy to touch up with a diamond rod and strop with a leather belt.I have lost one and gave a couple of way.I used one in July to chop thru a 12 inch diameter tree that fell in the road(in the boondocks,unfamiliar area).It took me about 10 minutes to chop thru the tree twice.We were in the lighning making chips! Keep it in my Jeep always.Well worth the $.Keep it dry and it will last a long time.Everyone that sees it likes it.
Estwing Sportsman Axe 11.5" Overall, Stacked Leather Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tc
Alexandria VA
Nov 05, 2009
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None

unbreakable

This is a traditional style hatchet. I like the fact that the blade and handle are all one piece. It's not going to break. I use it as an all around chopper. The only precaution is that it's not weatherproof. The leather sheath and handle will retain water, keep it dry and you'll be fine.
Estwing Sportsman Axe 11.5" Overall, Stacked Leather Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jennifer
Fruita, Co
Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Balance
Cons: Head Material, None

Good Camping Axe

I have owned this axe for six months and taken it on two camping trips so far. I like the axe. It feels good in my hand and I like the weight. The axe is beautiful to look at. The head will never come off since it is one piece with the handle. I think that is the best feature of this axe. The manufacturer's sticker is really hard to get off but got the residue off with some goo gone. Also, the steel seems kind of soft. It sharpens up nice but with moderate use chopping kindling or small trees it loses its edge quickly and chips. If you want a beautiful axe and don't mind sharpening it after each trip then I recommend this axe. I got a Lansky sharpening puck and it works great on this axe.
Estwing Sportsman Axe 11.5" Overall, Stacked Leather Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Logan
California
Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Construction, None
Cons: Handle Material, Weight

good axe; seen better

When i received this axe i was generally uneducated in the world of axes but have come to learn alot. This axe will never lose the handle, because it's one piece of solid steel, and i love that. I love the look and ergonomics of the handle. I liked the sheath with a few minor gripes. i also love that's it's made in America I did not like the edge that it came with, it was not good, and had a very very bad burr one one side of the edge. the steel is a little soft, it takes a great edge but doesn't retain it as long. Its use is for chopping mostly, i have found it to be an ok splitter at best, unless your splitting kindling. it also has a short handle, so don't try to be paul bunyan with it. also since it is almost 100% steel (besides the handle) it is fairly heavy for it's size. i have a very nice axe from council tool (Great axe company Made in America as well) that has a 2 pound head on a 19 inch wood handle that weighs the same, but is longer and sharper, and to me better.