Reviews and Ratings for Edge Pro Apex 4 Knife Sharpening System - A4

Edge Pro Apex 4 Knife Sharpening Systemrated 4.952 stars out of 5 (21 reviews)
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
20
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Edge Pro Apex 4 Knife Sharpening System

 

Price: $255.00

View Product Details
Edge Pro Apex 4 Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin
Toronto
Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
As my expected
Try to use this system is bit hard at first,it does request you focus and take time to know how it works.But after few knifes you will find the way to a sharpen the knife with same result every time which is awesome.I already ordered some third party parts to make it even better(as recommend by some YouTube video).
Edge Pro Apex 4 Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cheryl
Georgia
Sep 17, 2013
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Love this system...
I have had this product for about a week and I have sharpened every knife in my kitchen. It is amazing. I am a female culinary student and it was very easy to learn by watching Ben's video's. I could not be more pleased. The only thing that I wasn't happy about (and it was my own fault) is I didn't watch all the videos before beginning sharpening a knife and it did leave a mark on a newer knife. He does tell you in one of the videos how to avoid that, but I watched it after the fact. Be sure to watch all the videos before proceeding.
Edge Pro Apex 4 Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Theo
Campinas,BRAZIL
May 03, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness
Cons: None
Best Sharpening System
I´d tried other systems...for me it´s the best. Simple, accurate and easy of use.
Edge Pro Apex 4 Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Palmer H
Dawsonville, GA
Feb 09, 2015
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Edge pro 4
Love it. Great product used it the day I received it and obtained good finish on our knives. I'm sure like the video says I will get better and better with time. Excellent tool to have in your tool box.
Edge Pro Apex 4 Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tyler
California
Jan 16, 2014
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
What are you waiting for?
I've used other sharpeners before like the Spyderco Sharpmaker and this thing is on another level. The Edge Pro removes all variables so you can get consistently superfine edges. The 2000 and 3000 grit tapes probably aren't necessary for most people's sharpening needs, but if you're obsessive about polish like me then it's totally worth it. If you're considering an Apex, stop and buy one already. You won't regret it.
Edge Pro Apex 4 Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
G L
Punta Gorda, Florida
Dec 20, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None
best sharpener I have owned
I have used a number of sharpeners over the years. This is the best by far. No oil, water cleanup, fast. Used mostly on Kitchen knives so far with excellent results. Video was very helpful to get started. best improvement would be some plastic spaces used to accommodate thin blades.
Edge Pro Apex 4 Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wayne S
New Zealand
Jan 03, 2017
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Works great
I have sharpened kitchen, sporting, and general purpose knives with this now, and all have achieved a great edge. It works exactly as advertised. It took me a couple of knives to get the hang of it. I recommend that you watch the videos - watched the ones on the edge pro website, rather than the included DVD as my PC doesn't have a DVD drive anymore.
Edge Pro Apex 4 Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chuck
Ohio
May 02, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Never a dull moment or knife
I had been reading about these on several forums and decided to give a try. Nicely thought out and effective tool. After learning on one knife, this thing is a breeze to use. Able to get just about any knife and any angle wicked sharp.
Edge Pro Apex 4 Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
John C
Pueblo West, Co
Oct 07, 2013
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Edge Pro Apex 4
The Edge Pro system is awesome. A couple of years ago I purchased the Work Sharp WSKTS Knife & Tool Sharpener. I was satisfied at the time with the results of this sharpener, but I was still lacking the polished sharp edge I was wanting. I did a search for a better sharpener and the Edge Pro reviewed very high. I decided to fork out the dough for it and give it a try. I worked on knives that I had previously done with the Work Sharp. I realized right away that the Work Sharp was not sharpening at the knives factory degree angle and was taking away too much steel from the blade. It took me a while to work the blade edges to be consistent from rear to tip. I followed the instructions to a T and the results were very impressive. Man, I wished I had bought this first. I also purchased a leather strop with the green compound to give the blade edge that final polish. My results were razor sharp! KUDOS to Knife Center. The shipping time was VERY fast, Thanks.
Edge Pro Apex 4 Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Orlando, S
Miami,Fl
May 16, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Ease to use You can get a hair popping edge on the apex edge Good sharpening system This is my second time buying for knifecenter .com Very good service and very good selection in product Will continue to buy for knifecenter .com
Edge Pro Apex 4 Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
C K
New Zealand
Nov 30, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Having never used one before, I found the video really helpful. It only took a couple of blades to get my hand in. What I love about it is getting a consistent cutting edge on both sides of the blade every time and it's safe to use.
Edge Pro Apex 4 Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Redtail
Boston
Jan 16, 2014
Pros: Effectiveness, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Apex Edge Pro
The Apex Edge Pro is a solid, well built sharpening system. Despite having a plastic body the main unit does not flex, bend, or feel cheap in any way. The stones that come with this system are excellent. The 120 grit stone is very useful for re-profiling edges. Soaking the stones in warm water with a couple drops of dish soap mixed in aids in preventing the stones from loading up during sharpening. Running the stones wet with the included water bottle keeps them cutting smooth and sharp. Working up to 1000 grit and then lightly using the ceramic rod will easily pop hairs. Polishing the edge with the provided 3000 and 5000 grit polishing tapes will create a screaming sharp edge. The instructions included are also excellent. The one downfall of this system is that in order to sharpen short blades with an aggressive re-curve requires purchasing additional narrow stones. After re-profiling and sharpening my daily carry folder with a very hard s30v blade to 18 degrees per side I was able to achieve a level of sharpness which other systems, stones, and improvised methods could not. The edge is polished and insanely sharp and holds up excellently to daily use. This system, to me, is the perfect way for the project oriented consumer to sharpen their knives with repeatable results.
Edge Pro Apex 4 Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Shreekar R Rao
Mumbai, India
Oct 10, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Excellent Sharpening System
Started with the blunt knives and very soon got good sharp edges. It is very easy to use and feel very safe even if others are moving around you. So far nothing I have found nothing negative. Would definitely recommend it to my friends.
Edge Pro Apex 4 Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
"Genghis"
Keaau , Hawaii
Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Edge Pro is a PRO !
My buddy has one and was bragging about it but wouldn't sharpen anyt for anyone , some friend . I bought one and I was really shocked at what I had spent on it . The unit paid for itself in the first week ! I have stacks of "damaged" knives with all sorts of knicks in the blades or damaged tips . I quickly learned how to manage the use of it . All of my knives are paper shredding sharp . Asides from a very small mess this is the best sharpener for restoring most any straight edge .
Edge Pro Apex 4 Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Hutchinson, Kansas
Jun 08, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Fantastic system
I have an extensive collection of mostly folding tactical type knives and this sharpening system is awsome. I have used many types of systems , but none have done as complete a job as this system. Just take your time and watch the videos online
Edge Pro Apex 4 Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eric R.
Albuquerque , Nm
Sep 03, 2016
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Amazingly SHARP!!
If you want your knives scary sharp with a beautiful mirror polish edge pro apex is the way to go. I've sharpened five knives since it arrived last week, and they're all phone book paper slicing sharp! The blades glide through almost silently.There is a bit of a learning curve but with the instructional DVD ( and a little help from YouTube university) I had it down in no time
Edge Pro Apex 4 Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Al K
Philadelphia
Mar 28, 2013
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Excellent System
This system is amazing. If you want to be able to put a razor sharp, polished edge on your knives quickly and easily, this is he system you want. After practicing on two old, cheap knives, I was able to put a razor sharp edge on all my high end kitchen knives. Then moved straight to my beloved CRK Sebenza, which now has a razor sharp, polished edge. This system is very easy to master. My only regret is I didn't get it sooner.
Edge Pro Apex 4 Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jake
Il
Jul 14, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
The best
This was the easiest sharpener to pick and use and it gave me better results than anything else i have tried. it is worth very penny
Edge Pro Apex 4 Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve J
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
Oct 31, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
A sharpener that lives up to it's name
I have a Spyderco sharp maker and i like that sharpener a lot! However, it is difficult to get the edge angle exactly perfect on some knives that require a much lower angle such as kitchen knives. I heard about the Edge pro and decided i would give it a try and i have absolutely no regrets in anyway! This thing works better than i had imagined! It takes a little bit of practice to become really proficient at it but watch a couple of youtube videos and get some pointers like i did and you'll be getting good results in no time. The knives i have sharpened with the Edge pro have never been sharper in their life and the edge is honed down to a mirror polish with the polishing tapes. If you care about carrying around and using a knife that is back to factory sharp or better, i would recommend you buy this sharpener.
Edge Pro Apex 4 Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wolf
New Jersey * #merica*
Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Best thing sense sliced bread!
I would like to start off by saying I'm impressed. Hands down the best sharpening system I've owned to date. This system is easy to use and with short time anyone (almost anyone) can become highly proficient at making a polished edge, hair popping, scalpel comparable scary sharp edge. I wanted this system for a while but was on the fence over the price. $200+ is quite an initial investment but well worth every penny once you've owned the EPA ( edge pro apex) for a short period of time. The quality of the edge you can apply to most if not any knife is well worth it. If your like my self, I truly love a HIGH quality tactical or edc folder in my pocket at all times. The catch to that is what's a $180 s30v blade steal tactical folder worth if its dull, Nothing! I own a moderate collection of nice, high end, hard use, custom and collectible knives, this system works to perfectly sharpen all of them. My biggest concerns or apprehensions before purchasing this unit was the base is constructed of plastic and stones I've used before clog and loose effectiveness rapidly. I'm happily surprised that the base is strong and quit steady, no problems or complaints there. The stones are also of great quality, as long as you are for them properly your golden. Just wash with warm water and dish soap and like new. Replacement parts are readily available and reasonably priced if you do end up with an issue. This kit (apex 4) comes well stocked with everything you need. The apex also comes with an instructional booklet and DVD witch is extremely helpful. I recommend watching it before getting started. All in all I would recommend this product to a person who's considering the purchase. I'm sure you'll appreciate the extended use you'll get out of your knives. # 1 tip!! Don't show your friends the results from this sharpener. You will have a pile of knives big and small on your table. Good luck and stay sharp my friends!!
Edge Pro Apex 4 Knife Sharpening System
rated 4 stars out of 5
David K
Virginia
Sep 05, 2014
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Edge Pro Apex 4 Knife Sharpening System
The video provided give great examples of how to use the sharpening system, much better than just reading the literature. The fact that you can sharpen your largest knife is a real plus.