Reviews and Ratings for Morakniv Mora of Sweden Outdoor 2000 Utility Knife 4.3" Stainless Steel Blade, Olive Green Rubber Handle

Morakniv Mora of Sweden Outdoor 2000 Utility Knife 4.3" Stainless Steel Blade, Olive Green Rubber Handlerated 4.889 stars out of 5 (18 reviews)
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Outdoor 2000 Utility Knife 4.3 inch Stainless Steel Blade, Olive Green Rubber Handle

 

Price: $32.95

Save $15.00 (31%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Outdoor 2000 Utility Knife 4.3" Stainless Steel Blade, Olive Green Rubber Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nick D.
New York
Apr 18, 2019
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Mora Performance, Enough Said!
I own 13 Moras and this one is my favorite! Mora performance and I don't have to worry about rusting or staining. Sheath is excellent protection and knife snaps securely into place. Really enjoy this knife and highly recommend it!
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Outdoor 2000 Utility Knife 4.3" Stainless Steel Blade, Olive Green Rubber Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stuart
California
Jan 08, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
SHARP!
At this price point, this is the best (by far) general purpose knife that you can buy. It comes sharp, and stays sharp thru normal use. It weighs almost nothing, in fact I find myself checking to see if it's still on. The sheath, while nothing to write home about, does protect the blade (and your fingers), as it was designed to do, so no major complaints.
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Outdoor 2000 Utility Knife 4.3" Stainless Steel Blade, Olive Green Rubber Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Utilitarian
Pacific Northwest
Jun 17, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
What a great knife!
For 29 bucks, you get so much value. The blade is almost mirror polished and bright. It's a cool looking knife. I can see this being useful for all kinds of endeavors (bait knife, bushcraft, butchering, skinning, picnic food prep, camping chores, wood carving, etc.). There is only one minor flaw I can see: the belt loop is suede leather held on by two small rivets and I'm worried about it getting ripped off my belt during hiking or climbing. But for the price point I still rate it as excellent (I'm going to modify the sheath with my own belt loop similar to a belt frog for a bayonet sheath but with a secondary retention strap). The blade thickness is just right for slicing. The thickness is slightly reduced at the front third of the blade to make the curved tip very useful. The handle is molded right on to the partial tang with a hard plastic which is exposed at the front and pommel. There is another plastic molded on the middle of the handle that is softer and gives good grip even when wet or slimy. I would say this handle shape will satisfy most users - I have regular size hands (size L glove) and I'm not getting any hot spots. The blade is sharp! I did not have to touch up the edge on this. When you put the knife into the sheath (left or right hand oriented, it does not matter) there are rounded ridges running inside the wall of the sheath and the finger guard pops past those to create a primary retention with almost no rattle. I would not trust it as the only retention if one was wearing it as a neck knife or inverted carry, but it definetly snaps into the sheath and stays there. There are two drain holes in the bottom of the sheath that could be used to thread some cord through.
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Outdoor 2000 Utility Knife 4.3" Stainless Steel Blade, Olive Green Rubber Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gotta Run
Paynesville, Mn
Oct 19, 2018
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Sheath works well
I am guilty of unfairly giving this knife a low rating previously. I said the knife fell out of the sheath. I found the blade on the floor of my truck along side the driver seat. Actually it does snap into the sheath and won't fall out. I didn't have it snapped in when I claimed I lost it. Moraknives are well built, but are not heavy duty monster knives for batoning. I have more expensive knives that I take excellent care of, but I reach for this one for every day woods chores. The sheath looks flimsy, but it hasn't worn out with over 100 outings. I like the flexible hanging sheath that doesn't pinch when I sit in the Gator or in the truck. (I have worn out other knife sheaths and had to repair/replace them.) I have several convex blades (Bark River, Fallkniven) but the scandi edge of Moraknives is quicker to sharpen.
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Outdoor 2000 Utility Knife 4.3" Stainless Steel Blade, Olive Green Rubber Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim
Alabama
Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Honest Rating upon Heavy use
Fantastic overall performance from this blade, simple design from tip to toe, yet rugged enough to baton up to 4" oak logs. Stayed sharp for the duration of my 8 day trip and I used it several times per day from cleaning fish, chopping kindling, splitting fire wood, cutting rope, even dug a couple holes, chopped through roots...no problems at all. Sheath scores average, a sheath is a sheath - it does its job just fine. I dropped it in the fire while removing a pot, i quickly grabbed a stick and dug it out, the handle maintained, it was a bit soft, but did not melt and no obvious damage or dis figuration occurred. For the price, I doubt a person could find a better knife than this Mora.
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Outdoor 2000 Utility Knife 4.3" Stainless Steel Blade, Olive Green Rubber Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bones
mn
Jan 09, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: None
mora "telle tubby knife"
great knife mine has cleaned and butchered about twenty geese , and two deer YOU WILL DIG THIS BLADE!
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Outdoor 2000 Utility Knife 4.3" Stainless Steel Blade, Olive Green Rubber Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Risto Hi
Espoo, Ae
Apr 25, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Greatness
Awesome knife, had it with me in finnish military service for 6 months, didn't have to sharpen it even once, handeled batoning and everything possible well, i mamanged to chip the blade a little but nothing you couldn't sharpen out. i recomend it to anybody.
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Outdoor 2000 Utility Knife 4.3" Stainless Steel Blade, Olive Green Rubber Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
In The D
MI
Dec 28, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great basic knife
This is a great knife for the price. I really like the feel of it in the hand; it seems very sturdy yet still lightweight, and the blade geometry is useful for a wide range of chores. I have used it on everything from opening boxes and cutting cardboard, to cutting and carving saplings and sticks. The handle is very comfortable, though I have smaller hands so if yours are large it may be different, and the balance feels good. The sheath is very basic, but the all plastic at least won't corrode, so I am using it as my basic utility knife in my truck to replace the Cold Steel Finn Bear, also a great basic knife but the rivets on the sheath corroded out in a few months for no good reason..
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Outdoor 2000 Utility Knife 4.3" Stainless Steel Blade, Olive Green Rubber Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ralph
Texas
Sep 02, 2012
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
More a Mora
A step up in Moras. Beefier for sure but still the same quality moras are known for.Haven/t use it a lot but the thicker, wider, shinier blade came shaving sharp and cut everything tested so far. No reason to expect anything less than excellence. Even the sheath is better.
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Outdoor 2000 Utility Knife 4.3" Stainless Steel Blade, Olive Green Rubber Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vlad
Estonia, EU
Nov 10, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Superb knife
It was my fishing companion for this season and I am absolutely happy with the knife. I found the steel to be very good quality - completely stainless and easy to sharpen to the hair-cutting state. Yes, the knife was sharp out of the box, though I do not understand people who cares about the out-of-the-box sharpness. Of course, just like any knife around 4", it is not good for any kind of batoning, but the tang is wide and deep (almost full-tang), so it should manage the abuse. Personal experience showed what the cutting edge will not chip after meeting hard material, it makes possible to fix the edge quite easily. Sheath are also ok, holds knife securely, light, easy and fast to use.
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Outdoor 2000 Utility Knife 4.3" Stainless Steel Blade, Olive Green Rubber Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jebediah The Gyrocaptain
Fort Bragg, NC
Aug 09, 2018
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Materials, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
The pinnacle of the Mora line
I've had the Mora 2000 for roughly six years. I've bought other brands of knife (and other Moras) since then, but when I pack to go in the woods I always seem to go back to the 2000. The rubber grip is excellent, especially when its wet or your hands are cold. The stainless steel hasn't really been an issue for me, since the knife retains its edge throughout my trips. I initially kept the sheathed knife in a pocket on my ruck, since the sheath isn't conducive for heavy woods use; though in time I ended up purchasing a kydex sheath from one of the many available kydex artisans. About the 'weird' Mora sheath: I spoke with a Swedish student in one of my grad school classes who was an outdoor enthusiast. He mentioned that in Sweden, work trousers traditionally had a pocket on the side for holding the knife sheath (like the tool pocket on carpenters jeans). The leather tab attaches to a button sewn above the pocket, so that the knife can be drawn / replaced while the sheath stays put.
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Outdoor 2000 Utility Knife 4.3" Stainless Steel Blade, Olive Green Rubber Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zuni3
PA
Mar 21, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Outdoor 2000 Utility Knife
The knife is balanced and built with quality workman ship. I like it
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Outdoor 2000 Utility Knife 4.3" Stainless Steel Blade, Olive Green Rubber Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Will
Pacific Northwest
Apr 21, 2013
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Best. Knife. Ever.
I'm an outdoor educator, which basically means that I put my knives through hell on a regular basis. This knife has been one of the best purchases I've ever made, and it's withstood everything from bushcraft to vehicle maintenance without a hitch. Blade is nice and sharp out of the box, it has fantastic cutting dynamics and the handle is a really nice fit if your hands are on the larger side like mine.
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Outdoor 2000 Utility Knife 4.3" Stainless Steel Blade, Olive Green Rubber Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
R.S
Illinois, USA
May 16, 2012
Pros: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
wxcelent Knife, Great Value
Excellent knife. very tough, will take any abuse. A real workhorse.
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Outdoor 2000 Utility Knife 4.3" Stainless Steel Blade, Olive Green Rubber Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Doug
New York
Mar 12, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Finish
Cons: None
It's a Mora
What can you say, it's a Mora. Still one of the best values in Knifedom. Quality is still there after all these years. Everyone needs to get over the plastic sheath and rubber handles. That's how they come and we don't use those to cut things. The blade we do use to cut things is great.
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Outdoor 2000 Utility Knife 4.3" Stainless Steel Blade, Olive Green Rubber Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jayrod
marietta, ohio
Sep 11, 2012
Pros: Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
excellent for the price
This knife is a very excellent knife for a cheaper price. Super sharp, cuts very well, not made in china, and also stands up to daily tasks. The sheath is marginal in quality but yet, is functional. No complaints on the sheath other than plastic with a piece of leather for a belt loop. No big deal since the knife performance makes up for the sheath quality. All in all, this is not a china made wannabe knife but a swedish made utility knife made for the outdoors.
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Outdoor 2000 Utility Knife 4.3" Stainless Steel Blade, Olive Green Rubber Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Andrew D
Connecticut, USA
May 05, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
I prefer the Mora Companion
I dropped my on a tile floor and put a nasty dent in the edge. I don't think that would happen with the Companion. The Companion's sheath is also much nicer making it easier to draw the knife. The Outdoor 2000 is still a good knife though.
Morakniv Mora of Sweden Outdoor 2000 Utility Knife 4.3" Stainless Steel Blade, Olive Green Rubber Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
White Collered Redneck
Central Minnesota
Jul 09, 2018
Pros:
Cons:
Fell out
I live on 120 acres and do lots of woods work, field work, etc. I've used this as one of the EDCs for outdoor farm chores and it works very well. Thin blade that sharpens easily, but not heavy and expensive, so I actually use it. The belt loop is floppy so the sheath doesn't push into the seat of the gator or the seat of my truck. Yesterday was a 20K+ day. We did driveway cracks, chicken chores... At the end of the day the knife was missing. I assume it fell out. If I don't find it within a week I will get another.