Reviews and Ratings for GATCO Replacement Clamp Guide for Sharpening Systems - 17002

GATCO Replacement Clamp Guide for Sharpening Systemsrated 4.2219999999999995 stars out of 5 (9 reviews)
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
0
GATCO Replacement Clamp Guide for Sharpening Systems

 

Price: $13.95

Save $2.05 (13%) Off Retail

View Product Details
GATCO Replacement Clamp Guide for Sharpening Systems
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim T
Medford, MA
Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Durability
Cons: None

Gatco Clamp Guide

Metal is much better than the original plastic
GATCO Replacement Clamp Guide for Sharpening Systems
rated 5 stars out of 5
Raymond S
Dallas, Tx
Apr 12, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Best I've used....

I own a DMT aligner system. The guide from DMT is marginal at best. After using the DMT aligner for four years, I replaced the DMT aligner with this one. I couldn't be more pleased! This is a solid piece of equipment and works wonderfully! I wish I had upgraded to this one a long time ago. WELL DONE GATCO!!
GATCO Replacement Clamp Guide for Sharpening Systems
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mac
prairie town wi.
Aug 05, 2009
Pros: Effectiveness, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Gatco Replacement Clamp Guide

good guide clamp
GATCO Replacement Clamp Guide for Sharpening Systems
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike P
Buffalo, NY
Jun 05, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

best clamp out there

I've been using the DMT system for a while now and while the stones are the best, the clamp just doesn't compare to the Gatco system. The good news is this works GREAT with the DMT stones and holder. It's sturdy (metal!) and has a great range of angles.
GATCO Replacement Clamp Guide for Sharpening Systems
rated 5 stars out of 5
Twinstick
Western NY State
Apr 28, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Just an FYI

Just an FYI. If you have blades that are 1/4" & 3/8" thick like me, take this with you to the hardware store & get some longer bolts with hex heads & an allen key to match. Then this will work fine for them as well.
GATCO Replacement Clamp Guide for Sharpening Systems
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dm
Sep 22, 2008
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Solid, strong

Excellent clamp, solid, strong, all what you would expect from it.
GATCO Replacement Clamp Guide for Sharpening Systems
rated 4 stars out of 5
Crankywarvet
Germany
Apr 08, 2014
Pros: Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Far better than the standard composite clamp

This is far better than the aluminum-ABS composite clamp that comes with Gatco sets. I have been using my broken composite clamp held together with JB Weld for long enough, time for a replacement. One thing that really surprised me- when held back-to-back with the composite clamp, the angle guides don't line up- so I looked closer, and saw that the composite clamp is 1/2 slot off symmetry! WTF? The new aluminum clamp, by design, is absolutely symmetric. It holds well and I'm not afraid to clamp down with the screws. Mounted in a bench vise, it's a poor-man's Wicked.
GATCO Replacement Clamp Guide for Sharpening Systems
rated 2 stars out of 5
Terry T
Bourbonnais, IL
Jan 08, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, None
Cons: Ease of Use, Effectiveness

WHAT WERE THEY THINKING OF???

Gatco used to make this item from plastic and aluminum, and other than being slightly flexible, did not cause any usage issues and performed just fine. Fast fwd to today and now Gatco has a newly designed, but very robust clamp made 100% from aluminum.......but they also changed the machining of the tip of this new clamp which is now pretty useless in holding most EDC knife blades for sharpening. Your knife blade when chucked up in the clamp will not hold the knife blade tight enough, so the blade moves and there goes your carefully selected sharpening angle. I think Gatco changed the clamp design to pacify those that complained about the older plastic/aluminum clamp "scratching" their knife blades. Gatco should have told them to put some masking tape on the clamp jaws which would have solved the scratching problem, but no, had to redesign the entire clamp. Now they have a high tech "cigar holder". If you have lots of Gatco stuff (like me) and need this clamp then fine, a good clamp other than aforementioned issues, just be prepared to do some machining on the tip or lots of tape in order to hold your blade securely. Rock on Gatco!
GATCO Replacement Clamp Guide for Sharpening Systems
rated 2 stars out of 5
John B.
Bastrop, TX
May 11, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness, None
Cons: Overall Quality

Not as expected

This is a replacement for the original non- metal clamp that came with the set. I find this inferior as the knotch which grips the blade is cast and is not machined at right angles. The rounded corners and fillets pushes the blade out of the clamp. I took a file to mine to flatten the fillets but still having problems.This is not a quality design. Quite disapointed.