Reviews and Ratings for GATCO M.C.S. Military Carbide Pocket Sharpener - 40006

GATCO M.C.S. Military Carbide Pocket Sharpenerrated 4.222 stars out of 5 (9 reviews)
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
1
GATCO M.C.S. Military Carbide Pocket Sharpener

 

Price: $14.95

Save $4.30 (22%) Off Retail

View Product Details
GATCO M.C.S. Military Carbide Pocket Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eric
Hyattsville, MD
Feb 09, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Poket sized sharpener
Light weight well built. Replaceable cutting blades.
GATCO M.C.S. Military Carbide Pocket Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Macfl
Ruskin FL
Dec 16, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Very handy sharpener
I keep one in my pocket and I gave one to a Special FOrces trooper along with the survival knie I made for him. It is very rugged, but may be a little heavey to where on a dogtag chain as suggested
GATCO M.C.S. Military Carbide Pocket Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
R4990
Birmingham, AL
Dec 24, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
High quality
This is not only an excellent sharpener but a very high quality piece. It will quickly restore a keen edge with only a couple of strokes. Very nice.
GATCO M.C.S. Military Carbide Pocket Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hiroshi Neya
Kyoto-Shi, Ukyo-Ku, Other
May 29, 2014
Pros: Ease of Use
Cons: None
Good field sharpner
it's compact, and light weight. and ease to use. good EDC sharpner. coarse, but enough temporary sharp.
GATCO M.C.S. Military Carbide Pocket Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Newsboy
Boise City, Ok
Jan 05, 2010
Pros: Durability, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Compact and Easy to Use.
When I got the sharpener I ended up sharpening 8 knives. Did good job on all.
GATCO M.C.S. Military Carbide Pocket Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jessica G.
Asheville, NC
May 30, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great
It was a birthday gift for my husband. He takes it every where with him. He uses it when he is out hunting and fishing.
GATCO M.C.S. Military Carbide Pocket Sharpener
rated 4 stars out of 5
9Fingers
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 27, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Quick field sharpening
Not what you would use to make a blade razor sharp, but definitely convenient and quick to produce a serviceable edge in the field. Think basic utilitarian sharpness versus combat/weapon sharpness.
GATCO M.C.S. Military Carbide Pocket Sharpener
rated 3 stars out of 5
Charles
Paris, France
May 27, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Use, None
Cons: Effectiveness
Not very effective
I'm not sure about this product. It does sharpen somewhat but I believe the angle is set too low. May be handy for heavy use on the field but should not be used for serious sharpening.
GATCO M.C.S. Military Carbide Pocket Sharpener
rated 1 stars out of 5
Vinnie_Likem_Sharp
Bakersfield, California
Jul 12, 2018
Pros: None
Cons: Effectiveness, Durability, Overall Quality
Carbide Bits chipped up after 1st use. No Good
I have a 40-year-old military one. looks just like this one but no frills or colors, and the bits are permanently installed. I've ran scissors, machetes, and tons of chef knifes through that one and the bits never chipped or dulled, so i thought buying this one that looked the same would be the same. Not even close. Barely got the first run to sharpen one knife then it was dull. Turning the bits makes you able to sharpen 3 more sides but that's it. Don't buy this cheap carbon not carbide device.