Reviews and Ratings for Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle

Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handlerated 3.837 stars out of 5 (86 reviews)
3.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
44
4 star
16
3 star
6
2 star
8
1 star
12
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8 inch Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle

 

Price: $49.95

Save $12.05 (19%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Awsome
awsome vill
Feb 02, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
yep
i agree with reviewers aj and klord it is a great knife
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zachary
north port florida
Jan 04, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
great bear grills knife
good sharpner great flint
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hikeeba
SE WI
Feb 21, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Lots of bang for the buck; an excellet value.
I purchased this knife to use on camping and backpacking trips, as well as to be included in a car utility kit. Since I just took delivery of my Bear Grylls Ultimate Survival Knife, my review is based on my initial impressions only. I have not had a chance to use the knife kit in the field. The high carbon stainless steel blade (I read somewhere that it was 440A) is a decent and useful size; not too long, not too short. The blade has a high, slicing-friendly, hollow grind that tapers to full thickness about 3/8" from the spine. I measured the full thickness of the spine to be 3/16". I'm not sure of the tang shape or how the handle materials are affixed, but all components feel solid and have excellent fit and finish. The rubberized handle is plenty grippy, and I find the handle shape to be comfortable and versatile. Overall, I believe this is a solid knife that will adequately handle any reasonable task that I throw at it, including proper batoning to chop or split wood. The knife sheath and nylon sheath platform combine into a versatile carry system for the knife. All of the retaining straps for the sheath and knife secure with a hook and loop material, which I find works fine/serves it's function well, and is easily manipulated. The integrated diamond sharpener on the back of the sheath looks like it would work well for a speedy touch-up in an emergency situation. I don't think it is fine enough to achieve shaving sharpness, but it would certainly rejuvenate the blade's usefulness if pressed into service. I like that the sharpener is mounted on an angle, which can make emergency sharpening simpler and easier. The small whistle is certainly functional, as is the fire steel that is integrated into the sheath. I moved the whistle from the pommel to the bottom of the sheath to make way for a lanyard more to my liking. Although the fire steel seems to plug securely into it's spot on the sheath, I leashed it to the loop at the base of the sheath with a lanyard for a little extra insurance. The little survival info pamphlet that came with the package is easy to read, and the advice is simple and easy to follow. I wasn't able to fit the pamphlet into the pocket on the back of the sheath platform, but I also didn't really try too hard to do so. Overall, I think this package is an excellent value. I can say that I was more than pleasantly surprised by the quality of all the components, and that my expectations have been exceeded thus far. I have no doubts this knife kit will serve me well when called upon. Post script: I feel it was well worth the wait for this knife package.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lr
Rochester, MN
May 26, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great knife for the money and purpose.
Where else can you get a knife for less than $40 that has this many extras. It is not a $200 knife. Buy it for what it is, a great tool for a tight situation or just for fun to take a on a day hike. I think it's great that this product is available and it is perfectly designed for its intention. I have never owned a bad Gerber product and this is no exception. Buy a more expensive blade for your heavy duty tasks; use the right tool for the right job.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris P
Al Nahda, Sharjah,
May 14, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
A true survival knife
i like almost everything in this piece. the thickness and the weight of the knife are superb. and the additions of whistle, fire steel and sharpener is a plus and a must specifically in a survival situation. all comes handy and worry-free, and it packs all very neatly.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zig Cioron
Adelaide Australia
Jun 11, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Survival Knife
I do a lot of caravanning, so I am outdoors a lot. When I am walking in the scrub, I often find timber I can make into walking sticks, that I give away to fellow travellers I meet in caravan parks. I have used this knife to clean up shafts in preparation for sanding, and it works a treat. A solid, comfortable knife to use.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Oliver Debus
Frankfurt, Hessen, Germany
Jul 27, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Good knife for best price
I bought this knife for allday-use and for wakling in the woods. It has an excellent quality and the price from knifecenter is outstanding. This mix together is the best you can get. The blade is sharp, the blade material great. There is nothing bad to say about this knife. This knife is a very good choice.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nick
Wilmington, NC
Feb 18, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
BEAUITFUL
The knife is completely amazing and incredible. When you hold the knife for yourself you'll understand. It just seems as though nothing but hard work was put into this blade. Gerber makes the best blades as my dad always says and now I believe him. Thank you Gerber for all your hard work and passion!
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve S.
East Boston
Feb 29, 2012
Pros: Weight, Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
used the knife for camping works very well, love the fire starter had to test it. no complaints
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Myles Rodgers
Essex, On
Apr 07, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
A great knife, great deal. Absolutely worth it.
First of all, I must say the shipping speed was incredible. I received the knife in 3 days! It arrived before it was supposed to. Excellent service Knife Center! The knife, when I first opened it, seemed a little cheap. But once I started playing with it I started to realize how great it is. The blade on the knife came super sharp, I cut my hand with it. The whistle is really loud, almost deafening. The sheath is great, I really like the way it rests on my belt. The fire starter works really well, and the sharpener on the back is great as well. The pommel seems to be holding up too, really happy with this. The grippy-ness of the handle is great, non slipping. It has a good weight to it, not too heavy but not light. Overall, this is a great knife. Super cheap, but really built to last. This is an excellent survival knife. Bear Grylls and Gerber really made an excellent product. I would definitely recommend this item to anyone. If you're thinking of getting one, do it. You'll be happy. Thanks.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mel Whitworth
League City, TX
May 18, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Knife is awesome!!
This is a gift for my son..He will use it when he goes to the ranch.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Deven S
St-André-Avellin QC
Jul 28, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Right Review
i put a review on the plain blade but i had bought this one. So Here My Review Very Good Survival Knife! Very good knife! it is very usefull the sharpener in the sheath, the fire starter, the built in hammer and the whisle all very good for survival i recommend this knife to evryone! gerber was smart to team up with bear grylls, a suvival expert! So at all highly recomended.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ty
Tennessee
Dec 24, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
This knife rocks i don't know why people give it a bad reputation.I have had 2 of these the first one i had got the heck beat out of it and it held up battoned lots of wood, chopped lot of sapplings down,and made many fires with it and it held up with flying colors.the steel is a 440a(7cr17mov) which is a decent steel not the best edge holding but it is easy to sharpen with a course diamond stone,and a fine arkansas stone brings it back to hair shaving sharp,for the serrations use a diamond rod to sharpen.okay the sheath is a great sheath has a good retion system,and has a velcrow strap.it also has a fero rod in the sheath which is a good extra it works well, the sheath also has a diamond stone build in very course good for geting nicks out of the blade. for 50$ its a great deal and give it a 5out of 5 hope this helped :)
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
S. James K
Ft. Stewart, GA
Mar 25, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Finish, None
Quality And Value Only Gerber Can Produce
This knife is the best Ive ever owed and I take it with me when ever Im in the field, i have put it through the ultimate durability tests in the swamp lands of georgia, if i were to change anything about this knife it would only be the colors (orange isn't exactly tactical). But i recommend this knife to any sportsmen or soldier.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Animatronic Fireman
Saskatchewan, Canada
Apr 04, 2011
Pros: Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Great value
Gave this as a gift to my brother and he loved it. There are definitely better knives out there but this makes a really good camping knife for most people. Definitely make sure you get the 2nd run that fixes the pommel issues. These new knives are still found in blister pack, to confirm which model you are buying look at pictures of the old one. On the old one the the fire steel striking edge is much smaller (about as long as it is wide) and there is less orange plastic between the pommel and the grip. Sheath is cheaper than I'd like.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Conrad K.
Port Elizabeth, Al
Sep 23, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Awesome
All i can say it is an awesome knife!
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chrome Man
Ohio
Feb 17, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great Bear Grylls Ultimate Survival Knife kit
Super well designed and well made!
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
S Ingrim
Anchorage, AK
Feb 28, 2011
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Finish, Sheath/Scabbard
I'm impressed
This knife combo has consolidated several items I always carry with me when I'm out in the wilderness. I especially like the thickness of the blade. It looks as though you could thoroughly use the knife for anything from dressing game to cutting wood to make a shelter. I received it for my birthday after much hinting. The only thing I would change is the sheath. But it's the same thing I always complain about. I'd like a sheath that I can button over a belt as opposed to having to slide the belt through. I wear a lot of camping pants where most of the belt is stitched into the actual pants. I also thought the survival instructions were a nice touch.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe S
Los Angeles CA
Jan 02, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
good knife
the grip is awesome feels great . the only thing was the peice of plastic that holds the knife from slipping out its held to the sheath by the smallest peice of plastic which cracked then later broke off the sheath. other then that its a great knife and even after it broke gerbers sheath was still able to hold the knife in the sheathvery well.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Miles
Moscow, RF
Mar 01, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Wow!
Strong. its just what i need
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chard Daddy
Austin, TX
Feb 23, 2011
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Thanks babe
Awesome
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paolo M
Ravenna, Italy
Mar 22, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Very very good object
For trekking with friends, camping and home work
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aj
in
Dec 24, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
woohoo!
its great
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin
W.
Feb 08, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None
I wanted to hate this knife..... But I actually love it. I collect knives (have over 120) and got this knife just to test it expecting the worse. When I first got it I hated the look.... Looked like a toy. However, the orange has come in handy and makes the knife easy to spot when you set it down. The sheath has turn out to be really versatile. I decided to use this knife until it broke on all the things I didn't want to do with my more expensive knives. However, three years later and this knife is still ticking! I baton with it, chop limbs and small trees, I have cut about everything with it and even hammered it deep into a big tree like a nail. At this point I almost want it to break so I have an excuse to buy the upgraded version. For under $50 this is a GREAT KNIFE!! It feels better in hand and more well balanced than many more expensive knives. The blade is a great size and shape for an all-purpose knife. Like I said, I want to hate it but love it! I feel like a tool having this knife on my belt while out in the field (especially when I have more expensive better looking knives to choose from in my collection) but I just like this knife better. Try it out and you wil be surprised!
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Adrien
Banlieue de Paris FRANCE
Feb 22, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Ce couteau est très bien aiguisé, je m'en suis servi pour couper des branches et le coté dentelé fonctionne très bien, on a une prise en main excellente, c'est une belle pièce. Avis aux aventuriers. "This knife is very sharp, I used to cut branches and serrated side works very well, we have a good grip, it's a beautiful piece. Adventurers."
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Not A Knife Pro
OK
Mar 27, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Love it
Really cool product. I love that it came with the fire starter and little survival guide.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Al The Cook
Warren, NJ
Feb 16, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
The Bear gryllis Kinfe
Well designed, fits in hand very nicely. It is rugged and well built - designed to last. Look forward to using it for many years - a handy tool by my side.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ben A
NSW, Australia
Aug 07, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight
Great knife for a great price!
This survival knife is a very sturdy, well made knife. I love the sheath. Its nice, compact and practical. I would like the fire starter rod to be a bit longer, but other than that a fantastic knife. I used this to skin some game, and it worked exceptionally. Highly recomend this product, especially for $40
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mel Whitworth
League City, TX
May 23, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Love the knife
I have already purchased one for myself and this one is for my son..He will use it in hunting and general use.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kane S.
Columbus, In
Jan 10, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
I can't wait
All of my friends tell me I should get this knife if any for my soon to be collection. I can't wait to get it! btw: if you go to a competing site, it is 5$ more so this is a great deal!
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
WA Australia
Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
The best package!
First of all, I never listen to the haters who don’t explain why they hate this knife. I got it as a present from a friend of mine and used it fair bit. When I choose a knife I look at knife and sheath combination – there is no point in having a good knife without a decent sheath. The sheath here is very well thought through and a good quality it has a diamond sharpener and a fire rod of quite a good quality too. I can’t believe that many people could possibly get the problem knives from the first production. I may want to see it in black and to have a snap instead of velcro on the sheath but it’s a different story. This knife itself is very decent. It is hands down the best knife + sheath package for under $60 on the market.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Honest John
Spring Hill Florida
Feb 16, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Bear Grylls survival knife by Gerber
The knife and fire starter are a necessary companion while exploring in the field. The delayed delivery time was excessive in my opinion. Why advertise a knife and then delay delivery for several months.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dan'l Boone
Kan-Tuck-Y
Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Haters piss me off
I am so sick of people bad-mouthing this knife!!!! Most of the negative reviews are about the original knife all the problems they had were fixed 3 YEARS AGO!!! STOP LIVING IN THE PAST!!! This is one tough knife I've chopped down small trees, threw this at trees, stabbed tires, sawed through tires, pounded with the pommel, took a rock a pounded this knife into a log, batoned, and much more with this!! The fire rod works great. Say what you want about Bear it this knife is incredible! And for the people that are still mad about the original knife braking shut the f up. Gerber will send you a new one!!!
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
-Ian
coronado, ca
Apr 07, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
i am an outdoor/wilderness junkie and enjoy ultralite backpacking, hiking, etc. love the design. scout sytle carry option is great (across the lower back). nice having the extras like flint and whistle built in. love the ergonomics of the handle and very useful pommel for hammering. simple, functional and sturdy blade design. this does about anything i ask of my knife in the outdoors.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
James L
Euclid, Ohio
Mar 06, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great Knife
I Love the Knife its for camp
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin S
Florida
Jan 02, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Survival knife
We have not used the knife and yet I bought it for my daughter but the feel the sheet the weight and the accessories that come with it all were great I'm sure we're going to enjoy it
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim1657
Fredericksburg, VA
Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Really good survival knife.
Not a fan of bight colors on my knifes but I do see the reason for it (Easy to find if you drop it). As a survival knife, can't find anything wrong with it. If you can only afford one knife, this would not be a bad choice. In fact, it would be my first choice.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Heath F
Castlerock, co
Jun 20, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
Great knife
Awesome design Love the feel Great engineering for spear
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nick The Knife
Spokane, WA
Feb 27, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
well worth the money for a very solid knife and sheath
i got the 2nd production version (the one with the fixed pommel) and it rules! i can safely say i have abused it over the past week and have had no trouble. battoning works great with this knife, lashing it to a stick and using as a spear worked great, the fire steel works great and its comfy in the hand. the sharpener works just fine for field sharpening. the sheath fits the knife tightly and feels very secure. i would recommend moving the whistle from the pommel to the end of the fire-steel so it doesn't get in the way when pounding with the pommel. the only issue i have is the back of the sheath, the belt loops are almost to tight to get a strap through. but that's ok since i keep the knife in my backpack. the other issue is make sure you own a serrated knife sharpener! you will need it! i am very happy with this knife. has a solid weight and feel and a very nice comfy handle. i never liked having serrations on knifes but i am finding i use them all the time on this knife. it just works faster for bushcraft work. you can almost use it as a saw it has so many serrations! the blade is pretty thick as well, witch works good for prying and digging. i am very, very happy with this knife. well done Gerber!! well done!!
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gator Man
Florida
May 12, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Its cool, its fun
Old timers give this knife a hard time. But then, they're old timers. Its simply a cool, fun knife which does a lot of things. Love the design, the feel, the grip. I love it, my son thinks its cool. Love the tv show...Score a point for Dad. Let the pros and old timers sit around with their expensive "classic" knives, and have a heart attack if something happens to it, it drops, they lose it or someone takes it. This knife rocks, and if the day comes when i have to replace it, $35.00 doesn't break the bank. Btw, had a fire starting contest...used this knife, started a fire before anyone else. Booya old timers.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rob
TN
Dec 20, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
great quality
Purchased as gift for relative he was delighted
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Klord
Macon, Georgia
Jan 30, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Nice knife
reviewer aj is full of it. I found this to be a very handy knife with a great balance to it. Bought my dad one and he loves his as well. He won't go fishing or camping without it.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nascar
Jan 03, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None
Price
Go to amazon and they have a cheaper price
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Carlos
HOME
Oct 15, 2012
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None
G
CAMPING HUNTING SURVIVAL
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Georgia Hiker
Atlanta, GA
Feb 17, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Just one little flaw
Only draw back is a missing pocket on the sheath for the "survival pocket guide:. This guide is rather small and can get easily lost. I have wedged it behind the “signal guide” but that’s a very tight fit. Not sure if the stitching will hold up over time. Other than that the knife keeps it's promise.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
John D.
Somewhere In Alaska
Dec 20, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Material, Materials, Sheath/Scabbard
Good But Not The Best
Let me just say that this is a great knife. It is only because of my stupidity that it failed me.This was my very first fixed blade, and as a back country, wild 13 year old I was very exited! I immeideatly took this knife out and began putting it to the test: First I lashed it to a pole and threw it a dead stump about a dozen times. The knife, now bruised but not beaten, bit at the tree with ferocity. I then proceeded the torture it in various ways to the best of my abilities... hours later, the knife proved that it would not give up. I noticed the point was getting a tad blunt, so I brought it in and began to attempt to sharpen the blade (something I knew nothing about) Long story short, I filed the tip down until it was as blunt as a babys bottom. The knife continued to deliver excellent performance even with a blunt tip. several months of brutal beatings with out a single cleaning began to take its tool on the knife and the sheath however and I soon lost the whistle and the fire-steel. Finally the locking system on the sheath gave out as well. the sad looking excuse for a knife that I was left with was so sorry looking I decided to retire it to my extra knife box. I quickly took the advice of the older and wiser and ordered the battle proven LMF 2. The knife is no doubt in the top 10 best knife list! It is far more sturdyer and the sheath is way better. The LMF boasts 420HC steel to the Ultimate knifes carbon steel. I loved the Ultimate knife but it is not as well designed nor as well made as the LMF. The knife itself held together it was the sheath that I was mainly disappointed in. overall a good knife for the money... But not the best.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mike
Australia
Aug 31, 2013
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Excellent knife, shoddy sheath
I received this knife for a birthday present for my wife a few years ago, and while the label initially turned me off, the knife itself is fantastic. As a landscaper, I've used it on many different types of plants and wood, and when well sharpened, it cuts like nothing. I've even used it to dig a few holes and uproot plants, which has made the blade so blunt it cant even break the skin with full pressure - but a few turns on the sharpening stone and it gains back its edge very well. It's got an excellent weight to it (great for batoning) and is very well balanced, and its sold me on the straight edge/serrated half edge debate. I cant even think of owning a knife without a serrated half-edge now. I've taken it through tropical climates, freezing cold bush rivers and lakes, and hot Australian summers, and its never quit - only a few spots of rust that are easily cleaned off. The sheath, however, is not fantastic. The lock-in mechanism broke after a few months of use and the sharpener was never very good to begin with. The fire starter was pretty good though. I'm only now considering a replacement, but after several years of almost daily use, that should be all the information you need.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Matt S.
Morrow, OH
Jun 22, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: None
Good for work around the house
For the money I believe this is a decent work knife around the house, property or farm. Why? Here are a few reasons: .Low cost (no big financial loss if damaged) .Sheath (easy one had in and out sheath) .Blade steel (the blade steel is relatively soft, but as a result really quick and easy to sharpen! The knife stays sharp enough for basic yard work / farm / property tasks. Blade steel is decent weather resistant steel... Doesn't rust very easily, which is nice when you just keep it in the garage, or put it away somewhat dirt, a little wet, in humid or cold (year round) environments). .While the knife looks kind of stupid with the orange color and gimmicky, the color makes it easy to spot if you set it down) .Comfortable and good grip handle. Good size knife overall for chores. .Combo blade makes it a good multi-purpose chore know for around the yard / property. So, overall, while it is a gimmicky knife and far from being a survival knife, it is a good work knife to keep in the garage and abuse / use for work around the house / farm and so on.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jraptor
San Antonio, Texas
Feb 23, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Nice all-in-one
Alot of people are being quite hard on this knife, unfairly, I believe. Bear and Gerber have put together a nice all in one package for emergency use. This is designed to get you out of an unexpected emergency in one piece and I think it performs admirably in that role (and looks cool too). I am going to get an extra one for my wifes SUV. I have a Busse SAR 4 I will take in an apocalypse, but Bear's knife will do for anything else.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Paramedicranger
Laval, Qc
Jun 14, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Fire Star
I will use it as a SAR member in our practice. It has a good grip, maybe a better nylon sheath.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Carl B
Finland
Aug 15, 2015
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Blade Material
Semi good outdoor knife.
The handle is comfrtable to hold even for long periods of time. It holds well in the hand. It has a nice weight and size allowig you to chop wood easily. The hardening of the blade is terrible. I once hit a rock and the blade got a huge dent. The saw comes down to if you like having those or not. I don't like it. The "smashing" block on the end is good. But I don't get what to use it for. The sheath is pretty good, holds the knife firmly. Has a semi good sharpener on the back and also holds the fire striker rod firmly in place. I like the knife. Could be better in some places but it is a quality knife.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Z
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Great Knife
Have had my SOG Seal Pup for aver a decade and love it. I bought the Gerber for my brother who lost his fishing/hunting knife and he didn't want it. I sure wasn't going to throw it away! It took two weeks before I went on a few night camping/fishing/backpacking trip. I alternated knives. I like the Seal Pup better. It is a bit nicer to hold, sharp as could be. That being said, the Gerber was no slouch. If you are stuck between the two, try to hold each of them. The Gerber is a nice "bigger" feel to it. It would be better for hammering something in, like if you forgot you hatchet and need to hammer your tent stakes. Sheath is OK, I like it but I don't know if it will hold up. Anyways, awesome knife!
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chris
Freetown, MA
Dec 16, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Nice Knife
Looks good so far. Will be a gift for brother-in-law. Great quality.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
The Woodsman
here and there
Dec 23, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Materials, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Finish
Good knife
Most people say that this knife is crap. If you dont beat the crap out of it then it is a good knife. I would reccomend the lmf for a all around woods knife but this is great too.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
A Hunter.
Andale, KS
Dec 29, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Pretty good.
I hvent had any problems except with the sharpener. The flint is good and I am able to start fires with it easily. The sharpener gets it sharp but it wears out too fast. Whistle isn't too bad. Fairly loud. I could do without the serrated edges. But overall It is a good knife.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bob Smith
Tucson, AZ
Mar 27, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Material, Finish, Blade Sharpness
Good value overall
Ok let's face it this thing is made in china and quality control isn't going to be great so first off get one of the new ones that are arriving at some stores in cardboard boxes again and open it up to look at it first before you buy. If not just send it back if you have to get a blister pack one and it is defective. Ok that said if you see no defects then let's assume all is ok and move on. You do get slot of features for your money. The sharpener, flint and whistle are an easy $15 value and essential survival tools you are going to want to have with you anyway. So now we are looking at a $30 knife with a average to good sheepath for what you would expect in that price range. The knife itself in this second incarnation is sturdy and the problem of the breaking pommel has been fixed I have tested this and seen how the knife is out together in a cut cross section. The steel really isn't the best in terms of heardness but it is tough and won't break easily when bashed with a large rock as long as you are not bashing the tip or serrations. Perhaps a better heat treat? That said the serrations are too weak and too many of them I would have preferred 1.5" of some stronger serrations. The grip is actually quite good and I like the 3 holes for lashing. The light weight doesn't make it a super copper but does make it easy to just keep in an emergency kit bag and the size I do think is ideal. Over all I think it is a good value. You could do better by buying piece separately as some have said but I still think that would cost more and if this is in a kit bag or in your car in case of emergency then I think it will do ok as a light compact all in one. If you are going into the woods on purpose then yes, strap on that super knife with Swedish fire steel, howler and your sharpener of choice in the sheath pocket. But when you don't expect it and your car just breaks down in the middle of nowhere and you just pull that small light waterproof baggie survival kit out. Then you may be happy to have this knife, flint whistle and sharpener even if you do have to bash it and re sharpen it and tear it up for a day or even a week then junk it when you make it home. Heck in that case I bet Gerber and Bear will give you a new one for your beat up old one and your survival story.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rusty
Baltimore
May 31, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Good Knife.
I like this knife. The serrated port is longer than the average knife and I like that. I like how you can hammer with the bottom of it. I like the orange color easy to find if you drop it. The chief could be a little better made.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Forza 3 Rules
Ohio
Feb 21, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Very Cool
I like this knife very much. Looks cool and feels nice. Has some weight but is not extremely heavy. It is easy to keep a good grip on it even when it is sopping wet. The only reason why I gave it a 4 and not 5 is because I would have liked to see gerber use a little harder metal and the whistle is not very loud. But all n all I am please with it.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Pete Bryant
TG, Aus
Apr 07, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: None
Pleased
Given the price thought this maybe a bit of a gimmic, but actually not a bad knife, the sheath is quite clever too.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Lemonte
Dayton, OH
Jul 01, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Overall Quality, None
Honest Review
I wanted to hate this knife. I purchased this knife out of curiousity. At first, I did hate it because it looked like a toy. However, I decided to keep it. I wouldn't use it as an actually survival knife or something you need to depend on. However, my house is on 5 acres and there are always outdoor projects. I decided to use this as a garage / yard knife. I have come to really like the feel of the handle and the orange color simply because it is easy to find when I set it down. I admit I feel like a bit of a d0uche working on my property with this survival knife but I like it. The sheath is great. You can even hang the knife around your neck like a large neck knife which makes it eash to grab when working. The blade does dull faster than many more expensive knives, but it is also very, very easy to sharpen (unlike a lot of expensive knives with better steel). The steel type is also quite resistant to rust and other elements which make it a decent work knife. For the money, this is actually a great knife in my opinion. However, you do get what you pay for.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Dominic
Feb 08, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Material, Materials
The knife stays in tact as long as you don't use it rough but if not it can chip or break. Save your money for a KA BAR.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Simon F
kazachstan
Mar 02, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Material, Handle Material, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish, None
Cons: Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Finish
i killed me wife with it
ah ya know yir self its alright ya know good stabbing action it can fit in me arse thats all that matters
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Quanticokid
Canton, Ohio
Feb 09, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, None
Cons: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality
ultimate survival????
This knife has all the bells and whistles."it actually has a whistle"I debated about buying an Ontario air force survival knife or this Gerber. This knife was not exceedingly sharp out of the blister pack."no box" the grind for the striker was uneven. Poor attention to detail in production. I suspect the knife will perform well but from inital inspection this is not even the ULTIMATE $44 survival knife.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Mark S.
Ohio
Feb 13, 2012
Pros:
Cons:
Decent knife for the money - innovate, average quality
Here is the deal. I bought this knife mostly because I was just curious. When I first opened it, I hated it. It felt like a toy, not a knife. I literally almost threw it away in the first hour. However, it is still a knife, so I didn't. After awhile, this knife actually really started to grow on me. The handle is comfortable, it is easy to pop in and out of the sheath with one hand, but stays secure even without strap. It has a nice sheath and the orange color (although kind of lame) makes it easy to find / see when you set it down. This is not a serious survival knife. It is an average knife and really a pretty darn good value for the money. I live on 5 acres have ended up using this knife as my garage / property work knife. I actually really like it for that purpose. I use it whenver working on the property so I don't have to tear up my nicer knives for that purpose. The blade gets torn up easy (soft metal) but it is pretty resistant to weather / rust and is easy to sharpet. It is a good work knife for for a small farm or property like mine in my opinion. Best average, round the house work knife for the money in my opinion. Also, a pretty decent knife for a young kid (12 or 13) as well in my opinion.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Godzwil
canada
Feb 22, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Material, Materials
great Idea CHEAP STEEL
I'm a huge outdoor enthusiast and own several knives I really like the ideas and creation of this knife for this price range, including the flint, sharpening stone and whistle as well as bear grylls survival guide, genius! The blade although very sharp is made of poor material and already the serrated edge is mangled from chopping down medium to small size branches. Disappointing compared to Gerber's Usual standards and unlikely something the remarkable Bear Grylls can truly be proud of. Great in a survival situation perhaps but realistically the poor quality doesn't make for a very practical long term investment. NICE TRY!
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
James
Oct 02, 2012
Pros:
Cons:
Nice knife
Blade is too Short
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Billy D
Boston, MA
Feb 22, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Materials
Eh, not really impressed
This is really one step up from a toy I think. The construction is rather shoddy and looks like it was put together with a glue gun by someone in a home ec class. The fire rod arrived cracked and I would have returned the thing if it wasn't such a hassle. It's cool 'cos you can see Bear Grylls use the same knife on Man vs. Wild but that's about it for the positive. I would trust this product as a "survival" knife.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Todd A. Eilts
Central Il.
May 10, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Material, Materials, Overall Quality, Finish
Ultimate? I don't know about that!
Not real happy with this purchase after having actually used it. I was initially impressed with the knife, but after a weekend campout, not so much. I would say this endured moderate use at most. To start, the serrations wore out after cutting some rope for barriers, a gap occurred between the blade and thumb "spot" on back of handle. Let's say the fire starter has issues, degrades very quickly and loosens up after the thing has been used. The sharpener is a joke. I don't care for the angle and the screws were ABOVE the sharpening surface. Really nice scratches in blade now. The lanyard is too small for real use, i replaced it but cmon guys, i couldn't get more than three fingers in it. The whistle is cute but become overwhelmed with real amounts of air and I would guess the output is around 75db. I do love the handle design, it fits well and is grippy. I would not want this to be my only way out if in real danger. I own the folding version of this and it of much better quality for an EDC. Buy the folder skip the ultimate.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Happycamper
Seattle
Jul 18, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Shame on Bear
I dont own one a good friend and camping buddy did. its in the garbage now. the knife is a good idea the sharpener the firestarter and the whistle all in one is a great concept. unfourtunately the execution is crap. the handle on the knife comes apart after a few hard whacks that wouldnt make a gerber LMF, or a kabar flinch, the sharpener isnt useable due to the rivets and if it gets wet forget it, the firestarter is low quality and the whistle is too small, it works but not when you blow really hard. I love Man vs Wild, its an entertaining show but I think the fact that you can see Bear use the knife for half a season and then switch back to the LMF is a good indicator of quality, I think Gerber needs to bring there company into the 21st century and use different steel for there products 440 is not a bad steel but there are soo many better harder more rust resistant steels out there. This knife has the second kind of cool, but i would take almost any other knife over this one
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Jedar
Malaysia
Jul 19, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Finish, Sheath/Scabbard, Overall Quality, Materials
really dissapointed for ultimate knive -.- ..
be4 open n c the box feel good ,after open the box .. omg .. the blade drop point has a oblique drop point... totally mood down when c tis ..seem like gerber has to find a more better QC ...
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Calvin
Brunswick Georgia, USA
Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Materials, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Not the best knife Gerber makes
NOT full TANG! Great blade, crappy handle.... Hammer head is embedded in PLASTIC handle and WIIL BREAK if actually used much, BEWARE. Gerber should be ASHAMED of themselves for producing this product. Great LOOKING design, shoddy engineering. Gerber RE-ENGINEER/REDESIGN this knife PLEASE....!
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Bill
Wesley Chapel, Fl
Jul 09, 2012
Pros: Finish, Weight, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Materials
Doesn't live up to Advertising
The design concept of this "survival knife" is quite good, however; the choice of materials scream CHEAP. It is more of an ultimate weekend camping knife than a survival knife. I would seriously not want to trust my life to this knife. The blade steel needs to be greatly improved, a small retaining strap for the firesteel would be nice, a better quality sharpener and whistle should be included. The knife feels really good in the hand but plastic in a survival knife just doesn't get it done. A choice of blade style would be welcome. The sheath is of low quality. This knife is at the best a teenagers knife for weekend camping trips where one can pack up and go home if problems arise. If your looking for a survival knife, save your money.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Totempole
mo.
Apr 14, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
The sheath has two metal blade dullers made into it. So that every time the knife is sheathed or drawn these two metal peaces dull the blade. Gerber needs to find some one that understands what a knife sheath is for. A little hint ( not to dull blades).
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Luke
Rochester! Mn
Sep 14, 2012
Pros:
Cons:
Gerber doesn't stand behind this one
There are a lot of things I like about this knife. Unfortunately one or two whacks with a piece of wood on the blade and the pommel breaks right off! I don't know if this has been fixed on the newer models. I sent an email on the gerber website concerning this and never heard back; I'm asumming they don't care and they can assume I won't buy gerber anymore.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
American
usa
Aug 02, 2015
Pros:
Cons:
Made in China. all set
none made in china junk
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
Darin
Minnesota
Nov 16, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, None
Cons: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality
Dulls quickly
Used a few times on a beach vacation. Blade goes dull so quick it's kind of pointless to think of this as a survival knife. Your better off with a Buck knife for the price. Gerber must have paid Bear a lot of money to endorse this knife and ruin his reputation.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
John J R
New York
Sep 24, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Buy something else
The sheath dulls the blade even when removed with care. The sharpener is worthless, I didn't have a problem with the screws just the quality. The whistle is not loud. The striker firestarter only worked well with wetfire tinders, even then it broke. Blade is poor quality steel. I couldn't even pass this knife off to my kid... If everything was improved on it would be a good concept.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
Simon.D
Canada
Jan 02, 2018
Pros:
Cons:
The worst knife on market
the metal of this knife is much too weak. he has a tendency to twist.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
Jimmy
Maine, USA
Oct 12, 2018
Pros: Finish, Weight, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Materials
Good looking garbage
Poor quality sheath, blade that dulls easily, and rubber handle that flakes off.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
Dog
dogville
Jan 01, 2011
Pros: Finish, None
Cons: Overall Quality
piece of crap
sucks, broke 3 times and fire starter gets wet and doesnt work at all. Sharpener sucks!!!
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
B.C
GA.
Mar 15, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, None
Cons: Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
I GOT THE BEAR GERBER FIRST THE FIRE STEEL IS A JOKE I HAD TO USE THE ONE I HAD. THE BLADE ID CRAP I USED IT ONE TIME AND WAS DULL. SHOULD HAVE BEEN MADE OUT OF 1095 OR 1055.I READ EVERYTHING EVERYONE SAID ABOUT IT.THINK I WILL STICK WITH MY GOOD KNIFES.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
B.C
GA.
Mar 15, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, None
Cons: Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
REVIEW
I GOT THE BEAR GERBER FIRST THE FIRE STEEL IS A JOKE I HAD TO USE THE ONE I HAD. THE BLADE I DIDN'T LIKE POOR GRADE OF METAL USED IT DULLED ON ME THE FIRST TIME OUT.SHOULD HAVE BEEN MADE FOR THE BOYSCOUT'S OR THE GIRLS.I WOULD NOT TELL SOMEONE ELSE TO BUY IT GERBER JUST MAKE'S IT LOOK GOOD JUST TO MUCH MONEY FOR THAT KNIFE.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
Jack D
baytown tx
Feb 28, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Materials, Handle Material, Finish
DO NOT BUY
got this knife in the mail a week ago, took it out camping and dropped it from chest high. It hit a rock and the handle shattered. LOW QAULATY save your money.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
Ohio Hiker
Groveport, OH
Feb 21, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality
Great...until you use it.
I had seen the negative reviews. But I thought, it is a Gerber knife. Those negative reviews have to be sour grapes or anomalies. So I gave the knife a go. Out of the box it looks great. The sheath has all the bells and whistles (as someone else said "literally a whistle!"). But if you actually USE the knife, you will see the quality is missing in this "ultimate" knife. I am returning the knife after exactly TWO days of use. First day out with the knife I used it to cut a walking stick for muddy, slick conditions. Stick cut...edge gone. No, it wasn't gone to the point that I couldn't use it, but it certainly dulled it. What's worse? The sheath is already broken! The locking mechanism on the sheath cracked and the knife no longer stays in place. I didn't abuse this knife. I simply used it. I'm also not the type to write reviews or to complain about products. I just want to make sure other people know there may be better choices out there. I, myself, am going to go with something else instead of a replacement. Go with a better quality knife and buy yourself the bells and whistles for your rucksack or pocket.
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
Rob N.
temple Tx
Mar 05, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Bad knife for the money
knife is not good, steel dulls to fast, handle cracked, sheath dose not retain the knife with use
Gerber 31-000751 Bear Grylls Survival Knife 4.8" Combo Blade, Rubber Grip Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
Cpt. Survival
The Bush
May 03, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, None
Cons: Blade Material, Materials, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
One Big Joke
I used to think Grylls was a real, ex-military, survival expert. Now after having purchased and destroyed this new knife of his, I'm not so sure. The point broke 1/4" after only two jabs in rotten oak. The knife edge got dull from cutting eight lines of paracord, and was rusted after only three days of use. The fire starter kept falling out of the sheath and wouldn't light after getting wet.The sharpener became a grit sponge after only one use and could no longer sharpen the edge. I didn't even get to apply the spear concept because the handle was too bulky for a proper lashing. If Bear Grylls truly is a military survival expert, then he should not have endorsed this knife. Otherwise, he's just another ex-grunt whoring himself out to another crappy knife maker for nothing better than a paycheck. I served in the US military for more than twelve years on 3 continents and in over 22 deployments to the field. From now on I'll just stick to my KBARs and Cold Steel tools.