Reviews and Ratings for Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles - 22-01966

Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handlesrated 4.091 stars out of 5 (55 reviews)
4 out of 5 stars
5 star
27
4 star
17
3 star
4
2 star
3
1 star
4
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7 inch Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles

 

Price: $64.95

Save $13.05 (17%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chet
Virginia
Dec 30, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
As always excellent Gerber Quality
The only con of these knives is that if you do not lock-tite the pocket clip you are likely to lose the pocket clip and possibly the knife. Other than that a truly excellent Gerber product.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Peet
Houston, TX
Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Happy Owner
Saw mixed reviews and I am happy with my purchase. Very happy how well it is made. Blade is firm does not move around. Can hear spring when closing but that's expected
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joey B.
Ames, IA
Jan 05, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
This is my second one.
This was great before and it is great again. Beautiful edge and great feel in the hand.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Art K
PENNSAYKEN NJ
Jan 04, 2013
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
NICE OPERATION + VERY SHARP !
NICE SMOOTH OPERATION, STAYS SHARP. ONLY ISSUE, LOCK FOR BLADE RELEASE TOO EASY TO OPERATE, NEEDS TO BE STIFFER AS KNIFE CAN OPEN IN POCKET IF LOCK NOT ON
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeremy V
Seattle, WA
Nov 15, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
Satisfied by every concievable use of the word
This has taken over as my EDC (every day carry) and absolutely love it. It was decently sharp out of the box, it has an awesome weight to it, it opens smoothly, fast and without any play whatsoever. The only thing I don't like is that it lacks a steel glass breaker on the bottom of the handle ... the safety is hard to open sometimes, but with practice (and calluses) it's fine. The handle is also made with a particle-board like polymer. I would like to see a future model in aluminum or single molded polymer. Strictly cosmetic my woe with the handle.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fredric B
Newfield N.J.
Nov 30, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Gerber Applegate -FairbairnCovert Fast 3.7" assisted combo edge blade
I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS KNIFE !!!!!!!! I would give it a 10 If your scale went that high. This is my second one. I lost my first one over a year ago and I was devistated. I paid almost $100 two years ago and I felt it was well worth the $. I'm a chef and I only buy very good knives ( Shun , Wustoff ,Forschner, and Henkels) I always carry a pocket knife and this knife meets all the right criteria., style, durability ease of use, blade sharpness, weight and it's badass looking. Everyone that sees it wants one.I always send them to your website
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Randy
In the South, by the grace of God.
Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST 3.7" Assisted Combo Edge Blade
This purchase replaced my previous EDC knife. I haven't been disappointed. It is easy to carry and deploy. The locking mechanism is good, but could be stronger. I use this knife a lot to cut rope and twine and the extremely sharp blade makes the task very easy. I also like the handle feel and weight of the knife. I would imagine, should the need ever arise, that this knife would be a devastating self-defense weapon.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Frogman
Oxnard
Mar 02, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use
I was impressed!
This is one sweet blade.IT opens smooth and quick.I used it to cot thick plastic bands off of pallets at work .It cut them with ease.The lock up is tight!The downside is the safety.The button is flimsy.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Freddy-P
Az
Feb 25, 2018
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Feel, None
Great knife
It seems from this review that we are talking about two different knives. Mine came as sharp as can be. The quality is EXCELLENT. Love the safety so it doesnt pop open inadvertently although the safety DOES get moved sometimes in the pocket. I have zero complaints for this knife and have been carrying it for a little over a year. I think its a well made little knife. The only con may be the size of the main body which would be dwarfed in a big mans hands.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Awol Zombie
Hartford, CT
Sep 13, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Covert VERY FAST
Wasn't sure what to expect, but I've wanted one of these for a while. It's little bigger than one might think but overall it's very well built and very, very fast. I don't understand why switchblades are illegal when spring assisted knives such as these open faster...
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Reese
Nov 20, 2012
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
good sharp knife at a great price. fits in pocket good. good overall length. only thing that worried me was how long the spring would last but it seems to work fine and should hold up.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
George S
West Melbourne, Fl
Jun 03, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
always great
great knife--lite weight but very tough.fast smooth opening with a tight lock up.very comfortable to hold and use and very intimidating for the person looking at the pointy end.small enough to be discretly carried and big enough to get the job done.great job by gerber and a great price and great service from the knife center.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Don Chaps
San Francisco
Apr 20, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
I love this knife
Assisted opening works fast and solid. Great design. Feels well in large hands. Delivered sharp. Thumb assist is rounded and comfortable. Sadly, not legal for EDC where I live. If the mini-covert was truly a small version of this, I'd be in hog heaven.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Reese
ky
Jul 30, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
buy this now!
this is the 2nd one ive owned and its a really good knife. it has a nice handle on it, good fit in your hand, its pretty sharp too could be a lil sharper but not bad at all. only thing I hate about it is the clip gets caught on seatbelts in vehicles ive noticed. I bent the clip on my first one, I tried to straighten it out best I could but I lost it:( so I bought another. I figured the spring or something would quit working but it holds up real good never had a problem with my first one and had it for a yr or so
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike P
Goose Creek, SC
Jul 17, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
A Great Carry Knife, Too Nice For Utility
I have had mine for some time now. I planned it as a utility and to carry along everyday with a committed defensive use knife. Although a shorter blade than I would prefer, the comforting smack as it opens easily and the sharp -enough -to -shave edge give it an advantage. Just as the Cold Steel's Recon with serrations make it act as a chainsaw, the serrations here are much the same. I even have the larger green micarta limited edition one to carry, but this smaller version is light and compact enough to be palmed and not seen. And that, my brothers, is an advantage as well in the ''real world.'' I have been in a few knife fights, the untrained aggressors usually run fast. I would have no regrets having this as my weapon of the moment.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Christer
Sweden
Apr 25, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Really nice assisted knife
Really nice assisted folder. Comes sharp out of the box. Knife fits my hand perfectly,
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sideshow
NJ
Mar 25, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
great knife
This is actually my second Covert FAST (the first has been lost), I bought a second because this is the best folding knife that I've come across. The feel of the knife is great, not too heavy, or unbalanced and the . I have noticed that the responsiveness of the assist is stronger on my second knife than it was on the first, so the strength of the spring depends on the knife. The only problem that I have with this knife is the clip is very obtrusive when holding the knife in your left hand.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Covert Fan
Kalifornia
Nov 17, 2013
Pros: Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Handle Material
Cons: None
Walks the Walk
The primary question wrt the Covert FAST is, do you want the $50 FAST, or the $100 Covert? I've been a fan of the Covert since it appeared, superior design, premium blade steel, secure lock, and high production quality. So what do you give up when you buy the Chinese version and save $50? On first impression, not very much. The main worry would be reliability, but the blade locks into position automatically and through initial practice has not failed. The Chinese version is made with lower performance blade steel, but this knife is ground as a basic cutting tool and a backup weapon. It has a thick, strong edge grind. The steel is quite adequate for what it is intended for. The G-10 and steel handle are at lease as strong as the original Covert. Summary, the Covert FAST is made from less expensive blade steel, but more than compensates with the assisted opening, automatic lock-up, and lower price. Excellent value. The only TBD is how long the lock will wear. Buying the FAST instead of the original Covert saves you $50, and so far seems to cost you nothing in terms of performance for intended use.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
Huntsville, AL
Jan 11, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
Great Product
Good fit/finish. Appears to be well made for the reasonable price.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Knifenut
Seattle Wa
May 05, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, None
Fantastic
I have the mini covert the 2.9" version and this one, I love the G10 handle its very grippy and has that great matte finish, the assisted opening is very quick and also pretty quiet, the other assisted knives I own all have a very loud "CLACK" when you open them this one doesnt, the slide lock mechanism takes some getting used to but it works. my only complaint with this knife is the saftey is the button you use to fold the knife and occasionally the saftey clicks on and you dont realize it, if i could change one thing i would add a non assisted model using the same design as the mini covert, the mini is a linerlock and i would like that in a larger version, But all in all this knife is fantastic, very sharp out of the box great serrations, and great blade geometry fantastic EDC blade
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Old Guy
Corpus Christi, Texas
Jul 15, 2010
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
High Quality Knife
I carry this knife as a back-up and it is exactly what I wanted. Very Satisfied.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mcpeak
Odenton, MD
Feb 13, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Love it!
Carry it daily. Great feel. Super well made. Don't really like the safety switch, but getting used to it.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lars
Chicago
Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great Knife, Snaps Open Fast!
I bought one and loved it. Am ordering a second as soon as I finish this review for my shoot and scoot bag. I have it's big brother from the 1997 first production run. This one does open fast, borderline auto. I was going to get the auto but decided this was close enough after using it. Most of your unenlightened friends will accuse you of carrying a switchblade. Plus I saved enough to order second! This is one of my 3 EDC knives. I know, you're saying, "Three!?" Hey, I have two hands. And my teeth. I have only one small con. It's slighty rough against your hand when reaching in your clip pocket for something else. But you might not even notice. Get one. It's priced about the same as a Case pocket knife.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marco D
Portugal - Europe
May 10, 2012
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath, Lock Type, Weight, None
Review
Great packaging and delivery time. Unfortunatelly (not your fault) i had to pay customs... for more than another knife like this one would cost... basically i spent around 180 dollars on this knife. If i had to do it again i would because it is a great product, serves my purpose well, and it is indeed "the best of the best" in matter of tactical knives. All in all, if your not buying to a different continent i believe this is the best buy option you will ever find. 5 Star rating.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joseph
Winthrop, Ma
Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great knife
Great quality great price
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Curly
Adairsville, GA
Sep 20, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Knife
I really like how the blade fits deeper into the casing. The workmanship and quality of the materials is also top notch.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dom
CA
Jan 05, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Lock Type, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, None
Good all round combat blade
worth the money.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
John Doe
CT
Oct 16, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use
Great knife, though locking mechanism can be awkward
This is not a knife I carry every day, as it is certainly more of a fighting knife rather than a utility blade, however I am pleased to say that I haven't had any regrets so far with respect to this purchase. The knife is huge, make no mistake. This is bad if you're concerned with its size or weight, but good if you carry for the purpose of a fighting knife. The handle gives a very positive grip, and would happily trust in any situation. The blade is very sharp and well designed for its purpose. My only criticism is the locking mechanism. A switch on the flat spot on the handle actuates the blade release. This is not an issue for closure, as it only takes mild training to get used to, but can become accidentally locked if you carry the knife with the pocket clip. Would much prefer a liner or other style lock.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brian
Lansing, KS
Feb 21, 2010
Pros: Handle Feel, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip
It is not as quick on deployment as I would like it to be.You are also not able to move the pocket clip to carry the blade tip up. Very nice size and weight for personal defense.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Reviewer
USA
Mar 02, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Lock Type, Blade Sharpness, None
Covert Fast with the (Applegate-Fairbairn signature) (model) # 22-0196
Positive traction, great switch grip, decent button movement, and slight play in the lock up as received, This can be adjusted via two torx bits on either end. I recommend the blue lock tight. Slightly dull edge sharpness. My suggestion also might be to buy (model) # 22-01966 if you want the signature on it; I.E. Applegate-Fairbairn, Also keep in mind the serrations out of the box need attention. Serration sharpness depends on the user. Serrations are debatable and can go in variations beyond what I can write. For example I have mine to the degree of slicing paper with a bit of tare and saw depending on the angle and speed. The straight edge cuts clean. Overall I would say a decent tactical/EDC.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Woogie
oregon
Jun 01, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type
knife should be sharp
Mine came persharpened at about 50 degrees total. Put it to 30 myself. It can also be hard to unlocked mine ( to close it ) after hard use.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jjl
SF Ca
Feb 18, 2013
Pros: Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Overall Quality
large assisted opening combat blade. Good quality sharp blade that is getting better with use. Not the quality Gerber products used to be but still a good knife for the money
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Sgt. M. Davis-Simpson
S.W. NM Hillsboro
Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, None
This is my 3rd purchase of a EOC Gerber' The only complaint I can voice is it does'nt hold an edge very well> Not sharp right out of the box, either! The quality is very good, but that is not unusual for "GERBER" the only "draw--back is the edge retention, My Kershaws are superior in the edge-retention! Thanks for your query! I have many EDC all Knife Center Products Which I would gladly recommend to my fellow "LEO" brothers! Respectfully, SGT. M. Davis-Simpson Retired
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Emanuele Covino
Bari, Italy
Jun 08, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
good knife
PRO: handle shape and material (the two finger choils lock you into the handle, together with the G10); good deployment, not too strong but fast and easy; blade shape, very good for a tactical; no blade play, the lock seems solid. CONS: serrations (good, but I'd prefer a plain blade for this knife); blade material (unknown); blade sharpness (almost dull out of the box).
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jim
New Mexico
Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, None
Good value, everything I hoped for
Great edc self defense knife. Opens smoothly and locks into place. Great design. The blade quality could be better as the knife is hard to keep sharp. Knife looks very intimidating. If you have to pull it on someone to defend yourself I doubt they will stick around.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
M. Larkin
Rye New York
Sep 24, 2011
Pros: Ease of Opening, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Material, Lock Type, None
Very good
Good day to day knife. Easy to put into play when needed.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
John M
Lynchburg, Va
Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
gerber
Love Gerbers. The assist blade is smooth and the blade is good at holding an edge.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Cassie44
Pensacola FL
Sep 28, 2009
Pros: Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Sheath, Handle Feel, Lock Type
Cons: Overall Quality, None
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST 3.7" Assisted Combo Edge Blade
The blade has some wiggle to it. I have found the knives from Taiwan are better made than the one from China. This is from China.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Michel B.
quebec quebec city canada
Oct 03, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel
A verey good product ,
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mtnman
Washington
Dec 19, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None
almost auto
CCW
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Scott
Shelton CT
Apr 11, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Material, None
Good Knife
I have a real Applegate Fairbairn CQB folder and the blade alignment is better on the C.F but the blade heft isn't as it is on the real one, the handle shells could be a skosh thinner other than that , Over all there's allot of bang for the buck .
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Strider
Fallon, NV
Jan 21, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Good knife.
I use it as a daily carry. It's substantial enough, but not too bulky. Fast enough, and not illegal. Nice design, nice safety, very nice and solid lock when open. Only thing I wish is that the clip was relocatable - but I could do it if I really wanted to... ;-)
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mak V. Sog
Colo.
Dec 05, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None
very good product and design.
Good design for what it was intended for. May have a slight problem with clean up after uses. Takes a edge well and lockes up well.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Reviewer
USA
Mar 02, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Lock Type, Blade Sharpness, None
Covert Fast with the (Applegate-Fairbairn signature) (model) # 22-0196
Positive traction, great switch grip, decent button movement, and slight play in the lock up as received, Slightly dull edge sharpness. My suggestion also might be to buy (model) # 22-01966 if you want the signature on it; I.E. Applegate-Fairbairn, Also keep in mind the serrations out of the box need attention. Serration sharpness depends on the user. Serrations are debatable and can go in variations beyond what I can write. For example I have mine to the degree of slicing paper with a bit of tare and saw depending on the angle and speed. The straight edge cuts clean. Overall I would say a decent tactical/EDC.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Rick Spraycar
co
Jun 30, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, None
Classic Applegate with a fast opening system. What's not to like! Gerber did great with this one
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Butch
Va
Mar 19, 2018
Pros: None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material
Gerber Applegate
Just felt like it was slow to opening and the handle felt cheap. once you got the lock to work or not work it was fair. I gave it a 3. Would I buy another no.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Nick
Minnesota
Oct 17, 2019
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Blade Material
Steel is absolute garbage
Just about everything about this knife feels good in hand, great look, no play in blade. The problem I face is the mystery steel. I don’t know where they dug up this “stainless steel” but it sucks. It’s equivalent to safety scissors they have in kindergarten as far as sharpness. I really wanted to like this knife but what’s the point of making a knife that doesn’t hold an edge and can’t cut paper after its been sharpened?
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Marc R.
San Diego, CA
Sep 11, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
I bought into the hype, but it's not a bad knife
As an EDC knife, there's plenty better for the same price. Looking at the style of blade this is, resembling a dagger, tacticool black, and the names it takes after... In my opinion I find it lacking because it tries to please EDC and defensive carry markets Cons: The safety switch, few assisted-openers have safety switch that wouldn't get in the way. Serrations... I actually like serrations (combo edges) but not on this one, it takes away from it The loud opening and locking into place is a PRO if you wanted to intimidate, but for EDC tool, it always drew attention in my warehouse when I opened boxes.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Mike T.
Houston, Texas
Oct 15, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cheap knife.
I am a fan of Gerber and generally like their products. I've also handled the "real thing", meaning in this case the Gerber Covert Auto. Having said that, the FAST is nothing but a cheap imitation. Instead of S30V, the blade is made of some cheaper type of steel, and the whole knife seems a lot less solid than its automatic big brother. There are a lot better assisted options out there that beat this knife hands down. Don't waste your money.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Paul
Santa Cruz, ca
Nov 13, 2009
Pros: None
Cons: Lock Type, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Not great
Inexpensive, but heavy, clumsy. The assist is a bit overpowering. I have the regular covert folder which is a much higher quality product. I ton't really like cheap knives so I sent this back.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Joseph
Sandy Hook, Ct
Jun 16, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Dissappointed
I have always received great knives from Knife Center. This knife was a disappointment. I am returning it. This knife is not worth the price. It is a $15.00 knife at best. The blade is light weight. The action is rough and sandy. Chinese copy of a good knife.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
John Jonas
wichita, KS
Apr 20, 2011
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material
Cons: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, None
leaves alot to be desired
the over all design is great. the handle and opening mechanism are of good quality but the blade leaves alot to be desired. first off it was slightly bent at about the half way point, and they should of used a harder steel with a better edge retension. i have only used it acouple of times but i did it caused the serrated portion of the blade to basicly fold over and cause a burr. over all i am very dissapointed with this knife!!! also the blade was not near as sharp as it should have been.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
William C
Portage, Mi
Feb 25, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: None
Need a pliers to open even after soaking in oil.
Assisted opening is worst of any knife I own. Looks very impressive but will not OPEN.
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Marcus G
California
May 19, 2018
Pros: Handle Feel, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Terrible
I wanted to love this knife. I love the blade shape, size, and feel in the hand. But build quality, and overall build quality is abysmal. The lock switch always switches to “safe” in pocket constantly. I learned to just hit the switch when pulling it out, worked ok for a few weeks, then it just started to rattle itself apart. Horrible blade play, even the scales themselves started to wiggle around. No amount of tinkering and loctite would fix it. This knife has potential, but it just can’t compete with other knives that can be had with better materials, and an equal, or even lesser price. This knife has been relegated to the junk drawer to live the rest of its days in exile
Gerber Applegate-Fairbairn Covert FAST Assisted Folding Knife 3.7" Black Combo Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
German
Pittsburg, Ca
Apr 05, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Blade Material, Overall Quality
Poor Quality.
I can say in couple words...Just poor Chinese quality!!