Reviews and Ratings for Gerber Prodigy Combat Knife Fixed 4.75" Black Combo Blade, GFN Handle, MOLLE Sheath - 22-01121

Gerber Prodigy Combat Knife Fixed 4.75" Black Combo Blade, GFN Handle, MOLLE Sheathrated 4.684 stars out of 5 (19 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Gerber Prodigy Combat Knife Fixed 4.75 inch Black Combo Blade, GFN Handle, MOLLE Sheath

 

Price: $54.95

Save $12.05 (18%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Gerber Prodigy Combat Knife Fixed 4.75" Black Combo Blade, GFN Handle, MOLLE Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jimmy
Maine, USA
Oct 16, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Good for all practical purposes
Almost perfect bushcraft or survival knife. Just the right blade length and thickness. Would gladly take this into the wilderness as my only knife. Sheath is all right. Not as bulky as the monstrosity its cousin the LMF comes with, and fits horizontally on my belt very nicely. Gerber's USA made knives are marvellous.
Gerber Prodigy Combat Knife Fixed 4.75" Black Combo Blade, GFN Handle, MOLLE Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Leonardo C
Brasilia, Brazil
Sep 25, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Material
Great balance, the size is good for carrying, and to use whether for general purposes or for self defense, very resistant and good looking
Gerber Prodigy Combat Knife Fixed 4.75" Black Combo Blade, GFN Handle, MOLLE Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bosco
Spain
Oct 17, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Excelent combat Knife
The knife is perfect for activities of survival.Very strong and balanced. A perfect knife for those who look for the best quality. Thanks Knifecenter
Gerber Prodigy Combat Knife Fixed 4.75" Black Combo Blade, GFN Handle, MOLLE Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andy
Louisiana
Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Good product
A superb deal for the money. WAY better product than the SOG Seal Pup elite line. Heavy duty and well designed. Sheath is awesome too.
Gerber Prodigy Combat Knife Fixed 4.75" Black Combo Blade, GFN Handle, MOLLE Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Juanan Mat
Madrid, Spain
Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
The Prodigy
I can't say anything bad about this knife. Its amazing knife... The handle material its one of the best than i can touch ever. The scabbard is strong and pick the knive an a very safe form. I recomended this knife for any outdoor event. The send is so fast, a few days (4-5) later from the order... You can enjoy with your knifes!!
Gerber Prodigy Combat Knife Fixed 4.75" Black Combo Blade, GFN Handle, MOLLE Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chang Hin Wai Sang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.
Jun 23, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great knife for camping and hiking
This knife can cut wood of 1 inch diameter in 20 casual strokes and 2 inches diameter wood in 5 minutes casually. The handle is of non slip design such that you can easily control the knife while chopping. Not much stain will adhere to the blade due to its smooth finishing, hence safer for cutting edible item. A small knife that can do a lot of things in the field.
Gerber Prodigy Combat Knife Fixed 4.75" Black Combo Blade, GFN Handle, MOLLE Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nick D.
New York
Sep 13, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
A Good Backpacker's Knife
This knife is a far better knife for the hiker and backpacker than the LMF! It's thinner blade, lighter handle and nylon sheath allow it to ride on your hip all day. It's great for rope cutting and fire making. It fits the hand nicely as the handle is very comfortable. If you're looking for a heavy camp knife then the LMF is for you, if you're looking to do 20 miles a day on the trail then the Prodigy will suit you just fine!
Gerber Prodigy Combat Knife Fixed 4.75" Black Combo Blade, GFN Handle, MOLLE Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Semper S
Ramadi, Iraq.
Jul 11, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Blade Material, None
MARSOC review
I carried this knife (tan color) for about 3&1/2 years while I was an active duty Marine. I literally used it from everything from cutting 550 cord, to skinning hogs, to intense combat situations. Never once failed me, only thing I would like to see is an available upgraded blade material... thanks Gerber, for producing an amazing combat ready knife. Semper Fi.
Gerber Prodigy Combat Knife Fixed 4.75" Black Combo Blade, GFN Handle, MOLLE Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rjz
Canberra, Australia
Oct 14, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Better Than Expected
I thought this would be a very good "cheap" knife but it has exceeded my expectations. Out of the box it could shave a patch of my arm. Is an excellent fit for my average sized (for a man) hands. The coating on the blade is much better than it appears in the photograph. The sheath is of better quality/function than for any other knife I have, and it attaches very nicely to the side of my Maxpedition Sitka pack. In Australia the same knife retails for between US$140 to US$190 !!
Gerber Prodigy Combat Knife Fixed 4.75" Black Combo Blade, GFN Handle, MOLLE Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jon
atlanta
Jul 14, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
My favorite.
Nice looking knife and sheath,if the scabbard was foilage green on the black cordura, it would be a very cool looking knife. My favorite.
Gerber Prodigy Combat Knife Fixed 4.75" Black Combo Blade, GFN Handle, MOLLE Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dallas
Northern Virginia
Apr 26, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Finish
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
A Great Kid Brother
This is a great little brother to the LMF II. It fits the hand much easier than its big brother. The blade is just as long only a little thinner and not as high. It arrived very sharp, though not razor sharp. My only complaint is the sheath. While it is smaller, lighter and less bulky than the LMF II sheath, you can not detach the sheath from the webbing without cutting some straps. Overall a great deal for the money, especially if you find the LMF II knife handle to large for your hand.
Gerber Prodigy Combat Knife Fixed 4.75" Black Combo Blade, GFN Handle, MOLLE Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cory Vanderhyde
Nevada
Aug 07, 2008
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
This knife is great for hiking or survival
This knife is great for hiking or survival because it is lightweight and holds an edge very well. It is a really great knife for the money.
Gerber Prodigy Combat Knife Fixed 4.75" Black Combo Blade, GFN Handle, MOLLE Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
S Barrera
Raleigh NC
Feb 08, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Material
Gerber prodigy
Good handle, excellent blade, very nice sheath.
Gerber Prodigy Combat Knife Fixed 4.75" Black Combo Blade, GFN Handle, MOLLE Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Slasher
Montana
Mar 24, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
gerber
The knife is top shelf for a mid-size field type, but the Made in China sheath is a POS. They used boon gow nuts to attach the formed plastic to the nylon. Mine had stripped nuts that had actually come off and were loose in the package. Buy the knife. Toss the sheath. Gerber should not shove good knives into crap sheaths.
Gerber Prodigy Combat Knife Fixed 4.75" Black Combo Blade, GFN Handle, MOLLE Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Steve G.
NorCal
Mar 19, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great knife
I use this knife as a light duty utility knife while camping and hunting. I have small hands and fits my hand well. Easy to sharpen. I have several , both serrated and non-serrated edge. Non-serrated is better since I rarely use serrations and serrated edge takes up a lot of blade. Don’t know how long the handle will last, haven’t had one for more than 4 years. For $40, I buy a few extra give them away as gifts. Great knife for the money.
Gerber Prodigy Combat Knife Fixed 4.75" Black Combo Blade, GFN Handle, MOLLE Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Japan Side
japan
Jun 28, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
very cool
the 440 stainless steel is good steel. but it's thickness prevents it from becoming razor sharp but other then that it's a good knife to have.
Gerber Prodigy Combat Knife Fixed 4.75" Black Combo Blade, GFN Handle, MOLLE Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Cody B N
Bigfork, MT
Jan 03, 2014
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard
Great Knife Value
The blade material doesn't hold an edge as long as other steels, but is easier to sharpen. The knife is from Uncle Sam, but the sheath is not. It will be hard to beat this knife at this price because it is of decent quality, and highly maneuverable compared to other combat/ utility knives.
Gerber Prodigy Combat Knife Fixed 4.75" Black Combo Blade, GFN Handle, MOLLE Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Shane
SoCal
Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Weight, Finish
Very Solid Knife
I spent months comparing the LMF2 and other fixed blades for outdoor/survival use and Im very happy with my decision. Just the price alone I could get 3 prodigies for some of the higher quality models, plus less worried about losing or misusing. There are slight imperfections on the handle and thats about it (handle feels similar to hard rubber/plastic). Haven't had problems with rusting (extended trips in and around water).If you're on the fence about it just go for it. P.S. knife center is a very well managed and Ive searched for better pricing and can't find it cheaper.
Gerber Prodigy Combat Knife Fixed 4.75" Black Combo Blade, GFN Handle, MOLLE Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Reinout B
Belgium
Jan 08, 2015
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Gift that was a shame to give away
I bought this as a gift for my son, but the moment I received it I felt sorry I had to let it go. My loss is his pleasure, it's everything I expected, nicely balanced, pretty sharp (not razorblade, but hey, we don't need it to shave, do we?), , practical sheat, a super tool to take camping.