Reviews and Ratings for Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed 4.84" Combo Blade, Black, Glass Filled Nylon Handle - 22-01629

Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed 4.84" Combo Blade, Black, Glass Filled Nylon Handlerated 4.4639999999999995 stars out of 5 (28 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
21
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
2
1 star
1
Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed 4.84 inch Combo Blade, Black, Glass Filled Nylon Handle

 

Price: $93.95

Save $19.05 (17%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed 4.84" Combo Blade, Black, Glass Filled Nylon Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jordan
Eastern shore, Maryland
Dec 18, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Very Nice-near perfect.

I received this knife for my birthday and as soon as I took it out of the box I instantly fell in love with it. I like weight in a knife and this knife is very hefty. After a few modifications to the sheath it was even better. I would recommend this knife to anyone.
Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed 4.84" Combo Blade, Black, Glass Filled Nylon Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jen
Fruita, Co
Jan 03, 2015
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great Survival Knife

For the money I think this is a great survival knife. Feels good in the hand. Nice size to get the job done but still easy to carry. Like the built-in sharpener. The sheath comes with straps that allow the knife to be carried many different ways. If you like the black color then get this one. If you also want the seatbelt cutter then get the coyote brown survival version.
Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed 4.84" Combo Blade, Black, Glass Filled Nylon Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andy Pfenninger
Switzerland
May 11, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

Excellent Knife

Size, handling and versatility are great. The sheath offers many possibilities but needs a better way to attach to a belt in a classic way.
Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed 4.84" Combo Blade, Black, Glass Filled Nylon Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Evgenk
Toronto, Canada
Nov 08, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Great knife!

Absolutely great knife! Very comfortable handle and has a good weight to it. The sheath has many attachment options.
Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed 4.84" Combo Blade, Black, Glass Filled Nylon Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marcus D
Eastanollee, GA
Jan 13, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Gerber LMF 2

I have owned this knife for a few years, and have used it on all of my hiking/camping trips. Have used it to baton through some black wild cherry wood, and it is still sharp and not broke or anything.
Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed 4.84" Combo Blade, Black, Glass Filled Nylon Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bakdraft
St. Louis Park, MN
Dec 29, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Excellent Survival Knife

If I ever get stranded in the wilderness, this is the tool I want at my side.
Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed 4.84" Combo Blade, Black, Glass Filled Nylon Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Donovan J.
Wahiawa, HI
Oct 08, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

My awesome new Gerber.

I use this with snorkeling to fend off sharks and spear fish in Hawaii. HIGHLY recommend for anyone looking for an affordable, durable survival knife.
Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed 4.84" Combo Blade, Black, Glass Filled Nylon Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe Blow
Michigan
Jan 31, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Best knife I ever owned

Perfect for any use. As far as survival is concerned its perfect.
Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed 4.84" Combo Blade, Black, Glass Filled Nylon Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Night Hawk
Michigan
Feb 18, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Best Fucking knife I ever bought period!

This was probably the best knife I have ever bought so far. I like that it came with a sheath and leg straps and it is sharp as hell. Very thick blade should last a long time plus its made in the USA. I love it.
Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed 4.84" Combo Blade, Black, Glass Filled Nylon Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Blade Man
canada
Jul 15, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Finish, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None

excellent knife

very comfortable grip,excellent sheath,highly recommend this knife
Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed 4.84" Combo Blade, Black, Glass Filled Nylon Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Daniel K
Denmark
May 15, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Good trade – very happy

Perfect, and I can only recommend the dealer
Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed 4.84" Combo Blade, Black, Glass Filled Nylon Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dlb J
New York
Mar 21, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Excellent USA Made Gerber

These LMF Gerber fixed blades are USA made and top quality. Interesting sheath system.
Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed 4.84" Combo Blade, Black, Glass Filled Nylon Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Silvano
Italia
Dec 12, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Conosco il coltello,da tempo cerco di acquistarlo, ma la cosa non è semplice.La sua storia è fantastica,racchiude il meglio delle battaglie fatte e vinte. Complimenti alla GERBER. I know the knife, I try to buy some time, but it is not semplice.La its history is fantastic, holds the best of the battles made and vint
Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed 4.84" Combo Blade, Black, Glass Filled Nylon Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Darren
Sheffield, England
Sep 19, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

excellent knife

Excellent knife. Feels organic. Moves with my hand, rather than my hand moving it. Very sturdy feel when gripped - maybe too sturdy; the blade is either facing you, or facing away from you. Never in-between. It is not comfortable in any other position. However, it is a combat knife rather than a fighting knife, so it's to be expected I would imagine
Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed 4.84" Combo Blade, Black, Glass Filled Nylon Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Adzy
Adelaide
Mar 14, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Great Survial Knife

This knife I will be taking on every camping/fishing/getaway I have, I have found numerous uses for it just around home so imagine what I can find for it to do in the wild !
Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed 4.84" Combo Blade, Black, Glass Filled Nylon Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Silvano
Jan 28, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Un compagno di viaggio

Finalmente ho il coltello,magnifico.Bastano pochi istanti e sembra il blade di sempre,bilanciato, il peso, ma soprattutto l'impugnatura,morbida ma con presa straordinaria, ottimo il fodero.Un coltello con grande storia, grazie alla Gerber......
Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed 4.84" Combo Blade, Black, Glass Filled Nylon Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lochness
co
Sep 11, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great combat knife made by Gerber- a great, American company. Knifecenter is the best place to buy knives
Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed 4.84" Combo Blade, Black, Glass Filled Nylon Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Corey D
MS - Mississippi
Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None

Well built, multi purpose, medium large, universal.

I carry a pocket knife and a fix blade sheathed on my belt every day. I don't carry this knife every day because I prefer a little smaller fixed for daily. I like this setup so much though I couldn't leave it at home so I keep it fastened on the side of my edc bag so it's always near. I mostly use it as a machete to clear work area and 1/4"-2" thick brush is no problem for this blade. I feels good in hand and grip is great. The sheath incorporated sharpener is priceless and it has mutiple ways of attachment. Holds good edge and pummel is pointed, could be used to break auto glass, lethal/non lethal contact, pestle material, chisel. I seen a review of blade braking from handle on first use. I seriously dout that is legit unless baton inf with a sled hammer. Excellent bushcraft, excellent camping, excellent offensive/defensive, excellent hunting, excellent survival, excellent fishing, good but for normal daily carry a smaller/lighter operation I'd recommend.
Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed 4.84" Combo Blade, Black, Glass Filled Nylon Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
William
Oak Harbor, Wa
Jun 10, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Material, None

Gerber LMF 2

I've owned this knife for almost 10 years now. It's been a great knife in that time seeing alot of use. For the first several years it was never sharpened but at that time I didn't know what a sharp knife was lol. I've beat the heck out of it taking it on many camping and hiking trips and it's withstood many challenges.It's great for the price but if it were made of a better steel such as a cpm, I would happily pay up to 200 for it. I would recommend this knife to anybody needing a survival knife
Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed 4.84" Combo Blade, Black, Glass Filled Nylon Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vlad
Tallinn, Estonia, EU
Mar 15, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Weight, None

Highly recommended knife

When I go hiking or fishing I usually have 2 or even 3 knifes with me for different purposes (heavy duty knife, backup knife for a lighter works and cooking, a proper multitool). Often I also have an axe with me, because nights are cold here in Estonia. But if I am forced to take one and only tool to my trip it will be definitely the LMF II: reliable, tough and sharp.
Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed 4.84" Combo Blade, Black, Glass Filled Nylon Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
Dublin
Oct 24, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Gerber LMF Infantry

Great general purpose knife. Very well made. It feels solid in the hand which I feel confident will not loose grip with your hand covered in blood. Its pommel is well designed to reduce contact shock in the hand. The scabbard is very versatile and can be adapted to attach to almost anything. Overall well though out design and it is made to a very high standard. I'd recommend it as an every day camping/Soldier roll.
Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed 4.84" Combo Blade, Black, Glass Filled Nylon Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mark S.
Dayton, OH
Dec 27, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: None

URBAN SURVIVAL KNIGE

Worth considering for "Urban Survival Knife". Urban Survival Knife Pros: --Combo blade: straight / serrated (good for urban survival and variety of material to cut) --Hand / construction resistant to electric shock (able to use for cutting live wires in a pinch) --Pommel has flat area hammer feature and glass breaker (good in urban setting and even in some self defense applications) --Good size blade for urban survival, good weight to knife overall. --Versatile sheath with lots of carry options, high quality and even has knife sharpener built in. Urban Survival Knife Cons: --Knife tang not as wide as blade and therefore not as strong / not great for prying... Which could be likely in urban setting. --Handle is known to have issues... Crack, rubber-like handle material rolls / peels especially if used a lot for batonning. (Makes knife less ideal for wilderness survival, but not as big of an issue for Urban Survival) NOTE: People seem to love or hate the feel of handle. It is somewhat thick, grippy and shock absorbing, decent for choking up or back. However, it is more flat than rounded and can feel odd or less secure in hand due to flat shape (imagine rounded walking stick in hand verse flat / wide. Rounded is more comfortable usually. I give it 4 out of 5 for urban survival bit 2.5 out 5 for rural / backwoods survival knife.
Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed 4.84" Combo Blade, Black, Glass Filled Nylon Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Spud
Kings Lynn
Oct 06, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

mr edwards / tax £13 (NOT HAPPY)

Hi Ya yes i was very please with the knife,the only thing i am not happy with was i received a bill from customs for £13 i did not see anywhere on your web site about the tax,there are other knifes i like but with this tax i don't think i will be buying again unless you can refund me the £13 or offer a good discount on another knife many thanks steve edwards
Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed 4.84" Combo Blade, Black, Glass Filled Nylon Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Superdudu
Florence; Italy
Feb 09, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight

Grat knife

It's a very good knife very strong but a there's too much weight in the back.
Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed 4.84" Combo Blade, Black, Glass Filled Nylon Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Joe
Indiana
Dec 23, 2012
Pros: Finish, Weight, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard

Good and Bad

Love the design of the knife, not loving the materials used. Took it with me to Afghan, came back with some heavy rust pitting on the blade, I lubricated it twice while there. The sheath split down the side, below the knife "lock"(Does still hold the knife properly). Rubber handle cover material split and torn after using the end to hammer. BUT. I do love the weight of this knife, when I buy fixed blades I prefer some weight, and this is a hefty knife. Glass breaker on the end works well, used it to bust out a BP window that was partially broken already(BP is some thick glass). Feels good upside down on a IOTV, did not worry about losing it ever. Blade is a good length, not to long or to short. Like the idea of cutting live cables with it(never tried). Grip is VERY GOOD in gloves or out. Overall a decent knife, would not mind paying a higher price for it if it had better materials. 420HC is not that great of a steel. WHOLE LOT OF KNIFE.
Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed 4.84" Combo Blade, Black, Glass Filled Nylon Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Bruin Stoves
United States
Jan 30, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Weight, Materials, Handle Material

A lot of Hype

I dont see how so many people give such great reviews of this knife. As soon as i took it out of the box i didnt like it. the balance is so far rearward that half my hand hangs off when i try to chop with it. i can put a razors edge on the plain edged part, but the serrations are already dull and i only split one log and ill never get them factory sharp again. the handle must have been designed by someone with only 2 fingers and a thumb because the handle is really awkward to hold. it is wider at the bottom than the top and it feels like its going to fly out of my hand when i swing it. the pommel would be a lot better if it were flat. unless you are a pilot, you will never use the glass breaker on the pommel. the first time i chopped with it, i over struck and hit the guard. the plastic around the blade broke and a huge chunk flew off the handle. this is NOT a survival knife.
Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed 4.84" Combo Blade, Black, Glass Filled Nylon Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Jordan
Texas
Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Materials

eh...

Split one log and the rubber on the handle split and also the plastic broke.
Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed 4.84" Combo Blade, Black, Glass Filled Nylon Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
Deus
Florida
Oct 05, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Handle Material

Poor construction

First use, with a piece of wood as a baton, to split a small tree completely broke the blade out of the handle. First strike! I've don't this many times with other knives and never had an issue like this. Was hoping the LMF 2 was going to be my "go to" knife, instead of back to the store amd getting my money back. Maybe it was a bad batch, or maybe this knife would be better for a paper weight. To each their own, and maybe you had better luck. Just my experience with this product.