Reviews and Ratings for Gerber Gator Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Gator Grip Handle, Nylon Sheath - 31-000758

Gerber Gator Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Gator Grip Handle, Nylon Sheathrated 3.190 stars out of 5 (21 reviews)
3.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
8
Gerber Gator Sawback Machete 18 inch Carbon Steel Blade, Gator Grip Handle, Nylon Sheath

 

Price: $19.95

Save $6.05 (23%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Gerber Gator Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Gator Grip Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
David M
MICHIGAN
Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None
Best yet
I recently purchased 6 different machetes as part of a study for blade materials, features, weight and edge retention. This particular machete is the best one I've seen yet. The thing I absolutely like the most is the saw back - I've got 4 but this is the only one that has an angled tooth design that will allow you to cut through solid wood beyond the tooth depth, and because of the angeld teeth it doesn't try to bind in the wood as you work your way through. Blade arrived sharp and holds an edge well. Weight makes it easy to heft and the blade length allows you to work on larger pieces plus it's rigid enough to not want to flex under stress. Comfortable grip design makes it easy to handle. Good point on the tip for starting drill holes in your fireboard. When it comes to tools I could care less who endorses it or made it famous- I want something that works in all the ways I want to use it - this machete does exactly that.
Gerber Gator Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Gator Grip Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Luke
Louisiana
Nov 27, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great general purpose workhorse machete!
I've used this machete time and time again for work in the yard (chopping/sawing fallen limbs) and camping, and it's never disappointed me. The saw is quite useful if you know how to use one properly. It's pretty hard to put an edge on, (so I use a Dremel) but it holds an edge very well.
Gerber Gator Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Gator Grip Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mtp
Arden NC
Mar 13, 2011
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
Gerber Gator Sawback Machete
Killing zombies
Gerber Gator Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Gator Grip Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael
Virginia
Jul 05, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Materials, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Material, None
5 Years of Abuse
I've owned this machete for about 5 years (Maybe 4 1/2) and have abused the hell out of it. It keeps an edge pretty well for the type of steel that it is. It has a reasonable amount of flex to it, so it's pretty forgiving. I have put the blade in my vise and bent it at about a 45 degree angle, and it just sprang right back to normal. The saw back works surprisingly well for what it is. If you need to cut a big tree down or something then get an actual saw or and axe, but to make the last cut when you're chopping down a small tree it works just fine. Whenever I go back in the woods I take it. If you're thinking about buying it keep in mind that the total length is something like 2 feet, I'm over 6 feet tall and it is still awkward to keep on my hip. I keep mine on my backpack or just carry the sheath in my hand. The grip is held to the blade with 2 bolts, the tang goes about half way through the grip, considering the length of the grip that is still a lot of metal holding it on. The grip is pretty comfortable, but I still recommend wearing gloves to absorb shock if you're going to be cutting trees with it. I actually use paraffin wax (candle wax) as opposed to oil on the blade because when you're cutting bush for a couple of hours I've found that the oil doesn't stay on, the wax does though. I keep the edge at a 20 - 25 degree angle on the straight part of the blade and a 35 degree angle on the curved part. Make sure to keep a file with you.
Gerber Gator Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Gator Grip Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
NC
Sep 16, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Amazing
Don't know why do many people have a problem with this blade, I've had mine for about 6 years and have cut everything from thin vines to 6 in diameter trees. After all the torture I've put this machete through the only thing that shows it is a very slight bend to the blade (still works great).
Gerber Gator Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Gator Grip Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul
Valley Cottage
Apr 16, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great product
For the price this is really a good machete. Use it upstate on the brush
Gerber Gator Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Gator Grip Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim L.
Point Marion, Pa
Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Gerber Gator Sawback Machete #31-000758
Used it the day I got it to take out some very heavy vines(Up to 2" in diameter)...Did an excellent job. The cutting edge was not even affected by them, would say to anyone - get this, it is at a great price. The reason I got this is because some "Cheap" machete that I had bought was not sharp enough to cut through. This one is 'hollow-ground' and is very sharp. I was really surprised at how it held it's edge!
Gerber Gator Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Gator Grip Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
John F
Los Angeles
Feb 14, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Excellent tool.
Made fast and easy work of 1" tree limbs that needed cut. It made the chore fun because it was so sharp.
Gerber Gator Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Gator Grip Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rick G
Atlanta, G.A.
Oct 19, 2011
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
GREAT FOR ZOMBIES
Got both my neighbor zombies with it in just a few hacks. gets dull after several zombies but switch to the saw and your good for another few.
Gerber Gator Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Gator Grip Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Don H
Lexington Kentucky USA
Dec 16, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Finish
Gerber Sawback
Springy blade can be good for quick extraction from deep cuts! Also can deform and never be trued up again. Fantastic grip but works better with smaller hands. Cuts AND saws like the brush demon it was meant to be ... Dude, use your diamond sharpening stone! I mean who goes to the bush with a blade straight out box anyway?? One month into field and absolutely impressed with overall design.
Gerber Gator Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Gator Grip Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Slee
Chicago
Apr 14, 2019
Pros: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Older Version?
I purchased this item around five years ago and some modifications to the design have been made since that time. I’m surprised to read the reviews that tell of the machete breaking so easily. I’ve put mine through a good deal of abuse and it has remained true. I did put a new edge on the blade when I received it, but I do that for most edged tools/weapons I purchase. I’ve cleared brush, chopped wood, cut wood, and used it as my primary camping tool for years. Of course, it’s performance isn’t mind-blowing...because it’s very inexpensive. Unless the design/manufacturing process for this item ha changed for the worse, I think it’s well worth the price.
Gerber Gator Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Gator Grip Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bill
South
Feb 18, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None
What? Are you Crazy?
In reading these reviews I'm wondering WTH is going on. People talking about trying to knock down trees with this thing A machete was never intended to take the place of an axe. There is a reason that the parang of Malaysia is thicker than the machete of Central and South America. THE PLANTS ARE WOODIER! The parang is ususlly 1/16 or 1/8 thicker than a machete because the flora on that side of the world is thicker. As a former sawyer who has sharpened and set many, many band saw blades, I can tell you that there is almost no way to get an effective saw, on the back of a blade, for this sort of money. There may be effectives machete and saw blade combos out there, custom made I would imagine, but be prepared to pay much, much more than this for them. I'm surprised at just how well this blade has been in the hands of the reviewers. I'd say limit this blade to brush, saplings and keep the "saw" to green stock under 3 inches. Use the saw to help make a "fast" shelter. Don't abuse it, and take a file or stone to it often. You can correct the "set" to some degree by eyeball using a hammer and punch. With mucho practice. Good luck all!
Gerber Gator Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Gator Grip Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
You Laughin' At Me?!?
A bad place full of zombies
Apr 21, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, None
Cons: Materials, Overall Quality
Avoid this machete!!!
I bought this machete a while back with the hope of finding "THE" tool that could do it all....I was gravely mistaken,When i first took it out in the woods I was impressed with the machetes cutting power and how comfortable it was,The saw was a large dissapointment. You were better off just hacking at the tree than "sawing" it due to how dull the saw was(BTW it is very hard to sharpen this machete".I would talk about the steel but they never tell you what it is,soooo,yeah.And last but not least! the tang of the blade only goes a 1/4 way down the handle.When I was out in the woods the handle broke.I tried 2 make a handle but that is hard to do over the saw blade thing.Just dont buy this.....thing
Gerber Gator Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Gator Grip Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Jason G
Nova scotia
Jan 08, 2017
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Material
Highly disappointed with this product
I was given this machete for Christmas and the first time I used it was January 7th unfortunately there isn't much left of it after that. My brother in law lost his dog in the woods and asked if I would help find it. So I grabbed to machetes one being the Ontario which I've had about 7 years and the other one the gerber I unwrapped it in the truck. I managed to chop a few branches when I noticed the blade metal peeled half way through the blade where it had been making contact with the wood. Long story short could have impaled some one if the blade had of warn all the way through. The Ontario came through as always I was very disappointed with this product especially in a time of need it let me down. Blade is extremely sharp out of the box. The machete felt well made and I thought for sure it would have been my new go to tool. Metal was to soft. Can't give a review on the saw as I did not get that far. Only other machete I've ever seen the blade chip on was the Olympia but that's another story still have that machete as well. I only hope my Ontario will fit in the sheath never tried yet as this incident only happened last night.
Gerber Gator Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Gator Grip Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Chris W
Longview Texas
Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Worthless
I tried to use this thing to clear some brush. Turns out it's not good for that. The sheath is terrible too. Way too big. Waste of money. My Cold Steel gladius machete puts this thing to shame.
Gerber Gator Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Gator Grip Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Anon
straya
Aug 18, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Material
Shattering performance
Had bought this blade for clearing small trees, turns out it would rather tear bits off the cutting edge then go through a tree, didn't even have it out for more then an hour and it was useless 1/2" tears out of the cutting edge, blade itself was so flexy you could almost bend it by hand.
Gerber Gator Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Gator Grip Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Brian B
North Central Ohio
Dec 29, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Material, Materials
Extremely Poor Quality!!!
First use, chopping small 1/2" diameter maximum branches from trees along a trail in N Central Ohio, the cutting edge turned over 180 degrees on itself in multiple places. Blade never struck the ground and there are no visible nicks in the blade. Blade appears to be simple untreated mild steel rather than tool steel. Lifetime warranty by Gerber is worthless as you must pay $15 shipping to simply get the same junk back. Time to bring mfg to the US from China Gerber.
Gerber Gator Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Gator Grip Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Austin
Prince George, BC
Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Material
Worthless P.O.S
This is the most worthless machete I have ever owned, I purchased it believing that the Gerber name was good quality but I found out differently after one use of this product. I have owned several cheapo china machetes that were more durable. After trying to chop a small pine tree in half that was laying across my atv trail the blade edge started bending over and the thin metal blade began to rip. several chunks of the blade ripped off and one piece even flew up and cut my cheek. I flung this piece into the forest never to be used again. Do yourself a favor and buy a Ontario machete, they are 3 times the quality of the new Gerber trash.
Gerber Gator Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Gator Grip Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Henry
alaska
Oct 02, 2015
Pros:
Cons:
never again
In 27 years of using machetes, I have put some good knicks in them , but never has one looked like a melted vinyl record. I used it for about 20 minutes taking the branches off of dead baby spruce trees.....
Gerber Gator Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Gator Grip Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Scott
Lansing, MI
Jan 29, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Has NOBODY NOTICED!
Those who have rated this as excellent for "Sawing" haven't experienced a real saw. Take a look at each individual tooth. Every other one is bent outward in the opposite direction... this is called Kerf. This is good, it creates a wider cut than the actual thickness of the blade. BUT, the saw teeth on this are only sharp on ONE SIDE (side opposite the Logo). This saw blade was stamped out of a blank, and the stamp created "relief" on every tooth and on the same side. So when the teeth were offset to create the Kerf, it leaves every other tooth that will just rub the wood. Having "relief" (typically 15 degrees) on ANY cutting tool is what creates the sharp edge to cut. But having relief on a hand saw is crucial because of the wasted energy of the saw cutting on one side while rubbing on the other. This leads to the second problem... the tip of every tooth should be ground with relief angling down and towards the front, so the saw cuts more when pulling back towards yourself. (Just compare this "saw" to a circular blade or a Saws-All blade, you see the difference immediately)
Gerber Gator Sawback Machete 18" Carbon Steel Blade, Gator Grip Handle, Nylon Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Gary S
Umkomaas, Other
Jul 11, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Materials
Dissapoined SA
Took this to Botswana on safari. Not even good to cut 1/2 inch wet thorn branches. Handle very awkward to hold and swing. Blade not rigid enough which makes it springy. Imagine taking a crosscut saw blade and making a long machete out of it. Saw on back does not cut properly. My blade bent. It never even saw hard use. Costs the equivalent of $40 in RSA. I threw it away. Rather buy a $5 bush knife at your local hardware. You cant check the quality in the shop either as it comes sealed in a Plastic in the sheath. Very disappointing that someone like Bear Gryllis could endorse such a product. Will never buy from Gerber again.