Reviews and Ratings for Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles - XT-60EDGE

Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handlesrated 4.811 stars out of 5 (74 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
64
4 star
8
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
1
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4 inch Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles

 

Price: $35.24

Save $11.71 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stuart T.
Winston-Salem, NC
Dec 29, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Excellent skinner!
Great knife and they don't get sharper. Be careful using it. Really good for caping.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom S.
Parkville,MD
Sep 05, 2012
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Type, None
Havalon Piranta
Excellent product , very sharp blade,plenty of replacement blades,now no need to bring sharpening steel while skinning..
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Deacon
denver colorado
Jan 28, 2010
Pros: Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
sharpest knife ever
These are well made and very sharp
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
Flat Rock, Michigan
Jan 06, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Xmas gift.
I have one and my son and his friend really liked mine. I used to use a utility knife to skin until I saw someone using one of these. What a great knife. Knife center was excellent to deal with.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gary
Marble Hill, MO
Nov 21, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Havalon Piranta - Perfect Stocking Stuffer For Anyone This Christmas
I bought this knife primarily for skinning game. I harvested a 5x5 elk and skinned it using this knife and I loved it. I field dressed the elk and skinned it out using one blade. I have also used the knife on whitetail and was impressed with field dressing and skinning two deer before changing the blade. I like the comfortable size and weight of the knife and the bright hunter orange color will make it easy to locate if dropped. I would definitely recommend this knife to any outdoorsman to add to his have to have list.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pam
berlin, md
Dec 27, 2010
Pros: None
Cons: None
it was a gift
it was a gift, so can't review it, but the recipient seemed very pleased with it. he is not a hunter or fisherman, but plans to use it to make his reeds for oboes and english horns !!!
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Trapper John
SW Montana
Feb 28, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Sharp knife
Always sharp. Keep a few replacements blades on hand.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Minnynorsk
castro valley, Ca.
Aug 14, 2009
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
lightweight highly functional
this is as good as it gets for skinning a critter. It doesn't scream rugged or a western icon but when it comes to functionality and getting the job done it works very well. When the blade gets "tired" you simply flip a new guy in there and we are back to slicing through butter. The knife is light weight, love the visibility aspect, and intuitive to use. I use this as my solo knife when ultra light backpacking. I hunt 6-8 states a year and this one is a keeper!
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alan
Arizona
Mar 13, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Lock Ease of Use
Cons: None
Piranta-EDGE
I have owned and used three Piranta-EDGE knives for hunting. Hands down the best!!
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark D
Johnson City, TN
Oct 04, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Very Nice Knife
Simple extremely sharp knife. Love that you just switch blades.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ricky
Sept iles. Quebec canada.
Jan 30, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath, None
Great knife for skinning .fast shipping.all around good service. Thank you.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Calvin F
Glade Valley,North Carolina
Dec 03, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
The Best Skinning Knife Ever Made'PERIOD!
This is truly the best skinning knife I have ever owned.I have skinned out (3),deer so far with my piranta edge and I am still using the blade that came on the knife.First of all I like the orange color it makes the knife more visible in low light conditions,second,it is so light I am checking my pocket over and over to make sure it is still on me.This thing opens in a flash.And I still am in awe as to how sharp these blades are,and how long they last.I only plan on using my edge for hunting purposes,and by the way just spray it off with water and it's ready for the next job,very easy to clean.Thanks to everyone at Knife Center,easy ordering,fast shipping. Your company is great to do business with.Also I have been telling everybody if they want a knife to contact you."
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
T Bone
CO
Nov 17, 2011
Pros: Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Sharp and light
This is a great skinning knife to take on an elk or deer hunt.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom H
Ontario Canada
Dec 12, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Havalon Piranta Knife
I am using this knife for a multitude of jobs now that I have it but it is especially useful skinning my deer. Deer hair kills knife edges and I just pop in a new razor sharp blade when this happens. AWESOME
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Camo Jack
Oxford, Ct
Nov 17, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Awesome knife
What a knife ! Never have to sharpen again ! It's well worth the money ! Very light to carry and guys at work all want one ! Only draw back I see is if you break a blade remembering where I put the replacements . Need to have one blade in handle some how .
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
C.Tom M.
West Point Va.
Feb 01, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Piranta Edge
I got my knife pretty fast. It came to me in A-1condition. The box wasn't even mashed by the post office and the knife was in immaculate condition. I used this knife as a gift, I gave it to my doctor. All of the other doctors in the office were very impressed with it, they had never seen anything like it before. They said it reminded them of the old style scalpels they used to use before getting disposable types. It is very good for what it is, a "pocket scalpel" that he can carry around safely. It is sturdy and the blades are easily changed. It is a little tricky to open, but I suppose it will break-in and loosen up with time and use.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Halfslam
Utah
Aug 04, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
taking it to Alaska sheep hunting
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lisa M
Brazoria, Tx
May 23, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Havalon Knives are awesome!!
Love this knife! super sharp!! having to order a few more, the ones i ordered for my husband and i,we have given to friends because they liked them so much!!
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom
West End, NC
Dec 08, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
A sharp knife makes the work a lot easier
The changable blade keeps a sharp edge available at all times and makes it easier to skin out the animal, especially the caping part. You have to be careful in changing the blades
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Burt
Hawaii
Dec 06, 2012
Pros: Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Havalon Piranta
I look forward to using the knife next deer season. It appears to be perfectly suited for dressing andskinning.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sbt
Winston-Salem, NC
Sep 14, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great field knife.
Extremely sharp, and when it gets dull just drop in a new blade and your back in business.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sid
Nebraska
Aug 13, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Piranta knife
I just received this knife and overall, it is a very good, lightweight knife. I don't know why people rave about the sharpness, as it is not really that great. A couple passes on a fine diamond hone and it is, though. I am looking forward to using it.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lbbowhunter
Temecula, CA
Apr 13, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath, Pocket Clip, None
Great Skinning or Focus Work Knife
This knife is a must have for anyone needing a supper sharp blade. Easy capping and skull work. If you are out and need to perform surgery, this is it. The handle and overall design makes for a great tool. I bought one for friends as well. Great complement to your pack. Light, practice and usable. Just to be clear, in my opinion this knife will not replace your normal carry knife. Of course it’s not supposed to. This knife is basically a scalpel and allows you to use as one where required. I don’t think I will ever be without one again.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Thomas
Lewistown, Illinois
Nov 26, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath, None
Great knife handle doesn't slip even when wet, and always nice to have sharp blades on hand when you need one. Very good price also.. Very pleased with my purchase.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark D
Johnson City, TN
Oct 04, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Very Nice Knife
Simple extremely sharp knife. Love that you just switch blades.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim R.
Austin, Texas
Dec 31, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
These are awesome sharp skinning blades!
These little guys are the best for skinning whitetail. I use a blade per animal and that way they are always sharp. First saw them a few years ago while two guys were skinning an Eland with their havalons. The orange is harder to lose. Do use a pair of needle nose to change blades - these rascals are sharp!
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dennis H
colorado
Feb 20, 2014
Pros: Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
It's not a banjo boys
Used this knife last fall. Skinned quartered and boned 2 antelope 2 bull elk a mule deer and too many doves ducks and geese to count. Used 5 blades only because I broke 2 learning the capabilities of this knife. Having used stout dull blades my whole life I was leaning on it like had become accustomed to. But that's the beauty of this knife, it's razor sharp, you don't have to lean into it, just let the blade do the work.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dale
Sierra Vista, AZ
Nov 07, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Great Knife
My 13 year old daughter skinned an elk with a single blade. When she finished, she popped the old blade out, disposed of it properly and slipped on a new blade for the next time.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ken
Blaine Washington
Oct 24, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Best hunting knife ever
Best skinning and boning knife I've ever used as long as you don't use extreme sideways pressure you will never have a problem I've used them on deer elk bear and pigs.GREAT KNIFE!!!!
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joedan
montana
Jun 28, 2010
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Havalon Piranta-Edge (Blaze Orange) Surgically-Sharp #60XT Replaceable
deer hunting always sharp
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kw
Illinois
Jan 05, 2017
Pros: Weight, Blade Sharpness, Sheath, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Havalon Piranta
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dale P
Seattle WA
Dec 15, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
havalon edge
skining animals and general knife use
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike S.
Jacksonville Florida
Dec 20, 2011
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great knife!
I ordered this knife based on the recommendation of several friends and it's everything they said it was. The quality of workmanship is excellent and so is the design. I don't see how this knife could be improved.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dan
West Bend,WI
Nov 19, 2010
Pros: Blade Material
Cons: None
Blades
Haven't used the new blades yet but like the setup with loose blades along with the main knife.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul
Minneapolis
Feb 02, 2016
Pros: Sheath, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great knife for field dressing deer
Very nice product for the price. Blade is a little tough to remove....takes getting used to.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cboyce
Holland,MI
Dec 28, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Sheath, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Havalon Piranta
One of the best knives I've ever had, always sharp, quick and safe
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jg
Alaska
Apr 12, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Best Hunting Knife
My friend had this out in the field last hunting season and cut up my whole moose with this knife. I knew that I had to get my own for this hunting year. This is a wonderful knife. I like that you can it get it in this orange color so when you place it down on the ground you can see it. I don't know how many times guys will forget their knives because it blends in with their surroundings.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave B Enterprises
Tennessee
Dec 22, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Great product
I had heard about this knife and know, I'm a believer as well. This knife is well made and will become an important part of me hunting tools. Can't wait to try it on a wall hanger. Dave B
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bernie B.
Dayton Tx.
May 15, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
as advertized
If you are a deer hunter you will want one of these. No longer spending any time trying to get my skinning knife sharp
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chsnelk03
Ohio
Mar 24, 2011
Pros: Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
AWESOME Knife!
Backcountry Western big game hunting. Light weight, great feel and WAAAYYYY SHARP! Won't use any other knife from now on!
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bigdog
Clinton,Ms.
Jun 13, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
slicer
Great skinning knife. If you need an extremley sharp knife,this is it!
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
James
Ontario
Jan 03, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
great knife
Great knife, very happy with the size and feel of it. Crazy sharpe and blade exchange is easy.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Helo 160
Alabama
Sep 24, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Piranta-tastic
1. Skinning, caping, and field dressing 2. This one knife has replaced 3 conventional skinnning knives and weighs pounds less and is never dull. Just replace the blade and continue. This product cuts the down the time it takes to field dress/skin/cape.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John Karpenko
North Idaho
Apr 27, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Orange Havalon Piranta
Nice won't get lost color, secure replaceable blade, super sharp. Great for skinning and deboning elk and deer, Perfect lightweight for DIY backcounrty trips. Good size and fits your hand well. Need to be VERY careful when replacing blades in the field without pliers
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Denton, TX
Dec 27, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Best Price
Havalon is the best knife for skinning. This is the best price I could find anywhere. KnifeCenter shipped the product extremely fast.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Donald B
Soldotna, Alaska
Sep 22, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
BEST Knife Ever
A friend of mine let me borrow this knife from him and let me tell you, this is the best knife to take hunting with you, I liked it so well that I ordered 4 more for my hunting buddies, trust me if you are a avid hunter you will love this knife and take it with you every time, and the best part is it has disposable blades.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Toby
NC
Apr 16, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Piranta
Great tool!
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott S.
NM
Oct 03, 2011
Pros: Handle Feel, Lock Type, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great skinning knife
I used one of these that belonged to a friend who guides professionally. Simply had to have one. You can skin the whole animal without it getting dull and if it does, just pop in a new blade and keep cutting. No more sharpening my knife in the dark after a long day hunting.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mario
Florida
Sep 12, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Great and Compact
Received the knife extremely fast the package wasn't smushed, bent or even wear not like whatcha buy from other suppliers knife center did a great job. The knife is very durable for around the house task and I can't wait to try it out on these tough wild hogs..feel like a kid on Xmas can't wait to try out the new toy
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
Tucson Az
Dec 24, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Sharp and confortable to use
I was able to skin and quarter a 200lb mule deer with one blade. The knife was very easy to use and the bright orange color made it easy to find when you put it down. Cleanup was a breeze, just run it under hot water. Change the blade and your ready to go!
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bobby
Louisiana
Nov 25, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark D
Johnson City, TN
Oct 04, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Very Nice Knife
Simple extremely sharp knife. Love that you just switch blades.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Edward C
Newfoundland
Nov 26, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Fit for a moose
I am a guide for 37 years in Newfoundland Canada, I had the pleasure of trying a havalon knife on a moose this fall and it was the best knife I ever used and I tried a lot of good knives keep up the good work.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Seadog
Diamondhead, MS
Nov 03, 2010
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Flawless Performance
The Havalon blades are super sharp and hold up well. This in my opinion is the best knife concept on the market.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ellie Mc
Issaquah. WA
Dec 27, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Best skinning knife EVER
Big family of hunters who have owned just about every knife on the market. This one is by far the best elk skinner we have ever had
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve M.
Record buck ranch utopia Texas
Oct 12, 2011
Pros: Handle Feel, Lock Type, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Never another dull blade!
Being a private outfitter and wildlife guide I field dress , skin and cape on a daily basis for a 6 month Texas whitetail season. The Havalon is the ticket! Never another dull blade and just a overall safer knife in my opinion because you are working with a sharp edge and never fighting a dull dangerous edge. Thanks Havalon and Knife center for a quality product.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Curt D
Maryland
Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
Great knife, great service
Skinned three deer, still sharp !
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Trond L.
Norway
Jul 07, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Excellent and smart knife
You can use tgis knife to almost everything. When I need to cut a rabbit og som kind of forrest bird, it is excellent. Likewise to skin a deere. And I can even use it in order to prepare my fish at the tent in the evening - and then i switch the blade for tomorrows hunt. With no weight in the belt this knife will be at my side together with at more robust knife from Fällkniven for all my hunting trips.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
James R
Youngsville, Pa
Nov 07, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Nice Knife
Use it for skinning coon. Works good
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Atoparok!
Ruidoso, NM
Jul 23, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath, None
I love it!
I witnessed this knife in action! Watched a friend skin out an elk in record time. ...had to have one! The only skinning knife I will ever own.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tech11
Missoula, MT
Jun 07, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great field dressing knife
A great choice for a light weight knife. Sharp and just the right size for field dressing without any extra bulk. Don't waste time sharpening, just throw on a new blade and get it done fast. Could use gripping material on other side for improved control. Over all a excellent product at a good price.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dan
West Bend, WI
Nov 19, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Good product
Will use it for processing deer after harvesting. It looks like it will do a great job gutting and skinning, and the blade changing ability should come in very handy. along with the spare blades alongside in the sheath.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark A
Supervisor TX
Nov 04, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great knife for the money
I carry it every day. the great thing about the knife is it is light and never needs sharpended just change the blade.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gene J.
WALLA WALLA, WA
Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
THE BEST
I HAVE A PACK FULL OF KNIVES. FROM SKINNING TO CAPING AND OTHERS BUT THIS PIRANTA CAN DO IT ALL. HAVE SKINNED AND FIELD DRESSED 4 DEER THIS SEASON AND USED 2 BLADES. SHARPENING ? CHANGE THE BLADE IN 4 SECONDS !! WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS KNIFE.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tom
East TN
Oct 02, 2009
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great knife for lightweight hunting.
I boned 2 elk and it worked very well. Pros: Extremely lightweight and extremely sharp made boning very easy. Blades are easy to change, if you dull or break one you can have a new one installed in less than a minute. Cons: The blades are very prone to breakage at the handle connection with even a small amount side flex or prying. I think I broke 3 blades doing the 2 elk.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Adam T.
North Carolina
Nov 28, 2011
Pros: Weight, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Handle Material
Not the most durable, but seriously SHARP!
In order to make this knife so super lightweight, there is not much substantial material in the handle and I don't think this is really a tool that will last through a lot of hard use. Mine arrived with a crack already in the handle just below the belt clip. It hasn't affected the function and I have skinned several deer with it and it is by far the sharpest knife I have ever used for this task. Be advised that although these blades are extremely sharp, they are quite thin and somewhat brittle. This knife is great for skinning, but boning is a bit much to ask of this blade. I have snapped a few blades while separating joints and such. I really like this knife and I may buy the version with the stainless steel handle which I would imagine would be much more durable.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jacque
Pagosa Springs Colorado
Jan 30, 2011
Pros:
Cons:
I like the knife
I really like the knives I received Disappointed in the delivery time. I ordered before Christmas. I was really disappointed that I was charged higher shipping when I received three weeks after ordering. I would not of minded paying the extra shipping if you had had them in stock.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dan P.
Chicago, IL
Jan 24, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Handle Material, Pocket Clip
The weak point is the pocket clip
This is, as expected, scalpel-sharp, and does a great job on (so far) pheasants and chukar. But the pocket clip caught on some brush, pulled very loose, and ended up cracking the orange plastic to which it is affixed with torx screws.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joel
Utah
May 09, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Lock Type, Weight
Nice looking piece.
Looks about as expected. Not for anything heavy duty, just skinning. Neither the blade or handle could handle heavy chores, but that is not why you would buy it. Wicked sharp...
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bill
Beaverton, Or
Sep 03, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None
Havalon Piranta
The knife is no frills and has kind of a cheap feel. However it is very functional, light weight and an excellent preformer. It is great for packing in when every ounce counts and its incredably sharp and keep an edge very well for a knife with disposable blades.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Laurisa
South Alabama
Apr 06, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Material, Ease of Opening, None
Wonderful Knife
I got this knife for taxidermy and it is awesome. The blades are always sharp, and they're easy to change. Some people say the blades are weak, bend, and sometimes break but that is only because they are mis-using it. As long as the blade is sharp (and it lasts a LONG time)you don't have to use alot of force. The handle is comfortable and a good size (female hands talking though)but the handle is also plastic. It's durable but plastic. However, must say it works wonderfully and I'm proud to own it. Hasn't let me down yet. Great for detail taxidermy work and skinning larger animals as well.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mcnasty
San Antonio., Tx.
Oct 07, 2010
Pros: Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
knife review
Have not used this product yet, waiting for hunting season to open here.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Very Low Drag
Sacramento, CA
Dec 09, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel
Havalon Piranta-EDGE
Pros: Very sharp. Lightweight. Quick-change blades. Easy to use. Cons: A bit on the small size. Pliers needed to change blade. Expensive for what it is. Not much to it. Injection-molded plastic handle, investment cast blade mount, sheet steel liner lock and clip, steel hinge pin and screws. Should retail for half the price that it does.
Havalon Piranta-Edge Skinning Knife 2-3/4" Replaceable Blade, Blaze Orange Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Robert
Long Island City
May 23, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Handle Material, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Do not buy!
I am pretty sure my review doesn't get published because I am speaking the truth; Havalon sells cheap Pakistani JUNK at inflated prices with a huge mark-up. Handles are cheap plastic and blades do not hold the edge. the blades are disposable, CHEAP surgical blades. I purchased blades made in Germany and the hold up 30 times better. Will never buy from havalon again.