Reviews and Ratings for Sheffield SHE006 Fairbairn Sykes British Commando Dagger 6-7/8" Black Blade, Leather Sheath

Sheffield SHE006 Fairbairn Sykes British Commando Dagger 6-7/8" Black Blade, Leather Sheathrated 4.480 stars out of 5 (25 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
6
3 star
2
2 star
1
1 star
0
Sheffield SHE006 Fairbairn Sykes British Commando Dagger 6-7/8 inch Black Blade, Leather Sheath

 

Price: $69.95

Save $30.00 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Sheffield SHE006 Fairbairn Sykes British Commando Dagger 6-7/8" Black Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Blade 14
Atlanta, GA
Apr 11, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
The Classic
The original spec ops dagger. Don’t buy this if you’re expecting a knife that cuts things, the Fairbairn Sykes dagger was only intended for one thing :) Bought two of these as retirement gifts. As usual, amazing service from Knifecenter!
Sheffield SHE006 Fairbairn Sykes British Commando Dagger 6-7/8" Black Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zeb
Montana
Jan 30, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
brutal elegance
I bought this knife because I enjoy all things history especially SOE and OSS related. it's perfect for what it is intended to do. looks great, sharpens up nice and conceals really well. commenting on some of the negative reviews I have to say they need to go online and look at images of some of the surviving original commando knives and they will see that those knives have the same issues that they are complaining about with this knife. Mine doesn't have any of those issues everything is lined up no gaps, the factory edge is what I would expect it to be. according to the manufacturer these are M.O.D. issue knives, they are not cheap replicas. I think the price is great! I've bought a few knives from this company and I have not been disappointed. when I purchased this knife there was a problem with shipping costs so they contacted me and suggested using a different method and it saved me half of what I was originally quoted for shipping and I still received it on time. bottom line great knife, great service! I will defiantly be purchasing from them in the future.
Sheffield SHE006 Fairbairn Sykes British Commando Dagger 6-7/8" Black Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ed
PENNSYLVANIA
Jun 21, 2009
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Sheath
Cons: None
This knife has one purpose, it is not adaptable for camp or general use. It is very light, well balanced and ideal for personal protection. Think of it as the knife you keep close camping in the back country and hope you never need to use it.
Sheffield SHE006 Fairbairn Sykes British Commando Dagger 6-7/8" Black Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sean W
Leeton,N.S.W, Australia.
Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Legendary
British commando's sent behind the lines,relied on this knife to get them home.Thats why its a no nonsense bit of kit.It can be shapened to a fair edge but of course it's made with stabing in mind.It gave the Germans nightmares.Wether your camping, heading downtown or throwing it against a tree it's pretty industrutable.l wear it within my belt no worries,it has a good honest scabard with metle to protect it's point.Factory markings on the crossgard show it's athaticy.It wasn't ment to be a do all knife,or to out live the men who carried it,you were either quick or dead.Own a bit of history, while carrying a legendary bit of fighting kit ..
Sheffield SHE006 Fairbairn Sykes British Commando Dagger 6-7/8" Black Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hammer
Pacific Northwest, State of Jefferson
Apr 24, 2013
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Sheath
Cons: None
Best knife for it's intended purpose
This knife will not let you down like some of the cheap copies will, razor sharp and well made. Sheffield makers mark is on guard not the blade. Great for thrusting through any amount of clothing . The blade is so sharp with 14 inches of cutting edge that tossing it at your enemy as a last ditch tactic could turn the tide of battle with a severe slice or sticking and save your bacon for breakfast. Nothing to break, chip or fall off this knife. handle has vigorous grooves to prevent slipping and is solid metal so it won't break or crack. Finish is flat black and durable, overall fine attention to detail and craftsmanship. It will fit into a standard plastic USGI bayonet sheath, and if you do so it is best to move the sheath clasp strap down the sheath webbing to about the middle of the handle for extra stability. The original sheath can be worn on you garrison belt (if they still issue them) or slipped down your boot, in your cargo pocket, taped to your arm or rifle sling. handy little tabs allow quick stitching of sheath to whatever you need for a specific mission. All in all it is a fine piece of work
Sheffield SHE006 Fairbairn Sykes British Commando Dagger 6-7/8" Black Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Frank K
NEW YORK ,N.Y. USA
Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
WHY WOULD SOMEBODY COMPLAIN?
WHY WOULD SOMEBODY COMPLAIN THAT THIS KNIFE COMES WITH "NO EDGE AT ALL"?? THATS EXACTLY HOW THEY WHERE ISSUED TO THE MEN. I WOULD SUGGEST HIGH QUALITY DIAMOND STONES SAVE A LOT OF TIME AND PRODUCE THE PERFECT RESULT.(IF YOU KNOW WHAT YOU'RE DOING THST IS?)
Sheffield SHE006 Fairbairn Sykes British Commando Dagger 6-7/8" Black Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
John C
Alabama
Mar 11, 2013
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Sheath
Cons: None
SWEET
This is a great knife, my son an army ranger with 4 combat tours sums it up in one comment "SWEET".
Sheffield SHE006 Fairbairn Sykes British Commando Dagger 6-7/8" Black Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bladeling
Greece
Aug 04, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath, Handle Material
Magnificent in its simplicity
Overall this blade is superb, considering that it was forged for one an only purpose. Combat. It cannot be used as a general purpose knife, obviously, due to the fact that the blade is too thin for anything else that penetrating the enemy's body. It is relatively easy to conceal and it has a sturdy feel to it. Also it is exquisitely beautiful. Even if you do not plan on ever using it, it is a perfect piece for your showcase. The sheath could be better though to match the high quality of the knife.
Sheffield SHE006 Fairbairn Sykes British Commando Dagger 6-7/8" Black Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
John E
oregon, usa
Nov 02, 2015
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Sheath
Cons: None
good tool....good knife
i have wanted a fairairin knife since i was a child now, over 50 years later, i have one. after putting a nice edge o it, i have an excellent knife.....before, when i was younger, it was a cool knife....a good tool; now it is a very good tool and a very cool knife. my reasons for having one may have changed, be it is still very nice to have it
Sheffield SHE006 Fairbairn Sykes British Commando Dagger 6-7/8" Black Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jason
Colorado
Apr 27, 2019
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard
Goldilocks “fighter”
This knife is excellent, if you know what to expect. Excellent quality. Excellent balance. For the price, this knife is awesome. What you need to know. It isn’t very sharp out of the box. People say that’s intentional. That’s not true. The original specs called for this knife to be razor sharp. Sharpen it to your preference. It holds an edge well, but you have to give it the edge you want. Criticism 2 is that the sheath is flimsy. That is true. It is also historically accurate. A US M8A1 sheath fits the blade perfectly for about $20 Replace the snap bottom with one just a little further in and it works perfectly.
Sheffield SHE006 Fairbairn Sykes British Commando Dagger 6-7/8" Black Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lee
north east md
Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
sheffield she006
I am a collector and a friend had an original. this met my expectations in quality and balance
Sheffield SHE006 Fairbairn Sykes British Commando Dagger 6-7/8" Black Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert B
Pgh., PA
Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath, None
British Commando F-S Dagger
I collect knives and years ago, I had one of these and lost it. I was glad to see that these are still available
Sheffield SHE006 Fairbairn Sykes British Commando Dagger 6-7/8" Black Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Henrietta
Las Vegas, Nv
Jun 21, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Perfect!
I bought this for my husband because he'd always wanted one. He loves it! He said it feels amazing in his hand and is very well balanced. It's a beautiful! Well worth it!
Sheffield SHE006 Fairbairn Sykes British Commando Dagger 6-7/8" Black Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
James G
New Zealand
Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Sheath
Cons: None
Lovely historical dagger
I love this SAS dagger. It is masterfully manufactured with military markings and broadarrow. The sheath is also a great copy of the original. It feels quality and is a great replica of a classic design. The Knifecentre were excellent to deal with and the knife was quickly dispatched. I highly recommend both the Knifecenter and this sweet dagger.
Sheffield SHE006 Fairbairn Sykes British Commando Dagger 6-7/8" Black Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
David
Mid Atlantic
Aug 25, 2013
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Sheath
Cons: None
Interesting bit of history .
Very good at what it did but did not have the overall staying power of a Ka-Bar for example. As someone else has observed this is not a utility knife but a classic purpose built no frills military tool .
Sheffield SHE006 Fairbairn Sykes British Commando Dagger 6-7/8" Black Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mary W
Mascoutah, IL
Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Sheffield Fairbairn Sykes Commando Dagger
A good knife made in the UK at a fair price. Shipped quickly. I'll do business with Knifecenter.com again.
Sheffield SHE006 Fairbairn Sykes British Commando Dagger 6-7/8" Black Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bryan Mc
Atlanta
Jul 01, 2014
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath
Nice
Each time I see the F-S my mind thinks of oppressors being crushed, captives being set free and shackles being broken. Anyway this is a nice knife. The sheath however is a different story. This knife came with absolutely no edge of any kind. Aside from that, I am very pleased with it. It's definitely a keeper.
Sheffield SHE006 Fairbairn Sykes British Commando Dagger 6-7/8" Black Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Armen K.
Yerevan, Other
Dec 17, 2014
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath
Definitely recommend to buy
The knife itself is great. Even just keeping it in hand is a joy. The sheath is a bit damaged.
Sheffield SHE006 Fairbairn Sykes British Commando Dagger 6-7/8" Black Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
James R
BC, Canada
Sep 07, 2018
Pros: Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Blunted tip
When you find these in antique shops with a blunted or broken tip, chances are good they were used in actual combat. Soldiers would intentionally blunt or break the tips to prevent them from becoming lodged in bones. A blunt tip will still penetrate, but will skip over bones, reducing the likelihood of you losing your blade after a strike. I have my grandfather’s 3rd pattern, he was a radioman for a paratrooper unit so his knife didn’t have a mark on it.
Sheffield SHE006 Fairbairn Sykes British Commando Dagger 6-7/8" Black Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dan
Flagstaff, Az
Jul 28, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Not the cheap copy
Most of the weight is in the handle. Not razor sharp but pointy enough to destroy most kidneys. Pommel skull crusher not fancy but looks like it would do the job. Scabbard has the look and smell of something that has been stored by the military. Scabbard has the 4 tabs to sew into boot or trousers. Belt loop is 6cm. Elastic retention loop on top is firm. Scabbard tip is metal. Not a flat blade copy, has diamond shape to the blade. Could be an issue piece but I'm not an expert. Overall finish is good.
Sheffield SHE006 Fairbairn Sykes British Commando Dagger 6-7/8" Black Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Selfawarewolf
Washington State USA
Jun 20, 2020
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Handmade- I've watched it happen
In the late 1990's I was living in Sheffield. I watched a guy at Kelham Island museum grinding a pile of these out by hand. He was using one of the large water cooled wheels that you sit astride. The Sheffield FS I owned had some very minor symmetry issues with the edge bevel, and was likely a second for the local market. The spine of these blades is laser straight, which is amazing considering these are ground by hand (probably ALL of them by the same workman!), unsupported, on a giant wheel!! No matter how much more money you spend, or how aesthetically perfect another robot made knife appears, you won't get you closer to the soul of an original WWII fighting knife than this.
Sheffield SHE006 Fairbairn Sykes British Commando Dagger 6-7/8" Black Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mac
Illinois
Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Sheath
Cons: None
Pretty good blade
Bought this in case I run out of bullets. Feels comfortable when I practice with it. Scabbard feels good down in boot, wear all day. Great blade but hole in guard in which shaft goes through is larger than should be and creates a misalignment between the axis of the guard and the axis of the blade. Doesn't affect the function, just looks shoddy. Good temper on blade
Sheffield SHE006 Fairbairn Sykes British Commando Dagger 6-7/8" Black Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Raleigh
Spicewood, Tx
Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality
You better know how to sharpen a knife...
So first off. This knife has a pointed sharp POINT, but the edge wouldn't cut butter. It would make a pretty debilitating stab wound but the real fighting knives were razor sharp edged as well. FS fighting technique wasn't all stabbing. In fact some folks would actually blunt the tip down because it had a bad tendency to stick into bone and be fairly hard to remove. After a great deal of work on my WickedEdge Pro II it's hair splitting sharp but it was a freaking J O B.... the tip is not symetrical and will give you nightmares if you are looking to put a professional quality edge on it. But from my experience 99.9999% of the world has no clue what a real professional edge is, and will never see one. But if you know how to put one down, profile, set a bevel, sharpen, hone and strop, you can get this steel surgically sharp. Down side... it won't hold the edge long. Three test cuts on paper and it needed a touch up. Sooooo. Bottom line : if you are looking for a good wwii repro commando knife, the Boker V-42 beats it hands down. All day. Same price. If you absolutely GOTTA own a fairbairn sykes and don't have 500$ for a better repro... this will do with some elbow grease. Its a 69$ knife so its prices right. You get a well balanced fighting knife with a better than original sheath. The tabs on this sheath are leather originals used 1940's elastic, so even a good qualiy original is dry rotted and useless. The leather tabs on this sheath would allow for multiple uses if you were going to sew it into your pants and cut out the pocket liner old school style. Weight is a tad on the light side and the balance is just a smidge blade heavy so if you were to be a FS fighting style practitioner, keep looking, it's a bit awkward if you hand to hand toss... a hallmark fairbairn move to keep your target guessing which hand you would stab him from, so you toss it back and forth. That was FS fighting technique 101 and this knife will end up impaling your metatarsal day one. If you are wanting something to haul out of the safe once in a blue moon and impress your fiends with some wwii history, bingo. If I hadn't spent 4 hours on the wicked edge I might have sent it back. Final note... sheffield steel... I'm skeptical. It comes in no box, wrapped in a piece of oiled wax paper with a china sheath. So if this knife came from Sheffield it came via Xiang Ping. I'm not a metalurgist but I have plenty of Sheffield lathe tools chisels and this steel pales in comparison I could tell for sure if it wasn't painted black. At 69$ its not a rip off as long as you aren't expecting a KNIFE. Its pointy yes. Its more a spear. No cutting edge at all. Zero zip none.
Sheffield SHE006 Fairbairn Sykes British Commando Dagger 6-7/8" Black Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Paul
San Antonio, Tx
Jun 21, 2018
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Finish, Blade Sharpness
Came with a bent tip
The knife seems well made. Did not come extremely sharp, but it was intended to be a fighting knife designed to pierce; It is not a utility knife. The main issue I have is mine came with a bent tip. I tried to bend it back into place, but the tip is still a bit crooked. This is disappointing given the expense of the knife. Other than that, the knife seems true to spec with adjustable handle, good sheath, and lightweight.
Sheffield SHE006 Fairbairn Sykes British Commando Dagger 6-7/8" Black Blade, Leather Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Richard
Georgia
Jan 12, 2013
Pros: Sheath, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish
Cons: Overall Quality, None
This run is weak in some ways.
The finish is very nice. The machining is very neat, and the blade came sharp. However, the only part matching original specs seems to be the cast handle. The blade and the hand-guard are too thin. The sheath is very nice, true to spec.