Reviews and Ratings for Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue - L154

Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issuerated 4.600 stars out of 5 (75 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
51
4 star
21
3 star
0
2 star
3
1 star
0
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue

 

Price: $29.95

Save $10.04 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark
Grand Island, NE
Jul 31, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, None
Lots of knife for the money
I got one of these mostly out of curiosity and ended up carrying it most of the time. I like the carbon steel blade that takes, and holds, an edge as well as the nice firm lockup. For an everyday carry or stash in your emergency kit knife, the Kat is really hard to beat. This is proof that simple is elegant and that good materials and workmanship do not have to cost a fortune. The thin handle does take some getting used to, but the rest of the knife makes up for that one shortcoming.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
T. Caffall
Luling, Tx.
Oct 06, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
Great user knife
I have now bought 3 of these and given 2 away. It is carbon steel, takes a really nice cutting edge. The slim design carries very nicely in either front pocket or back pocket of jeans. I dont like a lot of junk in my pockets and you could forget this is there, yet it is of a useful size. Mine is everyday carry, from urban setting to outdoor use. Lock feels very positive.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tmax
Denver, CO
Mar 29, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Longtime User
I've had one of these little knives since high school, I've lost a few over the years is my only complaint. I work for a daily major newspaper, the paper companies use to give us these once in awhile, I have been carrying one of these since the seventies, daily. In my job I cut damage off the rolls of paper along the edge and paper is one of the hardest things on a knife, this one takes an edge and holds it no matter how far down you sharpen it, this knife has served me and many of my co-workers for years and we all just love it! We have all cut the swing ring off because it sure put a divit on an edge when it swings in while your closing it wish they would quit putting it on then it would be even better than it already is!!!!
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aj
Oregon
Jul 05, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Best folder for your bucks
I carried a Black Cat folder for years before misplacing it. I loved the simplicity of it's design, reliability, it's sharpness and ease of resharpening. It's also so flat and light weight that you can barely feel it on your pocket. An excellent folder at an even more excellent price.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gadfly22
NJ
May 19, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Simple and Elegant
The handle of this knife is narrow, so it may not have the greatest ergonomics for hard use. But, in all other respects, it is fit for plenty of hard use. The blade is sharp and shaped for detail work, but the construction is tough enough for any use. The black cat on the handle may look cutesy, but this knife means business. And is a nice bit of history to slip into your pocket.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Johnny Blade
MA
Sep 23, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Get one!
Simplicity, quality, affordability, and usability without unnecessary embellishment. The beauty is in the design itself. More things should be made this way.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill
GA.
Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
A Great Pocket Knife
One of the great things about this knife is that it is 4 3/8" long and you don't even know that it is in your pocket. And either the carbon or stainless steel is great. I have both. In 2010, Otter Messer, the maker of this knife, started making them with different colored handles. They are neat looking. Wish that KnifeCenter would start offering these also.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Padre Geoff
Greenville, SC
Sep 08, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
sometimes basic is best
I had one of these a million years ago when I was a kid and lost it somewhere along the way. I'm glad to have one again. Strong blade. Easily sharpened. Useful length. The strongest lock on earth. Is it pretty? No. Does it have a locking-liner, flip back, finger hole quick snap, point-down pocket clip? No. Will it make everyone who sees it say, "Wow. Cool!" No. Did it cost as much as my first car like all the fancy knives I own. No!
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lafleur
Gulf Coast.
Feb 13, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
A German sensation.
With a construction of seven major assemblies, a lockbar, the blade, the pins, a father sturdy bail, folded sheet metal handle, and pivot pin, there is little that can fail with the Black Cat. The finishing is robust yet flat; it does not negatively add to the gripping of the knife. With over a century of service, it is a massively effective, rugged, simple knife. It cuts very well, both a testament to the heat treatment, zero grind and zero edge, as well as to the overall German craftsmanship. I owned last summer a Douk Douk, and find this a superior knife by far. The spear point is sharp to the tip, and required no sharpening, unlike the Douk Douk. The tip is robust, yet sharp. A great knife for a first time user, or anyone. It is also about 2.6 oz, making it very easy to carry, but not obsessively thick. A great buy, and WONDERFUL customer service. The lock is also rather durable. It is suggested oiling the major mechanisms.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark C.
Grand Island, NE
Jul 30, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
A lot of knife for the money
I got one to try it out and ordered two more after seeing what it can do. No, it is not a high dollar, smooth as silk tactical knife, but it is a VERY well engineered tool for doing the tasks a knife must do. I wish more things were engineered as well. You can pay a lot more for a knife, but I am not sure you can find one that is more knife for the money. This is a bet your fanny on it kind of tool, (and yes it can be snapped open with one hand if need be.)
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kurt Meyer
Portland Oregon
Aug 23, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Kat5 german knife
I bought this knife for reenacting, i was suprised at how slim and well made it is, its incredibly solid for such a compact package. There really isn't anything that I can find to complain about, its a great knife for the price
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charlie
Greenfield, WI
Jun 23, 2010
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Best Knife I ever bought
I am an aircraft mechanic and this knife comes in handy many times during my day. Its tough and made very well I expect to have it for many years.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Billy
MA
May 25, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
built the same as 30 yrs ago
Beautiful Knife
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wade
Sugar Grove
Feb 20, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip
Fast shipping,great knife. Love the carbon steel blade.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert
Spokane Wa
Jan 07, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave
Massachussetts
Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath, None
K55
Firstly,Thank you knife center! Quick delivery... As for the K55..it's a no b.s. pocket knife. Durable,no play in the blade..I had never owned a lock blade with this style of lock before,so I was a bit apprehensive,being used to buck style recessed locks..but I actually am impressed with this lock. The way your hand fits the knife , it avoids ever touching the lock. It's one of the more solid lockblades I've encountered. The carbon steel blade is scary sharp right out of the package as I would expect with any Solingen blade. It is amazingly light. For the price,you just can't argue. Everyone that's owned one says they have had it for years so it sounds dependable as well. This is deffinately a case of simple is better. And who dosent love cats? Der Katze ..sehr gut!
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wb
Richmond, VA
Feb 12, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Type
Well-crafted
The handle of the knife is a single, folded sheet of heavy gage metal and makes a rigid structure to mount the blade. There is no play in this knife.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
R O'halloran
Dutch Harbor, Alaska
Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Cat Knife
The German Cat Knife has been my pocket knife of choice for years. When I lived in Monterey, a lot of the fishermen there liked to use them. They'd tie a little string around the bottom, metal loop on the knife handle and attach the other end of the string to their belt, or their jeans. The blade takes a real good edge. What I really like about the Cat Knife is how thin it is inside of my pocket. I barely notice that it is there. It doesn't make a big lump in my trousers. It makes a great pocket knife. Also, I'd like to commend the Knife Center on their speedy delivery. I was pleasantly surprised when it arrived only a few days after I ordered it.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Anonymous
Minnesota
Oct 04, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Solid and made to last
This an economical, historic and (most important) solidly built knife. There is no lateral wiggle in the knife when open and the lock is solid and obvious. You can treat this knife like you rented it and it will keep coming back for more. It is a excellent knife for the price.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
R Reed
ny
Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
great knife
will be used in my collection
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Clint L
Saint Helen Michigan
Jun 27, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
My favorite knife
I use a knife at work, maybe 20 times a day for stripping wire,opening boxes, cutting hose; The carbon blade really holds and edge well and it is a good length blade; The knife has a very solid feel with a good lock; I like the slim handle too and it fits in your pocket very comfortably; sometimes I forget its there! I did cut the ring off though
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Peter G.
Elk Grove, CA
Oct 16, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Exceptional value and knife at any price
I had one 40 years ago and forgot the name ( I now collect knives ) and my buddy back in NYC still has his and has used it for 40 + years ...still tight mechanism, good carbon steel, takes a keen edge and thin profile makes for a super EDC ( every day carry knife ) ... they must be doing something right as this knife has been produced for over 100 years. Get the carbon steel not stainless. Knife Center carries the authentic K55 German Mercator knife. It is like a reunion with an old friend...
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill Noonan
Harrisburg, Pa
May 26, 2011
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Black Cat Knife
This was the first knife I carried when I was in the Coast Guard in the 1960"s and it was a great one because it was flat, held an incredibly sharp edge and locked in place. This knife will be carried for years to come.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom W
Louisiana- usa
Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: None
Cool Knife
The interesting thing about this kinfe is that it has been in production since 1867 and is still a useful knife. The carbon steel blade is capable of being honed razor sharp-but will discolor (called "patina", or rust if not if put away wet) but so what? The thin stamped metal sides make for easy carry and the secure locking system makes it seem like a fixed blade when open. Acording to my on-line research-this knife was never issued by the German Army-but the soldiers bought them with their own money during WW1 and WW2 b/c they were and still is a great utility pocket knife.--Buy one, BTW - the little lanyard loop os no longer needed-but so what?
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Buck
cen cal
Sep 28, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great no frills knife
Great no frills sharp cutting knife. great knife for the price.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Slalom
Brooklyn, NY
Dec 13, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Best value for the money and a classic
Perfect for old-timers like me. Doesn't spook NYC cops due to the total lack of "tactical" features seen on newer folders, but provides for a good grip, forward and reverse, and decent penetration due to the slim profile. Sharp out of the box - well, plastic sleeve. Opens easily with one hand, without holes or studs. After a couple of months of daily pocket ware started showing some rust/discoloration on the exposed part of the blade. But y'all gonna complain about that when you've got a German-made blade for 30$? Nope, just a heads-up.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Frank M
upstate NY
Jul 02, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
classic
Knowing that the "Black Cat" has a history adds to the enjoyment of this little knife. I like the fact that it is Solingen carbon steel. It is easy opening, not stiff as so many knives are, and relatively easy, although not a breeze, to close. With its thin body, it fits easily in the hand and feels well balanced.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Arnie
Vermont
Mar 07, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Old Reliable
I've owned K55's since my childhood & I'm 59 years old now . These knives are one of the best kept secrets . They have always been in expensive , reliable , long lasting , & tough knives around . I would not trade it for any other knife in it's class .
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Anne M
Needville, TX
Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
We love it!
My husband was in the military. I buy knives every year for Christmas for all the men in our family. My husband got his early and loves it. He said its well made. Loves that its from Germany. Very happy with it.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Speakman
usa
Dec 01, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great knife
Its a great knife i don't have a clue what that one 2 star review was nagging on about. Came sharp has a nice weight the handles are slim and comfy, blade opens smoothly and blade locks solidly.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wayne S
Tennessee
Jan 01, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Solongen K55 Knife
I was given the knife by a retired friend who was downsizing his “stuff” and didn’t know where he got it. The Black was worn off and the handle was covered with crud and a bit of rust on the handle but some medium scotchbrite took care of that. The blade was reasonably sharp, the handle was in good condition, the lock held well and was easy to operate. The blade is straight and overall is in great condition. It also has a sheath which could be handy. The carbon steel blade is not an issue for me. I have several Case knives that way and a quick work on a barbers strap hones them well. If the blade loosens a few careful raps with a hammer on the rivet should cure that. All in all it is an easy to carry knife and a great conversation piece.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gamekeeper
England
Sep 12, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Brilliant design.
EDC, if I could only have one knife it would be my K55K. So slim you hardly know it's in your pocket and tough enough for most tasks. Five stars only because I can't give it six!
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rochnowski
united States of America
Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
K55 Black Cat
Love the thin design... great for pocket carry... Excellent craftsmanship... every man, woman and child should learn the importance of carrying a knife... for both the use as a tool... and possibly the use to defend oneself... this particular knife, could be used for both...
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert K
Durham, Nc
May 12, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Best EDC?
After many years of trying different knives, I have decided that the K55 is the best (IMO) for EDC use. Where else can you get a strong, durable, all-steel knife with an excellent 3 1/2 in. locking blade, which is easy to open and close, is beautiful to look at and feels great in the hand, and can be dropped into a front pocket and essentially disappear? For a time it's been a toss-up between the K55 and a small sebenza micarta, but the K55 has finally won out, because so many things about it are "just right". The fact that it has been around for 150 yrs. just adds to the appeal.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave C.
sonoma ca.
Mar 20, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Sheath, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Good all around pocket knife.
It's light , slim, a good size that fits well in your hand. Being Hi-carbon steel, it's easy to "dress" the edge. I use the back of a leather belt,( that I wear) to keep a scary sharp edge. I would suggest that you force a patina on the blade , or it will rust. I used boiling vinegar (check youtube) to get a dark black patina. It's very nimble (?) in your hand , making it easier to use than a knife with a thicker handle. The spine lock is robust and in the open position form slight finger or thumb groves. I carry this knife every day and find that I use it more than the multi-tool I used to carry. Mostly because I had to carry the multi-tool on my belt , and this just slips into my pocket. Its a good looking ,classic knife, with some interesting history, for $20. Not a bad deal.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave A.
Clemmons, NC
Oct 23, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Blade Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
Excellent Knife - True Classic
I first got one of these from an ad in the back of Easy Rider Magazine back in the 70's and carried everyday. I lost that one on a camping trip and replaced it. That one I carried everyday when I was in the Army. On my way back from my tour in Korea it was confiscated at O'Hare by some TSA yahoo in the mid 80's. I once again replaced the knife and still have it to this day. You can get this knife scary sharp and it will stay scary sharp. There is nothing sexy about this knife, it just does it's job. I own way too many knives that just collect dust, but I come back home to this one time and time again. You can carry this knife and not even know it there. This is a true classic that you will come to love and depend on. Great starter knife for young ones. I look forward to passing this on to my son.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
C Anthony
Cape Cod Massachusetts
Apr 09, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
The perfect jack knife
I am a carpenter and have been for 58 years , I know tools , and this is without a doubt the best all around pocket knife that I have ever owned . You never know that you are carrying it until you need it ,... There is something right about this knife , that is why it has sold faithfully for 150 years ..
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Old N Grumpy
Ponca city, OK
Oct 16, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
It's a clean simple working knife at a reasonable price.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
Durham NC
Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
A Great Knife
After many years of carrying pocket knives, including several sebenzas, I have decided that my favorites are the mercator K55 and the opinel #8 - especially the K55. In terms of ease of carry (thinness), blade size, shape, and grind, I would guess that most people would find it ideal, even if it is not a one handed knife. The carbon steel takes a slightly better edge than the stainless, but both are good. There is a reason that the K55 has been produced and popular for about 150 years. It may not have fancy inlays, micro-precise machining or a pocket clip, but it is a beautiful knife in terms of overall design, practicality, and ease of use.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mister Mystery
Mystery, California
Apr 01, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
How did they ever lose?
The Mercator Solingen Cat Knife- German Army Issue is such a high quality item at such a reasonable price it makes me wonder how the civilization that produced an item like that could ever come in second on anything. This knife is a triumph of the knifemakers will and is uber-alles when it come to value. The great shape and balance feels like quality in the hand and the action is positive - opens and closes with proper German efficiency. This is the German Goo Girl of high quality collectible knives. Enjoy!
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jorge
New Paltz, NY
Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great pocket knife.
Simple, handsome design. I got one for everyone in my family.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zac
Los Angeles
Sep 06, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
The hype is real
The hype is real
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steven
ladson SC
Oct 24, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Great knife!
Great knife! My new everyday carry. Dont even notice it most of the time, as I carried a old German gravity knife before.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Sacramento, Ca
Feb 16, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Black Cat
Good very sharp trim knife! !
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert R
NY
Jan 29, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
great knife
It is going in my collection.I liked the history behind the knife.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Randy
Winslow, NJ
Sep 12, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Did you know the K55 was a piece of history?
I am a WWII German re-enactor and the K55 was the most common pocket knives carried by German Soldiers of that time. So many Germans were captured or killed with these knives in their pockets, that the allies thought they were issued equipment. The truth was soldiers bought them with their own money. K55s were as popular in Germany as Buck lock blades were in the US. Every GI wanted to bring home a Luger, but the military started cracking down on the practice of "souvenirs". What GIs brought home were K55s, thousands of them (they were easier to hide). Maybe you have one at the bottom of your Grand Daddy's old tool box! Any way, It's a great, sturdy knife made exactly the way they did back then at a reasonable price. OK, OK, I use it in and around the house to, its just to cool!
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Shayne
Edmonton, Ab
Mar 17, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
K55
I had wanted one of these in my collection for years. I never intended for it to become my EDC. I used a Fallkniven TK3 until this. TK3's a beautiful knife but slightly heavy. I really like how unobtrusive the K55 is in my pocket in comparison. It weighs virtually nothing and is thin. Plus, I don't worry about getting it all banged up by change and keys so much. It arrived sharp but I stropped it to scary proportions. Most of the gold paint has come off the cat logo in a very short time but that is minor to me. I think this is an excellent pocket knife that will sharpen up easily and last for years. Great knife.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kuk Ir 61
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 20, 2009
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Mercator Solingen Cat Knife
I bought the knife to use for WWI re-enacting, but it is so handy that I carry it all the time for everyday use. The knife's slim profile and simple but very secure locking system make it easy to carry and use. I like that it has a carbon steel blade instead of stainless. I wish it was available without the "K55K" and cat logo, but that is a minor quibble.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fred Za
Royal palm beach
Dec 25, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Just what I was trying to find had one 30 years ago
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kenneth
Mountainair, NM
Apr 14, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Blade Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
Not as sexy as the Douk Douk, but more venerable, and it locks!
Well, if my review headline didn't say the most pertinent bits of information allow me to elucidate. This knife has been around virtually unchanged since only two years after the American Civil War ended and it us still around. Why? Because it does what it's supposed to do and it does it well. It's beauty is in its simplicity. There is very little that can go wrong with it. Like the Douk Douk it is quite solid, with its all steel construction, and unlike the Douk it locks up with a unique locking mechanism, and no it doesn't get in the way when you use it. Just don't stab downwards with it or you might disengage it. It is slim so it carries well in the pocket and the xc75 steel blade, while not a steel snobs ideal choice, is a perfectly good steel that has stood the test if time, is tough as nails, is easy to sharpen, and takes a very fine edge. I personally like the patina that carbon steel takes on. It reminds me of my dad's old knives. So there you have it. If you don't care about this venerable knife' s history, it is still a user friendly and effective tool. Get one,...or two!
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brian D
Bangor Maine
May 25, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
Quality at an affordable price
Quality that you can't go wrong with
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 4 stars out of 5
Adk
new york
Sep 25, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Feel
very neat
old school folder. easy to sharpen and to pocket carry. locks up solid. handle is painted metal. I use this knife for light duty.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rachel
Stamford, CT
Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great for light duty
I bought this knife because of its simple flat design and carbon content. It rests well at the bottom of your front pocket. After a month of normal cutting the blade started to wiggle in the locked open position, ie: I wouldnt use it for anything too strenuous. Its more of a finess player. Maybe good for skinning a squirrel or other task where sharpness really counts.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 4 stars out of 5
William Stan
Pocatello, Id
Dec 24, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
great knife but will develop play side to side
I love this knife. you can hardly tell you are carrying it. great historical significance. If you abuse it it will develop some side to side play. It is the nature of the design. Bu tI love the knife.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 4 stars out of 5
Homam Z
Tampa,FL
Mar 04, 2017
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Sheath, None
Pretty good for the price
I use this knife just for cutting everyday things like plastic or fruit. It take some time before it sharpens, but its simple and to the point in how it can be used and is easy to use. I would have like to have known how blunt it would be before ordering and a recommended sharpener for carbon steel.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bob Smith
Heart of Texas
Dec 12, 2009
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Overall Quality, None
Black Cat
I owned one of these when I was a kid. It seems like the build quality has slipped since then.(crooked blades,rough edges on rivets), however,in this case, you get what you pay for, an honest no-frills knife that will hold an edge, and can be carried every day without fear of losing or damaging. Service from Knifecenter was fast and friendly,I would recommend them for your next knife purchase.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 4 stars out of 5
Traditionalist
USA
Sep 01, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, Weight, None
Cons: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel
Good EDC
A proven, time-tested classic, but the blade on mine was noticeably bent about 1" from the ricasso. When closed, the tip of the blade was off center, fairly far to one side. I had to put the blade in a vise and slowly and *carefully* bend it to just about straight. The tip was then fairly far off center to the other side, but I'd rather have that than a bent blade. You can do a lot of everyday tasks with a much shorter blade, but sometimes it's nice to have a longer blade like on the Mercator (the cutting edge is 3 1/4"). The overall thinness and light weight make it unnoticeable in the pants pocket despite the length (4 5/16" closed, not counting the bail).
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 4 stars out of 5
South Forty Lounger
Arizona
Jan 13, 2019
Pros:
Cons:
Good knife good value
I have owned the identical predecessor to this knife since my freshman year in college-1968. For you kids only 30 or 40 years old that was the year that George Wallace ran for president. When I say identical i mean it is the same in all appearance, blade and lock and handle material, including the leaping cat. That knife which I still own has been used for everything that medium folders are good for - practice throwing in dart boards, taking caps off beer bottles, scraping back insulation on electric cords to mount a new plug, repairing fishing lures, cleaning fish, cutting the fabric off the interior roof of an abandoned car to make a bandage, removing the toe leather from hiking shoes to create more room and breathe-ability on a long hike the length of Grand Canyon subject to the summer heat of Arizona. Plus all the usual stuff like feather sticks, opening the ever cursed plastic blister packs that now cover too many of life's necessities. Care was always used. Protected by a sheath rigged from heavy duty linen fire hose that needed to be cut anyway on a wildfire deep in the Yolla Bolly wilderness in the far off 1980's. The case and the knife were retired recently in favor of the folding Cold Steel Bushman which will outlast me and be of better use than the Mercator cuz its tougher by a bunch, but the Mercator met all its duties, I have no complaint, and it is likely you won't either.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tomd
Calgary
Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Sheath, Handle Feel
simple, practical and pocketable
The knife is meant for slicing and stabbing. It's great virtue is how flat it is and how long the blade is for a very small pocket knife.The knife is not good for carving because it does not have a belly in the blade. It sharpens very well if you know what you're doing. I carry it all the time.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jack
Michigan
Feb 15, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
sturdy, sharp, and slim
This slim knife fits comfortably in a pocket yet has a strong-looking blade and sturdy lock system. The knife arrived sharp and easily cut through thick rope and reinforced rubber gas hose.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 4 stars out of 5
John M
raleigh, N.C.
Mar 07, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Type, Handle Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
bought an endura 4 ffg and it's so nice i can't stand to use it for some tasks. so, i got into the market for a cool, nice, cheap knife that i don't mind making uglier. after much looking around, i decided to roll the dice on this blade, the handle, while very uncomfortable looking at about 1/4 inch thick, actually has a pretty good feel. i love the slimness and simplicity of the design. the lock release is in a great spot, right behind the thumb where no part of my hand applies pressure. i also have a soft spot for good ol carbon steel. there were a few sharp spots on the handle, not a big deal for me to sand down. it's hard to open one handed, i can't use my normal trick for opening lockbacks with one hand, just not enough handle to hold onto. all in all, a great knife to use for things too abusive for my beloved spyderco, and it looks way less intimidating too.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 4 stars out of 5
Nick The Knife
Beacon, NY
May 31, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use
Mercator Solingen Cat Knife- German Army Issue
Atleast it's not a crappy chinese repro of the same knife.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 4 stars out of 5
Osmer H
Azusa, CA
May 08, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Pocket Clip
Sturdy and practical
This is an old school, practical work knife. No fancy fast opening, just a good blade that takes and holds an edge.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 4 stars out of 5
Derek
ns
Apr 07, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Lock Type
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Great basic knife with excellent blade
I wanted a thin lock back with a carbon steel blade and the knife fits those needs well. It's a bit larger and looks a bit menacing in person for an edc but it's thin profile makes it basically unnoticeable in my pocket so I really can't complain. It came razor sharp and the carbon steel is easy to re-sharpen. The lock back works great as well. The only downside is minor fit and finish stuff. The rivets that hold the handle together we're not fully peened. It's easy enough to fix that but difficult to do so without squishing the blade and making it hard to open. A little bit of adjusting and slowly playing with it got it to where I am happy though.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 4 stars out of 5
B J
van. can.
Feb 27, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath, Pocket Clip
nice piece of history!
smooth operation and lockup. good price for a knife in my lunch box and not afraid to use it or lose it!!
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jdm
Kentucky
May 18, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Shouldn't have waited so long
I wished I had purchased one of these when I was younger. They were always being sold in the back ads of the gun magazines. Great EDC . so slim and comfortable in your pocket. Carbon steel sharpens easily to a fine hone.A near 150 year old design that stands the test of time.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ken
Ontario, Canada
Aug 07, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
no-nonsense lock blade
I had heard about these knives and wondered if they were as good as they said. I started searching and Boom! Knifecenter had them in stock. The price was fair and I ordered one off of the easy to use website. The package arrived promptly with all the necessary documentation attached and the knife was well wrapped and protected in a cardboard box. The Mercator k55 "black Cat" locking blade is a no-nonsense knife that screams UTILITY. The knife body is black enamel, 4 1/2" long and barely 1/4" thick allowing it to lay flat in the pants pocket. There is a lanyard loop that is built sturdily enough and is held in place with rivets, not screws, so no chance of coming off. The blade is made of Solingen steel and is fairly thick and solid. The blade is pulled open and is locked and closed by use of a large protruding tab which does not catch on things as it's edges are all rounded. While a little larger than what I normally would carry, this folder has become my favourite, well suited for cleaning fish, small game, cutting rope etc. However this is NOT a knife for prying open crates, pulling nails etc as the blade hinge will be damaged. Get a solid blade knife if you intend to do that. All in all, a good solid locker with a no-nonsense look.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 4 stars out of 5
Guiseppe
Fort Wayne
Jun 09, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Great value
A great value and quality knife. I use it as for everyday carry / utility. Takes a keen edge, but doesn't last. Overall design: feel/fit/function is very good.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 4 stars out of 5
Paul
Lynnwood, Wa
Sep 25, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
It's what I expected
It's a solid lockback pocket knife that came with a so-so edge. The carbon steel wasn't difficult to re-sharpen to my liking. Blade isn't exactly balls-on centered, but it's good enough.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 4 stars out of 5
Etienne L.
Canada
Nov 12, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great all-purpose EDC
I just received my K55 in the mail 2 days ago. I'm very happy with this knife. The design is simple and elegant, and it's a plus that the knife has such a storied history (for those who care about such things of course). A most people probably know, this knife started production in 1867 and the design has not changed very much at all. A simple piece of stamped and folded sheet metal is used for the handle, the blade (more knowledgeable knife enthusiasts can give more details about the blade - suffice it to say, it's carbon steel, and came sharp enough "out-of-the-box"), a couple of rivets, and a bail. Construction on mine is very tight. There is no discernible play in the blade. The bail is riveted very tightly as well, and for the time being anyway, doesn't move easily. Opening the knife is easy enough, even without using the nail-nick. The knife locks up nice and tight, and a fair amount of pressure is required to unlock it. It should be noted that while this knife has a bit of a an odd placement for the lock release, it does not interfere with knife operation i.e. even holding the knife in a death-grip doesn't make your hand "press" on the lock, due to hand anatomy, if that makes any sense (there's a youtube video where this is explained). The fit and finish on my knife is very nice. There are 2 (very) small flaws that I've noticed. For one, the blade seems to be fitted "lower" inside the handle, meaning that when opened, the stamping at the bottom of the blade is only half-visible. I can easily see all the letters for "Mercator" on one side of the blade, but on the other side the word "Solingen" is only half visible (with the word "Germany" above it being of course fully visible). This is not a deal-breaker by any means, but it does annoy my OCD a bit. Secondly, there is a super small blemish at the very end of one of the little "curves" of the top bolster. Almost as if the knife had been touched at that spot while the paint was drying. In effect, the spot IS black, but you can see that the paint was flattened at that spot. But it is a TINY spot. The golden cat design is very nice. I hope it doesn't rub out too quickly! The knife came well lubricated, and smells of machine oil (not much at all, just something I noticed). This knife is awesome to carry in jean pockets, as it is VERY slim. It's also very light (not too much, just the perfect weight). The lock back designs means that the knife could potentially be used as a last ditch weapon as well. The blade length is also just right in my opinion. In conclusion, while I haven't put this knife through any sort of rigorous testing process, I have no reason to believe that it wouldn't perform beautifully. It's a great design that stood the test of time (148 years by my calculation). I own a lot of knives, and I'd say that if I could only keep one, the K55K would make the short list for sure (of course, this is very much related to the kind of collection you have but that's how I feel personally ;-)). One other thing: as another reviewer pointed out, this knife was NOT issued to German soldiers (or there is no historical evidence of the knife being officially issued). The knife however was so popular that a high number of soldiers carried one. KnifeCenter's service was great as usual. I'll keep buying knifes and other articles from KC, of this there is no doubt.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 4 stars out of 5
Isaac
USA
Jul 08, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Overall Quality
Not quite the quality I was expecting
I received this knife today in the mail. The factory edge was ground even, but not very sharp, which was quickly remedied. The blade has good lockup, with no side to side play and minimal vertical play. The problem with this knife is that the tip of the blade hits on the inside of the knife on a piece of plastic or composite of some sort. I haven't even had my knife for 6 hours and this piece has already shattered. For a knife known for its durability, I was not too thrilled. Perhaps I will be able to find a way to correct this. The second problem is that the lanyard ring is bent to the side, which rubbed the corner of the knife and chipped the paint. I find this to be more acceptable for this type of working knife.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 4 stars out of 5
Heinz
seattle Wa
Nov 16, 2015
Pros:
Cons:
Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
Love my cat knife. However they are just as expensive as a Buck 110 from Walmart. But the Cat knife is EZer to carry in pocket and love the carbon steel balde as its Ezer to keep sharp as its a thinner blade using a bit coarser stone.Of coarse it LOCKS Last Batch I got was from Worldknives in Washington for about 17$ apc. However the prices are all the same at about $28 which most people will think is too much for a cheap looking knife but after you carry other knives the Carbon steel is where it shines. I rate this as one of the MOST PRACTICAL EDC knife around. My 200$ Herburtus Auto is nice but heavy & never really cuts as good as the cat knife. These are made by Ottermesser in Germany. But before 1996 by soemones else and they were a little better made as I notice the locks are slightl looer than the early versions. OtterMesser makes some nice carbon steel knives but hard to get in the US.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 2 stars out of 5
Chuck
lone star, tx.
May 15, 2011
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Type
mercator needs to work on quality control
the lock did not close right. I had to file the metal and the blade hit the handle when closing. The factory needs a final inspection before shipping.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 2 stars out of 5
Knifegeek
US West
Sep 03, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Weight, None
Cons: Handle Material, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Poor Modern Replica
This knife is a poorly made replica of a classic knife. BLADE: The back of the blade spine where the locking element meets the blade is very unevenly machined, thus the blade leans to one side (on all K55's I've seen). The blade steel is C75, European equivalent of 1075 and has very uneven edge bevel, you'll need to rebuild the bevel while sharpening. If you live in very humid climate like me, the blade will give in to rust extremely easily. LOCK: Lockback with a tight, solid lockup. However, the machining is done very unevenly and despite making the blade lean, the locking bar sticks up above the handle spine, eating into the thumb resting on it. HANDLE: Folded iron sheet that stinks once the paint starts peeling, which happens fast. In short, this is my impression: Hy. Kauffmann formerly producing these knives shuts down in 1995. Later bought by Otter-Messer which decides to redesign the knife, pick new materials, cut the costs along with the standards and reenter production in 2013. Unfortunately as a replica that looks the same but doesn't work the same.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Carbon Steel, Army Issue
rated 2 stars out of 5
Knifegeek
US West
Sep 06, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Weight, None
Cons: Handle Material, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Poor Modern Replica v.2
Forgot to mention. Like someone else already pointed out, the blade is closing directly on a piece of plastic and cuts into it with the tip. Also, the C75 steel they used for the blade has hardness of 56 HRC and frankly, any heat-treated carbon steel containing .75% carbon and having below 60 HRC is a joke. Entire trade-off in carbon steel towards stainless is the hardness = better edge retention. What's the point of even using carbon steel if it's soft?