Reviews and Ratings for Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Stainless Steel, Army Issue - L154S

Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Stainless Steel, Army Issuerated 4.455 stars out of 5 (11 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Stainless Steel, Army Issue

 

Price: $29.95

Save $10.04 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Stainless Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
New York
Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Lock Ease of Use
Cons: None
Happy to Find That These Still Exist
I am a printing press man and no knife fits our occupation better than this one. We use these knifes in prepping the rolls of paper, cutting jammed paper out of the press, making the lead up tapes, cutting bundling twine, etc. The knife has a thin profile that allows it to fit in your pocket unlike the buck 110 which you have to wear a sheath which if you ask any press man you do not want things hanging off your body that can get caught. These knives take a beating the paint may wear off but it works day after day. Back in the day the paper companies gave us these. Then they disappeared the only ones were a cheap Asian copy that were terrible . I am so glad to see that you can get the real German ones again. Give it to the right person and you can make these razor sharp. You can go through paper like a lazer beam
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Stainless Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom
Chicago
Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Otter K55 Mercator, Black
This is a fun knife to carry! It looks unique, which is its main attribute. The Mercator came decently sharp and easily took an even sharper edge. You get a fairly long blade for a folder and the back lock is nice and solid. Being a lock-back knife less pocket lint gets into it, Which is a good thing because there’s no pocket clip (which might deter some from EDC). However the knife is also nice and light so it’s unobtrusive in the pocket. There’s a nice clip ring at the end which also helps keep the blade in when folded back. After researching I don’t really believe that this knife was standard German army issue in WWII but it was quite popular at the time for purchase among both civilians and soldiers and holding it does evoke a historic feeling. Not that I was for that side of course but German engineering has always been respected and to hold this knife is to hold something from another time that was simple yet fulfilled its purpose well. It also looks cool but not scary if one had to open it in a restaurant to butter one’s toast. I’m loving this purchase and Thank You Knife Center for offering it!
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Stainless Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Reg
New Zealand
Jun 12, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
An excellent EDC knife. Don't bother with the non-stainless version, this stainless one can easily be made razor sharp and holds its edge fairly well. Locks up tight, and if it gets loose you can always tap the pivot rivet with a hammer and it's tight again! So is adjustable and the spear pt blade is a simple emergency combat design. We used to call these possum skinners in NZ years ago, but I don't think they had a lock. But many possums were skinned. The katze (German) design is classy.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Stainless Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Martin S
new york, new york
Jun 07, 2012
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Excellent knife, great service.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Stainless Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Irv
Kansas
Mar 07, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
Much better than my old one!
Fifty years ago, I purchased a carbon steel Japanese version. At that time, I did not realize it was a copy of this German made classic. Although still serviceable, I thought that I would be better served by a stainless version. I am thrilled at the quality of this product. Most stainless lockblade designs today have beltclips or other accoutrements that make them bulky and defeat the purpose of a convenient carry in an all-purpose knife. If this one is good for another 50 years, I will not be around to get full use of it, but it will be passed on to one of my kids.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Stainless Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim D.
rochester, ma.
Jun 24, 2011
Pros: Weight, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
love this knife,had one as a kid. lightweight and flat. slips in back pocket without notice until needed. keep on in pocket of every jacket.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Stainless Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Reg R
New Zealand
May 18, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
A good black cat
Light and good for every-day-carry. Locks well, sharpens well, may take a genuine razor edge. We had these several decades ago in NZ, but I'm not sure whether they locked. We used to call them "Possum skinners". This is a good model. The type of stainless used is easily sharp enough and you don't need the inconvenience of a 'carbon-steel' one.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Stainless Steel, Army Issue
rated 5 stars out of 5
Greg M
UPM
Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
K55 Blackcat
Great knife for our craftsmen to use. Durable yet light weight and small enough to carry comfortably in your pocket.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Stainless Steel, Army Issue
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bill Conrad
Emmaus, PA
May 26, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Feel, None
nice, slim, carry knife
every day carry knife, easy to open and close.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Stainless Steel, Army Issue
rated 4 stars out of 5
Nate
MD
Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Basic and solid
Different, but great, looking knife with a story. My only ding against it is the uneven paint in the k55k logo on mine. I have the stainless version. Sharpens well. Lock up inspires confidence. Good light use slicer. Would probably filet decently in a pinch, given the long narrow blade.
Otter Mercator Solingen K55 Black Cat Knife German, Stainless Steel, Army Issue
rated 1 stars out of 5
Stuart H.
Oshawa, Ontario
Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Type
Cons: Overall Quality, None
"Sometimes, Nostalgia Is Best Left In The Past"
I must admit, the thought of owning a knife that was on the verge of celebrating its' sesquicentennial year of production was rather alluring. However, the specimen that I received had been very shoddily assembled. In fact, the bail was even broken at the attachment rivet. There was a time when cutlery made in Solingen, Germany was, well, "the cat's meow". That's not the case here. If it's a nostalgic and handy army knife you're looking for, seek out a Joseph Allen & Sons 2-piece British Army Knife (NSN9757402). You'll be quite pleased with that trip down memory lane!