Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR 1245 Tanto Fighting Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Glass Filled Nylon Sheath

KA-BAR 1245 Tanto Fighting Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Glass Filled Nylon Sheathrated 4.889 stars out of 5 (27 reviews)
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
24
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
KA-BAR 1245 Tanto Fighting Knife 8 inch Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Glass Filled Nylon Sheath

 

Price: $79.95

Save $28.33 (26%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR 1245 Tanto Fighting Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Glass Filled Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jon
Zephyrhills,FL.
Jun 05, 2013
Pros:
Cons:
top quality
shaving sharp, going to be used as a KNIFE!!! not the retard things people that don't deserve knifes do!!!!
KA-BAR 1245 Tanto Fighting Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Glass Filled Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Neb
Jun 26, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
It's a Ka-Bar...no cons
KA-BAR 1245 Tanto Fighting Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Glass Filled Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tahshure
Montreal
Sep 08, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Beautiful
Well balanced and extremely sharp
KA-BAR 1245 Tanto Fighting Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Glass Filled Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
J.T
T.N
Apr 30, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great Knife
This is a great knife for combat or survival.
KA-BAR 1245 Tanto Fighting Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Glass Filled Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jl
Westminster, ca
Jun 01, 2019
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
first Ka bar
my first ka bar knife and I chose the tanto. So far Iove it, and i love the length of the blade. The handle is nice and feels good in my grip. It's a fighting knife and its gonna be used for self defense purposes and cutting soft materials only. I want to baby the edges and keep it clean and sharp much as I can. The sheath isn't too bad, I like kydex style but everyone has their preferences
KA-BAR 1245 Tanto Fighting Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Glass Filled Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom T
Santa Clarita, CA
Mar 18, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
KA-BAR is always a terrific product
KA-BAR is the first knife I give each of my children. Always well made and durable beyond belief. This knife will last a lifetime.
KA-BAR 1245 Tanto Fighting Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Glass Filled Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Duke Of Windsor
Philadelphia
Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Deserves praise but 2 questions...
Deserves every good word said by all other reviewers. I love this knife, but: the unique profile of the serrations could make sharpening them a challenge. Also, why is the open inner portion of the sheath a full 1" longer than the blade? Its a fine sheath by any measure but this knife is already frighteningly long; why make the sheath excessively long?
KA-BAR 1245 Tanto Fighting Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Glass Filled Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
K Bar Fan
Jan 31, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
As usual, rugged, balanced and deadly
As usual, rugged, balanced and deadly.
KA-BAR 1245 Tanto Fighting Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Glass Filled Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Luke
South Florida
Dec 23, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Very sharp. Excellent balance. Mean looking!
Solid. Sharp. Great balance. It is a tad longer than I prefer but that could be an advantage if I ever had to use it for self defense. Bought it for carrying on a boar hunt for safety and a tool for whatever I may need it for. It is a perfect stabbing slicing machine. Sheath is very nice but an inch or so longer than it needs to be. Got nothing to complain about. Havn't used it much yet other than cutting veggies and meat on a cutting board to see how it cuts. Cuts nice.
KA-BAR 1245 Tanto Fighting Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Glass Filled Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Shaad
India
Apr 26, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Awesome piece to have..!
Real heavy duty stuff... Sturdy & comfortable grip & a pretty huge blade. 8" of blade is no small stuff guys. Buy if you know you really want this big a knife! Haven't tested it's sharpness retension yet but got it delivered razor sharp. Kydex sheath is good too..holds the knife pretty tight. More of a mini katana sword i'd say :-) Overall, an excellent knife !
KA-BAR 1245 Tanto Fighting Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Glass Filled Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris Po
Dunedin, Other
Apr 07, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Good looking knife
If this knife came without the serrations, but the same in every other way, I would buy this in a heart beat.
KA-BAR 1245 Tanto Fighting Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Glass Filled Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
Texas
Jun 16, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great Blade
I have owned this knife for years and it has seen the worst i could through at it. IT has taken down 1.5" saplings over and over again, dug holes, cut rope, and accomplished just about any camp chore you can think of. The edge retention is amazing. In the years i have owned it I can count on one hand the amount of times I have been required to just touch up the edge.
KA-BAR 1245 Tanto Fighting Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Glass Filled Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jh In N Texas
Plano, TX
Jun 09, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great Bargain
This is an excellent knife for the price. The quality of the manufacturer has greatly improved since I owned one in my younger days (a long time ago). It is light in weight for its size and has a good factory edge.
KA-BAR 1245 Tanto Fighting Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Glass Filled Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Thomas
Chicago
May 22, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Pleasure to do buy from
The knife was perfectly described and held up to my expectations. Was a pleasure as always to buy from you outstanding company. You have got it all right, Pricing, delivery , Quality !
KA-BAR 1245 Tanto Fighting Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Glass Filled Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lang Jsg
Ville Platte, LA
Jul 19, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Excellent craftsmanship and great knife
Great knife. Good and solid. Great craftsmanship all around. Very sharp out of the box. Nice weight. Good sheath. Not to mention a great price.
KA-BAR 1245 Tanto Fighting Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Glass Filled Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bryan
Northern Virginia
Jul 18, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Amazing!!
I use this knife as a small machete all the way to cutting up fish for dinner!! I had totally forgotten I even ordered this monster as I already had the excellent short version then one day it showed up. Being used to the short version I wasnt expecting much more, then I opened the box! Holy cheese and crackers! This has got to be one of the best knives Kabar has ever made! I use it nearly every day and have put a razors edge on it. The long and short tanto Kabars are some of the best knife money I have ever spent! The sheath is fiberglass not Kydex btw but it matters not to me as they both rock anyways!
KA-BAR 1245 Tanto Fighting Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Glass Filled Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom T
Santa Clarita, CA
Mar 18, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
KA-BAR is always a terrific product
KA-BAR is the first knife I give each of my children. Always well made and durable beyond belief. This knife will last a lifetime.
KA-BAR 1245 Tanto Fighting Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Glass Filled Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pascal
belgium
Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
the only knife you need
This knife is gonna be used as personal protection,i know overkill As former soldier,i know my knives, and this the best brand and this particular knife is one of the best designs. The only regret i have is that i did not buy it sooner. This store is totally legit,fast delivery and the pricing with shipping included is excellent.
KA-BAR 1245 Tanto Fighting Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Glass Filled Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Airborne
Pennsylvania
Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
must have
it survived 2 deployments to the middle east, it go's throw soft body armor, and cute's vary well it is not for prying will brake and lose its edge if used for bush craft it is a fighting knife on a survival knife.
KA-BAR 1245 Tanto Fighting Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Glass Filled Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeremiah
North Carolina
Dec 02, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
No regrets
Great balanced weight. Razor sharp out of the box. You feel the quality right a way and i'm so glad i got this over the veterans day sale. I have a lot of bushcraft knives and katana swords but i wanted a knife that was designed for fighting. This delivers! The sheath is amazing too and has a feature i have yet to see on any other knife. it has 2 little nodes where the blade enters and when the blade is all the way in the sheath they secure the blade at the handleguards. this prevents it from slipping out even if carried upside down.
KA-BAR 1245 Tanto Fighting Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Glass Filled Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lcpl Bishop. Usmc 8Th Esb Support Co Moter T. 00-04
Tennessee
Nov 12, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Saved my life.
I was in Iraq when the war first popped off. I was out doing a gravel run for the camp we were setting up when my A driver and I got stuck at an enter section because a convoy was going by. well the guys selling stuff on the corner decided they were going to try and get in my truck and try an take my M16a2. Our CO had taken our ammo away because bush got a ship and said "Mission Accomplished" ,and Our CO didnt want anyone getting shot during a short cease fire. (he got releaved of duty real fast) This knife was all we had. I was able to fight off the Guys trying to get in on my side and my A driver did the same. I trust my life to this Ka-bar. I am home now and I trust this knife more than any gun. It stays ready to help protect my family now. One day I will pass it on. But right now its my peace of mind.
KA-BAR 1245 Tanto Fighting Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Glass Filled Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff R
CT
Apr 11, 2008
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Excellent Tactical Utility Knife
We sent 2 of these to our friends deployed with The Connecticut National Guard in Iraq. The really like having them for back up in case their guns jam in the sand. The liked the tanto point for prying on stuff, they liked the thick blade that could cut rope ,wire and will "literally stab through a car door" if necessary and they liked the Kydex sheath that could hold up well in the sandy environment. Kabar makes a really good knife for the money. It's not too expensive and it will hold up well no matter where you take it.
KA-BAR 1245 Tanto Fighting Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Glass Filled Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
X
Missouri
Apr 13, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Built to last
Simple, few parts, built solid to last.
KA-BAR 1245 Tanto Fighting Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Glass Filled Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kirtiman P
ballia, uttar pradesh, india
Sep 24, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Finish
excellent
i am just a humble collector so i wont be putting the knife to strenuous test but i hope it is as good as it promises to be.
KA-BAR 1245 Tanto Fighting Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Glass Filled Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Derrick
Washington
Jul 31, 2009
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Material, Overall Quality
luv my pig sticker
well it was bigger than i expected it to be tho i didnt exactly check the specs on it before i bought it, the sheath is nice, its built to snap in the blade so it wont come out accidentally. the handle feels great, the overall weight is probably on the heavier side but you can definitively tell its got good balance to it, came sharp enough to shave but only once so it seems that it may not keep a super sharp edge for very long but those with a sharping stone wont have to much problem with it. there seems to be sum sorta production quality issue tho- towards the tip there's a manufacturer defect in the blade, but i dont have to much of a problem with it. overall im happy with my purchase.
KA-BAR 1245 Tanto Fighting Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Glass Filled Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mike B.
Windsor Mill, MD
Mar 30, 2011
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Material, None
Very Satisfied
A Multi-purpose tool would best describe how I use my Ka-Bar. I love the Tanto design, and the extremely sharp edge. The only negative thing about the Ka-Bar Tanto is the size. The 8" blade is a little too big, and the only other choice is the 5" blade (Which looks like a toy in comparison). I would like to see something in the 6 to 7" range, but other than that I LOVE the knife.
KA-BAR 1245 Tanto Fighting Knife 8" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Glass Filled Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Frank
Puerto Rico
Oct 07, 2009
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Excellent example of a Ka-Bar. shaving sharp out-if-the-box and the length is just right for it to work as a short machete. Haven't had a chance to use it in camping yet, but I'm looking forward to using it in El Yunque sometime soon. My only problem is the sheath, havent figured out how to tie it down yet (I'm thinking vertically on my back/chest) and the plastic is a bit too noisy, but overall, great knife at a great price