Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR 2225 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Leather Handle, Brown Leather Sheath

KA-BAR 2225 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Leather Handle, Brown Leather Sheathrated 4.692 stars out of 5 (13 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
KA-BAR 2225 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8 inch Plain Blade, Leather Handle, Brown Leather Sheath

 

Price: $82.95

Save $28.33 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR 2225 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Leather Handle, Brown Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim
Toms River, NJ
Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Finish, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Very pleased
KA-BAR 2225 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Leather Handle, Brown Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Knife Freak
Lancaster, CA
Feb 28, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Simply Perfect
This is a beautiful knife that's perfect for hiking and fishing. I bought this knife because I wanted a decent sized fixed blade that also looks good on your side. This definitely fits the bill.
KA-BAR 2225 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Leather Handle, Brown Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Indianapolis
Nov 14, 2011
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Great knife. VERY sharp. Good deal!
Great knife. Pure KA-BAR. Too expensive.
KA-BAR 2225 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Leather Handle, Brown Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott Sea
Lewisburg, Pa
Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Excellent !!!
Everything I expected, having used this model in USCG service. I'll be giving this model as gifts to only my Best Friends and Family. Keep up the USA Flag KA-BAR !!! Thanx KC.
KA-BAR 2225 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Leather Handle, Brown Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dr. Mark
Noo Yawrk
Nov 12, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great Back up knife!
When I was in survival school, I learned this: Two is one, one is none. She's rugged, sharp, and built like a ******* tank, and ready for a fight. I was a spec ops supply Petty Officer. I know knives, and this baby is your friend. I carry her everywhere. She is one bad mamma jamma. Take it from an honorably discharged well-trained veteran: She can and will be there when you need her. She's made by absolute experts for everyday Americans IN America.
KA-BAR 2225 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Leather Handle, Brown Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tony Y
Winston-Salem, Nc
Dec 04, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
@ Mike in Indianapolis. See: msg below!
Great knife for Hunting! Also hiking / Backpacking, For boating or sailing choose the serrated blade. You may want shorter blade for this application. Me: I search for the best deal possible, These days, it seems every penny has a place to go! I squeeze every penny 'til Honest Abe pukes and croaks again. :-)
KA-BAR 2225 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Leather Handle, Brown Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Seldomseen
Mansfield, Pa
Apr 15, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Interesting purchase
I bought this knife to use as a utility knife when I was in the woods. It arrived wicked sharp and has been a pleasure so far. I look forward to having it on my hip for many years to come. It feels pretty good in my hand, large hand that is. The full sized brother fits better, but I wanted something a little shorter and this seems to be doing just fine.
KA-BAR 2225 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Leather Handle, Brown Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bode
Central Oregon
Oct 06, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Just right
Balanced, excellent fit and finish. Can't think of any cons. My hands are large, not extra large and the handle is just the right size. All my knives (and I have more than I need) are made in the USA. I have my fathers WW II Ka-bar full size Navy knife. It's great that Ka-Bar is still producing fine knives in the USA.
KA-BAR 2225 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Leather Handle, Brown Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sandpants
Missouri, all over the world...
Nov 30, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
flat out awesome and good price too!
Flat out works and dependable. Fits the hand perfectly. i have large to xl hands i feels alot like a custom knife i had made. steel holds up well love the flat grind on the 1095 carbon steel blade. some people might think its too$$ but if you want a knife that will last 30+ years then this is it. i just retired my WWII mark 1 ka bar and this picks up right where it left off. great edge from factory and if you do use it alot and need sharpening it sharpes very easy and fast. nothing is bad about this knife. close to perfect as a knife can get.
KA-BAR 2225 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Leather Handle, Brown Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Gw Wills
North Carolina
Jan 05, 2015
Pros: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Finish
Cons: None
A Classic piece of kit
It looks and feels like one carried heroes in the Pacific war. Knife center shipped it to me FAST, probably the same day they received my order.
KA-BAR 2225 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Leather Handle, Brown Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Pal
Rocky Pt.
Jan 23, 2015
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Longer handle,and American made sheath..
The only 2 cons i have about the Kabar Mark 1,are Personal,and may not affect the next person..With that said,the major drawback for me is the handle..While i can get a good enough grip on it,i wish Kabar would make a model that had a handle that's an inch or so longer,for those of us with bigger paws..And then there's the sheath..I realize the current sheath is why the price is what it is,but i would gladly pay a bit more for an American made sheath(NOT MEXICO),and one with a Good quality leather,that is nicely stitched.This knife DESERVES an American made sheath..Or give the customer the CHOICE of either leather,or Kydex..As far as the knife's steel,the fit/finish,and materials,their fine..This is an eye pleasing knife,which will certainly become one of your favorites..
KA-BAR 2225 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Leather Handle, Brown Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
John
Portland
Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Materials, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Good woods knife
I've been a fan of Ka-Bar since my active duty days, and while my USMC fighting knife is a good fighting/survival knife, it's less than ideal for bushcraft, mostly due to the blade being too long and the handle too large for fine woodwork (for my hands at least). When I finally got a chance to handle the Mk1 though, it fit like a glove. The grip is thinner and shorter, and has great ergonomics. Some people don't like the smooth grip because they feel it's not "grippy" enough, but I prefer it as it's much less likely to develop hot spots and blisters in long use. The blade is also a perfect length, with a nice flat grind, and drop tip. One of the best but often overlooked qualities is the guard. It's long enough in front to keep your hand from sliding up on the blade if you inadvertently thrust into something, but short enough in back to rest your thumb on the spine of the blade if you need to choke up on it. The only thing I don't like about it is the sheath. It will probably last a while, but the leather it's made of is so much thinner that you get on full size Ka-Bars...it almost seems like an afterthought. Overall though, I'm happy with my choice, and would buy it again if the need arises.
KA-BAR 2225 USN Mark I Fighting / Utility Knife 5-1/8" Plain Blade, Leather Handle, Brown Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bob
Sep 18, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Almost perfect
Love the blade pattern. Wish the handle was about an inch longer. Easy to get razor sharp and retains edge well. Great Knife.