Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR 5017 Full-size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Fixed Plain Edge, Kydex Sheath

KA-BAR 5017 Full-size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Fixed Plain Edge, Kydex Sheathrated 4.636 stars out of 5 (11 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
KA-BAR 5017 Full-size USMC Fighting Knife 7 inch Fixed Plain Edge, Kydex Sheath

 

Price: $92.95

Save $30.83 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR 5017 Full-size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Fixed Plain Edge, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lewis
Oklahoma
Jan 30, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Fighting Fit
As a Marine myself, I'm slightly upset that they don't still issue this knife to active duty. Not only does it look fantastic, but it feels solid in your grasp. The blade is razor sharp and tactically non reflective. Overall, a wonderful addition to my knife collection.
KA-BAR 5017 Full-size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Fixed Plain Edge, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gary C
Garland, Texas
Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great Knife
This knife exceeded my expectations. Quality is great. Finish is beautiful. I purchased one of these for myself and one for my wife. Both knives are flawless. Both arrived razor sharp. My wife's father was issued a Kabar when he joined the army in WW2. Before he died he gave us the very knife he kept with him every moment through the war. He used it for everything imaginable in the pacific theater fighting the Japanese and that knife is still good knife today. I could put a sharp edge on it today and use it for years. They can really take some rough treatment. I will carry this knife when I am camping, hunting and hiking. Buy one! You will be glad you did when you get it. You can't beat this knife for the price.
KA-BAR 5017 Full-size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Fixed Plain Edge, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eddie
Ireland
Nov 18, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
KA-BAR
Very good knife looks great and feels great but most importantly performs great.All round perfect the sheath is very good strong and durable .
KA-BAR 5017 Full-size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Fixed Plain Edge, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kkp
Fairfax, VA
Apr 22, 2013
Pros: Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Awesome!
I love this knife. It has a great look, great balance, and the knife is all that its advertised AND MORE!! I wish I bought TWO of them -- one for me and one for my wife.
KA-BAR 5017 Full-size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Fixed Plain Edge, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tyler
Nov 22, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Questian
I want one of these and im 13 but i have no use other than home defence? Should i get one
KA-BAR 5017 Full-size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Fixed Plain Edge, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
cleveland, oh
Sep 15, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
great knife and inexpensive
Great knife, good material, very nice finish. Tested on cutting wood and plastic.
KA-BAR 5017 Full-size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Fixed Plain Edge, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Harlan F
Villa Grove, Il
Mar 15, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Marine KABAR
I have been wanting a KABAR sence i was in the Corps. I love it. I'm going to use it when I go deer hunting.
KA-BAR 5017 Full-size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Fixed Plain Edge, Kydex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
John Mitchell
Vancouver, BC
Oct 23, 2010
Pros: Finish, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Good Price
About 65 dollars to get a quality combat knife. What a great deal! Made in USA. GOOD WORK KA-BAR!
KA-BAR 5017 Full-size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Fixed Plain Edge, Kydex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Marine
Afghanistan
Aug 03, 2011
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Materials, None
Cons: Handle Material
great rugged knife
The knife is rugged and very nice to carry especially in combat and if needed in a cqb the sharp blade will get the job done.
KA-BAR 5017 Full-size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Fixed Plain Edge, Kydex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Utilitarian
Washington, Pacific Northwest
Mar 19, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Good knife, excellent price, excellent service
I can't find any fault with the knife or plastic sheath. Excellent price point for a quality production knife. It lacks only that intangible ingredient that a hand made knife has. I got the knife and I definitely knew it was a Kabar and I definitely knew it would perform, but it just struck me that the piece had no soul - like my hand was the first one that touched it and it was made by machines. So the more I use it, the more charactar or soul it will get, right? Excellent customer service. Howard took my order over the phone. Free shipping! Email notifications kept me updated on my order status, even when one of my items was backordered. Nice! I intend to use this knife as a utility/survival/combat knife. I like the sheath. It should last longer than leather.
KA-BAR 5017 Full-size USMC Fighting Knife 7" Fixed Plain Edge, Kydex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Spike
Highlands Ranch CO
May 11, 2017
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Old school
I needed to replace the KA-BAR I had in my collection after giving that one as a gift. As usual, the honest simplicity and quality of this knife was apparent. The only thing I would do differently is the sheath. My last KA-BAR shipped with a "historically correct" leather sheath made in Mexico, which I was fine with. I guess I'm old school in that I prefer leather for both knives and handguns. Kydex just doesn't do it for me. Focusing on the "meat", I assume these are still made of high carbon tool steel, which is arguably the best there is for taking and holding an edge. Keeping a drop or two of oil rubbed onto the blade edge is a small price to pay for an awesome knife. While I have knives in my collection that cost many times more, you can't beat the value or the American history in one of these KA-BAR combat knives.