SHOP ALL HOLIDAY SALES! Details

KnifeCenter strives to provide individuals with disabilities access to its products and services, including through an accessible website. If you have questions, comments, or encounter any difficulty in using this site, please e-mail info@knifecenter.com or call - (800) 338-6799

Skip to main content

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using our website you consent to our Cookie Policy.

SHOP ALL HOLIDAY SALES! Details

Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall

KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall4.690 (58 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
45
4 star
9
3 star
3
2 star
1
1 star
0
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39 inch Overall

 

Price: $99.95

Save $34.07 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
P.N.
GA
Dec 26, 2011
Pros: Durability, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
I got a bad back, I was injured in Iraq, and sometimes, I need to use the cane to get around. It was the perfect size for me. It is heavier than the wood cane I got at the VA, and took some getting used to. It is very durable, and if needed could be used in a self defense mode. I love the cane!
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Jeff C.
Louisiana
Aug 03, 2012
Pros: Durability, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
Great product.
Although it was a little long, a few minutes with a hack saw made it just right. I didnt find the weight a factor. I am 62 with mobility problems and the cane does help. A big plus is the self defense factor. I highly recomend it.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Russ B. Ret.
Las Vegas
Feb 21, 2012
Pros: Durability, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
What a Beater!
Cane is about 2" too long for me as it comes for proper support of my bad side (Hacksaw remedy) but is perfect for support for general strolling and balance. Cane is perfect for defense or offense as it's sturdily constructed. See specs. You do not have to worry about this cane breaking if you have to beat the snot out of just about anything. This is a cane for life.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
John
California
Nov 23, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: None
Great for walking and self defense
This is well made and useful for both a legal self defense weapon and cane. Needs to be sized ( Cut from bottom if you are under 6'2") but no big project there.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Raymond
WA state
Feb 11, 2016
Pros: Durability, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: Finish, None
Ideal cane for support and defense.
Weight compares favourably with a good hickory cane, obviously not as light as the thin adjustable tubular canes found in drug stores. Well checkered at two points the facilitate grip, if the situation should arise where it is called upon for something more dynamic than mere orthopaedic support. I would recommend it be offered in brown, cordovan, or wood-grain finishes as well, to make it appear a little more innocuous.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Kim E.
Quincy, Ma.
May 27, 2011
Pros: Durability, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: Finish, None
well made
I use it every day It is well made the finish is not perfect but it is good
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Joseph
new jersey
Jun 15, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
ka-bar 9406 cane
Excellent customer service with super fast shipping!. I am very satisfied with the quality and the nice solid feel to the cane.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Kim E.
Quincy, Ma.
May 27, 2011
Pros: Durability, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: Finish, None
well made
I use it every day It is well made the finish is not perfect but it is good
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Carl A.
Wisconsin
Sep 05, 2012
Pros: Durability, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
Excellent defense option
This is an excellent option for self defense as it can be carried in locations where other options are feasible. It is also a functional, albeit a bit heavy, walking aid. It is relatively easy to cut to the right length using a hacksaw. Highly recommended product!
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
John R
Lincoln NE
Mar 23, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Durability, Finish, Materials
Quality Cane
For walking assist and self defense. Actually a well thought out cane. By far the heaviest duty cane I have ever had. This cane has very heavy hook, sturdy and weighted. You could probably break into or out of most anything wood. This cane is attractive, has hand grips on both ends ( if your hands are sweaty this will assist you in holding on) I am well satisfied and would buy this again. This cane probably won't make it through the airport security. But if you want protection and are just a little bit skilled in its use this cane could be a lifesaver.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Dave M
Utah
Nov 08, 2012
Pros: Durability, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
Ka-bar cane
I need support for my right leg because of an accident i am 6'2 and i have a hard time finding canes i like that fit me this is a great solid cane long enough for me but it could be trimmed quickly with a pipe cutter , it is light weight but would pack a nice punch if used defensively i find the grip a little slick but i always wrap my grip in tennis racquet tape for a little padding there is several styles of marshal arts that use canes similar to this one and cost a lot more so if you want a cane for support or practice this one cant be beat
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Mike P
Goose Creek, SC
Sep 21, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Finish
Cons: None
THE Defensive Walking Cane!
Don't get me wrong, I love my Cold Steel (double edged) Sword Cane. But, going through spots like a walk through metal detector and check points make me a bit nervous with it, ha ha! this Ka-Bar cane is awesome! The deceptively larger hook is just that-as I showed my wife when she asked how it could be used-it smoothly hooked the back of her knee before she realized it. It is made for a fast take down assist. The deeply knurled areas on it make for great purchase, and the weight is very solid and stout-not your drug store cane, as my physical therapist noted! There is an edge to the end of the hook that could make a slashing wound with force, and for routine walking it is second to none. The rubber tip is of great quality, as is the entire cane. I would rate this as tops for any friend or family needing a cane and for the advantage of a serious striking defensive weapon, and learning to hook limbs is easy with it-such as dropping the thug who just knocked you down. If my Mother ever needs one, this is the cane I will get her, and some instruction. Buy it-there is no chance of being disappointed!
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Tower
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 03, 2011
Pros: Durability, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
A fine defensive tool.
I have only partial use of my left leg, so I actully use this cane for walking. Pros: Very heavy, Very well made & Sturdy, feels like a baton. Cons: Very heavy, not as fast as a lighter cane, but capable of delivering devastating blows. Also, the sharp hook is very useful. Very slick, so if you lean it against a wall, e.g., it will slide. Overall, very satisfied!
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Opey
Orlando
Jan 11, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Materials
Cons: None
Just what the Doctor Ordered.
I easily trimmed a couple inches from the bottom of the cane. I'l 5'9". The cane is very solid, very strong and very unasumming. I really like it. It adds a level of defense in places where you can not carry a sword cane, a knife or a firearm.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Jay B
Houston, TX
May 08, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Defense Cane
This is a great self defense cane. It is a bit heavy for someone who needs a cane for something other than self defense. This is a heavy duty striking cane and has a good heaft to it. It will last a life time and I surely will care it a life time.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
James E
st.louis mo
May 13, 2013
Pros: Durability, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: Finish, None
ka-bar 9406 cane
i use the cane every day whin i walk very good cane i had a bad spot on it from paint
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Tower
Santa Monica, CA
Jan 18, 2012
Pros: Durability, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
I am disabled and use it to assist ambulation and as a tool. It is more durable than any other cane sold. I beat the snot out of it when I needed to break into my own home and it stood up like a champ. The only less than great hing about it, it is VERY heavy.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Adele N
united kingdom
Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Durability, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
ka . bar TDI self defense walking cane 39 overall
we use this product daily its all round perfect for our needs would recommend to others many thanks
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Ian M.
Calgary, AB, Canada
Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Durability, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: Finish, None
The Inconspicuous Intimidator with BITE!!
I use this cane on a daily basis and I will say that it is a fantastic tool. As a Cane Defense Tactics Instructor and Martial Artist, I can state that this Walking Stick holds its own and can pack one hell of a percussive lesson despite its innocent look!! The Powder Coating is rather easily marred, but it's nothing a touch up here and there couldn't cure.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Marty G
Vacaville, Ca
Aug 11, 2012
Pros: Durability, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
Excellent, just what I expected. Heavy duty and strong
I will use it for walking the dog and casual walks. If necessary it would be useful as a self protection item. I knew it it was not going to be light weight, it was exactly what I expected it to be. Very pleased with the cane.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Mj
In
Feb 21, 2012
Pros: Durability, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
Ka-Bar cane
Exactly as advertised. No surprises.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Bryan
Indiana
Dec 02, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Great cane
I got this as a gift from my students a while back. I teach self defense with a cane as part of a ad curriculum. Recently I hurt my knee and had to use this for several weeks as a daily walker. Worked great.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
A Normal
GREAT BRITAIN
Aug 27, 2015
Pros: Durability, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
Walking cane perfect
Walking cane perfect for aid in walking and can be made any size required .All details about item are provided before purchase .Walking cane used daily
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Leon
Western New York
May 02, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Materials
Cons: None
Great cane for walking and self-defense
I use my KaBar cane as cane everyday it also doubles as a fighting stick to keep dogs off four legs and two leg dogs. My asp baton training works well with my Kabar cane. It give me the element of surprise. It great for jabbing and striking. If colonel Rex Applegate saw this cane he would fall in love with it. Strong and will fail you love my kabar
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Randy Vaughan
vinton, va
May 10, 2011
Pros: Durability, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
a "manly" cane indeed
The ladies have things like shoes and pocketbooks. Men's toys include tools, guns, knives, and walking sticks, canes. And this one from KA-BAR has to rank as the "ultimate" cane if for no other reason than it's built to be indestructable. I don't travel so I've no idea how having this might play out at settings such as airport security, etc. In public, however, it draws no more attention than any other cane or walking stick. Highly recommended for both defensive capabilities and walking aid (but yes, the weight could be a factor for some). Adjusting the length is no more complicated that a couple of minutes with a hacksaw.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Mike P.
Goose Creek, SC
Oct 05, 2012
Pros: Durability, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
The Discreet Defense Cane
I am 6' and it is just right for me! Oddly, I ordered mine just before I had a medicine interaction and split my ankle and broke my leg when I fell on bricks! I have to occasionally use one anyway for injuries after a hit and run-and love my Cold Steel Sword canes, but going into a high security area at certain hospitals and the VA is risky at best! This is one solid cane! The hook design is awesome! it does not seem to have a larger hook-perfect for hooking legs, I have tested it, and dropping an assailant! I will be getting one for my Mother and teaching her! The weight and strength alone is perfect for strikes, the knurled areas for grip lend to using it like a pugil stick even! And...it is Ka-Bar! Makes my ole Marine heart swell! Sending one to my best friend. The quality exceeds the price! A great value! I used a little bit of ACU weapons camoflage tape wrap for the handle area for my hand when walking. It reflects my Army hitch that way too, ha ha ha! And it gives good grip. The edge on the end of the hook has not escaped me for the possibilities!
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Joe S
Fredericksburg, VA
Sep 24, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Materials
Cons: None
Great cane!
This cane is rock solid. At the same time it is so well-balanced that it doesn't seem heavy. I need a cane for stability, but I think this one can also be used as a self-defense tool.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Bobr
Norwalk, CT
May 23, 2012
Pros: Durability, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
Great cane
Fast delivery and product as advertised. A bit heavy but well worth the extra weight for what it is. Strong , sturdy and ready at a moment notice.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Landon
Dalton, ga
Nov 20, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: None
I'm very happy that I found this cane it's great and worth it
I've had 4 back surgeries and need help walking at times. After owning several canes I finally found one that meets all my needs. It's durable and do able design really makes my life better. A great self defense cane that has all the traits you would need on a great self defense cane. Sorry it took so long and so many different canes to find this one.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Chris
Sacramento, CA
Apr 12, 2011
Pros: Durability, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
Very sturdy cane
Cane has no flaws. Very heavy compared to my regular wooden cane. There are two areas for gripping just below the handle and just above the tip that are very rough on my hands. I may need to come up with some way of covering them, like electrical tape or para-cord, grip tape etc. If you want a street cane for defense the only other cane I can see that's tougher would be one made of titanium. The length is perfect for me at 39" but may be long for shorter folks and it would be harder to cut to length than a wooden cane.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Gerard D
Decatur, GA
Dec 20, 2012
Pros: Durability, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
Good self-defense tool.
I use the cane for walking the neighborhood with my dog. I don't need a cane to walk. This cane I use to fend off possible other dog attacks. I haven't had to use it yet for that purpose; however, the possibility exists. Better be safe than sorry. The cane is well built and is very strong. I hope I never have to use it for the purpose intended.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Rich R.
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 13, 2012
Pros: Durability, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
Solid Cane
Very nice cane. I purchased this due to an accident that requires me to use a walking aid. I also wanted a discrete self defense weapon and this fit the bill. I had to cut a tad of the cane due to it's length and that's when I realized how solid the finish and design is. I used a heavy-duty circular pipe cutter and it still took me longer than expected to cut thru. Don't be fooled by the powder coat finish, this thing did not chip when I was cutting it. The only negative comment, if any, is the finish made the handle a bit slick when your hand sweats.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
David K
Wichita Falls, Texas
Jun 16, 2012
Pros: Durability, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
Awesome!!
This cane is everything you could want. Not is perfect for assisting ł
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Mike
Goose Creek, SC
Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Durability, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
Still My First Choice Out The Door!
I've had my Ka-Bar Defensive cane over two years now and it is still doing great! I early on used a little Loc-Tite glue for a rubber tip, mainly not to lose it if I swung it on someone and lost it. I carry it all the time, i get sudden migraines from a TBI, and knowing I have an extra edge is good to have. It's held up perfectly and has that nice heft to remind you how well it can sweep and strike.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Richard
WV
May 03, 2013
Pros: Durability, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: Finish, None
Excellent Mobility Aid and Defensive Tool.
I was using this cane one week out of triple spinal fusion surgery. As an alternative to a firearm or knife, I was happily surprised by the heft and length (I am 6'4" &225 lbs). It is a bit prone to the powder coat chipping, but that's nothing a Sharpie can't fix. Really excellent work from Ka-Bar and TDI.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Lane
Eastlake California
Feb 20, 2016
Pros: Durability, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
Outstanding
Instills confidence, recovering victim of a stroke,material and workmanship is first rate,the weight is barely noticeable, I was able to to cut it to fit with a small hand held pipe cutter and with some friction tape added to the handle, it is perfect, I m never without it !! :) the knife center staff deserves a plug for there start to finish great customer service well done !
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Ronin
denton, tx.
Jun 05, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
rubber tips for your cane?
if you are looking for replacement tips go to the hardware section in walmart. look for the rubber tips for chairs. they have a package of 4 at about $1.77. i also use them on my cold steel walking sticks too. they are great. just fyi.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Matthew
Ontario
May 12, 2015
Pros: Durability, None
Cons: Finish
Great Cane
A great cane, I’m really enjoying it. Not for the faint of heart or weak of arm, this is very heavy by walking cane standards so it won’t be an everyday walker for many people. I’m a big guy (6’3 and 375 lbs) and I was attracted to this cane in large part because of its strength and durability and it doesn’t disappoint. At 39 inches it’s also the perfect length for me and provides great support! The finish will mark. If you want it shinny and new all the time, you aren’t using it right.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Matt
Indiana
Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Durability, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: Finish, None
Re. Chipping Finish
IMHO this is a best-buy. In it's price range it's hard to beat. The chipping finish is a universal pain for thier owners, however. I've found that good old Rustolium flat black spray paint works wonders. You dont need to bake it on. It's easy and fast to apply. If n when you use it enough for touch up's that it looks like a gernsey cow, wipe it down with paint thinner and start again. And don't forget there are OTHER COLORS TOO! Red, blue, brown, pink, orange, purple.... If it looks to "weaponly" for you a brighter color can change that.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Ted Eng
Washington, PA
Jul 27, 2012
Pros: Durability, Materials, None
Cons: Finish
Heavy duty cane
I've been trying to get a cane like this for years. So glad Ka-Bar is making them available.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Don
DE
Jun 23, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability, Materials
Cons: None
Ka-Bar Walking Cane A+
This is one heck of a sturdy tool. Is it heavy? Yes. What do you expect from 39+ inches of one inch diameter, ⅛" thick aluminum? It weighs two pounds +. Thats what I want if I need to use it in defense. I don't want it to collapse on me! If it tires you out from the weight, you probably couldn't use it defensibly anyway. It looks very orthopedic. Unless the knurling is noticed. Bet most passers-by wouldn't notice. The knurling is very sharp, but your hand is not normally on it when using it for support. I would like to find some thin foam for insulation on the hook. I bet it's going to be quite cold in the winter. I like the fact that it takes a regular 1" rubber cane tip. I shortened mine about 1½", using a pipe cutter. It took some effort to get through that thick aluminum. This thing will last a lifetime.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Dave I.
Watervliet, MI
Sep 07, 2012
Pros: Durability, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
Love It!!!!!
I'm learning a Tai-Chi form using a cane, But a work related knee injury is why I started using a cane. This canes alittle long for me for just walking with, But I'm not cutting it because I'm using it for the form and I like the length that it came.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Haywood.D.
CENTRAL TEXAS
Sep 17, 2012
Pros: Finish, Durability, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: Finish, None
KABAR 9406 CANES
EXTREMELY FUNCTIONAL DESIGN AND WORTH IT. YES,...I LIKE MINE SINCE I HAVE TROUBLE WALKING AND GETTING AROUND AND IT GIVES ME PROTECTION IF NEEDED AND IT GIVES MY ARMS A WORKOUT DUE TO THE WEIGHT.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Sled
Boston, MA
Jul 19, 2011
Pros: Durability, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
Well built. solid and functional
I'm rehabing from hip replacement surgery and I walk, a lot. It is on the heavy side, but it most certainly is solid. The knurling and pointed tip would be very functional, if needed. Pros: Finish, functionality, strength. Cons: Weight.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
5 out of 5
Harry T.
South Jersey
Oct 03, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Nice
I have a bad back, so I need a cane sometimes. My work takes me into some bad neighborhoods, so the heavy duty cane is a nice companion.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
4 out of 5
Scott
Tucson, AZ
Feb 24, 2013
Pros: Durability, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: Finish, None
Replaced My VA Cane
I use this product daily to aid in: transitioning positions (standing/sitting/laying), balance, and off-loading pain from multiple spine/sciatica/SI issues. This new cane is a replacement for the standard geriatric--looking VA cane I was issued. As a disabled veteran in his early 30's, the VA cane's appearance inflicts a mental toll on my overall self esteem -- this Ka-Bar cane has helped me fell better about my daily appearance. Pros: This is one solid cane, it more than takes care of my medical needs, and provides a level of security knowing this product could be used as a baseball bat if necessary. The appearance of the product to the normal passers-by don't elicit any stares, though I believe any mugger would immediately recognize that the cane would complicate any ill intentions that cross their mind. The weight of this product is 'heavy' when compared to the current issued VA canes, but I found that I adjusted to it within two days of use (so I count he weight as a pro). Cons: The finish of this cane is prone to chipping. I find myself 'babying' where I rest the cane to preserve the finish as long as possible. The cane appears to be one long tube extruded and bent into its final form, with the exception of a small welded closure at the end of the hook. My cane exhibits poor workmanship in this small weld (no holes into the actual tube, just sloppy -- even with the thick finish). Also, after one month of use, it is quite clear to me that the cane's rubber tip is inferior. My last VA cane went one year before wear-and-tear of the rubber tip warranted replacement. The ka-bar cane tip barely lasted a month (I'm still trying to find a suitable replacement as a long-term solution, since this cane's thickness is not standard). I knew what I was getting into as far as the cons are concerned. The only real disappointment is the lack of quality of the cane tip -- perhaps the manufacturer never considered that this cane would be used for actual medical purposes and not only martial arts training/defense.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
4 out of 5
Pete H.
Dallas, TX
Jun 27, 2012
Pros: Durability, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
well made
It's a bit long for a guy 5'8"... It would be nice if it were adjustable.... maybe have a sleeved adjustment section... just a thought
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
4 out of 5
Daniel B.
Virginia
Jul 13, 2012
Pros: Durability, Materials, None
Cons: Finish
Very sturdy, poor finish
The cane came with several flaws in the coating and the wield at the tip of the crook is not complete and has a slight gap around the edge. The wielded on plate also isn't ground very well and has a slight wave. Because this is just a cosmetic flaw I decided to keep it and not try and return it. As others have mentioned the finish is basically just paint and has chipped a couple of times in the week I've had the cane. To be fair I'm pretty rough on my canes. Also, the cane is a very thick walled aluminum tube. When I bought it I wasn't sure if it was solid or not. It seems very durable. It works well when going through the drills for the two handed method I use for sticks. Changing the finish would be easy enough when it's needed. In the end I would recommend this product. Overall I really like the cane, I walk with one daily and this has been a great addition to my collection.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
4 out of 5
T. Pasquinelli
TN
Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Durability, None
Cons: Finish
Walking cane KA-BAR
This can was made perfect for a taller individual, because of my height I had to cut it down 3 1/2 in. But that gave me a chanse to what I think is an improvement, I added a few oz of clear caulking agent down the tube then covered it with a steel slug w/ liq. Nails. And last but not least a larger rubber tip from an old crutch. 1 in. I let it settle in its downward position and wha la a bit heavier and stronger cane! Excellent for use in HOP KI DO Application! The con that applied to me was placement of the lower grip could have been about 3in. Higher.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
4 out of 5
Bruce S
Santee, CA
Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Durability, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: Finish, None
Finally, a near indestructible cane that fits the bill....!
I am a disabled Vet who has finally come to the realization that I have reached the point that I need a reliable cane after many falls... This cane does it all as far as I am concerned, and the ONLY reason I gave it a rating of 4 is due to the inadequate finish, it easily chips or scratches detracting from the canes appearance overall. It is just too bad that the management at Ka-Bar doesn't understand that it is reflecting poorly on their product.. I believe this could be solved very easily with a good appliance epoxy type of paint at little if any additional cost, and will upgrade my cane when it gets too "dinged" up. The knurled grips are great in my opinion as is the cane overall...Just for the record, when I repaint it I also intend to wrap the knurled grips in a light synthetic chord as well. If anyone has any questions as to how I intend to wrap this area drop me a line at baabin@cox.net and I'll send you the basic instructions. .
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
4 out of 5
Charles
West Chester, Ohio
Dec 03, 2015
Pros: Durability, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: Finish, None
Conditionally Awesome
I'll start by saying that I am only 20 and by no stretch should I need a cane, but it helps in dealing with an old sports injury. The cane itself is great as a walking aid on most terrains (Ice could be problematic.) I have been using this cane more on uneven walking/hiking trails than in an urban environment, though it does perform well on both. The knurled patches are aggressive and grip well in slick conditions. The shaft is certainly heavier than any wooden cane due to a thick-walled construction. That makes it a great tactical tool, however, some might find it tiresome to walk with. The finish on this item is not hardened and will scuff or chip easily if mistreated.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
4 out of 5
Big Mac
San Jose Ca
Mar 01, 2017
Pros: Durability, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: Finish, None
Super tuff cane
Pro. This cain is stout and a bit heavy. No question it can take down a bad guy or a pitbull. Strong enough to hold up my 300+lbs while pushing up. Price is half the competition that wants to sell you videos to go with it. Should come it handy at the next riot I get stuck in. Con. As I said it's a bit heavy for a fast swing at something. Also the knurling is sharp and should be sanded down before grinding off your fingers playing Mr Stead. I think the crook "the bent part" could be brought in a bit more in case you need to do some crowbar type work. Other wise I like it!
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
4 out of 5
Lag
North Arkansas
Mar 28, 2011
Pros: Durability, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
self defense cane
This cane is well made and unobtrusive, that is, it looks like a normal cane. It is quite heavy, good for some, and at 39" very long. The end of the 'crook' comes to a point. The cane is set up so it can be used with two hands, one hand toward each end. If anything the cane is a little over built, which isn't a bad thing when you think about it. A good product at this price, I was happy with it!
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
4 out of 5
Jim R.
Chicago, IL
May 09, 2012
Pros: Durability, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
Excelent quality...
Being handicapped, I use a cane on a daily bases, living in Illinois, you are not permitted to carry anything but pepper spray (I do carry wasp spray, works better) for self defense. Canes are not included in the banned weapons unless they have a concealed weapon, like a sword as part of them. I am studying Hapkido cane techniques and find this cane very well suited to the task. The only reason I did not give it a excellent rating is because of its length, I am 5'7' and 39" is too long, but using a pipe cutter I was able to correct the height. Wish I knew where I could pick up extra end caps.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
3 out of 5
Ryan C.
Sacramento, CA
May 29, 2012
Pros: Materials, None
Cons: Finish
Very excited to get this. Recently started using a cane for walking, and shopped around for months for one that was functional but also sturdy enough for self defense. Shipping took over two weeks. Nice looking shape overall, but the powder coating is very thin and came scratched and chipped in a couple of places. Scratches very easily, really only as durable as paint. Will probably have to sand it down because it's going to look junky within a couple of months from normal bumps and use. It is heavy for edc, would be very slow in defense. Offensively it could do a lot of damage. Looks good and low profile from a distance, mean up close.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
3 out of 5
Nelson
Northern California
Feb 18, 2013
Pros: Durability, Finish, None
Cons: Overall Quality
Female User
I am a 100% disabled vet. I use a cane daily. It is nicely built. I train in Filipino cane fighting and it works well for striking. I am a much smaller female. I am 5'3", 120 lbs. The gnarled grips are to far apart to be of any use. When cut down to my size the gnarled bottom grip was partially cut down. The weight and thickness is a bit much for daily use. But for fighting practice and occasional use it works. It looks nice, especially when I dress for a dinner date night. Black goes with everything. But for daily use I have a solid wood fighting cane that has the same tip on the hook and gnarled grips that are set to my side. It is much lighter and is better for daily use. I bought mine at a local shop, but I have heard cane masters has some great wood canes.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
3 out of 5
Sam R.
Rochester, MN
Sep 18, 2012
Pros: Durability
Cons: None
Solid cane, perhaps too solid
I purchased this cane for self-defense. I think it looks too much like a martial arts weapon, and the knurled grips on the shaft of the cane aren't really helpful. The TDI cane is extremely solid and strong, so if that's the key factor for you, then by all means, pick this cane. However, it feels heavier than it weighs, if that makes sense, and I subjectively felt that it was dead in the hand compared to a good hickory cane, and the balance was poor. It swings slowly.
KA-BAR 9406 TDI Self-Defense Walking Cane 39" Overall
2 out of 5
Rob
Ohio
Jul 21, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None
Not what I expected.
Yes it is a weapon. No, not a usable cane. Even when cut down to my walking length, it is very heavy. As a mechanical engineer , I can estimate device a better device for 95% of people if wall thickness were .095" versus .125".. Oh well I have a club for the bedroom but no walking stick.