Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath

KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheathrated 4.594 stars out of 5 (101 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
73
4 star
18
3 star
8
2 star
1
1 star
1
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4 inch Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath

 

Price: $96.95

Save $31.93 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert F
Rhode Island
May 21, 2011
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Great Heavy Duty Knife
Great knife. Super heavy duty 1/4 inch thick blade. Hold a nice edge. I liked one my buddy has so I bought one for myself. Unlike his, my late model sheath is a little too good at retention. It's somewhat tough to get the knife out. The handle is well made but a little slick. I forsee it being slippery in the rain or with deer blood. Overall I'm very happy with the quality!
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Slasher Scotty
Holland Mich.
May 18, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
bk 2 second generation designed by becker made by ka bar
Best knife i ever owned made by ka-bar.Damn nice knife.This one i will deffently use.NO complaints on the craftsmanship.love the weight,solid heavy duty sharpend pry-bar basicly.Perfect for all around use.And the sheath is bitchen as well!
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Skully
Fort Smith Arkansas
Aug 11, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
super survival/camp knife
super survival/camp knife. functional and reliable
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Superdudu
Florence; Italy
Feb 09, 2011
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Material
Cons: None
incredible!
Ka-Bar bk2 Is the roughest beast in the world when you hold it you feel powerful it's huge it's heavy and it's brute what else do you need?
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
David J.
Ga.
Nov 04, 2011
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
good knife for survial
the handle is hollow, for fish hooks,fire tender,ex. tang protrudes from rear for hammering or hammering on to cut slivers from wood for fire tinder ex. weight won't matter if you need it to survive.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
Richmond Va
Jul 28, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
good deal
great price for a solid knife
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rocovering
New England
May 26, 2011
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Classic
Great heft, beautiful to look at and hold.. this knife is a solid choice and a classic. I received a great, sturdy reinforced nylon sheath with this but drawing the knife out of it is extremely difficult due to an overexuberant locking mechanism.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tj
Lusby
Mar 20, 2010
Pros: Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
How to use: Not tried yet Great things: This is without a doubt one of the thickest blades on a hunting knife I've seen. It's great! Spent years as a diver using blades for everything but cutting, in fact we wouldn't sharpen the blades just to keep the 'blood' down while in the water. This one has that blade strength along with the sharpness that's needed. Would recommend to anyone looking for something along these lines.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
D.Madril
Yakima,Wa
Jun 05, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great knife for the price! This will be my primary camp knife. The weight is heavy which is good for extreme tasks. Very heavy duty. The spine of the blade is thick and tough. If this isn't the ultimate survival knife then I don't know what is. No complaints here. I love the sheath as well; great retention. Definetely a must have for any knife fanatic!
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mater
South Central York County, PA
Aug 09, 2010
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
That's a knife!
I am a C-17A pilot and bought this as an addition to my personal survival gear. It has flown to Kandahar with me and it will continue to go with me around the world. The blade is about a .25" thick, the butt end has a nice protrusion for hammering and the finish is very nice. It's heavy, but it is very well made!
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Woodsman Turley
west virginia
Jun 15, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
the beast
The best camping hunting bushcraft knive on the planet just wrap some camo tape on the handle
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Flm7672
Sabah, Malaysia
Sep 20, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
I Have The BK2 2nd Generation too!
The Kabar Company have improved this knife and they name it 'BK2 2nd Generation'. The blade material and blade design is remain same but the sheath and butt handle was improved. Good idea from Kabar. This is a true value of knife. Your will never be wrong buy this knife. Good quality and excellent performance. Highly recommended.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pat6200
Fallston, Maryland
Oct 26, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Great for field dressing big game.
Great for field dressing big game.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vincent
France
Mar 07, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
I like this knife, sharp and indestructible
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Some Old Guy
Rocky Ford, Co
Jun 02, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
big bad boy
USA all the way, Thanks “The Donald”. The lad, going to the Marines, loved it. Dad thought the sheath should be advertised molle. What’s he know; he was a marine back in the 90’s.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Billybonny
lawrenceville, ga.
Mar 17, 2010
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
well made
this is a very good knife, i have never much cared for kabar knives. however this one is a must have. although i will never understand why kabar makes there sheaths this way. i might try this knife on my next camping trip, however i will have my ranger afghan with me. it will always be my favorite.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
David F
Oxnard, Ca
Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
BK2
Great beefy knife can do small tasks and chop. Batoning would prefer a larger knife but for small stuff works great. sheath is good for a pack or molle attach crap for carry bought a spec ops sheath and it's perfect. Bit heavy for long trips in the woods but good for short ones and the camp site. Put hockey tape on the handle for more grip the base of the handle for me has made it the best for chopping compared to other knives. Give in take on the handle considered 4 stars for the sheath, but it's still better then so many horrible sheaths out there biggest complaint with all companies.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mr.A
Florida
Apr 23, 2016
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Materials
Cons: None
IT'S A HONEST"USA MADE" KNIFE
I have been a knife and tool nut since I was a youngster, it's been awhile since then. So I want to say I like this knife quite a bit. And I'm annoyed about people who buy this knife and complain about the length of the blade. It's in the description! It's in the description everywhere its sold. It's a wonderful tool that's built to last made in our wonderful but confused country...it's made to work to last and do what a 5.25" knife is supposed to do without letting you down and this knife will do what you need a 5.25" knife to do and some. If you don't own this knife but have been thinking about buying it go ahead it holds a edge very well feels great and it is tough and reliable that is why the name of this knife is exactly what it should be and lives up to it ... Your "COMPANION".... Becker BK2 Companion. I love it and appreciate it very much. Will buy another very soon as I like to have twos of my favorites.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
James
Leeds
May 09, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
My first knife
Amazing. great weight in your hand, feels useful, not insanely sharp but great at slicing out of the box. grip on handle is fantastic, sheath is very hard to open but kinda of like its security brilliant knife.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ringer459
Bif Bear CIty, California
Jun 24, 2011
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Good Company for a BKT7
The knife is excellent without a doubt, but is a poor match for the sheath provided with it. You may split with ease any wood, trench, cut, and do whatever you like; but unless you tether the knife to your thigh you will struggle to gain access to its' utility. Over time, the sheath will wear in, but by that time, most probably you will have given up. Too bad someone silly was given the task of fitting a sheath to this excellent knife!! THIS IS HOW YOU FIX IT: Wrap the upper part of the blade with two(2) layers of duct tape, boil a large pot of water, insert the sheath AFTER HAVING TURNED OFF THE GAS, insert the sheath into the pot of hot water for approx 3 minutes, take out insert the knife into the sheath, and let cool COMPLETELY. This will loosen the graps the sheath has on the knife and make life easier, but not perfect. A rattle shall you have. Sorry.... Your Mother never promised you a rose garden!!!
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Miki01
Sacramnto
Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
KaBar Knife
This is a very good looking knife. It will be a Christmas gift for my son. They camp a lot and I am sure he will make good use of this knife. Thank you KnifeCenter!!!
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pat6200
Fallston, Maryland
Aug 26, 2009
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
I will it for hunting. Mainly Big Game. I like the weight of the knife and the fact that it has a carbon steel blade.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lawrence A. Kurfiss
WA
Nov 30, 2008
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Here's the Beef!
I was so glad to see Ka-bar resume production of the Becker Knife and Tool line of products. It seems that in many knife reviews of heavy duty field knives, a Becker knife was usually the standard of comparison. I had never seen one, and was curious, so I ordered the Becker "Campanion", such a benign name for such a monstrously hefty knife! I am going to sell or give away most of my field knives now, since this and the BK-9 are all I will ever need in the outdoors. An hour after unwrapping this beast, I immediately ordered the Big Dog, from Knifecenter, of course. After seeing and trying out this knife, I can see that that all the hype about Becker knives is true. Thanks to Ka-bar for bringing the Becker line back from extinction. Thanks also to Knifecenter for offering this and so many other fine knives at such great prices, and their great customer service. Put me on the waiting list for the Ka-bar/Becker "Brute".
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
R Wilson
Guam, US Territory
Dec 31, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
BKT handle review
I own or have owned 7/8 BKTs, old school and new school. In the dark age of instant gratification I can see why the complaints of the BKT handles being slick would be a problem. The old school solution is simple, remove scales, sand with foam sanding block (grit of your choice) until the degree of roughness is reached, re-assemble and use.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
7.62Perfect
ohio
Sep 16, 2009
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None
not disapointed
Knew it would be heavy before I bought it but was still surprised by the weight but still love it.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rejex
the woods
Apr 11, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Materials, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Finish, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Great wood splitter and survival knife.
I got this knife after a few months of researching about it. I am very impressed on how well this knife battoned through hardwood. It is heavy for its size, but that is good for being the "one knife". The bad part are the sheath belt loop is HUGE! The knife goes horizontal without being snapped in. The handles are not flush with the tang. And to other people, the finish wears off rather easily. I don't mind too much because I think it shows character. I highly recommend this blade to anyone.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Walter
Philippines
Jan 26, 2012
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
One dependable survival knife!
This knife is solid and hefty! It will stand up to anything. It's actual weight helps when doing some chopping or batoning. With proper care, it may outlive any of us! The actual sheath is actually good. Retains the knife pretty well. I mean "pretty well". I suppose it's better that way than losing your knife easily. However, the belt loop that attaches to the actual sheath needs to be replaced or modified. I'll probably buy the micarta handles because the original ones tend to be slippery when wet. Overall, it's a great survival knife that will not break nor fail! For the price, buy it!
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Madbarber
Hamilton, Ontario
Jul 13, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
This knife is a serious knife!
Knife for a life time that will keep on giving! It's a knife, a tool, a kitchen utensil. Just use it!!!
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dom
western new york
Jun 04, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
awsome knife
great knife its my go-to, do everything knife
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin
Mar 16, 2009
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
amazing
what a great knife it cuts through anything and it's a beast. A little heavy but makes up for it in power. If you are looking for a good knife this is what you want
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark
Georgia
Jan 07, 2014
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
excellent knife
I have one of these knives and they are excellent. The heck with what these wannabees say about the weight. I hike with it, it is there, it is substantail, and it won't let you down. You can do ANYTHING with this !
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Shawn
Fort Smith, AR
Nov 05, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Excellent Survival Knife!
If you spend a lot of time in the woods this is the knife you want. The BK-2 is an excellent survival knife extremely well built, durable, and reliable.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Enrique
Mexico
Apr 04, 2014
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Handle Material
Amazing Purchase
It feels amazingly well in my hands! Feels a little heavy (not a bad thing) feels though and everlasting.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Phil Green
Tulsa, OK
May 10, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
KA-BAR Becker Campanion Knife
Best camping / survival knife I have ever owned. Quality, Rugged and Perfect Utility
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
James
England
Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Powerhouse
The only way to describe this knife is an absolute powerhouse, you can do anything with it and have no fear of it breaking, very trustworthy.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hmd
IA
Sep 01, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
BK2 Survival Knife of choice!
This is the best knife under $100 that you can buy! You WILL be impressed.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim H
Phoenix AZ
Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None
Wow x 3
This thing is crazy. I had idea of what I was ordering but until you put this beast in your hand you really have no idea. This is one of those "you just have to have one" knives. I have put it in my Go Bag just in case I run into Godzilla. Ka-Bar, ding ding ding - great knife.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Naval
dehradun, India
Sep 01, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Finish, None
Cons: Weight, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
the Hercules
I read and saw plenty review before buying this knife and in many if them it was called a tank of a knife . I disagree with them a little and I think it should be called the Hercules. Amazing knife .
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Greg
International
Sep 17, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Mandatory EDC carry for my first Pluto Trip.
I am considering a pre-purchase ticket for the first commercial flight to Pluto. My gear will be an AK47, a BK2, a Benchmade Adamas 275 and a Sig P239 9mm... With that out of the way let us get serious, the Bk2 is a "shorter knife". There are far lighter knives with longer blades, but obviously will they have the strength for prying and wedging? Is this knife made for battoning, truth is it is made for everything. Anyone packing for any trip must decide on what they are prepared to carry and how. How many people go canoeing without considering water proof matches? Sure you could carry a hand saw, a longer battoning survival knife, a camp cooking knife, a multi tool. Heck if you were fairly sure you were actually planning on spending a day cutting wood; most people would consider the weight of an axe acceptable due to the sheer convenience after the hike for the 4 hours of wood you planned on cutting. This knife is a shorter knife, yes it is heavy, but for anyone who plans on anything unforeseen; it is the best compromise. This knife will do anything and it will not fail you any more than anything you could possibly need in any survival situation. THAT is ITS strength, this knife will be an knife, can opener, camp knife, hole digger, skinner, chopper, pry bar, machete and light hatchet all in one tool.. THAT is ITS StReNgTh, it will do anything and everything you cannot imagine all in one package. If you are not sure exactly what might happen in the back woods, then this is the IDEA knife; heck if you are skilled enough you could kill a Grizzly with this knife, but if you "fail" i bet the knife will be in better shape than you are... Sure a longer or different blade shape would be of use on a hunting trip, but this knife could skin something; but conversely would you consider hammering in tent pegs or prying or digging with your skinning knife, we can all see the tip badly 'broken'. This one knife will do anything you could ask any similar sized shaped tool could possibly do, that is its strength, THAT is why it is packing for Pluto with my Sig and AK47...
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ringer459
Bif Bear CIty, California
Jun 24, 2011
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Good Company for a BKT7
The knife is excellent without a doubt, but is a poor match for the sheath provided with it. You may split with ease any wood, trench, cut, and do whatever you like; but unless you tether the knife to your thigh you will struggle to gain access to its' utility. Over time, the sheath will wear in, but by that time, most probably you will have given up. Too bad someone silly was given the task of fitting a sheath to this excellent knife!! THIS IS HOW YOU FIX IT: Wrap the upper part of the blade with two(2) layers of duct tape, boil a large pot of water, insert the sheath AFTER HAVING TURNED OFF THE GAS, insert the sheath into the pot of hot water for approx 3 minutes, take out insert the knife into the sheath, and let cool COMPLETELY. This will loosen the graps the sheath has on the knife and make life easier, but not perfect. A rattle shall you have. Sorry.... Your Mother never promised you a rose garden!!!
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dean
sydney Australia
Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
its a beast
top shelf
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kelly Davis
wv
Feb 20, 2009
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Stud
What a great knife. This knife is the real deal. My grand kids will enjoy this knife. Built like a tank. Great for hunting, or anything else you would need a knife for.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Filimon
Borneo
Feb 10, 2016
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard
IT'S NOT A KNIFE, IT'S A TANK!!!
Use this knife for 8 years, camping, jungle tracking etc...very sturdy & tough enough for copping, batoning, skinning, digging etc...absolutely its like a tank...
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Peter
Texas
Jun 23, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
A True Value
This is a solid, heavy, well-built knife. It is worth every penny charged and will last a lifetime. Once you pick it up and feel its heft, see its quality, and put it in its custom sheath, you will be glad you purchased it. If you're looking for a knife that you can use for everything, this is it.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ebw
PA
Jun 24, 2019
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
My favorite fixed-blade!
Excellent tool. Just be sure to get the BK22 sheath or a custom sheath, as the stock GRN sheath severely limits edge retention. As for the knife, it’s absolutely perfect. It does everything I ask of it, and it’s very comfortable. It has become my main camp knife and it gets a lot of use in the woods doing bushcraft activities. I also use it for work, as it can really take a beating. Whether there’s overgrown vines and tall weeds or there’s plaster that needs to be demolished, the BK2 handles it just fine. I clean and oil it several times per week since I use it in the kitchen quite often as well. It’s not an ideal kitchen knife, but I appreciate using tools that I’m familiar with and since I carry my BK2 almost everywhere I’m really familiar with it. It usually rides right behind my Leatherman Wave+ on my belt. As for modifications, I have custom African Rosewood handle scales, stainless hardware, and I’ve put LocTite on the hardware. I also have a custom kydex sheath set up for IWB carry (since I carry it almost every day) and I’ve got a custom Nordic-style leather sheath that I use when I go camping or hiking. Since I got the BK22 version, mine came with the nylon MOLLE sheath. It’s a good sheath, and I do occasionally use it. Since I’ve got two custom sheaths I don’t pull it out often, but it does still get some use. It’s strong, and it has a really nice design. It has holes at the bottom of the sheath that are great for a leg strap, and whenever I use that sheath I have a paracord leg strap to prevent it from flopping around when I walk fast. The MOLLE is good, and it attaches to my MOLLE pack well. However I rarely use that pack, so usually I just have it on my belt. The front pouch is small-ish, but it still does a fine job holding my Wave+. It also has the ability to loop cordage at the top of the sheath to add triple-redundancy to the sheath, thus making it “jump-ready” for military folks. I’m not military and I’ve never needed triple-redundancy, as the snaps are hardcore and are among the strongest snaps I’ve ever seen on a sheath. It’s actually a bit annoying sometimes, but it’s definitely better to be “too secure” than to have a knife fall out of its sheath unexpectedly. Anyways, it’s a great knife and I recommend it to anyone who does a lot of heavy work. It’s my favorite fixed-blade.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Willy194
Whiteoak, mo
Apr 12, 2010
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None
Becker review
Outdoor activities nice blade,good weight to it,holds a good edge grip is smooth need something for better grip
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sutirtha S.
New Delhi, India
Sep 09, 2011
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Weight
Excellent knife. too heavy, pathetic sheath
I ordered this knife to take along on my camping trips and I am very satisfied with my choice. It's basically a sharpened pry bar. You can put it to hard use and it will not let you down. The only negative points are 1) It is too heavy for a survival knife 2) The sheath is pathetic. Such an excellent knife deserves a better sheath.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve Small
CA
Jun 29, 2009
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Materials, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Weight, None
Knife is massive. Will make a good survival knife. Batoning the back of the blade should be no problem. A little thick for delicate cutting. Good over all. :>
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andre
Australia
Oct 06, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Bang for the buck
Had the opportunity to take this knife out to the Blue Mountains of NSW Australia recently. When it came to batonning, feather sticking, hacking it performed greatly. This is a tough knife suited for tough jobs.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dennistm
Florida
Jul 14, 2011
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
This Thing Is Great!
This thing does everything I need a camping knife to do. It cuts the wood for the fire and then cuts the carrots and potatoes for the stew that gets cooked over that fire. Of the few knives that I have, this is the best all around tool. You can't go wrong with this one. I had to work on the sheath a little to make it work the way I wanted. But that was a minor thing. Overall, great!!
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andy Mb
Brazil
Nov 29, 2011
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great blade!
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Doc
Philly
Aug 13, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Love this knife
This is a great knife to put on your belt when walking in the woods, it's heavy but that's what you need.No need to baby this knife go ahead get rough. I also have the 9"becker bowie, I would love for Kabar to produce the Becker Brute they could put me on the waiting list.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cody
Florida
Jan 09, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Great Knife for the Money, just needs a better sheath
I've had this knife for going on two years now and it's performed excellently for a knife it's size. It batons wood every well, spits wood very well and chops very well for it's size. I have the second generation, so it has a skeletonized handle, giving it a more forward weight, with the balance at the index finger's position. I've used it with the factory handles in wet and dry conditions, I used a lanyard both times, so the slickness didn't bother me. Despite the blade's size I've been able to do incredibly detailed crafting with this knife. The steel is great for edge retention and toughness. I've never had a problem with rusting on the blade, even after the coating wore off. All in all this is a great knife, but it needs a better sheath from the factory, even leather would be a better option compared to the kydex that it's sold with. With this knife and a good saw you can go a long way in the outdoors.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cory
Nevada
Mar 07, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Best Outdoor Knife
This is the best survival knife I've ever owned. As a survivalist I always like to test out new survival knives. This knife is beefy as hell. It holds an edge extremely well, and is easily resharpened. The handle is very comfortable for all tasks, especially chopping. I've tried many different knives from the Gerber LMF 2 to the Remington Tango 1, and this is waaaay better. For Busse quality without the Busse price, Becker is the knife you want.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sweetness
cleveland, oh
Oct 18, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
my favorite knife
This knife is indestructible!!! Came as 2nd Gen. version and has better fitting sheath! Also has extended tang at bottom which is awesome! I have not found anything wrong with it yet! I highly recommend this knife! There is not a better knife for this price range!
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Flm7672
Sabah, Malaysia.
Sep 20, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Gorgeous, Tough, Beefy!
i have use this knife in outdoors recently, and i was surprise this knife do the tough job (batoning, praying, cutting a wood)so easy. The price is reasonable for the quality and highly recommended for everyone who love the outdoors activities.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Garcia
Maryland
Apr 09, 2012
Pros: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Weight, Handle Material
Amazing knife
This is an exceptional camping/survival knife. It's a beast--you'll notice its weight on your belt if you take it with you--but you gain much more chopping power with it. I used it to butcher a raccoon, and it handled the tough joints easily, and broke through solid bone without difficulty. It's a great knife for the price. My only complaint--I wish it came with the micarta handles initially. The grivory are hollow and not particularly good to grip. It's worth investing in the micarta handles--it enhances the knife's ability.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
N.Y.
Feb 16, 2012
Pros:
Cons:
D
This is second generation ? Editor's Note: We do believe that this is a second generation knife.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Just One More Knife And I'm Done
central tx
Dec 28, 2010
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
my fav camp
the knife is awesome. I purchased the 2nd gen. the knife is great the sheath could be better.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
James
Placerville CA
Dec 29, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Wonderful knife
Built like the proverbial brick /:$&house!! The smaller in the group of like tools, this knife has nothing to be ashamed of. Simple design, robust execution of a tried and true tool that epitomizes function and quality to a "t". No complaints at all, a wonderful addition to real life gear.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
The Yooper
Minnesota
Aug 22, 2009
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
This is a tank!!!!!
This will be my all around field knife. It will sharpen to a very sharp edge, and would be good for breaking the pelvic bone on white tailed deer. It is a bit heavy but the sherman tank was and it was a great work horse. I love it!!!!
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wease D.
Florida
Aug 03, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
This knife is (Bad to The Bone!) I have bought 4or5 of them and have given them to friends. They use them for hunting, fishing and tools and love them! They are sharp hold an edge well, have plenty of back bone. The last one i got was for me!!!
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nick The Blade
Phila. Pa.
Jan 01, 2011
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material
COME ON!!!!!!!!!!!
There is nothing more that can be said about this excellent edged tool. I don't think you will find any other knife with so many positive reviews. This knife is perfect for its intended use,a tank like utility/survival/camping tool. You could spend more if you like, but you're not going to get more knife than this, especially for the money. There are sooo many quality blade choices out there, Busse,Fallkniven,Bark River etc. but these all come with a serious price tag. I've heard this called the Busse Lite, so go ahead, spend 5 or even 10 times more, all you'll be getting is the name. The only pick that I have about this knife is the handles, while they are very durable, they can be a little slippery when wet.No big deal,attach a 550 cord lanyard and you're good to go. So stop reading these repetitive reviews,stick your hand in your pocket and buy it! As soon as you hold it you'll know it was money well spent. P.S. it needed a little sharpening out of the box.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dwayne
Dallas, Tx
Aug 02, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Weight
This is a hefty, solid knife. It is a simple, clean design with a thick, heavy blade. It will cut, chop, stab, or slice anything. Probably not best to carry on a belt or when added weight would be a concern.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Randy Kickass
b
Dec 29, 2009
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None
This thing is a Brute
First impression is the overall weight, the handle has more weight than the blade.I changed the blade angle from 30 deg to 25 deg. This blade is a true workhorse at a .250 thick I dont think you could destoy it if you tried. I dont like to lug that extra weight but thats what makes this knife the Brute that it is.This with a small 2 to 3 inch fixed blade makes a great Wilderness package.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zeroway
PA
Dec 15, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Forget wood, this thing could probably whittle rocks!
What else can I say that hasn't been said already? This knife is a beast. It is hands down the best knife in its price range, and this is the blade on my hip when I hike into the woods because I can trust it to do absolutely everything and there's no way in hell it would ever break. That says it all right there.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zulutracker
Baltimore, MD
Apr 08, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
BEAST!
This thing is built like a TANK. Exellent survival/camp knife, and the 2nd generation sheath (kydex-like glass filled Nylon) was both a pleasant surprise and a more secure fit. Came adaquately sharp out of the box, and the now exposed pummel makes for an effective less-than-leathal impact feature. All in all just BEASTLY!
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Knifeman
Staten Island, NY
May 03, 2011
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material
A cro-bar with an edge
I have the first gen. and have had it for about three years. I love this knife. I wish my work knives were as beefy as this. This thing is flat out bad-ass! If you were to throw it at someone and not hit them with the point, you will knock them the @#$% out with the weight. I am not crazy about the slippery handles. I cut meat for a living and a slippery handle is bad. Rapping para-cord is not the solution to this problem, the knife becomes very thick with 550. Perhaps wrapping the handle in the same tape that one would use to wrap a tennis racket would work. I have not tried this yet, but have seen someone wrap their Cold Steel Trench Hawk with it. If I acquire some, I will wrap both the hawk, as well as the knife.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dirty H
rohnert park ca
Aug 03, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
kabar becker companion
very sturdy, with .25 inch thick knife. I'm sure it would make a great survival tool. great sheath too.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael R.
Grand Rapids, MI
Jul 25, 2011
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
One tough knife
HEAVY DUTY knife at a great price. Great camping knife. Sheath protects the knife well but difficult to remove the knife.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brian
New Jersey
Jun 30, 2009
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Finish, None
A Nice Knife
This knife is awesome. It is an extremely Quality knife for the price. Its heavy and I like it like that. You can pound the crap out if it. its easy to sharpen, balanced, good weight, tough as hell, and concealable. do your self a favor and buy it, couse it will take whatever you can hand it
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Twinstick
Western NY State
Nov 09, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Materials, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Blade Sharpness
One sturdy knife.
One sturdy knife. Fits my hand great. 1/4" thick & full tang. Made in the USA !!! I'd like to meet the person who can destroy this knife when used reasonably. Took me awhile to get my hair shaving mirror edge on it by hand. A great "end of days" or survival/camp knife. I would not think twice about prying with this knife. Sheath is OK for hip carry. NOT for small of back carry. A custom sheath is in my future.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dutchy Down Under
Australia Melbourne Victoria
Mar 02, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
BK2 or Warthog?
I bought the BK2 after being very happy with the Heavy Duty Warthog, Again I am very happy with the blade, and let down by that poor sheath. Is there a hidden sales tactic from these knife making companies by making great blades but such poor sheath? Anyway the knife is great, fat thick blade, good overall finish and feel, and I like I can remove the handles, I have ordered some material to do a sexy pair of handles, and might strip the blade back and polish it, and the kydex is ready for a custom sheath. I still rate this knife 5 out of 5, but I prefer the Heavy Duty Warthog as it just sits in my large hand better, but both are great knives.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Scott
Capo beach, ca
Oct 13, 2009
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None
Heavy metal
I've had this knife for a couple weeks and have not done any cutting with it. I can say the fit and finish is great. The size and weight take some getting used to but it gives you a feeling of invincibility. I'm sure it will make a lot of camping chores into simple tasks. For the price it's unbelievable.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Eric
Lavaltrie Qc. Canada
May 13, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
My first Ka-Bar
Amazing blade… thick blade for hard work around camp. I would of like an other kind of sheath. But other than that, it's a great knife for your money.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Daniel
Roseville, CA
May 24, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Awesome Camping knife
The quality of this knife for the price was excellent. It meets all the criteria of a great camping knife, for batoning wood, chopping (when an axe isn't feasible) and whatever else you can think of. I would recommend a smaller knife to accompany this one if you're planning to whittle though. The sheath works (a little tight), but better than loose. I will probably make a leather one for it since that is my preferred material.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joel L.
Finland
Mar 05, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish
Excellent blade after some modding!
Out of the box the blade has slippery (but well shaped!) handle and not anything near to sharp 90 degree angle on the back. Nylon sheath is sturdy, but the belt loop is awful - as every online review states. HOWEVER, by doing the common mods, this blade became a worthy companion: - stripped the black coating to remove the useless tacticool look - forced patina to prevent rusting - switched nuts and bolts to stainless steel, nyloc ones - wrapped handle with the same friction tape that is used with ice hockey sticks - used a file to get the sharp angle on the spine of the blade - looped elastic band (round, black, commonly found on backpacks, clothing) through the two bottom holes of the sheath and around my thigh. This removes the issue that the flimsy belt loop causes. Took me about a day, but now the BK2 is truly the tool I was looking for.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bo G
Australia
May 24, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
KA-BAR Becker Companion Fixed 5.25" Carbon Steel Blade Hunting Knife
Outdoors, camping, hiking
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ed
Federal Way, WA.
Mar 08, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Finish
Companion Knife.
This would be one of my 2 choices to bring along with me for "camping" I like this knife. I wish they would offer like a stainless steel finish, with their knives.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Wolfda
Singapore
Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Real Monster
After reviewing comments from various sites, I decided to give this knife a shot. Definitely no regret! It is a real monster indeed. Tried it out during my camping trips and I have to agree that it is Jack of all trades but master of none. But with such attractive price and quality, we can not expect it to be THE PERFECT KNIFE. Sheath indeed sucks, so I decided to get the nylon sheath which is much better.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jp
Midwest
Aug 26, 2015
Pros: Finish, Blade Material, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Handle Material, Weight
Heavy duty compact tool
I own a number of blades, including the LMFII, Esee5, A1' and this beast. I basically distinguish blades by the thickness (.25 vs .188 or .14), blade length (5" or "normal" vs 6" "slightly Rambo-ish" vs 7"+ or "machete-ish", and steel type. This is a very thick .25" 1095 blade of modest length @ 5". Honestly, a .25" thick blade needs to be at least 6" to feel "right", but i get what KaBar is trying to do here and that's make a compact heavy-duty survival knife. My only wish is that they would take the exact same design and add a 6" and 7" version. I'm not a huge fan of the raised "thumb" ridge of the bK7, but that is just a style issue. It may very well be a useful feature in a HD/combat situation. I've put this thru the ringer, batoning wood, using as a can opener, slicing meat, making kindling, hammering tent stakes, outside of military use, I've probably done it. The 1095 keeps its edge well and sharpens easily. The coating will come off, but that's to be expected when your cutting thru tin cans, chopping wood, and generally abuse the thing. I have the nylon sheath which I find to be perfect, it's great for a Molle or leg strap setup. Overall it's a great jack of all trades, I keep it in my camping bin, and prefer its versatility over the LMFII, and it's cost effectiveness over the A1. I'd say it's nearly identical to the Esee5, so depending on your handle grip and sheathing needs one may be more cost effective than the other. If I had to pick one knife only, I'd go with a slightly longer blade of equal thickness (aka A1).
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Losttrail
Washington
May 31, 2010
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Hefty knife at a non-hefty price
I bought this knife as a backup for when I go camping. However, once it arrived, I quickly made the decision that this will be my primary camping knife. It is a heavy knife, a reassuring knife; and I quickly got use to it. The only complaints are the sheath and the handle. It's true from the other review that at least two hands are needed to remove the knife. I think a possible solution is to trim/sand the interior a bit. The handle, to me, seems slippery which is to say that it may slip from your hands if you are working around water. I don't know if this holds true as I didn't use it in that way. Just for my peace of mind, I will wrap some 550 cord around it to give it a little grip. Overall, it is a great knife...strongly recommend it.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Fred
germany
Sep 04, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Finish, Overall Quality, Materials, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Handle Material
Sept 4th 2015
Tank of knife
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chris
Atlanta, GA
Jun 29, 2011
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material
This thing rocks and if you do not own one get it!!!
This is a batoning blade. It will blast through dead wood branches (no more than 4 inches) with ease with help from some wd-40. It will take a serious beating and still be able to make a fuzz stick. It is not a fine carver but all around this thing rocks. The handle needs to be wrapped in 550 cord however because those handles get slick when you are sweatin and blastin wood; or get the micarta scales. The sheath is ok; my girlfriend cord wrapped it with 550 and it retains alot better. This is like the mustang cobra of outdoor blades; even if i am a camaro guy:)
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dogboye
Maryland
Jun 01, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight
Great knife, too thick
I've had this knife for years now. I've used it camping, around the yard, and it has landed in the center console of my Jeep as my... Jeep knife. It can be batonned mercilessly. It will get screaming sharp, especially if you work a little convexing into its primary edge. It is so thick/stout, there isn't much that can stop it. But, IMO, it is just too thick. It will cut, but it is like a laser sharp wedge. It will chop well, because of the thickness, but is short enough that the things you would chop with its heft are large enough that the blade length is too short. Conversely, its heft is overkill for things you would chop that are appropriate for its blade length. The shape of the blade is excellent, and the handle/grip is one of the best out there, the steel is great. Sheath.... cannot add to what's been said. If the blade thickness was thinner, it would truly be a knife worthy of a custom sheath.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
R L Diehl
Arizona
Oct 06, 2018
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Just 2 quibbles
I haven 't had mine long enough to say how well it will hold an edge or hold up to hard use, but Becker has a good reputation so I'm not worried about that, but there are 3 things I would like to see changed. First: the handle isn't as grippy as I would like; easy fix, I roughed it up with a coarse wood rasp. The second concerns the grips too: any knife which would ever be used outdoors should have a bow-drill socket in the handle; I mean, why not? In fact, why not one on each side like my Tops Knives Brakimo? Again; why not? The third complaint is a bit more serious and not so easily corrected. The belt loop is too flexible. If the knife is in the sheath but the security strap not fastened it will fall over far enough that it could easily fall out! There are times when you may wish to briefly have both hands free but setting the knife down is not an option. Very inconvenient. I am thinking of maybe pop-riveting an aluminum strip to the back of the strap to stiffen it. These are the only reasons I didn't give it a 5 star rating.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joseph
Edmond , Ok
Jan 23, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Materials, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Finish, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Finally!
I really waited too long to get this knife. Like others, I’ve read tons of reviews and watched lots of videos but didn’t believe the hype. This year my wife bought me one for my birthday and I must admit I should have bought one years ago. Compared to my Cold Steel and Schrade knives this BK2 is by far the toughest knife I have. Even at a full pound the balance keeps it comfortably light. The edge is shaving sharp and holds up well after lots of heavy work. This is definitely a knife that will last for years. My only complaints are the handle scales and sheath. The scales are tough but lack a texture or grip. The sheath is good but too tight to draw the blade smoothly. Luckily I know these are minor issues I can modify for little cost. I would highly recommend this as a long term all purpose outdoor knife for anyone on a budget.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Nicolas
Larnaca, Ae
Feb 25, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Weight, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material
One of the best all purpose knives
First of all.i own a bk 32 which is now discontinued,the only difference from bk2 are the stonewashed blade and the handles which are made out from zytel also but are green. I bought this knife from knife center 3 years ago. Congrats to knife center for everything,they are profesionals About the knife now. The price for what you get is more than ok,is an awesome knife 1/4 thick ,1095 Cro van ,and it can get really really Sharp, it will do everything you need. You can chop down a decent size tree or cut a small apple with it. In order to break this knife you need to do things that a knife is not mend to do. Is my reliable friend that if I need something I know Is there. Also if you like to customise knife bk2 is your thing.mine had a stonewashed blade,I made on my own handles from African iroko tree and I ve order a kydex sheath with a sharpener and a firesteel. The 4 stars is because of the sheath.(the nylon one)
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Beak
Northern California
Aug 10, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Beefy and Solid
This is a great knife. If you are out camping or simply banging out in the sticks you want this on you. Pound for pound the best utility blade your gonna find. If you want to take it to the next level find the micarta handle and customize the sheath. No gimmicks...No baloney...This Becker is all business.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jonathan
Göttebörg, Sweden
Jul 15, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Weight
Strongest, heaviest knife i ever owned.
I have used it a fair bit now. Went a little bit overboard and tried to stab an thick steeled washing machine the other day. The knife did a good job. Not so much the paint on the tip of the blade. Anyways, the knife is an excellent wood splitter and a good shopper as well(if you hold it in the back of the handle). I put some hockey griptejp on the handle. And its a big improvement. Prefer the handle now over my micarta rat-7 ones. The sheet is burnt now. But before that accident it was OK. I wish it had more ways of carrying thou. //Jonathan from sweden
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tf
Northern California
Jan 10, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Finish
Cons: Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Outstanding
This will be used for camping and other outdoor activities. It is well made and a good value. The knife is very heavy duty. It is almost too large and a little dificult to remove from the sheath.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Ricky203
Doylestown, PA
Jul 22, 2009
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Weight
Really, who needs a 1/4 thick knife?
Firstly, and most importantly, l love my BK7 and my BK9. If there was only one knife I could have when the proverbial sh#@ hits the fan it would be one of these knives. Probably the BK7. Large but not too big, heavy enough and long enough to be good choppers and splitters, and good if fighting two or four legged predators (all possible scenarios when sh*+ happens). Having said that, I purchased the BK2 thinking it would be a smaller version of the BK7. It is not. It is a completely different knife. Too heavy, too short, and you need two hands to sheath and unsheathe the knife. I do not know about you but if I need a knife in a hurry a do not want to need to use both my hands to pull the knife out of the sheath. Yes, you can tie the knife down to your leg or tie it to your gear but I am an outdoorsman, not a SF Soldier with a tactical vest. Bottom line: I think the BK7 is the best value on the knife market today. Skip the BK2 and get the 7. It is a big knife but for some reason it just feels right. I do not think you will be disappointed.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Paul
South Jordan, Ut
Sep 11, 2013
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None
Heavy
I personally think the BK2 is too heavy for many situations. Sure, it feels amazing in the hand--the heft, grip, and balance are great, but as an expedition backpacker, this would be something I wouldn't carry unless I was bringing it instead of food or shelter. Since the BK2 could be used to procure food and build shelter, that may be an appropriate use. I find I prefer to carry a Morakniv bushcraft model and gave my BK2 to my 16-year old son.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Kevin S
Bethel Park, PA
Feb 14, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Materials
Excellent for Survival, Not Good for Bushcraft
The Becker BK-2 knife is a very robust, fixed blade design which features a 1/4" thick blade (at the spine). The knife has a black paint finish and features black plastic scales that are affixed to the full tang handle via hex screws & bolts. It's an extremely durable, heavy duty knife that could stand up to any torture you deem fit. If you strip the finish off the knife, you will see just how bad the workmanship is. The spine is barely machined all the way. They use the paint to cover up the shoddy workmanship. There's a reason why this knife is so cheap. As an alternate choice to the BK-2, may I suggest the Mora Bushcraft Black. It's only $35, and outperforms the Becker in almost every category.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Ethan R.
Armistice LA
Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Weight, Blade Material, Materials
Cons: None
You WILL break this knife
Don't get me wrong, it's a heck of a knife for the money. Holds a great edge, easy to sharpen, splits wood like a champ if you're into that type of thing, and it will do the finer tasks, though that requires a bit of touch. But if you baton this knife, you WILL break it eventually. Yep, it's full tang but it has cut outs in the handle to reduce weight. This means you have very little actual steel in the handle, if you baton it, it will snap what little there is. So overall not bad, but you gotta have a true Full tang in a knife designed for what this one is.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Bodie Holmes
Central Oregon
May 24, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Finish, None
Cons: Weight, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Heavey Knife, Clumsy Sheath
The Knife: USA Made, Great fit and finish. Other reviewers like this knife for it's heft. I find it too heavy for it's size. Like using a 28 oz framing hammer when a 20 will do just fine. The Sheath: Clumsy to operate. 2 handed deploy is required and if the handle isn't buttoned in when placed back in the sheath, the knife goes sideways and upside down at your side. I thought about getting a custom sheath but decided to return it and buy a Benchmade Lone Wolf 40031 Mountainside Drop Point....a different size and type of knife but it looks like it will fit my needs better.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jake Siltberg
Dresser, Wiscnsin
Jun 09, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Weight, Materials, Finish
awesome knife
This knife can break through just about anything and everything in its way. But for purposes when you will truelly need this knife on you, its just plainly to heavy. For around the house chopping it works better than a axe, but for batonging in the woods when camping, other knifes can accomplish the same task with half the weight. So if you are looking to buy this knife for survival purposes i would recomend a lighter knife. Besides that the handles are crazy comfortable and the length is perfect.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Sean
Western New York State
Dec 19, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Handle Material
Read this review
I own this knife and it's OK. Yes just OK nothing special. I like to compare it to my Utica S5 but the Utica is better by far and cheaper! Get the Utica trust me.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Tim M.
Cape Breton
Oct 06, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Handle Material
Just bought the knife, knife itself is solid and reliable. The sheath however is bad and way to light. This caliber of knife deserves much better. Pictures do not tell you this. If you want a great knife buy it, but you will need to make other arrangement's to hold it.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Richard H.
Boston MA
May 20, 2012
Pros:
Cons:
Doesn't make much sense.
This knife is a very thick, heavy piece of steel people usually use to split and chop wood. However, there is another, more versatile tool which does this somewhat more elegantly, faster and will last much longer. Its effectiveness has been proven by thousands of years of use by people who practically live in the woods. It's called an axe. If you have that, and a pocket knife, this knife, cool looking as it is, is useless. That's because this knife is trying to be an axe and a pocket knife, but it doesn't really do either of these things very well, because certain tools are supposed to do certain things. Also, if your sheath is dulling your knife, your sheath is probably tougher than it really needs to be. To those bothered by this thing flopping around when unbuttoned, though, I've got a suggestion: unscrew the nylon strap and just stick the sheath under your belt or tie it to your leg. To be fair, there was obviously a lot of work put into this knife, and in the category of "survival knives" this is a very good one. The handle is very comfortable, it's fun to hold and look at, and it feels very strong, with few silly bells and whistles. The problem isn't the knife design so much as the general concept of the survival knife. Nowhere in American history do you see a woodsman sitting down and batoning himself some firewood. That's because 1) It takes longer and makes cutting through knots much more problematic 2) The size of wood you can split is very limited by your blade needing to be longer than the diameter of your log 3) The effectiveness of your batoning depends on the quality of your baton as well as your knife and 4) What idiot thinks it's a good idea to beat his tools with a stick all day? I got this knife to see if there was anything behind the "survival expert" theory that if you have a big knife, you've got a small knife and an axe rolled into one. The truth is: sort of. But that's not really as great as it sounds.
KA-BAR BK2 Becker Campanion Fixed 5-1/4" Blade, Zytel Handles, Molded Plastic Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Richard B
Oologah, Ok.
Jan 20, 2012
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
The knife was dull the and angles on the blade edge were not the same which made it impossible to sharpen in a clamp style sharpener. The retention strap came off the 4th time it was unsnapped. Thirty dollars would be a better price for this knife.