Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw 1077 Camp 10 Fixed 10" Carbon Steel Blade, Rubber Handles

Kershaw 1077 Camp 10 Fixed 10" Carbon Steel Blade, Rubber Handlesrated 4.667 stars out of 5 (21 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Kershaw 1077 Camp 10 Fixed 10 inch Carbon Steel Blade, Rubber Handles

 

Price: $44.95

Save $25.04 (36%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw 1077 Camp 10 Fixed 10" Carbon Steel Blade, Rubber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cody B N
Bigfork MT
Dec 05, 2015
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Most Appropriately Named Knife Winner
As other folks have noted, the blade comes fairly sharp from the factory. I was able to put a hair popping edge on it in no time. The handle fits nice in the hand and is very grippy to boot. The sheath comes available with a system to allow for left or right side carry. The knife does rattle around more than I care for, but does include a drain hole. A nice detail found on more expensive blades. Overall an excellent value for the price paid !
Kershaw 1077 Camp 10 Fixed 10" Carbon Steel Blade, Rubber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Carlos B.
Chile
Nov 22, 2013
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
surprising edge
It has a most proper edge of a razor. It is a middle ground between a large knife and a machete branches. I like the cover. Some details on the termination, but in general terms, a high price versus performance ratio. I'm very happy with it.
Kershaw 1077 Camp 10 Fixed 10" Carbon Steel Blade, Rubber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Derek H
West Virginia
Feb 11, 2013
Pros: Finish, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Materials
Great value for the price.
This knife has no business being priced as low as it is. It performs on par with knives twice as much, and has a really great fit and finish. Factory edge was lacking, but that is true of most knives, and certainly to be expected on a knife at this price point. However a little bit of time on a stone or strop will straighten that out quickly, and then this knife is ready to perform. If you are on the fence, get one, you will be glad you did.
Kershaw 1077 Camp 10 Fixed 10" Carbon Steel Blade, Rubber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
A Williams
North Carolina
Apr 02, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great product
Kershaw 1077 Camp 10 Fixed 10" Carbon Steel Blade, Rubber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Martin Mart
Berlin, Other
Dec 20, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
GREAT VALUE FOR THE MONEY
I was surprised what good machete i got for the 40 bucks. Very sharp blade, good edge holding caps and a descent sheath. For 40 bucks absolutely a buy and much better than any higher priced machete i had so far.
Kershaw 1077 Camp 10 Fixed 10" Carbon Steel Blade, Rubber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin L.
Ridgefield, WA
Oct 27, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Perfect camp/survival tool.
This could very well be the perfect camping and survival tool. Great for chopping wood and defending your camp. yet not too big for camp chores like food prep.
Kershaw 1077 Camp 10 Fixed 10" Carbon Steel Blade, Rubber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Russ
british columbia canada
Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Materials, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Weight, None
great utility knife
this knife is one of the best i have used and comes at a reasonable price. i originally bought one for my son and when i saw how useful it was around camp i had to get one. the knife is a little heavy ( it is 10 in. long) but not unmanageable.the grip is very good and it has held a very good edge since purchase. i am still finding ways to strap it to my arm,leg,waist and back for the most convenient location.this knife also provides a lot of confidence in the self protection area as we have lots of wolves, bears etc. in our area. it doesn't replace a rifle but it is a very good weapon. if you have used a machete for camp chores you will love one of these knives as it is stronger, stays sharper longer,better grip and has more control than a machete.this is a great knife! get one!
Kershaw 1077 Camp 10 Fixed 10" Carbon Steel Blade, Rubber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
B0wz3r
SF Bay Area
Jun 12, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Best performing big blade for the money.
Got my Camp 10 (C10) about three weeks ago, and it's been a great purchase. I use this knife as a general camping/survival blade. The blade shape has been called a "Kukri style" in some of the reviews on boob-toob, but it's much closer to a "Bolo" style. Regardless, the concave curve on the lower half of the blade works exceptionally well for short, controlled power strokes, such as when delimbing, and shaving down a small log to make a fire board for a hand or bow drill for a friction fire. The convex portion at the end of the blade works great for chopping and other heavy use cutting. I've used it for some basic wood prep and shelter building practice so far, and it's an amazing chopper... goes through up to 1" pine boughs in a single stroke, and through larger ones in a matter of seconds. I spent some time at my wife's family's cabin in the Sierra Nevada foothills over Memorial Day weekend, and did some shelter building practice using this knife and my trusty Mora 2000. I cut about a dozen pine boughs with it, including de-limbing them and cutting them to length, in less than half an hour. I also used it to hew a small board out of another piece of pine to use as a hearthboard for a hand drill or bow drill for fire making duty. It was absolutely stellar at everything I used it for. More than anything, it's an outstanding chopper, performing better than some larger, heavier blades I have. I think there are three reasons for this... 1) The C10 has a saber-ground blade profile, so it's thinner and bites into wood better, compared to a Scandi edge. (No, Scandi grind knives aren't mean to chop, but I have a Condor Golok, so please don't tell me a blade like that *isn't* made for chopping!) The stock edge bevel on the C10 was also very nicely done from the factory, and even looked like it had been polished a bit. It was a much shallower angle than I had anticipated on a blade in this price range, and it was nice to see on a Chinese imported knife. 2) The composite hard plastic and rubber overmolded handle on the C10 gives a fantastic grip, and really seems to absorbs a lot of the shock coming into the hand. This gives better control over the knife, allowing you to be more efficient and precise with the cuts you make with it. 3) The shorter length and lighter weight of the C10 provides a lot of control and maneuverability. It was easy to change the angle of the blade when chopping pine boughs off the parent tree, and could fit into smaller spaces for such work that a larger and heavier blade couldn't. The sheath is also excellent. It's not kydex, like some people on U-toob have said, not at this price point anyway. But, it's pretty well made for the price, and the design is excellent. I was able to wrap the center section of the sheath with about 20' of paracord, and attach my faithful Mora 2000 to the straps that go around the sheath. I also was able to attach a spare nylon pouch made for a folder, into which I put my DMT folding diamond sharpener for quick touch-ups and ding repairs in the field. There are a few disadvantages to this blade. For one, the edge grind is shallower than I anticipated. The blade took a significant flat spot once when I hit a rock on the ground when I was doing some hewing to make a hearthboard for a hand drill. This also makes me think the heat treatment is on the soft side, so these two things together seem to me to be why it got a flat spot so easily. However, about 10 min. with one of my Smiths diamond stones quickly removed the ding. The coating of the blade is not durable at all. Even after my limited usage of the blade the coating is already coming off, after just one session in the field. I'm going to leave it on simply for the corrosion resistance it provides, but it doesn't protect the blade in any other way. While this blade can be used as a substitute for a regular hatchet or small axe for wood processing, it won't perform as well as a decent sized (14") hatchet for chopping thicker logs, splitting, and making kindling. You can do those things with this blade, and it will do them quite well, but let's face it, no knife is going to handle those chores as well as a dedicated axe or hatchet. But, if you insist on a "one tool" solution for survival and want to do wood processing with it too, this would be an excellent choice. Overall, a great blade and a great value. I'm very happy with this blade, and will be using it as my go-to camping, survival, and utility blade for the foreseeable future.
Kershaw 1077 Camp 10 Fixed 10" Carbon Steel Blade, Rubber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Royce B
sunnyside wa
Dec 11, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
kershaw has done it again
this is a beast starting useing it rite out of the box love it sharp rite out of box best for the buck keep it up kershaw and thank you knife center.com
Kershaw 1077 Camp 10 Fixed 10" Carbon Steel Blade, Rubber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Roy G
Houston Texas
Mar 08, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
An excellent value for the cost. The blade is sharp straight out of the box. A few minor hones and it goes from good to razor-like. The sheath is one of the best designed I've found. I use the knife during hunting trips to west Texas and while on duty. I added it to my tactical response kit and two other members had to order one when they examined it. I reccommend it to anyone looking for value, workmanship and service.
Kershaw 1077 Camp 10 Fixed 10" Carbon Steel Blade, Rubber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
Eugene, oregon.
Jun 23, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Excellent knife!
I lost my usual hack & slash, prior to my bugout trip this weekend--so I stopped at my favorite local knife supplier. To my surprise... they had this knife, in stock, at $49! I snatched it up and rolled out. The knife absolutely passed it's first 3-day test in the woods. I built shelter, a suspended log bed, a table, and a bench--with a backrest. All the items were built to hold 4 grown men, so I used pretty hefty timber. This knife handled some serious "logging", as well as opening soup cans (really just wanted to test the steel), cutting para cord, and cleaning fish. Out of the box, this knife had an insanely sharp edge. Even after all my cutting & such, this knife retained a pretty decent edge. It feels very well balanced, and the handle was very tacky (no slipping when wet/sweaty). I was very hard on this knife, since it was so modestly priced. For the price & quality, I'm absolutely going to buy another. After having used it as I have, I'd suggest they increase their asking price. This one performs as well, or better than many of my blades which cost me 4 or more times the money. I'm notoriously hard on equipment, abs I'm very satisfied with this C10.
Kershaw 1077 Camp 10 Fixed 10" Carbon Steel Blade, Rubber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marc
Florida
Mar 04, 2013
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Excellent Knife
Perfect size and weight. Handle is very comfortable. Only thing that I don't like it that the sheath is very noisy when walking, needs some padding on the inside of the sheath to keep the rattling sound down. Overall, well worth the money.
Kershaw 1077 Camp 10 Fixed 10" Carbon Steel Blade, Rubber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris B
Hull GA
Sep 13, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great value.
Very impressed with the knife, especially at this price point. Used it today to clear up some paths through the brush here in North GA,Easily cut through small branches and pine saplings. It was very humid so the handle did get a little slippery, wearing gloves should help solve that problem. Sharp enough for me right out of the box. Will make a good all round outdoors blade. Would I buy it again ? Absolutely !
Kershaw 1077 Camp 10 Fixed 10" Carbon Steel Blade, Rubber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dr. Rick Ven
Las Vegas
Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Now this...
...is as substantial tool! An excellent choicee for the weekend hiking enthusiast
Kershaw 1077 Camp 10 Fixed 10" Carbon Steel Blade, Rubber Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Z B
Denver, USA
Feb 27, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None
perfect camp knife
What a great knife! the high carbon blade is very comparible to a K Bar as far as keeping an edge and ease of sharpening and great weight to size ratio. a nice forwward balanced mini machete!! I was a little nervous about the sheath quality,because of the lack of info, but it has a tough Kydex sheath with different carry options and holds better than the sheath that comes w/ the Kershaw Outcast. My only thumbs downer is the well hidden "made in china" stamp... Booooo!!. Otherwise a great perchase!!!
Kershaw 1077 Camp 10 Fixed 10" Carbon Steel Blade, Rubber Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
C. Gonzales
arizona
Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Finish
Quite a knife
I had held one before so I knew what I was getting but the sharpness exceeded my expectation. Had a nice mirror finish on the edge. Chops extremely well. It's my primary camp knife though I still carry flipper for quick and small work. The weight is good for me...quite substantial. And the rubber grip is good for holding that weight. I never feel like I'm going to lose control of the blade. I've heard complaints about chinese steels but this has failed to disappoint.
Kershaw 1077 Camp 10 Fixed 10" Carbon Steel Blade, Rubber Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dave
Texas
Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Suprisingly good knife
Wanted a knife made in USA, however, because it was a Kershaw and I've liked the other knives I have owned from them I bought it. It's not impressively sharp out of the box, but for chopping green wood in my back yard, it's great. I've been looking for a knife I would take to the wilderness if I could only have one thing. This knife is the best I've found so far. It's as good as a hatchet but carries so much better. I've chopped 3" green branches in half and can't tell I've done any thing to the blade. I really like the thickness of the backbone, looks about a 1/4". Really good knife. Well worth the $44.00 I paid for it at the gun show.
Kershaw 1077 Camp 10 Fixed 10" Carbon Steel Blade, Rubber Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tracker
Illinois
Feb 09, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
I think I'm going to like this
I just got my Camp 10 a couple weeks ago and since it's pretty cold here, I haven't been able to use it yet. I am impressed with the knife itself. The handle feels like it will work great for whacking away at brush. The ability to rig a forward lanyard looks promising too since there are holes at both ends of handle. The sheath seems very nice, hopefully will hold up well. The edge bevels look uniform and nicely done. It appears to be a good big knife at a great price!
Kershaw 1077 Camp 10 Fixed 10" Carbon Steel Blade, Rubber Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Autoguy82
SLC, UT.
Feb 26, 2013
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Over all good knife
I got this knife a couple of weeks ago. I have been trying to get it since Jan. of 2012. And before that i tried to get my hands on the Outcast knife with no luck. I was excited to get this knife when I finally could. I like the blade size, weight, and how it feels in the hand. My only disappointment with the product is the sheath. It could use a better form of retention. Even with the snap across the crossgaurd the blade still rattles around while I'm hiking with it is attached to my pack. It would be nice to have it snap in so the knife would not require the strap and snap to retain the blade in the sheath. But over all for the price it is a great knife and worth the money for what you get.
Kershaw 1077 Camp 10 Fixed 10" Carbon Steel Blade, Rubber Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Craig M
guyton, ga
Mar 12, 2013
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material
solid construction
Great for batoning firewood! A great chopper! I dont care for unnatural handles but this has pretty good grip. The sheath leaves a little to be desired as far as how loose it is. Still, a quality product.
Kershaw 1077 Camp 10 Fixed 10" Carbon Steel Blade, Rubber Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Konstantin Doul
New Vrasna, Ae
Jan 09, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
very nice camping surviver,robust, feels good in the hand
very nice , robust and just feels good in the hand, ... wish there would be a serration version too...