Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw 1556Ti Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design

Kershaw 1556Ti Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Designrated 4.52 stars out of 5 (25.0 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
10
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Kershaw 1556Ti Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25 inch Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design

 

Price: $45.95

Save $26.80 (37%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw 1556Ti Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 5 stars out of 5
Antonio M
Corpus Christi, Texas
Sep 06, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Handle Material, Handle Feel

Great value

Bought it for self-defense primarily. The price was reasonable for a knife of this very good quality. It opens with ease and quickness. The blade is solid and very sharp. It was easy to reverse the clip with the right tool. Because of it's slim profile and very smooth handle it is a bit slow to retrieve and present. Would have preferred a textured surface. I'm very satisfied with my new knife.
Kershaw 1556Ti Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rudy O
Vista, CA
Dec 31, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Lock Ease of Use

Very nice knife

I manage Avocado groves and use my knife everyday. This was a Christmas gift from a good friend. I like how secure the clip feels in my pants pocket, the blade came super sharp, feels good in the hands. I used a small round file to make a groove for my thumb to smoothly engage the liner lock. I am also looking to etch some detail on the handle for a better grip.
Kershaw 1556Ti Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 5 stars out of 5
Slu
Slovenia
Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Sheath, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Weight

Cryo 1556ti

Love it. Maybe a little bit to heavy😉🤘
Kershaw 1556Ti Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 5 stars out of 5
Peter L
Singapore, Other
Aug 04, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Material, None

One of my favourite EDCS

I bought this knife by accident, not expecting much. However it was a jewel of a find. Speed safe, hinderer design, sharp out of the box, and smooth titanium coated frame and blade. Mean looking and a perfect fit to in the hand. 8Cr13 MoV steel, would be great if they made this in a better steel, but at this price point, this is perfect for everyday carry. I have a lot more expensive knives but this knife makes it every week into my rotation. Love it. Get one!
Kershaw 1556Ti Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 5 stars out of 5
Greg No
Redding, Calif.
Dec 16, 2013
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Outstanding Blade !1

I can say nothing bad about this knife. I already knew that it would be large and heavy. Just what I wanted. This knife came razor sharp and as normal for a new knife a little stiff which soon smoothed out. For me a great knife.
Kershaw 1556Ti Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 5 stars out of 5
Luke
Morris County, NJ
Jan 03, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

My Absolute go-to EDC

This is my overall favorite EDC. I own several Kershaw Speedsafe knives, and in my humble opinion, the Cryo II is the pre-eminent example of the brand. Opening is downright fun, the blade deploying with a satisfying, positive click. The frame lock is completely solid, but the design provides simple one hand closing. The lack of scales might deter some buyers, but the design is beautifully industrial/mechanical aesthetic, while the frame is super smooth with rounded edges providing a comfortable grip.
Kershaw 1556Ti Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jason
South Louisiana
Nov 22, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Excellent EDC Knife

Opens fast, fits the hand well, and pocket clip positions the knife very low. It has a very solid feel with no rough areas. Kershaw has perfected this Hinderer design. Everyone that opens it wants one.
Kershaw 1556Ti Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alex
Austria
Sep 16, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

my personal price-performance winner

top EDC!!!
Kershaw 1556Ti Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff B
grand forks n.d
Sep 20, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None

awesome

Awesome ! Everything the original Cryo is only bigger
Kershaw 1556Ti Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 5 stars out of 5
Evan Ech
AZ
Jan 07, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: None

Awesome Knife

This knife is more than I expected it to be. This is my everyday carry knife and it is awesome. The fit, finish and overall quality of this knife is impressive. Highly recommend this knife.
Kershaw 1556Ti Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 5 stars out of 5
B
fl
Jan 26, 2018
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Superior Knife - Buy This One

This is the knife all the special teams (local, state & fed) use. Good price, superior quality handle & action, fantastic blade alloy. You will love having this knife as your everyday carry.
Kershaw 1556Ti Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hank
The Bluegrass
Jul 25, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Weight, None

Needed a suitable EDC knife for a "Leftie".

I'm left handed, and right eye dominant (I shoot and carry on the right hand side), no big deal until you try to find an EDC pocket knife. No more drawing my knife with my right hand and "switch-handing". I was impressed enough by the description of the design that I bought two. After adjusting the pocket clips to my desire/comfort, ease of use, I retired the knives that had been my EDC group. I'm completely satisfied at this point, however, I've yet to sharpen them, time will tell.
Kershaw 1556Ti Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jimmy
California
Jan 16, 2014
Pros: Handle Feel, Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening
Cons: None

good value knife,

Kershaw 1556Ti Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bo H
Plant City ,Fla
Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

Nice knife

it is a great everyday carry around use for everything blade
Kershaw 1556Ti Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 4 stars out of 5
Matthew
Ohio
Feb 07, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel

Good quality for the price.

I use this as my day to day carry and love it. It might feel heavy in the pocket to some but it's a reassuring weight. Blade is sharp, thick and sturdy. I had the lock mechanism lock up to the point that I had to pry it to pop it back into use, but it only happened once. I might have to etch a little texture into the handle to give a little texture.
Kershaw 1556Ti Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 4 stars out of 5
George
MD
Dec 30, 2013
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Weight

Kershaw 1556Ti Cryo II

Bought this knife for an everyday carry, and have not done any extensive testing yet. Out of the box the knife was sharp. Knife has a bit of weight to it and pulls down on my pocket. The pocket clip is very tight and difficult to get out in a hurry, however I put a pen under the clip for five minutes and it loosened up enough for a smooth retrieval. When the knife is tip down, the deep carry clip rides perfectly and it almost looks like you're carrying a pen. When the knife is tip up, the deep carry clip is mounted more towards the center of the knife and doesn't ride as deeply. Although placement in tip up position isn't excellent the clip is still very good. Locking mechanism seems stout and the blade is easy to deploy. The "flicker/guard" feels comfortable and gives a sense of security that your fingers wont run over the blade with hard use. Overall very happy with my purchase.
Kershaw 1556Ti Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 4 stars out of 5
Millvillan
Urbana OHIO
Feb 12, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Type, Weight, None

Great Folder

Kind of heavy which is good in some ways. Not sure how strong the lock is?Over all a good knife
Kershaw 1556Ti Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 4 stars out of 5
Knifeguy07
San Diego
Apr 25, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None

Awesome knife!

I use this knife as EDC. Love Hinderer designs (who doesn't). Obviously for the price you can't knock this knife at all. Kershaw really nails it with the assisted flipper design as usual. Knife is crazy sharp right out of the box and looks great as well.
Kershaw 1556Ti Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 4 stars out of 5
Fred C D
California
Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Weight

solid performer

High quality construction...really great knife for price...you might miss scales... very tight pocket clip and too heavy for me
Kershaw 1556Ti Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rick
New York
Feb 16, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Weight, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness

I'm on the fence

If there were a 3.5 rating, that's what I would have given this knife. But since I'm fan of the Kershaw flipper design I will round up. I recently got into the knife fad that I had as a teenager, boy how things have changed! A few weeks ago I purchased the Kershaw Clash with the serrated blade and decided I wanted an edc without serattions and use the Clash for when I'm camping. This knife feels very heavy duty with an amazing finish, looks really nice and sleek. Flips open quickly and easily with the frame lock holding the blade in place with no blade play whatsoever. I'm a bit disappointed in how quickly it seemed to lose it's edge. I was messing around in the garage shaving down some kindling wood into fine pieces and then using it at work to break down cardboard and it seems to really have lost its bite. Also, the pocket clip is so tight that it's really difficult to get out of my jeans pocket. Even after 2 days of sliding some cardboard underneath the clip to help loosen it a bit. At this point, I'm honestly more comfortable with my Clash as my edc. But I will say, for the price you really can't go wrong with this Cryo II.
Kershaw 1556Ti Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rich G
NV
May 30, 2018
Pros: Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness

Happy

It’s a nice knife for the price. I like it for work in case I lose it.
Kershaw 1556Ti Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 4 stars out of 5
Charles B
Charlotte, Nc
Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use

Good for the money

Decent EDC knife, especially for the money. Perfect size, I like the blade shape, good fit and finish, it would be nice to have solid Ti, so that I could anno, but I know not at this price point. Centering was perfect, lockup on mine was a little late, my only issue so far is frame lock, I am used to disengaging the lock with right thumb, almost impossible with this knife, but I have found you can use right index and close one handed easily.
Kershaw 1556Ti Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 4 stars out of 5
Military Misfit
NZ
Jun 16, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Lock Type
Cons: Ease of Opening, None

Cool little knife

Cool little knife, thin with a great blade profile. The thumb studs dont work for me but the flipper works well.
Kershaw 1556Ti Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 4 stars out of 5
Konstantin Doul
New Vrasna, Ae
Jan 09, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type
Cons: None

very nice every day knife, robust and just feels good in the hand, ...

very nice every day knife, robust and just feels good in the hand, ... wish there would be a serration version too...
Kershaw 1556Ti Cryo II Assisted Flipper Knife 3.25" Plain Blade, Rick Hinderer Framelock Design
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jb
Jul 01, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None

Good Knife overall if screws didn't come out

Cons: Main tension screw popped out after about 5 months (haven't been able to find a replacement). Contacted Kershaw no response.