Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles

Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handlesrated 4.800 stars out of 5 (30 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
25
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3 inch Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles

 

Price: $60.26

Save $44.73 (43%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ronald
TN
Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Love this knife
I love this small knife it is very handle to get out of pocket and stay sharp and it is to sharp when it need it,I had it about a year and broke the blade I miss having it so much I went and bought a new one. Then sent the old one in to have new blade put in it and they replaced it for free I will be buying more of their knives. I Like their USA knives
Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
E
Argentina
Sep 14, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Feel
Lightweight EDC knife
Nice small knife that I've been using for about a year. Doesn't hold sharpness as much as a Spyderco Paramilitary but, clearly, both knives have different purposes. Good choice for a lightweight EDC.
Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe
Fountain, Colorado
Oct 12, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
One of the best knives ever made
I bought this knife to use as an EDC, and it has performed beyond my expectations! Phenomenal quality, sharp right from the box,lightweight,opens easily w/thumb or flipper, and it sharpens easily, and a safety that works(I never use mine and never had a mishap!). The only thing I don't like is that the clip is set up for right hand only.
Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott T
South FL
Jul 26, 2013
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Feel
Great Knife
This is the first knife I have owned that I bother to carry every day. I have a slender frame and found this knife to be incredibly comfortable to carry. The clip is close to the edge so when inserted into the pocket it sits snugly against the back making the pocket usable. I love how light it is and find myself using it regularly for routine tasks such as opening boxes and cutting string, twine, tape, etc....it is always in my pocket when i find myself in need of a sharp blade, which it is. It may seem cool to have some thick and heavy blade for really tough tasks but the vast majority of the time this blade will meet your needs and because of its slender design you will actually be carrying it when you need it!
Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sharon Watson
Lakeland
Sep 04, 2017
Pros:
Cons:
Leek
Solid original
Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jjr
Monroe County, New York
Feb 10, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Good 24/7 knife
Nice to see "MADE IN USA". Excellent quality, blade & function. Weak hand use of knife easier than most, short of a switch blade. Unobtrusive in pocket. Black finish perfect for law enforcement.
Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ks
Tempe, AZ
Feb 25, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great!
This is exactly what I was hoping for. I wanted a good "everyday" knife as well as it being suitable for hiking/camping. Shaves hair right from the box!
Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Antonio
Texas
May 20, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Slick Knife
This is a very slick knife. Very slim, lightweight design. One of my favorite, if not my favorite EDC. I like the straight blade and strong frame lock as the locking mechanism. I also like how it has the option to use the thumb-stud or the flipper to deploy the blade. The action when the blade is deploying is extremely smooth and you can feel the quality vs. a cheaper, not-as-well built knife. It also has the safety so you don't stab yourself in the thigh by mistake. =)
Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark
Michigan
Mar 08, 2017
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Terrific every day pocketknife!
I use this knife almost daily. Excellent flipper, & very sharp blade which seems to hold an edge quite well. Fits in pocket perfectly, handled is a bit small if you're a larger fellow that has big hands like myself. Made in America was the selling point for me, & the price was right. Over all great knife for the money.
Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Diamond
Florida
Jan 02, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Feel, None
Fantastic SD knife
This knife is a born and raised self-defense and utility knife. It's fantastic blade shape and thinness allows it t oslice and cut with ease. I moddified the handle with a dremel by adding jimping to the rear and also sharpened the pre-existing jimping.
Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeremy M.
Largo, FL
Feb 12, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Surprised
I did not purchase this knife from Knife Center, I purchased it from Wal-Mart. However, I thought I would post my review here, as I spend more time viewing/purchasing from this site. I didn't want to buy a "Wal-Mart" knife becuase every item usually bought there is junk. Everything that company buys at wholesale, is cheapened by it's manufacturer to cushion the cheap price that they demand. This knife though, is anything but cheap. I don't overly abuse my folding knives to anything but everyday tasks. I save my fixed blades for the heavy tasks. This knife isn't as long as I'd like it for a self defense blade. I would use it for such purpose if I needed it. But I would prefer a knife with atleast four inches to be used for such purposes. The finish on it seems fairly durable, unlike my ESEE MIL-3. I don't intend on beating up this knife, therefore I don't see this finish wearing thin anytime soon. The blade us surprisingly sharp. I say that because it doesn't feel sharp. I had to force myself to shave my arm hair, to be convinced. It surprised the hell out of me. The assisted opening is a dream come true. Just enough pressure enables the blade to swing out fast enough to believe it to be an auto knife. I know some will disagree, but I love a heavy knife. I find I can obtain a more controlled function from the blade when there is more weight in the handle. The weight allows me to cut through plastics and cardboard more easily. The lock on this knife brings a smile to my face each time I open it. Out of the four or five hundred times I've opened and closed the blade I've yet to see any slop or play. I have a feeling I'm going to have this knife for a very long time. Way to go Kershaw.
Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Miami, FL
Apr 30, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, None
Small and efficient
Small frame, easy to deploy, easy to conceal, solid construction. Very good knife, couldn't be happier.
Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alex R.
Quincy, IL
Apr 03, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Material, None
Near razor sharp out of the box
PROS: This knife works great for skinning small game, use while fishing and at the workplace. The Black Leak had a perfect edge when I got it, and holds an edge for a long time; when the time comes that it finally does need sharpened, a few minutes at a ceramic rod station and it'll cut through most anything for several hours of use. The knife's thin frame, solid lock, and spring assist make it a good choice for a self defense weapon for those of us so unfortunate to have idiots in office, restricting gun use. CONS: The knife's handle has a smooth black powderised finish; this is good for frame and blade longevity, but I find that when using the knife, especially for high torque utility tasks. the handle is slippery as it has very little texture to it. My black leak's black powderised finish is starting to rub off from heavy use, this is inevitable, but unfortunate.
Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jackson Ha
Tampa, FL
Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, None
Yes, you want to make the purchase.
This is an excellent knife and has served me well over the past few years. I've alternated using other knives like the gerber paraframe and the ka-bar dozier but I always come back to this one eventually. The blade steel is great quality and the assisted opening is very reliable. I have used this knife for opening packages, envelopes, boxes, carving wood/whittling, and it has held up great. Just goes to show you the quality that Kershaw puts into its products. I just purchased another leek with the desert sand finish and I have a feeling I will get my hands on a few more in the future. But I've used this particular model for everything. My only complaint (and it's very minor) is that the bolts on the handle sometimes come loose causing the handle to feel slightly insecure but it's very minimal. The blade, however, has no play at all. Highly recommend this knife.
Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gary
Delaware
Apr 16, 2018
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use
Cons: None
excellent product
Good feel, easy opening and closing. A good sharp blade
Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael K
Los Angeles, Ca.
Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Gorgeous, slick, well made and opens / locks instantly!
Again, I bought the smaller version of this knife first and THEN bought this "bigger brother" version. Sharp, Strong, Opens easily and FAST, resilient pocket / money clip and UNDER the arbitrary 3" rule in California. Edge holds well with a razor edge. This knife should cost 2x as much.
Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jimmyd
Northern Colorado
Mar 03, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Excellent Knife at a Fair price
This is my daily carry knife and is the second one I have bought. It is an excellent knife, fast opening, holds and edge, and is very light and easy to carry. Allin all, an excellent product.
Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cpellicore
Louisville, KY
Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Best knife I've carried.
As a veteran, union stage hand I seem to carry a lot of knives: carpet knife, multi-tool knife blades, micro-tool knife blade, etc. This is my main go to knife. The shape of the allows me to slip the point into cable bundles to slice tape off without getting the tip into the insulation, which is a big deal as the cost of some of the cable I work with is more than a lot of people make in a week. It holds an edge well, can slice tape, cardboard, and trim Masonite, then take on delicate tasks like cutting a tomato with nary a thought. This knife is not "delicate" nor does the tip bend with finger pressure, though I'd not put it through the British proof test. The handle allows for finesse control and opens faster than most switchblades. The next knife I buy will probably be this knife in Elmax.
Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Las Vegas NV
Jan 04, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Nice Knife!!
Bought this one for my Nephew. I have one myself. I use it for work (construction Electrician). I can't say enough about them, they hold an edge very well. The blade open assist works great.
Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Blade 14
Atlanta, GA
Oct 25, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great EDC
Very sharp OTB (like most Kershaws). Very light, great pocket clip, and easy to resharpen. Doesn't open quite as smoothly as some of my other assisted Kershaws (probably the black finish slowing it down at the pivot). Still a great knife though
Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gdwill2u
Leesburg, VA
Jul 14, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
My favorite EDC
I own a copy of every Kershaw EDC style knife there is and all of the BLUR models, of all my knives this is my favorite. Elegant, sharp and rugged knife. In my opinion Kershaw knives are the best bang for your buck...by far...in the EDC knife arena. The Knifecenter is also top of the line, I usually get my knives THE DAY AFTER I order them, I don't even know how they get them out to me so quickly. Great Service and lifetime sharpening too.
Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gary P
elkton md.
Apr 04, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: None
Kershaw folder
You can't beat a Kershaw, wicked sharp, holds an edge, operates smooth. I also got fast delivery for a birthday gift. You'll be hearing from me again!
Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kahuna
sj ca
Sep 30, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
kershaw speed safe
this a a great little pocket knife and the spring assisted opening is very quick (you would swear it was a switchblade). time is tell how well the sharpness of the blade will last.
Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bo A
Albemarle, NC
Oct 12, 2012
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Awesome knife
This is an excellent knife! I tested the shortness of the blade out of the box As always, That was the first time a blade has ever cut my finger. Literally razor sharp out of the box! Slim blade, excellent knife lock, very lightweight.
Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Darren In Fort Collins
Colorado
May 19, 2019
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
Not experienced any of the problems in reviews
I've carried this knife as my only EDC for well over a year now. I've used it for anything from cutting apples to cutting thick packaging straps on two ton pallets of stone, and I've dirtied it up multiple times cutting through ball and burlap on root balls of trees. It has performed all this with only one sharpening and a few freshen up swipes on a Spyderco SharpMaker. It holds its edge incredibly well for all the tasks I've described above and more. I've read a few comments in the reviews of the Leek over the years that its blade is too thin, that its tip is too "dainty." I thought that as well when I first started using leeks years ago. Let me say, however, that the blade is extremely tough, and I've never experienced any of the "bending" incidents some reviewers describe, nor have I ever felt the knife was not up to just about any task I've used it for. Granted, this knife is not going to chop wood, but I hope no one is expecting a three inch folding knife to do much of that. Also, the black DLC coating on the current knife I'm carrying has but a few superficial rub and scratch marks - I'm surprised it hasn't even worn off in any visible areas. As I said, I use this knife around dirt and grit all the time. The spring mechanism works as well now as it did a year ago, and I've never oiled it. In fact, the only thing I've done is run the knife under water to wash off the grime and then dry it off. I've never had a single issue with the spring assist, and never seen a spot of rust on the visible parts of the knife. I guess as I get older I'm less enamored of the 'big boy' knives that show off their 4" plus blades, mostly because those knives aren't what I'd call "EDC," but special application knives for survival, camping and/or combat situations. The weight of larger knives usually makes my pants droop, or wears out the reinforced pocket lip too quickly. The lighter weight of the leek coupled with what I have experienced is a bomb proof and tough little knife make it an excellent everyday carry. Something about that oddly shaped modified almost wharncliffe style blade makes the knife surprisingly useful in a huge variety of applications. I also love that the knife is USA made and has been for the decade I've been using one. I will never buy anything but American made knives -- no reason to buy foregin made ones when there are a huge number of American made choices from most major manufacturers. And for an American made product it seems like a huge value; I've never paid more than $50-$60 for a leek, and I have many of them. I really only need two or three for replacements, but I'm goofy in the sense I like the security of having many, many backup knives as I want this to be my EDC even should the knife (gasp!!!) go out of production one day. Great knife and I've never experienced any of the stated problems other reviewers have mentioned. The only thing that is a minor issue is the blade lock mechanism once in a while deploys while the knife is in my pocket. Please read that correctly -- I've never had the blade deploy in my pocket, only the lock mechanism which keeps the blade FROM deploying. A slight fraction of a turn from a screw driver fixes the issue, though, so it's really a non problem. Incredible knife at an incredible value.
Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Usmcjg
East TN
Nov 27, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Good EDC for the money
This is a really good EDC knife. The Speed Safe assisted opening works great. Sharp enough to shave with out of the box. The only complaint I have is that the black finish comes off fairly easily. Otherwise this is a great knife, especially for the price. This won't be my last Leek.
Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Diamond
Tequesta, FL
Jan 02, 2011
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Good Knife
Very sharp, gorgeous knife. The only downside is the fact that the tip of the knife is extremely thin. My friend took my knife and stabbed it into a wood wall and bent the tip. However, because the tip is so thin, I was actually able to bend it back. Everything is perfect about the knife except for this one problem. If you are look for a great everyday carry, then look no further. If you are looking for an outdoors knife that can baton or or able to stab through heavy clothing, this knife could easily do that in a pinch. However, because of its thin profile. I would NOT recommend it.
Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Michael
Crossville, TN
Jul 15, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Flawed Opening
I bought one a year or two ago and ended up taking it back because after some EDC the spring assist stopped working. Bought another, believing I had just received a fluke. No fluke. The spring assist wore out on the other as well within a few days of EDC. It was quite a bummer, but the lock is solid, the blade tales and holds a fabulous edge, and it's easy to carry. I'd recommend it, but don't rely too much on the spring assist.
Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Frank
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Great light duty folder.
Overall great quality for a simple carry knife. A bit on the small side and the handle feels thin at times. Quick action and a sharp blade.
Kershaw 1660CKT Ken Onion Leek Assisted Flipper Knife 3" Black Plain Blade, Black Stainless Steel Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jeff
Vermont
Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material
Cons: Overall Quality, None
Smooth, but.......
Upon getting my knife, this was the first time I had ever seen the Leek. I had no idea what to really expect. The fit and finish are excellent, as are the actions of the lock and opening mechanism. It's smooth and fun to flick open. But wow, is this knife DAINTY. I almost want to say it is flimsy, but I might be unfairly denigrating it with that term-- especially since the locking mechanism feels robust for a knife this size. But is it really necessary to make a knife blade this pointy and thin. It is absurdly thin. You know a blade is too thin when you can EASILY bend the tip with your own two fingers. This knife might be right for some people, but I personally can not get over the daintiness of it. It's just not for me. Ironically enough, I have used this knife on a few occasions for purposes that benefited from the blade's slender qualities. Overall, it's a fine little knife, and it can definitely find a niche in my collection. But when I get my Umnumzaan back, that will be occupying front pocket again.