Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles

Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handlesrated 4.867 stars out of 5 (30 reviews)
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
27
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4 inch S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles

 

Price: $95.95

Save $54.04 (36%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris N.
Charlotte
Jun 05, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Response to "rattle when open" review...
El Cid in Florida commented on a rattle sound when his knife is open. The Blur uses a torsion bar for the spring assist. It is enclosed in a machined recess in the handle by the visible stainless steel plate. It's a curious set-up, but obviously works very well. The knife is very easy to dis-assemble and re-assemble. Put a modest amount of lithium grease or bearing grease in the recess and on the torsion bar. That should solve your problem.
Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Frank
94610
Mar 05, 2015
Pros: Handle Feel, Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
a little oil and away we go, left hand friendly with practice.
Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nosjarede
PA
Mar 02, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Awsome Edc knife
A very sharp knife. Light weight. Feels great in hand def recommend to anyone.
Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marty
Tennessee
Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Lock Type, None
A work horse that keeps going.
Pros: * Holds an edge unlike any knife I've ever used. * Even with wet hands, the knife will not easily slip. * It's heavy enough to feel like a strong built knife, without being too heavy. * Locks up solid with no blade play whatsoever. * The pocket clip is strong and hasn't slipped even the slightest out of my pocket. Cons: * If your hands aren't calloused like mine the Trac-Tec inserts may cause your hands to get sore after a while. (Thanks to my wife for noticing this.) * The thumb studs can dig into your thumb unless they are calloused. (Also, thanks to my wife noticing this.) * The lanyard hole is a bit small for 550 paracord, but it can be negotiated in with a bit of work. * The liner lock is a bit unnerving for a blade this sharp. If it had something similar to the Benchmade Axis Lock, this would be 100% the perfect EDC work knife. As it stands, I'd rate it around 98% perfect. Review: I have always shunned stainless steel because no matter how good it is suppose to be, it never seems to take an edge or hold it better than my carbon steel knives, but seeing the price of the Blur and seeing the S30V I decided to take a chance and grab one. I haven't regretted it since. Truthfully, the Blur is the first knife that is stainless that actually has impressed me. Out of the box it was hair popping sharp, normal I'll admit for most knives. However, when I buy a knife it is going to be used and used hard (not abused). For the first hour of having it in my hand I whittled a large piece of oak with it shaving the thinnest feather sticks I've ever seen. Afterwards, still hair popping sharp. After that first test, I touched up the blade and decided to see how long it would hold its edge. That was a week ago as of writing this review and it's still shaving sharp, and it has been used for every cutting chore I can find from kitchen work to cutting up cardboard. It has been used every day on something, anything that I could find just trying to dull it. With normal use I have to sharpen my pocket knife at least once every 3 days. Over all, I'd give the Kershaw Blur S30V higher than 5 stars if I could.
Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John M.
Harrisburg, PA
May 19, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, None
Simply SUPERB
Simply superb. Its a must have. Cannot beat the price for the S30V blade. Made in the USA. Blade came razor sharp when i opened the box i mean literally u can shave with it. The overall feel n look is astonishing. I have only one suggestion or rather two. Change the pocket clip seems like most kershaw knives have same pocket clip. Have the Leek and the clip is identical in design and scale. Second the handle is way toooo grippy. If they changed the handle to G10 and made the pocket clip more unique this would be my top pick EDC. Still overall a great steal lf a knife. Its lightweight. I cannot stop talking about the blade material. Blade design is awesome. Opens super smooth and closes supersmooth. I generally dont like liner locks because its more difficult to close and after a few uses it can wear down on ur thumb but not with this knife, lock ease is perfect. A must buy for sure.
Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Pittsburgh, PA
Feb 08, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Solid; Fast
This has now edged out my other knives as my EDC. The opening was a little stiff at first, but I lubed it with some SlipStream lubricant, and opened it about 100 times. It is now a really smooth opener with just a little pressure on the thumb stud. I really like the blade shape, and the blade came very sharp out of the box. The handle is especially nice. The "stippling" in the aluminum grips makes it real easy to keep a good grip, and it doesn't seem to tear up my pocket. Overall this is an excellent knife and a great value for the money.
Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John G.
South Carolina
Jan 16, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
What's not to like, just about perfect.
The Good - S30V Blade, Speed safe opening, light weight, very comfortable to hold and use, no blade play, handle has good 'grippiness' The Bad - I honestly cannot find anything wrong with this knife. Some would say the liner lock, but I'm fine with it.
Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jengkol
banting,malaysia
Jan 24, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
kershaw blur s30v plain edge
this is the second similar item i bought,the first one was lost during my hunting for jungle fowl,it fits well on my hand,easy to handle and the blade was so sharp in order for me to slaughter the fowl quickly,compare to other brands for the same blade material for me it was affordable.
Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
A. Wright
Upstate NY
Apr 03, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Type, None
best bargain in S30V
Well made, good ergonomics, manufactured in Oregon, in my opinion the best bargain in Crucible's CPM S30V blade steel.
Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tripp A.
Jackson Hole, WY
Jan 25, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
The Ultimate EDC
What a great knife. From the premium S30v cutlery steel blade and the slip proof Trac-Tec handles to the lightening fast assisted opening, this knife is wicked. The blade comes razor sharp and retains a working edge far longer than almost any other steel I've used. Even after gutting an elk, three turkeys, a whitetail, and more doves than I could count this knife still keeps up with all the far more expensive knives I have. Guys, it's only $90 and you get far more than what you pay for, there is absolutely no reason for this knife not to be your next EDC.
Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tb
Ohio
May 13, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Excellent EDC Folder
The S30V is my second Blur. I have nothing but good things to say about the knife design and the blade steel. Edge retention is great. The shape of the grip is perfect. I love the Trac- Tek. The deployment is the best I have ever owned. The thumb stud is absolutely PERFECT! I have been EDC'ing this knife for almost a year now. And use it for just about everything a knife should be used for. If I did have a complaint, it would be about the blade's stonewash finish. It's not the most attractive finish I have ever seen. It does seem to hide any sort of blade wear though. And...it's a working tool...not a showpiece. So...I'll not ding the knife because of the blade finish.
Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ricky
The AZ
Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Top 5 of my knives
Use mine as a daily carry. It's super light weight and the S30V blade holds an edge better than any other high end knife I have owned. I'm a Damascus fanboy so would love to see one in Damascus but would hate to see the price tag. Love the assisted opening and it has never had an accidental opening since I've been carrying it daily for almost a year now.
Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff Turlington
Newport News, Virginia
Nov 19, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Simply the best Folding Knife I've ever owned!
First as soon as I held it I could feel the quality of the Blur.I love the grip inserts which make it safe while using in all conditions.the speed safe assist open is awesome,fast failsafe construction.Now the S30V blade in insane, talk about sharp is blade is as sharp as a razor.I shaved my arm with it right out the box! The best part is it holds that razor edge. Great quality steel! My hat goes off to Kershaw for making the best folding knife made in the USA! Thanks, Jeff Turlington VA.
Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Uriah
Quantico VA
Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great blade, great value
I carried this knife everyday for just shy of a year.... Then lost it. Bought a new one and still use it all the time. Great steel, comfy handles, quick opening. Nothing not to love.
Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rick From Atlanta
Atlanta, GA
May 28, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
One of the best folders in America
This has to be one of the best American made knives ever! The assisted opening is lightening fast, the blade steel is superior and the knife fits well into your hand. Inside your pocket it stays snug and secure with a great pocket clip. It cuts through cardboard and bags of mulch with equal ease and remains razor sharp. This knife is on the thin side for its size but is very strong and very grippable-everything from the grip inserts to the shaved thumbstuds shows that this is a well thoughtout design. YOu can't say enough great things about this knife-it's a real steal for the price.
Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Friggs
Denver, PA
Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
I love this knife!
I fell in love with Kershaw knives years ago with a purchase of a Mini Cyclone. I soon found the Blur and it instantly became a favorite. I have a number of them, but not as many as I would like. I then tried some Zero Tolerance knives. They are awesome, but I ended up selling them. For their money, I felt it was not worth it when compared to what you get in the Blur. Don't get me wrong. If I had a job where I had to really work my knives very hard. Or if I was military, I would stay with ZT. But for me, the Blur is more than strong enough for me and what I use it for. So I stick with Kershaws. Don't get me wrong. Kershaws are tough and take a beating. But one thing I liked about the ZT's was the S30v metal available in them. So I picked up one of these Blurs. Do I really need the tougher S30v? No. But I like not needing to sharpen it. Of course it will rust quicker than their standard steel. I just found a spot on my blade. But it was my fault. also like the thumb stud and how it is angled perfectly for you thumb to open it. Bottom line, this is a great knife. Very strong with a awesome steel. Keep it oiled and you will be happy.
Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
J.R.Rollins
Orland pk IL
Jul 13, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
very nice edc knife
This is my new favorite knife. Its light weight aluminum handle with the rubber inserts has a good feel to it.Doesnt slip in your hand.The thumb studs on the blade are at a angle which makes the assist open like butter.The S30V blade i love but the stonewash i could do without.The only thing i am worried about is the lock . It looks small and moves easy when you unlock it.It is my new EDC and its sharp the cut on my hand will prove it.Shoudnt play with knifes but love the feel of it.
Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Geoff
South Africa
Jan 18, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Stylish, good steel
I've had this knife for a year, and am very happy with it. I haven't found that it holds an edge noticeably longer than other knives (I still have to sharpen it every few weeks), but it hasn't rusted (I live at the coast) and has had only one small nick in the edge (a Spyderco Tenacious with cheaper steel that I bought around the same time and used about as much rusted easily, and the edge is full of nicks). I also like the way the blade flicks open, and this knife just looks and feels good, but it's still very practical & useful.
Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cyruss
Philly
Apr 20, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
My favorite EDC
This is my most carried knife because of how slim it is. I own different brands and styles of knives and I always find my self reaching for the blur everyday. This knife is fast, fun and very handy thats why i have 4 of them. if your into Blades as much as me and don't own at least one Blur I strongly suggest you pick one up you won't regret it.
Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cruff
Sacramento
Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Solid with nice steel
It is a Blur with the same great design as the others. I like this blade shape and material. Out of four Blurs, this one suffered a stripped pocket clip screw head when I was installing the clip for tip up carry. Kershaw support sends you small spare parts via no-hassle form on the web site. Though I have yet to receive my clip screw after a few weeks, this is a nice thing to have. Not as cool as lifetime sharpening like the ZT's but pretty cool. The S30V version is a good value at this price.
Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
C. E
Breckinridge, CO
Jan 06, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
What a beast!
I've had this knife for three months now and I've carried it pretty much every day as an EDC blade. The S30v steel holds an edge extremely well, I've gutted two deer, and half half a dozen squirrels with it and I still don't need to sharpen it. The trac-tec handles are slip proof even when soaked. When open the blade locks up with out any wobble what so ever. Great job on this one Kershaw, great service from knifecenter too. For $90 this knife is a freaking steal, buy it.
Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Phil
Ft. Myers. Fl
May 19, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: None
I just bought this knife. I know that a lot of production knives are not as sharp as they could be, as in this case but with little work it is now razor sharp. I have read some bad reviews about the lock not holdinga. I don't have this problem. I love the light weight. I kayak a lot and I think I going to retire my buck 110 and carry this on my paddles.
Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
El Cid
Florida
Mar 17, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Awesome quick blade
Assisted opening is quick and locks solid. Blade was very sharp out of box. S30V is great. pockets clip is strong. Very pleased with this knife. bought it for an EDC and its working out well so far. Only thing is mine makes a small clicking sound when the blade is opened and i shake the knife up and down. After looking around, nothing is loose and can't figure out what it is, but no problems so far.
Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Patrick L
Villieu-Loyes-Mollon, Other
Sep 05, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Material, None
A perfect edc, very sharp, open very fast. The handle material isn't the best i known but he does the job...a high overal quality in conclusion.
Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
"Handyman"
Spring, TX
Apr 04, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
"Awesome knife"
I was in the market for a good "Made in the USA" pocket knife. After a considerable amonut of time researching I ended up buying this baby. Man, was I pleasantly surprized. You can see and feel the quality right out of the box. A little tight at first, but it comes into its own after a bit of use. Talk about sharp...be careful, it can be deceiving. I haven't put it through any tough tests yet, but I'm confident that it will live up to the hype. A litte more than I wanted to spend, but now that I have my pocket buddy, it's worth the price.
Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Qbedobedoo
California
Aug 09, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Insane Blade!!!
This is now my absolute favorite EDC blade.!! The feel is super solid, the assisted opening is fast and accurate, the handle just feel comfortable to hold with grooves the right places, making it a solid grip. However, the most impressive aspect of this knife is, by far, the insane level of blade quality!! It's made of S30V, is super sharp right out of the box.. and it'll stay that way for a very very long time. It fits rather neatly in my pocket, is easily deployed and has yet to present a single weakness. I am contemplating purchasing another one for my car (seat belt cutter in case of an emergency), as I have absolute confidence in it's ability to perform flawlessly under any kind of stress.
Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff O.
Lynn, MA
Apr 19, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Indispensable tool, and the best pocket knife I've ever owned...
I've had this knife for well over a decade. It is rugged. It fits a pocket perfectly. Its design promotes stability in the hand and control while using it for any number of tasks. It's cut up dinner for me; sliced limes and lemons at the bar; stripped wires for electrical work; been an impromptu screwdriver too many times; and travelled the globe with me while in the service. It leaves me pocket only to wash my pants. I couldn't utter a bad word about this tool.
Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jason
Earth
Oct 02, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Feel, None
Nice EDC
Great edc knife! The handle doesn't tear into your pockets like people were saying. That's crazy. Love the weight and how slim it is and came very sharp. I thought there could've been better gimping. It's there but you can't really feel it all you feel is the handle and is comfortable when I'm holding it like a hammer but when I hold it with my thumb along the gimping my pinky finger and some my hand is hanging from the bottom. If you've got smaller hands you won't have that problem. Last thing I didn't like was the pocket clip came tip down but no big deal but you can change tip up. First kershaw I bought in along time. Very nice. As always great service from knifecenter
Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Didier
FRANCE
Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
A classic !
It's a good knife. A bit on the heavy side to me (the handle material has a bit to do with that...). The general shape of the blade is very good and usefull (for the cutting motion). Some might not like the following fact : the knife is not design for the stabbing motion... it's a knife not a dagger ! Good EDC knife eventhough I do not like the clip... If you're a "knife guy", you NEED to own a Blur from Kershaw ! If you're a "knife girl" too !!!! Cheers,
Kershaw 1670S30V Ken Onion Blur Assisted Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Stonewash Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Sherman
Sharpsburg, Md
Oct 14, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Not a good edc due to the tech grip.
I bought this knife two weeks ago to use as a edc around the house and at work. It came out of the box very sharp. This knife has a very nice weight for edc. The blade shape and design is perfect for light edc. It opens up fast and locks up everytime nice and tight. But sadly I have to say this isnt a good edc knife mainly because of the handle with the grip tape. The grip tape is like coarse grind sandpaper. It will tear up your pants in little time. I really see no use of the grip tape. The handle fits the hand so well there isnt a use for it. The grip tape not only tears up your clothing but it also tears up your knuckles when reaching in your pocket for something else. I bought some 1mm camo g10 to try and replace it. Hopefully it goes well. Next gripe would be the gimping on the handle. Its in the right spot but it is to smooth. The gimping doesn't hold your thumb in place at all. My thumb slides over it with ease no matter how much pressure I put on it. They should have put some gimping on the back of the knife like they did on all of the zt knives as well. Next gripe all though not that bad is the thunmbstuds. They do grip your thumb securily and your thumb will not slip on them. But they are very sharp and will wear the skin on your thumb with frequent use and you may cut yourself on them while reaching in your pocket. I have tough hands. but my hands do not like how abussive this knife is to them. Last gripe would be the blade. Simply the edge on the blade at least mine is prone to chipping. I chipped it first cutting some thick wax coated paper and then when I pried the safety off of my bic lighter. The blade shouldn't have chipped in my oppinion. I bought the knife with this steel because it is suppose to be a tough steel but I dont see this. S30v is suppose to hold a edge for a long time but if the edge cracks away then what good is it? Would I buy this knife again? Sadly I would have to say no. Its simply just to hard on my hands and pants and needs to be improved for edc.