CYBER WEEK DEALS: 6,100 ITEMS ON SALE! Details

KnifeCenter strives to provide individuals with disabilities access to its products and services, including through an accessible website. If you have questions, comments, or encounter any difficulty in using this site, please e-mail info@knifecenter.com or call - (800) 338-6799

Skip to main content

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using our website you consent to our Cookie Policy.

CYBER WEEK DEALS: 6,100 ITEMS ON SALE! Details

Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw 1965 Rove Assisted Flipper Knife 3.3" Stonewashed Drop Point Blade, Zytel Handles

Kershaw 1965 Rove Assisted Flipper Knife 3.3" Stonewashed Drop Point Blade, Zytel Handles4.812 (16 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Kershaw 1965 Rove Assisted Flipper Knife 3.3 inch Stonewashed Drop Point Blade, Zytel Handles

 

Price: $16.95

Save $23.04 (58%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw 1965 Rove Assisted Flipper Knife 3.3" Stonewashed Drop Point Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
Dudley
New Mexico
Mar 08, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
Kershaw flipper
Nice feel. Sharp blade. Quality product. Easy opening.
Kershaw 1965 Rove Assisted Flipper Knife 3.3" Stonewashed Drop Point Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
El Maquino
Flagstaff, Az
Dec 30, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
more than I expected
This knife is really good. Works very good in every way. This is worth twice as much. I don't buy knifes from China but I bought this one to see how they compare to the U.S.A. made ones and I don't see how they can be so good. A real eye opener. I guess it's all about labour costs because this is not junk.
Kershaw 1965 Rove Assisted Flipper Knife 3.3" Stonewashed Drop Point Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
Optimist
Northern VA
Oct 17, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Forget the insanely good price
This will be my new EDC knife. The build quality, aesthetics, ergonomics and performance are first rate. How they price this is beyond me. I have more expensive knives to use; but they can sit in display and collect dust
Kershaw 1965 Rove Assisted Flipper Knife 3.3" Stonewashed Drop Point Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
Michael
North Little Rock , Ar
Jul 02, 2019
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use
Cons: None
Awesome knife
A solid knife. Perfect size for my hands, opening is strong and lockup is solid. Exceeded my expectations. Very happy with my purchase
Kershaw 1965 Rove Assisted Flipper Knife 3.3" Stonewashed Drop Point Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
Old Fisherman
, Connecticut
Mar 11, 2019
Pros: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Rove review. A solid five star
I just received my Rove from Knife Center. I have done some cardboard and paper cutting and so far I am impressed with the sharp blade. The flipper is fast and the blade locks up good and tight. The grip is also very good. I bought this Rove figuring I could not go wrong with the special sale price. This is my first Kershaw and I think this is a very good knife for edc carry.
Kershaw 1965 Rove Assisted Flipper Knife 3.3" Stonewashed Drop Point Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
Sawtooth Sam
Idaho
Jul 07, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Top value
An excellent value, overall. As good a knife as you will find at this price point. Very serviceable blade steel. Sleek, ergonomic, solid construction, reasonably lightweight, with the clip positioned perfectly for that little dab of added fingertip leverage during opening. (Opens manually with an ambi thumb stud, the old school way.) Locks up solid. Unlocks via a floating disc that is best activated with the right thumb, a mechanism that works perfectly for me, but could be a problem for lefties or users with giant mitts whose oversized digits conceivably could inadvertently wander onto the disc during hard use, causing an unexpected closure. In my view, The knife's only real drawback is that lefties will be a wee bit challenged to close it one-handed, though that can be accomplished, too, with a little practice.
Kershaw 1965 Rove Assisted Flipper Knife 3.3" Stonewashed Drop Point Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
Blackhawk
S.W. Pa
Nov 26, 2018
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
Great
I have been using it as my EDC and really like it for the money. It has a very positive opening, the blade is perfectly centered and the lock works well. The handle feel good in the hand and the blade closes nicely plus it came very sharp. Yes there are better knives around but for the low price of this one, it is a winner.
Kershaw 1965 Rove Assisted Flipper Knife 3.3" Stonewashed Drop Point Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
Chris
Coronado, CA
Nov 03, 2018
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: Weight, None
Makes me wonder why I buy expensive knives
I bought this on a whim because the reviews were all good and the price was great. I've been carrying this thing for a week now and am utterly surprised at how much I like it given the $17 price. For a long time I carried a $45 Leek and thought that was about the best value you could get in a knife, but this one, in my opinion, surpasses the Leek by quite a bit. It really looks and feels like a $17 Link. Fit and finish is quite good for a Chinese made Kershaw. I’m not a fan of the spring assist due to the extra effort required for one-handed closing, and it's a little on the heavy side for the size, but aside from that, there’s nothing else I can really find to complain about on this great piece. I certainly enjoy carrying my more expensive knives (I love new ZT designs like the 0609, 0462, and 0470), but carrying this one for the past week has made me realize that although fun to carry, super steels and drop shut action are really more of a novelty than a necessity.
Kershaw 1965 Rove Assisted Flipper Knife 3.3" Stonewashed Drop Point Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
Trace
Cal
Feb 18, 2019
Pros: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Unbeatable value
Use as edc around the property. Really liking the blade style. Flips open easily and locks up solid. No blade play. Even has bronze pivot washers. For KC’s sale price of $17, you can’t go wrong. If you want a very similar knife, but built a little stronger/heavier with some jimping and better handle grip, check out the Kershaw Flitch.
Kershaw 1965 Rove Assisted Flipper Knife 3.3" Stonewashed Drop Point Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
Jt
Nevada City, CA
Oct 19, 2018
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
A bargain from Kershaw
This will be an EDC—and for under $20 bucks how can you go wrong. Overall quality looks/feels sturdy with substantial size/weight, smooth action with no play and sharp out of box. Clip is tip up only but reversible and holds knife securely and low in pocket. There is a hole for a lanyard. As usual, fast efficient service from Knife Center.
Kershaw 1965 Rove Assisted Flipper Knife 3.3" Stonewashed Drop Point Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
Jim
South Carolina
May 02, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Outstanding value
This will be my new every day carry knife. It's a convenient size, thin and light, but substantial in the hand. Blade is quite sharp right out of the box. Kershaw flip mechanism is quick and safe, requiring a deliberate action to release the blade. A much higher quality product than I expected for only $17. Highly recommend this knife..
Kershaw 1965 Rove Assisted Flipper Knife 3.3" Stonewashed Drop Point Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
Steven F
Rochester, Ny
Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Tremendous quality at this price point
Yet another example of Kershaw's ability to produce really well made knives for very low prices. Yes, this is not a USA - made Kershaw. If it wasn't for the price and the tiny little word "China" at the very base of the blade, however, you would never know that this was not one of the domestic models. Kershaw is by far the most-represented brand name in my folding knife collection, and this inexpensive model holds its own against many of the USA - made pieces. It's really impressive how quality has been maintained with overseas manufacture. The result is that the Rove is one of the best deals out there at this price point. This knife is slightly larger than some folks will prefer for an EDC, but if you have large hands, you'll love it. I wear XL gloves, and all four fingers wrap around the this grip, instead of my pinky finger hanging off the end of the handle. The weight is pocket friendly comma no doubt get down by the Zytel scales (handle sides). The Kershaw/Ken Onion Speedsafe system works in its usual excellent way; a snappy, positive open with great lockup at the end, but not so violent so that the knife leaps out of your hand. The liner lock engaged securely and is easy to release in the usual manner. The blade shape is very much the same as the blade on my Zero Tolerance 0770cf, a knife selling for over 7 times the price of this one! I've come to really like this shape of blade in an EDC; great slicers, and very good push-cutters, as well (one firm downward push goes right through the thickest part of a corncob with little effort). Also, the stonewash finish will, in my experience with other blades, hide a lot of the little scratches that would otherwise show up as a result of use. This is not the hardest or the most premium steel in the world, but it isn't the kind of soft junk one sometimes encounters at low price points, either. The 8cr13Mov used in this blade sharpens up quite well to an excellent Edge, and maintains that as acceptable well. Just as important, the knife sharpened up easily and comes back to that razor edge without much trouble. While I would not use this as a primary shop knife, it is perfect for an EDC. It came nice and paper-slicing sharp out of the box, and I took it up a notch from there with a simple ceramic rod sharpener. Oh, and the clip comes set for righthand tip-up carry, and can be moved to lefthand tip-up carry (two torx screws, I think #7 size). It's also the same unibtrusive small-and-not-too-pants-shredding tight clip add on my Zero Tolerance 0770cf. Wow. This one is going into my EDC rotation.
Kershaw 1965 Rove Assisted Flipper Knife 3.3" Stonewashed Drop Point Blade, Zytel Handles
5 out of 5
Konstantinos
Athens, Greece
Oct 30, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Material, Weight
Great folding knife
Excellent price, fast shipping. (Thanks to Knifecenter) Robust construction. Simple and unique design. Easy and fast opening. Razor sharp. Descent metal. Stonewashed blade makes it less reflective. A work or outdoor knife, not an EDC, feels heavy in pocket, size is a medium++. Handle needs to be fully textured.
Kershaw 1965 Rove Assisted Flipper Knife 3.3" Stonewashed Drop Point Blade, Zytel Handles
4 out of 5
Ed
TX
Nov 05, 2018
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Blade Material
new EDC
I really liked the blade shape so purchased 2 of these. The first one I unboxed was dull. I found the blade rough so it took some swipes on my sharpmaker to bring it up to speed. The second one was way better. I've carried the 'dull' one since receiving it. Used it to open a shrink wrapped package of ribs and slice it into smaller sections. The blade shape worked very well on the plastic and meat. I wish it had better steel such as 14c28n. I don't know how well the knife steel will hold up. I've had some 8cr13mov blades rust very easily so I will have to wait to see.
Kershaw 1965 Rove Assisted Flipper Knife 3.3" Stonewashed Drop Point Blade, Zytel Handles
4 out of 5
Hunter R.
Florida
Dec 29, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Material, Lock Type, None
Great Knife
Amazing knife; does what if needs to do. Kershaw just needs to upgrade the blade material to something other than 8Cr13MoV and make the knife a frame lock.
Kershaw 1965 Rove Assisted Flipper Knife 3.3" Stonewashed Drop Point Blade, Zytel Handles
4 out of 5
Jay R
Memphis, Tn
Jun 19, 2019
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Feel
Treasure Tea Rove Price
I own a lot of Kershaws. I got two of these when I ordered. At this price, how could I lose? I found out the answer to that with a few knife purchases, but not Kershaws. Should I Launch into the wonderfulness of this cheap Chinese cuchilla? Nah! Or some of the mid grade knives? I gotta' take a Leek. If there is one thing I am not crazy about, it is the fact that the handles feel cheap. Surprise! Surprise! Surprise! I have not regrets about buying this. Or these. It continues to be a great bargain. I got mine for this price 8 months ago.