Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles

Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles rated 4.722 stars out of 5 (36 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
28
4 star
6
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25 inch Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles

 

Price: $29.95

Save $22.54 (43%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Russell Mcfa
EL DORADO, AR
Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None
GREAT KNIFE FOR DAILY USE. GOOD QUALITY FOR THE PRICE.
PURCHASED FOR EVERY DAY USE. EASE OF USE AND HANDLING IS VERY GOOD. LIKE THE EASY OPEN OPTIONS AND POCKET CLIP FOR CARRYING. GOOD QUALITY KNIFE FOR THE PRICE.
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Frank
Lopez
Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Russell
Winnie, TX
Feb 18, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Excellent Knife
I'm mainly a Old Timer guy but I got this as a bundle deal for my groomsmen and I have to say its one of the best knives I've owned. Seriously consider owning a Kershaw, it'll be worth it.
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hump
NORTH DAKOTA
Nov 25, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Material, None
Tough
This knife is awesome. You have to remember that it's a $25 knife. So as far as that is concerned, the blade may need to be Resharpened often. I'm perfectly fine with that. So what, the blade is a little soft, this thing is tough. I've used it as a screw driver and Resharpened it back up to new again and again. It holds its edge for about a solid week of use. I use this thing nearly everyday. I love it. It's thin, tough, and the 4 pocket clip locations make it a good buy for any carrying option.
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill W
Fort Worth Texas USA
May 02, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great and Handy Knife ~
I have a few Tanto Blade Folders Kershaw 1990 Tanto is great for everyday tasks. It came Extremely sharp. Its is good in the hand and the speed open is very quick. I am very pleased with its overall Performance.
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alex E.
Atlanta, Ga
Aug 03, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Matches description exactly. Has a great light weight feel and sturdy construction, and of course a very sharp blade. Really enjoy the speed safe as well. The clip is a bit tight though.
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Shane
Fayetteville, NC
Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great knife for the price!
I use this knife as an everyday carry knife. It opens easily. It is sharp out the box. The handle has a nice feel. Its solid, well formed and fits my medium sized hand well.
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Reptile
California
Mar 08, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Sheath, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Good little knife.
pros. -Sturdy knife. -Comes extremely sharp. -Rear opener is very smooth. -Pocket clip is attachable in any position. tip up/ down, left/ right. cons. -Thumb stud is difficult to use. -Handle is a little to short for my hand. -Pocket clip is short and very, very stiff. Difficult to clip to pants without working the clip a little bit beforehand. Overall probably best knife I've owned.
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cosmikdebris
NJ
Feb 21, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great Knife
Strong, sharp and dependable. What else do you want?
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zach
Pennsylvania
Mar 15, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
great knife great price
Awesome knife not too heavy not too light that it feels cheap I have used it on a daily basis and the blade takes an edge with ease an d holds it just as well and the assisted open on this knife works flawlessly and well especially compared to other brands of knives that I used to favor until I purchased this one I recommend this knife to anyone who wants a quality knife that's easy to open, easy to sharpen, and will hold up for a long time
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zatada22
United States
Jun 12, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great carry
I carry 6 different blades with me and this one jumped up the pack to one of my everyday carries. It is great in the summer with shorts doesn't show and is thin enough not to bother you in your pocket. Really great pick up for the price.
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
William F D
Alabama
Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Kershaw 1990 Brawler
Everyday carry and had owned one before.
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Frank B.
Orange
Jul 17, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Bad A## folder
The smooth opening, ease and speed of operation are amazing. I use it every day. this is a first class working blade!
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ghent
Ohio, USA
Jan 30, 2018
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Amazing knife
My good friend got this knife as his first REAL knife a couple years ago, amazing knife, dropped in a mud puddle in below freezing weather and couldn't find and it was dark so we went inside and waited till the next day. Got it out, cleaned it, let it dry, back to normal and functioning great. only problem is the blade is somewhat loose but just needs tightened down, but the flipper is sorta small.
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
U.S.A
Sep 08, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Great knife!
I love everything about it except for one thing... The pocket clip it comes a little tight still usable though so it's a great knife and not too heavy for a Speedsafe.
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ray
San Francisco, Ca
May 02, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Knife
Great comfortable grip. Spring assist works amazing.
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andrew
New Jersey
Nov 25, 2012
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: None
Great Budget Knife
I would like to point out that those aren't thumb studs, they're lock pins. You're not supposed to use them to open the knife, they stop the blade from opening too far. notice how they hit the handle in the groove. The knife is made to use the flipper. This is a great knife for a great price. Well built and sturdy. It wasn't as sharp as my other Kershaws from the factory, but it was easy to put a good edge on it. The pocket clip is a little short, but very tight. this knife isn't going anywhere. I'd recommend it to anyone.
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marco P
Pennsylvania
Feb 03, 2015
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Nice knife for the price.
This is a handy knife to carry around. It's a nice size and easily fits in your pocket. I feel the tanto style blade is a little more durable for general use. The quality is very good for such a reasonably priced knife. I wish it would have come with a sheath, but you can always order that separately.
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Herb
Texas
Nov 03, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Beautiful knife.
Wonderful everyday carry knife. Very fast open. Razor sharp and quality materials throughout. Excellent pricing. Highly recommended.
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Derek
Kentucky
Apr 03, 2015
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
NICE Knife
Great every day knife
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jack K.
Central MA
May 29, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Great every day knife
Sturdy well built knife. Thumb studs difficult to use.
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Don
Florida
Feb 24, 2016
Pros: Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Lock Ease of Use
Cons: None
Love this knife !
Well made, very sharp, the blade assist is quick and easy.I like the knife so much I ordered one for my brother am ordering another for myself.
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cory F.
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 30, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Carry it every day, unbelievable knife
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom Vestal
Paradise , California
Jun 22, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: None
1990 Kershaw Speed Safe Brawler
Just bought a Kershaw today ! Love it love it love it ! Only thing I would love even more is if it were made in the USA !!! lol Just saying
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jay
Arizona
Sep 30, 2013
Pros: Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Another great Kershaw knife
Love this knife, great for work, easy carry, not too bulky. Nice aggressive look and fits the hand well, easy open with thumb stud or flip assist. Good quality and very sharp.
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Horm2124
Beaver dam KY
Aug 13, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Reliable knife. Will not let you down.
I've carries one of these knifes for going on two years now and I'm not that nice to my knifes. I've destroyed a gerber and to SOGs (was not very hard) I work at a junk yard so I use my knifes for everything from cutting hoses to minor prying and yes even as a screw driver every now and then. I use my brawler come rain or shine and it has never let me down. Blade steel is a bit on the soft side. But that's a plus for me. Makes it easy to grind it back to a good edge after I chip the he** out of this thing. I bought another one because the blade is just getting to skinny from regrinding.
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jvogel
SB,ca
Dec 28, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip
BBBRAWLER
Great heavy duty knife. Fast trigger and a thick blade.
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Natural-Outlaw
Northern Wisconsin
Jun 01, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Well Built Knife
This knife is very strongly built from handle to tip. The blade is quite thick and has a reinforced tanto point for penetration strength. I find the geometry of the slightly curved point very interesting and functional. It opens quickly with both the flipper and the thumb stud. I did not find any problem opening it with the thumb stud as others have mentioned.
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ed L.
Phoenix, AZ
Nov 21, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Decent knife at a great price
This knife comes VERY sharp, shave ready. (Pros) - The Speedsafe is the absolute best and opens lighting quick. I like the blade shape, great tanto design, but unlike most tantos it has a curve to the tip. The handles on the knife not only look cool, but also have good texture. (Cons) - This knife is VERY thick in width. I have some knives that have a 4'' blade and are just as thick in width as this small 3'' blade. You can feel the bulk in your pocket. I also do not like the pocket clip, too small. Overall, it is a cool looking knife with an excellent and unique tanto blade shape. If you buy this knife you will not be dissapointed. Can't go wrong with a Kershaw.
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joe J
Layton Utah
Dec 29, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, Handle Feel, None
good small knife
This is a nice little knife. Kershaws usual well built knife. I just don't like how wide the handle is for how small the overall knife is. If you like a fat little knife then you'll probably love this one.
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
John
NYC, NY
Feb 28, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
light, good action
For it's price and what you get, this is an excellent folding knife. The spring assist has really good action, and it's lightweight. The handle is also really nice and sturdy, and has a good weight to it, unlike most folding knives at this size which feel light and low quality. pocket clip also just makes everything better.
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chris
Hutchinson, Ks
Jul 02, 2013
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Pretty decent overall.
I use this Brawler as an everyday knife: opening boxes, toy packaging for kids, working on lawn equipment...things like that. The straight edge is sharpened perfectly but the Tanto edge is not sharp at all. The very point of the knife is great for getting started but that Tanto edge is lacking. I like the look and feel of the knife. And really like that the pocket clip can be moved to all four edges to account for your preferred method of carrying. Nice touch. I would rate this knife 8 out of 10 and for being a $25 knife that is pretty good. I normally carry a CRKT M16 Tanto but I keep losing them at a rate of 1 every two years. LoL. So I thought I would give this lower price knife a try. After I learn to sharpen a blade I'm sure I will fully enjoy this knife till I lose it too.
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Anthony T
Albany, Ny
Aug 10, 2013
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Pocket Clip
Best of the Chinese kershaws
Upon opening this knife it was hair shaving sharp, the knife has excellent texturing on the handle for grip as well as a little bit of jimping on the spine and liner of the knife. When using the flipper the deployment was fast and strong, though the thumb stud is USELESS, do not even bother using it. I've deployed it with the thumb stud maybe 4 times after trying ALOT. The handle material isnt too good, though the steel liner keeps the knife in check, the pocket clip was too tight at the end i had trouble clipping it on my pants. Overall this knife is a good buy, i would recommend it.
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bill N
Florida
Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use
Great value and quality
Everyday carry knife, good quality as always and sharp from the box. The only negative if there is one the blade release seems set deeper making it right to unlock the blade in order to close it. Great knife for the price.
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Michael
NC
Apr 06, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
Good with a fault
Got it as a general purpose tanto blade, for that it is a solid weight, easy open, practical knife. However it arrived with zero edge, I could not even shave any hair off my arm with it, was highly disappointed with the fact I had to get out the sharpening kit on a brand new knife.
Kershaw 1990 Brawler Assisted Flipper 3.25" Black Plain Tanto Blade, Black GFN Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Ted
CT
Sep 18, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Lock Type, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening
Not a fan
Nice and stealthy but not a fan of the smallish lever to open the blade. Pocket clip is on the small side as well.