Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw 3812 Thistle Folding Knife 3.25" Stonewash Plain Blade, GFN Handles

Kershaw 3812 Thistle Folding Knife 3.25" Stonewash Plain Blade, GFN Handlesrated 4.187 stars out of 5 (16 reviews)
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
2
1 star
0
Kershaw 3812 Thistle Folding Knife 3.25 inch Stonewash Plain Blade, GFN Handles

 

Price: $14.95

Save $25.04 (63%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw 3812 Thistle Folding Knife 3.25" Stonewash Plain Blade, GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steven
Arizona
Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Very satisfied.
I have always carried a folding knife of one type or another and find a use for one most every day, for one task or another. The Kershaw Thistle in the latest in a line of Kershaw I have purchased and have found all of them to be well built, durable and comfortable in the hand.
Kershaw 3812 Thistle Folding Knife 3.25" Stonewash Plain Blade, GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sean
Portland, OR
Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
The Perfect Deisgn
I use this as my go-to EDC. It was an absolute bargain at under $30 at KC. The handle, although made w/ inexpensive materials, fits perfectly and the knife just feels right in the hand. The blade has a nice healthy belly for lots of cutting area and power. Me Like!!
Kershaw 3812 Thistle Folding Knife 3.25" Stonewash Plain Blade, GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stan K
NY
May 29, 2018
Pros: Handle Feel
Cons: None
Nice everyday knife
Nice knife. Button release takes a bit to get used to as you need to release it to close blade.
Kershaw 3812 Thistle Folding Knife 3.25" Stonewash Plain Blade, GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe V
Virginia
Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: None
Nice Knife While I Had It
Great knife with a unique lock. So simple the my wife fell in love with the knife. Now I suppose I am going to have to purchase another one for myself. Although I am typically not found on pocket clips, the fact that this has one that is reversible was a plus as the wife is left handed.
Kershaw 3812 Thistle Folding Knife 3.25" Stonewash Plain Blade, GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mhh40
Michigan
Dec 22, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Solid knife
Good solid knife came razor sharp out of the box. Like the push button release and the thick blade. Great knife for the price. I've used it several times for cutting various materials from cardboard to leather and works great.
Kershaw 3812 Thistle Folding Knife 3.25" Stonewash Plain Blade, GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charlie
New Jersey
Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great and SHARP
Easy to open and close, sharp and the blade is wide.
Kershaw 3812 Thistle Folding Knife 3.25" Stonewash Plain Blade, GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Swd
mid west
Jan 25, 2018
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
sharp
came very sharp, good grind on blade geometry nice feel in hand easy to open and close
Kershaw 3812 Thistle Folding Knife 3.25" Stonewash Plain Blade, GFN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Beaugun
San Fernando Valley, CA
May 13, 2018
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Sheath, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
inexpensive great knife
Super blade and what a great look with the stonewash finish. I only use it for slicing and it is great. But it does take some use to get the old memory reflex to get use to the very safe release button. The pocket clip was a little too tight so I opened it up a little and now it's perfect. Thanks Kershaw!
Kershaw 3812 Thistle Folding Knife 3.25" Stonewash Plain Blade, GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jared
spartanburg sc
Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Lock Type
not bad
This knife is a steal at 15 bucks! I guarantee that you will not find a better quality knife for that price. The only thing I would change is the push button release. It should just be a regular liner lock. If this is an edc knife then you'll get used to it. Awesome for the price. Also blade comes razor sharp
Kershaw 3812 Thistle Folding Knife 3.25" Stonewash Plain Blade, GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Finchucksr
Weat Milford, NJ
Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip
Nice knife for the money
Blade has a cool looking stone washed finish. The quality is very good. it's a perfect EDC.
Kershaw 3812 Thistle Folding Knife 3.25" Stonewash Plain Blade, GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
David A
Texas
Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
kershaw 3812 thistle
Good edc knife, not to big. Good value for the money.
Kershaw 3812 Thistle Folding Knife 3.25" Stonewash Plain Blade, GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
David A
Missouri
Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Kershaw 3812
I own several knifes I rate this one near the top, the feel and balance are very good, it is sharp out of the package but I like mine to shave and a little work got it there, the blade release works good, I bought my son one but his has opened twice in his pocket not good, mine has not works good, I like the look of the instrument also.price was outstandingly great.
Kershaw 3812 Thistle Folding Knife 3.25" Stonewash Plain Blade, GFN Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chris
Canada
Jul 03, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, None
One of my favorites!
So IMO this is a really cool and affordable knife from Kershaw. The blade shape is excellent for utility and food prep and I'm very happy that it's manual opening! The one issue I had with mine was that the pivot kept coming loose. You will need to "lock tight" the pivot and it is made with a screw on both ends! Besides the pivot, the Thistle is one of the best value knives I've handled. I like it more than many of my higher end blades.
Kershaw 3812 Thistle Folding Knife 3.25" Stonewash Plain Blade, GFN Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Vm
CA
May 31, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Weight, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening
Dumb Push button release
Good for the price. Nice blade shape. Plastic handles feel a little cheap and there should be more relief to engage the thumb stud. I filed a little plastic off making it flip much easier. Lockup is solid but there is a little side-to-side flex due to teflon washers. The push-button release is more of a gimmick and makes closing a little clumsy. You press the release and close the blade but pressing just the right amount to release the lock will only allow the blade to close about half way before the blade hits another stop. You have to release the button to fully close from this point. You can also just press the button and close to the point where the lockbar is disengaged then release the button then close the blade. This push button garbage is the answer to a non problem. The knife already has a liner lock but it is designed to be release with a push button that gets in the path of the closing blade.
Kershaw 3812 Thistle Folding Knife 3.25" Stonewash Plain Blade, GFN Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Hunter
Washington
Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Terrible Lock Placement
If you wish to use this knife be very careful. If you are trying to open something difficult, you may accidentally press the button and have the knife close on your hand, which is what happened to me. A couple stitches later I still enjoy the general feel and shape of the blade, but I would not recommend buying this blade to anyone who cares about keeping their fingers.
Kershaw 3812 Thistle Folding Knife 3.25" Stonewash Plain Blade, GFN Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Shane
Alabama
Jan 01, 2016
Pros: Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Dislike lock
This knife would be a really good knife if not for the locking mechanism. It opens well, takes a good edge, and is well built. The blade shape lends its self to everyday cutting chores. I wanted to try this knife as something I could use for camping, especially for food prep. The button on the side feels weird in the hand. I was able, using different holds and hand placement, to disengage the lock. Under hard use I would not trust it. Also, the thumb studs protrude too much, making sharpening the edge closest to the hinge difficult. If this was a liner lock it would be awesome. As it is, it would make a good letter opener. A disappointing offering from Kershaw, a bad design.