Reviews and Ratings for Kershaw Emerson 6054BRNBLK CQC-4K Folding Knife 3.25" Black Blade, Brown G10 and Stainless Steel Handle

Kershaw Emerson 6054BRNBLK CQC-4K Folding Knife 3.25" Black Blade, Brown G10 and Stainless Steel Handlerated 3.727 stars out of 5 (22 reviews)
3.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
3
1 star
3
Kershaw Emerson 6054BRNBLK CQC-4K Folding Knife 3.25 inch Black Blade, Brown G10 and Stainless Steel Handle

 

Price: $38.95

Save $22.25 (36%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kershaw Emerson 6054BRNBLK CQC-4K Folding Knife 3.25" Black Blade, Brown G10 and Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Daniel
Texas
Aug 04, 2014
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
love it!
I have been a Kershaw fan for many years and this is another great knife from them. Very sharp right out of the box, has a nice profile and design both open and closed. This knife feels good in your hands and will serve you well for many years.
Kershaw Emerson 6054BRNBLK CQC-4K Folding Knife 3.25" Black Blade, Brown G10 and Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
C Mac
Lancaster, Pa
Feb 07, 2019
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Superb!
Kershaw Emerson CQC-4K is the best EDC frame lock I’ve carried in some time, hands down. The weight is perfect. The deployment is swift and stealthy bar none. For the price of this frame lock, the quality and practicality are impeccable. It will be some time before I replace this knife.
Kershaw Emerson 6054BRNBLK CQC-4K Folding Knife 3.25" Black Blade, Brown G10 and Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ian
Ohio
Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Nice knife
This is my edc knife (I live and work on a farm, this knife gets USED daily). Works the way its supposed to. Holds an edge OK and is easy enough to sharpen . It came with an extra set of screws for the clip if you're a south paw.
Kershaw Emerson 6054BRNBLK CQC-4K Folding Knife 3.25" Black Blade, Brown G10 and Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Migs
California
Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great knife, worth adding to the collection!
Always have wanted an emerson designed knife and now I have one! Sharp out of the box and feels pretty sturdy for the smaller 3 inch knife... the draw on this blade is lighting fast and a little stuff out of the box... with a few pills and resets this knife works amazing! Have already gotten great comments from having it!
Kershaw Emerson 6054BRNBLK CQC-4K Folding Knife 3.25" Black Blade, Brown G10 and Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Luigi
canada
Jul 04, 2017
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material
Cons: None
Kershaw Emerson
love it for the price you can't find better
Kershaw Emerson 6054BRNBLK CQC-4K Folding Knife 3.25" Black Blade, Brown G10 and Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Frankiej
Prospect Park, Pa
Jan 14, 2019
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Favorite Knife/ New EDC
Been in my pocket, or my hnd since I got it. Can't afford a real Emerson so this is great, can't go wrong with Kershaw in my eyes. I'm not a crazy steel snob like some people out there, this seems decent enough razor sharp, holding its edge pretty well, and I've used it to cut through an extension cord, boxes, and a day of opening rock salt bags, all in all holding a nice edge and no corrosion from the salt (I did oil at end of snow day) I'm probably gonna get the XL soon wish it came with black blade.( coating helps fight corrosion, and looks better to me) Just wish they used flat screws like Emerson does instead of the button head ones. And wave opener is awesome lightning quick, and convenient knife comes outta pocket ready to go, and clip is functional and looks great in pocket
Kershaw Emerson 6054BRNBLK CQC-4K Folding Knife 3.25" Black Blade, Brown G10 and Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kh
va
Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Weight, Handle Feel, Lock Ease of Use
Cons: None
Nice
OK It's not American made- but the price is reasonable and it's still a great knife
Kershaw Emerson 6054BRNBLK CQC-4K Folding Knife 3.25" Black Blade, Brown G10 and Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Colin M
West. Columbia, South Carolina
Jun 08, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Weight
Excellent
The product is very sharp at first. I wish the knife could be eay to handle with the left hand.
Kershaw Emerson 6054BRNBLK CQC-4K Folding Knife 3.25" Black Blade, Brown G10 and Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Adam
georgia
Sep 05, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
kershaw emerson
I own several knives this is one of my favorite and sharpest. It holds a great edge and keep up with my s30v knives :)
Kershaw Emerson 6054BRNBLK CQC-4K Folding Knife 3.25" Black Blade, Brown G10 and Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim
Baton Rouge
Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Fantastic value
Exactly what I was expecting - this is a real value - no "real" Emerson - but more than happy at this price point
Kershaw Emerson 6054BRNBLK CQC-4K Folding Knife 3.25" Black Blade, Brown G10 and Stainless Steel Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
John N.
Overseas
Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Of the three Emerson designed Kershaws that I bought pre-release, the CQC-4K has the best balance between size, weight, and profile. The stainless back side and G10 presentation side scales provide good balance and grip. 8Cr14MoV is a good steel, similar to AUS-8: from stone to strop to work in hand, I feel the two steels are equal. I'm not sure the wave-shaped feature is really my thing, but that's Emerson's trademark. It provides a nice thumb rest, even though the pocket-snag opening concept is a little shady from a safety standpoint. The disc is no substitute for a thumb stud, but that's also a matter of opinion. A drop of oil and a fine-tune with a Torx bit makes the pivot solid and smooth. All in all, this is a great carry knife, well-made, and way easy on the wallet.
Kershaw Emerson 6054BRNBLK CQC-4K Folding Knife 3.25" Black Blade, Brown G10 and Stainless Steel Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Robert W. D
Fries, Va
Oct 17, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
I love mine
This knife is compact but has a great blade shape. The "Wave" feature takes some practice but makes deployment a lightning quick operation. Buy this knife you will not regret it. Its cheap enough to get one for you and one for a loved one.
Kershaw Emerson 6054BRNBLK CQC-4K Folding Knife 3.25" Black Blade, Brown G10 and Stainless Steel Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Matt
MD
Jul 07, 2014
Pros: Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Feel, Lock Type, None
Decent EDC for average Joe
Quick break in, good finish and has held up well for the first month of use and abuse. Great EDC carry knife without breaking the bank.... Not worried about using and abusing it. At this price point I would not hesitate to purchase again, great product. Really wish there was a second G10 scale, or an option for one, not really a fan of the frame lock and would prefer it as a beefy liner lock. Dream combo would marry this up with an Axis lock and scales on both sides.
Kershaw Emerson 6054BRNBLK CQC-4K Folding Knife 3.25" Black Blade, Brown G10 and Stainless Steel Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chris
Usvi
Aug 26, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Great bang for the buck
Great knife. It's a design by Emerson including the wave feature but without the Emerson price tag. Keyshawn makes pretty decent knives anyhow and together they have made a great value on a really nice design.
Kershaw Emerson 6054BRNBLK CQC-4K Folding Knife 3.25" Black Blade, Brown G10 and Stainless Steel Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
John S.
Wilmington, DE
Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Well made
Its a well made quality knife. My only complaint is how hard it is to open using the disc, its just too tight.
Kershaw Emerson 6054BRNBLK CQC-4K Folding Knife 3.25" Black Blade, Brown G10 and Stainless Steel Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Steve
The Woodlands, Tx
Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: Overall Quality, None
Quality Control Issues
Knife had deep scratches on the stainless steel side of the handle and the tumb disk was not screwed all the way down to the blade, you can see the treads between the blade and the tumb disk. My example looks rushed to market. Might try another emerson/kershaw once some time has passed for production to not be so rushed.
Kershaw Emerson 6054BRNBLK CQC-4K Folding Knife 3.25" Black Blade, Brown G10 and Stainless Steel Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
David
Fort Wayne, IN
Sep 03, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Nice knife, but not if you are left handed.
Decent knife, reasonable edge holding ability. My problem is that I am left handed and the knife is not really reversible. Kershaw does not provide screws that are long enough for the side with a scale. Kershaw is aware or this problem and has not addressed it. Not recommended for leftys. Also the handle end is sharp enough to be uncomfortable in the hand. Two minutes with a belt sander fixed it, but such modifications should not be necessary.
Kershaw Emerson 6054BRNBLK CQC-4K Folding Knife 3.25" Black Blade, Brown G10 and Stainless Steel Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Nutn
Texas
Sep 23, 2014
Pros:
Cons:
Poor qaulity hardware
The screws they use to put this knife together are about as soft as an old man, so dont think about trying to change the clip position.
Kershaw Emerson 6054BRNBLK CQC-4K Folding Knife 3.25" Black Blade, Brown G10 and Stainless Steel Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Andrew
Apr 03, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Meh...
Not their best effort by a long shot. The overall aesthetics are really nice. Too small and the pocket clip is so damn stiff, you can't pocket it without using force. It will tear your pants up. Does not open easily at all, very stiff action which is NOT like Kershaw. Would have been upset if I paid anymore than I did.
Kershaw Emerson 6054BRNBLK CQC-4K Folding Knife 3.25" Black Blade, Brown G10 and Stainless Steel Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
Bill S
Phoenix, Az
Jun 17, 2014
Pros:
Cons:
China!
I'll stick with a real American made Emerson!
Kershaw Emerson 6054BRNBLK CQC-4K Folding Knife 3.25" Black Blade, Brown G10 and Stainless Steel Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
Miketheknife
costa mesa, ca
Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening
terribly designed opener because...
The problem is the pocket clip is too tight and too close to the end of the knife. To get it to open your right thumb is on the inside, your index finger on the back of the knife and middle finger on the outside where the pocket clip is located about 5/8th of an inch below the end of the knife. So you pinch the end of the knife and try to keep your ring and pinkie fingers out of the way as you pull the knife backward over the pocket edge to try and get it to open cleanly. First I used plenty of teflon spray by Remington and multliple open and closings to try and get it to open easily. But the too tight pocket clip needed a screwdriver to pry it a little loser. I didn't unscrew the clip because another review said the screws are too short. Bottom line the cool factor will only work well on heavy duty pants and what is the purpose of pulling out a knife with finger tips and risk it flying through the air or tearing your pocket? Get a flipper and be flippin cool..miketheknife. .
Kershaw Emerson 6054BRNBLK CQC-4K Folding Knife 3.25" Black Blade, Brown G10 and Stainless Steel Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
Joe
Glendale, Ca
Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Do not waste your money!
I just bought one. The screws are completely impossible to mount on the left side- too short. Cosmetically it's beautiful. However, you're better off waiting for the ZT lineup. The steel is meh. The screws will strip if you try to undo them. I can see why it's at this price point. You're better off with a byrd. The G10 isn't really even G10. Not at all what I was expecting from kershaw... Returning it ASAP