Reviews and Ratings for Kizer Cutlery Ki3471 Ray Laconico Gemini Flipper 3.125" S35VN Stonewashed Blade, Titanium Handles

Kizer Cutlery Ki3471 Ray Laconico Gemini Flipper 3.125" S35VN Stonewashed Blade, Titanium Handlesrated 4.467 stars out of 5 (15 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
2
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Kizer Cutlery Ki3471 Ray Laconico Gemini Flipper 3.125 inch S35VN Stonewashed Blade, Titanium Handles

 

Price: $170.00

Save $46.00 (21%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Kizer Cutlery Ki3471 Ray Laconico Gemini Flipper 3.125" S35VN Stonewashed Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
R. Davis
KENTUCKY
Jan 25, 2016
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Knife
Very good features for a knife in this price range.
Kizer Cutlery Ki3471 Ray Laconico Gemini Flipper 3.125" S35VN Stonewashed Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rick R
North Lake Tahoe
Oct 06, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Flawless execution and the perfect EDC
I've had my Kizer Gemini for a week now. Thank you, Knife Center! In a nut shell: The F&F possibly make this folder the most flawless knife I have ever owned out of hundreds over the years. I've had a few with nary a flaw before but it's rare. I can't find anything wrong with this knife! The flipper action and detent are perfect The blade is DEAD center The stone washing on the blade is even and consistent The size and weight are perfect for EDC The machining is spotless Lockup is early and solid in all directions The lockbar releases with precision The blast finish on the scales lends a really secure grip I'm delighted with this knife!
Kizer Cutlery Ki3471 Ray Laconico Gemini Flipper 3.125" S35VN Stonewashed Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jerry H
Texas
Jan 29, 2018
Pros: None
Cons: None
Really nice
This is a really nice budget knife. The cutting performance of the s35vn blade is outstanding. I can't keep it out of my pocket. The flipping action is better than the Dukes and that is saying a lot.
Kizer Cutlery Ki3471 Ray Laconico Gemini Flipper 3.125" S35VN Stonewashed Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bruce
City of the Fallen Angel
Oct 22, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
A fitting production knife from a gifted designer
I had the good fortune of meeting Ray Laconico at the Southern California Blade Expo a few years ago. I purchased a custom Slim EDC knife from him at that time and it's become one of jewels of my collection. The Kizer Laconico Gemini is a production version of Ray's Small Jasmine flipper and it's exceptionally well-made. I can't find a single thing wrong with my example. It flips effortlessly with no wrist flick required. The blade locks up tight with no up-and-down or side-to-side play and centers perfectly when the knife is closed. I have several Kizers and the Gemini is the best one by far.
Kizer Cutlery Ki3471 Ray Laconico Gemini Flipper 3.125" S35VN Stonewashed Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John L
South Elgin, Il
Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Love Kizer Knifesv
Have several other Kizer knives that were on sale in the $80 range. Nothing for the money was as good. These are are hard use edc knives. This Ray Laconico opens smoothly ,quickly,solidly.The blue fasteners really pop. The handle is shaped and sized well for my hands. S35VN takes and holds an edge quite well and sharpens readily on diamond stones The packageing is truly over the top. To wit:Abox,Gift box,Azipper pouch,and a micro fiber wipe clothe. Very please withe Kizer cutlery Products.
Kizer Cutlery Ki3471 Ray Laconico Gemini Flipper 3.125" S35VN Stonewashed Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jake
West Virginia
Oct 02, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Gemini vs Small Sebenza and Mantis Prototype
I first saw this knife at Kizer's booth at Blade show this year. It was my first trip to Blade, and didn't know what to expect. I handled nearly every knife they had out and fell in love with this one. It's beautiful in a simple way, not to flashy, but clearly something special. I would have bought this knife right there, but when I asked the price the Kizer rep told me it was a prototype, and would be available in September for around $200. Disappointingly, I jotted down the name and price and moved on. I ended up bringing home a dozen or so other knives from Blade, including two that are comparable to this one: a Chris Reeve small Sebenza, and a prototype Mantis Polar Ice. The Mantis was $200, and the decked out Sebenza was well over twice that. Both are high-end titanium handle frame lock folders of similar size. Like a giddy school kid, I met the mailman at his car to get my package the day the Gemini arrived. It is a Ray Laconico design, he calls the custom version the Jasmine. After carrying and fondling the Gemini for a time, I went to the case to pull out the Sebenza and Polar Ice for a side by side review. Blade Steel: The Gemini and Sebenza tie with cpm S35VN Blade Centering: Both Gemini and Sebenza are dead center when closed. Blade Shape: Depends on use, but advantage to Gemini for an EDC blade, it's a wider full flat grind drop point with a nice belly, I'd give advantage to the other two for a defensive role, just not in deployment Blade Deployment: Big advantage to the Gemini for the smooth but tight and fast flipper. It opens like my ZT 0566 which is spring assisted. Locking Mechanism: Advantage Gemini for incorporating both an over-travel and replaceable steel insert (to prevent titanium to steel lockup)The over travel bar is in the interior, a nice touch I think. Carry Orientation: Here I have to give advantage to the Polar Ice for the tip down carry. The Gemini is tip up only. If you prefer tip up, not an issue. Sebenza is tip up too. Pocket Clip: Advantage Sebenza, it's a single screw but it's recessed into the handle. The Gemini clip is more than adequate however, and anodized blue, another nice touch. The Polar Ice clip is deep carry, but longer than it needs to be. Personally, I feel deep carry clips make the knife harder to drawl too. Pivot System: Advantage Gemini, ball bearing system, it's noticeably smoother than the other two. Manufacturing Quality: Slight advantage to the Sebenza, cannot find an issue. The only issue I found on the Gemini is one side of the anodized pivot screw has a small imperfection, a discoloration in the blue. Blade sharpness: All three came hair shaving sharp, but with a little pressue. Summary: It's a great knife, and a insanely good value that will be hard to duplicate. Kizer and Ray Laconico did a great job. BTW the Kizer rep I met at Blade show followed up with me about the kife's availability 3 time's over 3 months from half a world away over a 170 knife, great service. Meanwhile I can't get my local hvac man to return my call....
Kizer Cutlery Ki3471 Ray Laconico Gemini Flipper 3.125" S35VN Stonewashed Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ed M
Roanoke, Va
Nov 05, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
love my Gemini
This knife is very well made. Fit and finish is prefect. Its size is excellent for every day chores without being obtrusive. It is light, making it very easy to carry with any thing I wear. The blade was very sharp right it of the box. Of all my smaller knives, this one is by far my favorite. The only thing I found that could have been done a little better would have been the inclusion of a slight cutout for the thumb on the non lock bar side of the knife to make it easier to close one handed.
Kizer Cutlery Ki3471 Ray Laconico Gemini Flipper 3.125" S35VN Stonewashed Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
David
Ft Lauderdale, Fl
Mar 24, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Very nice Kizer Genini
After reading the reviews on the Kizer Gemini, and looking at the pics and specs, I had to have one. I just received my Kizer and it is extremely a nice blade. Like any review I read, you can not compare a nice to another, they are all different and unique to its own brand. It is not a sebenza but it does its work. I recommend this blade. The flipper is smooth just like the titanium handle. The blue anodized screws give it a touch. I ordered a spartan bead with Paracord and custom painted the bead blue anodized to match the Kizer.
Kizer Cutlery Ki3471 Ray Laconico Gemini Flipper 3.125" S35VN Stonewashed Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark
Austin, Tx
Nov 05, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Awesome knife
I have started using this knife as my daily carry... I find it easy to pull out, spill out the blade, and it feels very nice in my hand. The textured Titanium handles are very nice on the palm. It operates very smoothly, the blade is very sharp and keeps an edge very well. It is very nicely made, the blade is centered in the body and has a beautiful look to the whole package. I enjoy the weight to size as it is light, but a mid sized knife. If you are looking for a quality knife with great attributes, this one is a great fit!
Kizer Cutlery Ki3471 Ray Laconico Gemini Flipper 3.125" S35VN Stonewashed Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
William
Henderson, Ny
Jun 27, 2018
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Elegant
Kizer does so many things right in their manufacturing of knives not the least of which is using great designers like Ray Laconico. Such a clean & unadorned look combined with excellent ergos, great materials, and top notch quality makes for a wonderful knife. Great value too. Far from the sharpest knife out of the box that I’ve ever bought but a short amount of time on a KME made it a super slicer.
Kizer Cutlery Ki3471 Ray Laconico Gemini Flipper 3.125" S35VN Stonewashed Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Antonio M
Barcelona, Other
Feb 16, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Very nice knife
Nice flipper. I expected a little more after reading some reviews and according to the price, but it is good overall. Beautiful, good fit and finish. Just a couple of issues: -Mine came with a less than razor blade edge. It barely cut paper and needed some work to get hair popping. -It also came, not dirty but literally grimy. I spent one hour cleaning the handles with water, soap, alcohol, etc to get rid of the dirty layer, and did not get perfect. Out if this, a nice and enjoyable knife, a little overpriced.
Kizer Cutlery Ki3471 Ray Laconico Gemini Flipper 3.125" S35VN Stonewashed Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brett
Salt Lake City, Utah
Nov 13, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Overall Quality, None
Almost 5-Stars
Like several reviewers here, I own multiple Kizer knives and use them as working blades for EDC. I like the value proposition of high-end materials at a reasonable price. The Laconico really has a nice feel and the finishes on both the blade and handle are excellent. The pivot is outstanding and smooth, and this thing fires cleanly every time. Frankly, Kizer still has a few issues with consistency and quality control and every one of their knives I own features a blemish or craftsmanship oversight. On my example of this model, the blue hardware is blemished almost like the pieces were resting against something during the finishing process. The grind on the blade is also a little uneven which is evident when viewed from the top. It's a really nice EDC with the materials and features of a knife that usually costs $100 more. If Kizer could iron out a few kinks in their final quality puzzle, they will be a 5-star brand.
Kizer Cutlery Ki3471 Ray Laconico Gemini Flipper 3.125" S35VN Stonewashed Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jonathan
Clairton, Pa
Jan 24, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip
Ok
Received the Gemini and I was excited from all of the reviews I've seen. Unfortunately my blade was off-center and there's nothing I can do to fix it. The pivot feels like they used red Loctite as it will not budge. I will be sending it back for replacement. Hopefully the second one will be perfect
Kizer Cutlery Ki3471 Ray Laconico Gemini Flipper 3.125" S35VN Stonewashed Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jed
West Yellowstone
Feb 15, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Overall Quality
Kizer Gemini...left me wanting...
I purchased the Kizer Gemini about one month ago and really wanted to love it. I know there is a lot of controversy over the fact that Kizer is made over seas and is China produced knives. Although I love to support USA knife companies, I know that quality can be produced in all corners of the world. So, recent I have invested in two China based knife companies: Reate and Kiser. I work outside, in the electrical industry. I am also involved with a lot of scouting and outdoor hobbies. I have a fair amount of user time with many knives. I really wanted to love this knife, because the fit and finish are executed very well. I also love the feel of this knife. Now for the negative...As stated by two other reviewers, my Gemini came considerably off-center. It was an act of congress to break the pivot screw loose. Even after lots of adjustments and tinkering, I could not get the blade centered. If this was a beater, it would not be a big deal. But, for almost two Franklins, this should not be an issue. This makes me sad, because I really did want to like the Gemini. I also own and use the Reate Torrent, Horrizon D, and Dark Hills. The Torrent and the Horrizon D are more than twice the price and can't really be compared. But the Reate Dark Hills is made fram the same handle titanium and S35V blade steel. They are both made in China. I purchased my Kizer Gemini for $170. I purchased my Reate Dark Hills for $175. For almost the exact same price, the Reate is head and heels far better quality. My advice: skip the Kizer. I hate reviewers that leave bad reviews that I feel are unjustified, but this is the experience that I had. I wish that it would have been different.
Kizer Cutlery Ki3471 Ray Laconico Gemini Flipper 3.125" S35VN Stonewashed Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Rob
Pittsburgh
Oct 12, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Very poor fit and finish on this one
I own many Kizers..Kane/Dorado x2/Flashbang and Gemini now. Being completely honest this one is easily the worst 'put together' of the group. Fresh out of the box, the blade was resting against the presentation side. There was so much locktite on the pivot threads that trying to tighten the pivot screw only rotated the whole pivot. Finally, after considerable work I was able to break the thread lock. It's still not centered. Also, the bottom standoffs are anchored on opposite sides. I use the term anchored because the screw heads are stripped, so that's where they're staying. Mine must have been made on a Friday afternoon. Positives are the size, the action, and the blade itself. There's a lot to like about the knife, and if mine arrived in the same condition my others Kizer's did, then this review would be nothing but glowing praise.