Reviews and Ratings for Lansky 4 Rod DeluxeTurnbox Crock Stick Sharpener - LCD5D

Lansky 4 Rod DeluxeTurnbox Crock Stick Sharpenerrated 4.692 stars out of 5 (26 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
18
4 star
8
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Lansky 4 Rod DeluxeTurnbox Crock Stick Sharpener

 

Price: $19.95

Save $7.04 (26%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Lansky 4 Rod DeluxeTurnbox Crock Stick Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rodney W.
Montalba, Tx
Apr 13, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great product !

I wish the rods were long. This is a great product. Extremely simple to use. I hunt and fish. I process my own game. This sharpener is everything I had hoped it would be.
Lansky 4 Rod DeluxeTurnbox Crock Stick Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nifcolecktr
PNW
Dec 22, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great for the $$

Simple and effective. Sharpening rods do a fine job and come beautifully accommodated.
Lansky 4 Rod DeluxeTurnbox Crock Stick Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Swestall
Plymouth, CT
May 11, 2010
Pros: Effectiveness
Cons: None

This Rocks

I have many pocket knives and others. This product let me put a nice edge on them in minutes; no complications and easy to use.
Lansky 4 Rod DeluxeTurnbox Crock Stick Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ms
Albuquerque, NM
Dec 29, 2009
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Best Value

Lansky has a reputation for making fine knife sharpeners. For those who like "crotch sticks" the Lansky 4 rod sharpener makes a great addition to current sharpeners, or is a fine first sharpener. Great: Ease of use, 2 sets of sharpening sticks for medium and fine edges, 2 angles for different blades, ease of storage Not so great: sticks are shorter than some sharpeners
Lansky 4 Rod DeluxeTurnbox Crock Stick Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Billy H
Boomahnoomahnah, VIC, Australia
Aug 03, 2017
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

SImple, awesome.

I've had my Lansky rod sharpening box for more than 5 years now, and it still performs beautifully. Quality of materials and manufacture is excellent. I use mine for all touch ups - kitchen knives (aside from the higher priced Japanese knives, which I finish on a much finer stone), butchering knives, pocket knives and everything in between. When hunting I take this with me instead of a butchers steel - lighter, smaller, and does a better job at re-setting the edge of soft Euro boning knives, but can also actually sharpen everything I use as well. I drilled holes at 15 degrees for finer blades, but I most often use 20. The rods are easily cleaned using the lansky cleaning eraser, or just a standard eraser (or better yet, a pen eraser, which is more abrasive). Even a plastic kitchen scourer works well enough. It is a tremendous product, I can't recommend it highly enough.
Lansky 4 Rod DeluxeTurnbox Crock Stick Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bobl
Springfield, VA
Nov 23, 2009
Pros: Effectiveness, None
Cons: Ease of Use

Great Product... also inexpensive.

I use it to finish kitchen knives after using the whetstone. Unbelievably sharp. 2 downsides are: Sticks are a bit short for sharpening longer knives and (2) it wasn't clear to a newbie like me which sticks were the coarse, and which were the fine. The results are what counts, though, and my knives have never been this sharp!
Lansky 4 Rod DeluxeTurnbox Crock Stick Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
David
new zealand
Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

superfast

great for fast touch ups once the initial angle has been set, very easy to use, just make sure people know how sharp your knife is before lending it :P
Lansky 4 Rod DeluxeTurnbox Crock Stick Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Terry
canada
Apr 08, 2014
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

does what it's suppose to do .

It;s exactly what i expected thank you !
Lansky 4 Rod DeluxeTurnbox Crock Stick Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lwd
Fort Worth, TX
Dec 09, 2009
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Outstanding

Only criticism is the sticks a bit short. Otherwise, this is an excellent piece of gear.
Lansky 4 Rod DeluxeTurnbox Crock Stick Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Donnie
Edinboro, PA
Nov 23, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Quality and Value

I purchased this to replace a 25 year old set that was misplaced. The original set of Crock Sticks kept every knife I used, honed like a razor. This new set will travel with me on hunts, and with the rods stored in the base, I won't be breaking them or using rubber bands to hold the set together.
Lansky 4 Rod DeluxeTurnbox Crock Stick Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rocky Mtnman
RIVERSIDE CA
Apr 15, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: Durability, None

GREAT LITTLE PACKAGE

GREAT ALL AROUND SHARPENING SET GOOD FOR CAMP SET TO KEEP TOP EDGE FOR A TRIP
Lansky 4 Rod DeluxeTurnbox Crock Stick Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gps
west melbourne fl
Jan 04, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

easy edge

I have lansky,dmt and crkt kits--they all work.If you really work hard with them you can achieve a really professional edge.This turn box is simple fast and effective and you can pull it out of your pocket or pack and use it anywhere.The edge may not be as perfect as one of the big expensive kits can produce but you will get a very credible edge quickly and with a minimal effort.Great for work in the field.This is a must have piece of gear.
Lansky 4 Rod DeluxeTurnbox Crock Stick Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Peter Kaliba
Salzburg, Austria
Oct 05, 2009
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Sharp knives, with ease

It's quite easy to set up, and after a little practice with an old knife I'm surprised about the good results. I'm finally able to put a sharp edge on my kitchen cutlery once a month without much hassle.
Lansky 4 Rod DeluxeTurnbox Crock Stick Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Keith Thomas
Canberra Australia
Mar 03, 2010
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

The real McCoy

Don't be put off by the ungainly appearance of those rods poking up at odd angles. They actually live in the sturdy wooden base (wood, not crappy plastic). My knives are sharper now than they ever have been. With a choice of two angles and two sets of rods, you have four pre-set settings. But you can also adjust them infinitely if you wish according to the angle you hold the blade while you sharpen it. This unit is the best sharpening value I have ever come across!
Lansky 4 Rod DeluxeTurnbox Crock Stick Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nathan
welder
Mar 31, 2010
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

great product

Best and simplest knife sharpener
Lansky 4 Rod DeluxeTurnbox Crock Stick Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert
Washington
Oct 09, 2015
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
It's exactly as I expected. Makes my knives razor sharp.
Lansky 4 Rod DeluxeTurnbox Crock Stick Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Carbon Blade Lover
California
Oct 07, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Amazing! Great Sharpener!

Now this is a sharpening system for knives. I use it on my folding and fixed blade knives which are mostly carbon steel. One or two stainless knives. I can sharpen any of my carbon steel blades to a razor edge in minutes. Stainless takes longer but at least I can get a modest razor edge on them. This is better than my 2 sided diamond with interrupted surface. My 3 5/16" Ulster Old Timer is now soooo sharp. Ulster! That's right. Not Schrade. About 50 yrs old.
Lansky 4 Rod DeluxeTurnbox Crock Stick Sharpener
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dani
Savannah, GA
Dec 26, 2009
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Crock Stick Sharpener

This product is great. My dad has used these for years and I just now got a set for myself and a chef friend. They are quick to sharpen and easy to use...helps you keep up with your knives. They are also fragile... chef dropped the entire box and broke one of the rods.
Lansky 4 Rod DeluxeTurnbox Crock Stick Sharpener
rated 4 stars out of 5
Carl Solheim
Oslo, Norway
Jul 07, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: None

Practical and effective sharpening system

Found it easy to use from the get go and am quite satisfied with the results. Now keep the crock stick in my knife bag and give my main blade a freshening up once or twice a week. As a chef I need a quick and tidy way to keep my tools on point and that is exactly what I have in the crock stick. Plus for quick delivery overseas.
Lansky 4 Rod DeluxeTurnbox Crock Stick Sharpener
rated 4 stars out of 5
The Hound
Paris
Oct 30, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Nice tool, good finitions, super effective

I expected rods a little bit longer, this is the first and only con I have seen so far. I can't judge the durability since I got it recently, but the overall aspect, finition and feel is really good. Nice wood, not too light, not too heavy. It holds the rods fine, you don't have to struggle and fit them in the holes. For the rest, the brown rods feel a little coarser than those from the Spyderco triangle. They make a really good edge even on not so high class steels and enable you to catch up a really dull blade. Unless you have serrated knives, it replaces very well (and is easier to use and carry) the Spyderco. For the price, it's an easy choice.
Lansky 4 Rod DeluxeTurnbox Crock Stick Sharpener
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tony E
Pottstown, PA
Feb 19, 2016
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Great for hawkbills, karambits, and recurve blades

I initially bought this sharpener for my karambits, and it works wonders. It takes a little bit of practice to be able to swipe the blade on the sticks effortlessly, but it is much easier than a traditional sharpening stone. My only complaint is that it only has two fixed angles (20° and 25°), but other than that it's a great purchase.
Lansky 4 Rod DeluxeTurnbox Crock Stick Sharpener
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tangstamp
Mansfield, TX
Jul 21, 2009
Pros: Ease of Use, Durability, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: Effectiveness, None

Great tool to maintain an edge.

This little guy is a great setup. You get 2 grits of ceramic rods, 2 angles to shape then polish the edge, and a real wood turnbox to carry both sets of rods that fits in your back pocket or in a backpack. This set is ideal for edge maintenance. Use it for touchups and for an edge that's not too far gone. If you've got a knife with an edge as blunt as a ball bat, then you've got work to do before you can use this. Use the med rods at the 20 degree angle to shape the edge, then change to the fine rods in the 25 degree angle to polish. You'll be shaving the hairs off your forearm in no time. Great sharpener for the money. You'll love it like I do.
Lansky 4 Rod DeluxeTurnbox Crock Stick Sharpener
rated 4 stars out of 5
Self
KY
Jun 17, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Does a good job

Use for pocket knives. like the different grit ceramic sticks like the different angle method like the storage compartments
Lansky 4 Rod DeluxeTurnbox Crock Stick Sharpener
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jack H
Parker, Co
Mar 05, 2017
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Hair shaving sharp (mostly)

Makes most knives hair shaving sharp, but I just can't seem to sharpen karambits very well on it myself. Maybe theres a different technique for karambits i'm not aware of? Otherwise good quality and easy to use for a perfect price.
Lansky 4 Rod DeluxeTurnbox Crock Stick Sharpener
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jfalcon1
Austin
Nov 17, 2010
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Better than my Spyderco Sharpmaker

Found this product to be easier to use than my Sharpmaker. If you are a beginner at sharpening this is the ideal sharpener to start with. Have use to sharpen 154cm and CPMS30v so far.
Lansky 4 Rod DeluxeTurnbox Crock Stick Sharpener
rated 4 stars out of 5
Toby
NC
Jan 31, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

AWESOME

this is an awesome setup,I have never used a sharpener like this ,a couple mins and i was sharpening like a pro thank you knife center Toby O