Reviews and Ratings for Lansky Extra Coarse Diamond Sharpening Hone - Silver Holder - LDHXC

Lansky Extra Coarse Diamond Sharpening Hone - Silver Holderrated 4.636 stars out of 5 (11 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Lansky Extra Coarse Diamond Sharpening Hone - Silver Holder

 

Price: $17.95

Save $6.04 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Lansky Extra Coarse Diamond Sharpening Hone - Silver Holder
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fire Escape
NH
Oct 04, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, Durability, Ease of Use
Cons: None
The Hone that I wish I did not use so much
I bought this hone back when they first released it, been using it far to much ever since. This, for me, is "THE" tool to start with when you need to get a blade profile into shape. I nearly wore out a 'conventional' extra coarse stone trying to get the bevels on an early Buck Nighthawk even back in the 'pre-diamond' days, this hone has handled the task on more other blades than I can count and keeps on going. It would be pretty rare for me to let one of my own knives get to the point where I needed to use this (after a get the shape where it 'should' be session when newly aquired) but it often becomes the tool of choice when a friend hands me something that looks like it has been used as a garden trowel and asks if I can 'touch it up a little'. You certainly could get by starting with the coarse diamond stone but why make the job last that much longer? If you need to remove some steel to get an edge into proper shape - you want this hone on hand!
Lansky Extra Coarse Diamond Sharpening Hone - Silver Holder
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alexander
Douglasvile, Ga
Dec 03, 2017
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
From good to nearly perfect
I have a standard Lansky deluxe kit and I replaced the 60 grit extra coarse stone with this extra coarse diamond hone. I think this hone is a must have if you have a Lansky. The stone hones waredown over time and periodically need to be resurfaced or they could do more harm than good to your edge but diamond hones do not have this problem. Diamond hones also are able to be used dry, you just occasionally wash them with soap and water to remove any buildup that won’t wipe off with a microfiber cloth. I’m going to get the other diamond hones in the very near future. Diamond hones also cut more efficiently and with less passes. I think this hone brings the Lansky into its own league for the money. I don’t see why Lansky still makes the extra coarse, coarse, medium and fine stones.
Lansky Extra Coarse Diamond Sharpening Hone - Silver Holder
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mason
Oregon
Dec 09, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Extremely impressive
I'll make this short and quick, benchmade adamas combat knife d2 tool steel at 62 rockwell. Cut a complete new bevel at a much steeper angle in about ten minutes. It is unfathomable the amout of metal you can remove in just a couple of passes. Well worth the money and would definitely purchase again. Stop reading these reviews and procede to check out.
Lansky Extra Coarse Diamond Sharpening Hone - Silver Holder
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marmotta
Switzerland
Apr 01, 2015
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
lansky diamond
For pm steels the simplest way to get first/new shape on your knife.
Lansky Extra Coarse Diamond Sharpening Hone - Silver Holder
rated 5 stars out of 5
David
new zealand
Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None
faster
makes the lansky system so much faster and more useful, get the edge down without wasting all day
Lansky Extra Coarse Diamond Sharpening Hone - Silver Holder
rated 5 stars out of 5
Richard
Maine
Aug 13, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Metal Remover
Good for establishing proper angle on new blade
Lansky Extra Coarse Diamond Sharpening Hone - Silver Holder
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sjt.Bm707
albany NY
Feb 18, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
better than i expected
replaced the extra coarse stone from my lansky kit with this. very effective if you want or need to reprofle a blade.cleans up easy too
Lansky Extra Coarse Diamond Sharpening Hone - Silver Holder
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kurt
michigan
Apr 22, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: Durability, None
lansky extra course dia. stone
great stone for establishing initial angle or use on dull blades.
Lansky Extra Coarse Diamond Sharpening Hone - Silver Holder
rated 4 stars out of 5
Billy H
Arkansas
Aug 26, 2015
Pros: Durability, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Good stone for the price
I have the Lansky Sharpening System. I started with Lansky 5 stone system and started changing to diamond stones. They cut quicker and less messy. I recommend using the diamond stones over those that require oil.
Lansky Extra Coarse Diamond Sharpening Hone - Silver Holder
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mike B
Mckeesport
Mar 08, 2013
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Very good hone.
I bought this recently to use for badly neglected,chipped or resetting the angle of blades.It make short work of even the hardest and wear resistant steels. I had purchased a used chipped Kershaw Speed Form 1 made with CPM T 440V stainless for only 50 bucks. A great bargain to me. It is otherwise like new other than the chipped blade.The owner said he could not get it to take a good edge using only Arkansas stones. As it is without a doubt one of the most wear resistant steels you can buy. The hone helped make the chip removal a much easier job.I would caution you not to use a lot pf pressure using this hone. Using to much pressure can tear-up the blade and just cause you more work getting it set right.Let the hone do the work as it removes metal very aggressively. I added it to my Lansky set of which only conventional hones. I don't use the Lansky much as I mostly hand hone everything. But it is good to have around for the reasons I stated before. I would recommend this stone as it works very well in these cases.
Lansky Extra Coarse Diamond Sharpening Hone - Silver Holder
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tripp
Delaware
Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Get this hone!!!!!
If you're like me, time is a valued commodity. This hone reprofiled an edge in a quarter of the time a "stone" hone would have taken.....excellent product!!