Reviews and Ratings for Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening System - LKCLX

Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening Systemrated 4.192 stars out of 5 (26 reviews)
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
5
3 star
5
2 star
2
1 star
0
Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening System

 

Price: $46.95

Save $11.04 (19%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andrey And Elena Sokolovs Family
2650 Wisconsin Ave., N.W., DC 20007
May 15, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening System Excellent purchase
I bought a knife Benchmade Gold Class Osborne 3.4 "Damasteel Blade and I needed a tool for his grinding. Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening System This is a great solution for my knife. I have tried this tool Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening System - this is great!
Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alan V
Georgia
Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Excellent product but don't forget to get the base too!
Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jean-Gabriel M
France
Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Efficient and cost effective
Easy to use
Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Enrique
Madrid, Spain.
Apr 25, 2013
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Good producto.
Ease of use .
Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marllus A
Lagarto - SE, Brasil
Nov 09, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Fine Product
Easy to use Even without experience you could well sharpen any knife. 100% recommended
Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
S.Morrison, Us Army (Ret)
ARKANSAS
Oct 13, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None
CONSISTENCY IS KEY
When you put an edge on any tool or knife one rule is key: consistency. The lansky system will accomplish this with minimal effort by the user. To use this it does require patience on very large or long knives, but your patience will be rewarded with an extremely sharp knife.
Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brent P.
Waimate, New Zealand
Sep 01, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, Durability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great product
It is very well made and the Ultra-Fine Hone gives a very good edge. You do need to be very careful of the knife when setting it up as your hands are doing a lot of placing, holding and tightening around the sharp edge.
Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tanino Liberatore
Paris, France
Jun 12, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, Durability, Ease of Use
Cons: None
An absolute must and still te best system
How much i love this system ! My knives even better ! Allow the better sharpness your knife can reach, mirror finish of the edge, absolute control of the amount of metal you remove and the angle precisely fit. I do prefer this one to the diamond, even for +60HRC steels, due to the feeling you have. I have a spyderco tri angle, quick but easy, but with the lansky system it's all about precision and supern results. Don't hesitate to begin with a coarser stone , be fast with the last yellow one and buy a good leather strop. Your knives will thanks you and give you back hundred time the service you provided to them.
Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bodean
pineville L.A.
Jun 01, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
lansky knife sharener.
this is the second lansky sharpening system i have bought in the last few years, one for home& one for camping so i always have one in my pack. that albout says it all.
Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nb
high desert, California
Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None
does the job
Used carefully, this thing gets my knives razor sharp.... almost scary sharp. Definitely recommend this to anybody, especially people who aren't comfortable with old fashioned bench stone sharpening .
Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sea Eagle
Ireland
Jun 25, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
For sure lives up to its rep
I bought this to keep a razor sharp edge on our kitchen cutlery and my Cold Steel knife collection. The first thing I used it on was the free paring knife that came with the system. The knife arrived with a fairly good edge but needed to be taken up to the razor sharp level. This system did just that. I have utterly no negative comments to make about the system. It has fully lived up to my high expectations.
Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sbc
Singapore
Oct 19, 2010
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None
A nice system
Not too expensive. A well thought out sharpening system.
Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andyg
Georgia
Sep 24, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great system for the price
I have sharpened around 15 knives on the system now and have the hang of it. The price for the unit is definitely a plus. The unit is well made and works as advertised. The unit does need to come with better instructions on how to position the knife for sharpening. After a little research I found instructions on the Wicked Edge site that also worked for this system. All in all, I recommend this system as it is well and and works GREAT if used correctly.
Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dexter
NC
Jul 15, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Lansky Kit
LANSKY SHARPENING KITS

Sharpening is a technique that every knife owner should know. Using a stone requires one to get the "science" of it all down pat. But Lansky sharpening kits eliminate all the guesswork involved, making sharpening a foolproof operation. Even your kid brother could do it (that's if you trust him with sharp, pointy objects!) As Lansky's saying goes, it's the "sharpest investment you'll ever make!" Now, on with the show.

Lansky Sharpeners produces several models of such kits, varying in the number of hones and type of hones (regular or diamond). For those not familiar with a Lansky, each kit contains the following: an aluminum knife clamp, bottle of honing oil, guide rods, and a molded plastic storage case. All you do is attach the clamp to the blade, assemble the rods to the hones, apply a light coating of oil to the desired stone, choose the appropriate angle, and begin. Flip the clamp over and work on the reverse side of the blade. Soon, you'll have a razor sharp edge. One feature I like about the kit is that there are very detailed instructions on how to set up and sharpen.

I've had my Lansky for a few years, and I'm extremely pleased with its performance. The kit is so versatile as well. I've managed to hone everything from meat cleavers to Victorinox Classics, and everything in between. Best of all, it does not take long to set up or create a mess to clean up afterwards. I've also sharpened knives for friends, and they were thoroughly impressed with the results produced. In my opinion, a Lansky is definitely money well spent. You are guaranteed a razor sharp edge every time. What's really nice about the Lansky system is that there are options available for the user to customize his/her kit. For example, there is an aluminum universal mount that will support the clamp, permitting the whole assembly to freely stand on a table top. Also available is a V-section serration hone, making it possible to bring dull serrations back to life. Sharpening serrations with this hone requires the user to work the hone inside each and every tooth. Even for partially serrated blades this will take some time, but the results make it all worthwhile to take that extra time. All in all, Lansky sharpening kits take the precise science out of sharpening. In fact, sharpening has never been this easy, ever! I think you owe it to yourself by purchasing one of these kits. The results are well worth the small fee involved. You'll be sure to "hone" your sharpening skills with one!
Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening System
rated 4 stars out of 5
Warren
Bedford, Va.
May 07, 2013
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Some limitations, but a great system when used properly!
Ordered this a few weeks ago from Knife Center and have used on several knives. First, let me say that this system is not what you want for use on blades of 1/2 inch or less width. For wider blades it performs flawlessly. Secondly, it will do much better if clamped in a vise to hold it steady..at least for me. The rods are thin and bend easily when removing from the case, so be gentle here! They are also not a perfect 90 degree angle, so you will need to adjust this. Do not use a heavy hand expecting the rods to compensate for you not maintaining a constant angle as you use the system because they will bend and your angle is destroyed along with your edge. When used properly, this will give you a blade that is close to surgical sharpness. The first knife that I used this on was an eight inch kitchen knife by Pampered Chef...when I tried the shaving test on my arm, not only did it literally pop off hair, but also raised small blood droplets. You are not going to get any sharper than that! When used properly on sufficient width blades you will get great results. Great performance for the price. Highly recommend! Would have given a 5 if the clamp worked well for narrow blades. Overall, a very capable system.
Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening System
rated 4 stars out of 5
Cornel
Martigues, Other
May 26, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
A good piece of kit
I consider this to be a very good base for reprofiling poorly ground blades and / or maintaining your favorite blades. It requires way less dedication and work than a classic handheld waterstone. If you strive for perfection, you will need some additional work on you and the blade.
Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening System
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ragnar
Québec inc.
Feb 05, 2010
Pros: Effectiveness, None
Cons: Overall Quality
brings back a factory edge in 1,2,3!!!
I've resharpen 3 knives so far and I must say the commercials are truthful about this product. The ultra-fine grit gave the edge a nice gleaming polished touch! I'll be doing my family's kitchen cutlery, they will be impressed!
Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening System
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joe
Ypsilanti, MI
Sep 29, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: Durability, None
Wonderful
This Lansky honing stone sharpener got all my knives sharper than they were when I bought them> it is extremely easy to use. One of the honing stones broke free of the plastic handle and i had to clue it back on, but still works great
Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening System
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jai C
Mumbai, Other
May 25, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use, None
Cons: Overall Quality
Perfect for beginners
Its very simple to use and includes all the popular abrasive grits and honing oil required for sharpening. But the plastic box is cheap and the guiding rods require re-straightening every time you use them. Overall a good product that could be a bit better.
Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening System
rated 3 stars out of 5
Matt
Dunnellon, FL
Aug 08, 2009
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use, None
Cons: Durability
Sharpening knives
i would say if your nervous about sharpening your knives this product is for you. It's a nice set and will sharpen blades razor sharp and am over satisfied with it and use it from time to time. good product.
Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening System
rated 3 stars out of 5
Mike B
Mckeesport
Jan 19, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Effectiveness, None
Cons: Ease of Use, Durability
Could be better built.
I bought this kit to primarily reset an edge to the correct bevel now and then. Also to change the blade to another bevel if needed. Those two things it does with more precisely you can by hand. I even bought the Super Sapphire stone to see how sharp I could make.It's probably around a 2000 grit stone at best. It produces a fairly well polished edge that a novice will find very good. This set would also be good for someone that doesn't really know how to sharpen a blade. I would suggest they learn how to use a strop to. They'll then have a very good edge to work with after using this setup.I don't think this is anywhere near as easy to use as free hand sharpening is. But for my purpose it'll do.I bought a new knife at the same time. I tested this on it. The end result after stropping was a decent very sharp working edge.A friend of mine has an older set. The clamp on it seems to be a lot better made.This new one has less angle options.Plus it doesn't seem to hold the blade anywhere near as steady.I have to re-tighten it to often.
Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening System
rated 3 stars out of 5
Chuck
Westborough, ma
Jan 07, 2014
Pros: Effectiveness, None
Cons: Overall Quality
Good,but
The sharpener works very well, but the plastic that hols the stones is no good. I used the course stone to reprofile one of my beater knives and I tigtned the screw to the guid rod and the plastic cracked. I tried epoxying the plastic together, no good. The design IMHO would be better if the guid rods threaded in like the Smith's sharpener. All in all you can get a razors edge with this sharpener.
Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening System
rated 3 stars out of 5
Kbloomer
Kentucky
Sep 29, 2015
Pros: Effectiveness, None
Cons: Durability, Overall Quality
Works as advertised
Works as it says, did produce a mirror edge with stropes and diamond paste. Craftsmanship is pretty poor, priced slightly high but works.
Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening System
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jimmy S
Livingston, Tx
Jan 05, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Satisfied, not overly impressed
Works great for creating a good bevel, doesn't give a truly sharp edge. Had to finish it with my diamond hone by hand. No serrated stone in kit as depicted on video.
Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening System
rated 2 stars out of 5
Henrik Iv
Sweden
Apr 26, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality
Not the best quality
The very low quality of this piece of cr** makes it at pain in the b*tt to use. It's poorly machined and made of cheap materials. Not worth wasting time and blade steel on.
Lansky Deluxe Knife Sharpening System
rated 2 stars out of 5
Forrest M.
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 28, 2011
Pros: Ease of Use, None
Cons: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Durability
Ehh
I thought it was going to be way better. Just don't get your hopes up. I tried it on a few knives before I put it to my Benchmade 940, which has an unusual blade design and S30V steel and it sucked. It took at least an hour to put a new relief edge on one section and it never got it sharp. I am probably going to save up for an Edge Pro Apex or something. I'd recommend you do the same.