Reviews and Ratings for Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System - LKCPR

Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening Systemrated 4.410 stars out of 5 (39 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
26
4 star
8
3 star
2
2 star
1
1 star
2
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System

 

Price: $49.95

Save $15.04 (23%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark
texas
Oct 22, 2009
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Lansky Professional

have used the sharpener system on kitchen and picket knives and am very please thus far. I do wish the stones were just a little longer
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
J.D.
Alabama
May 08, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great!!!!!

Great!!!!!
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Seadad
Tangier,Va.
Oct 25, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

excellent product

I use the lansky knife sharpener about once every week.I'm a merchant marner so a sharp knife is an inportant tool in our every day life.I like the ease of use and the same consistency every time I use the sharpener to put a razor sharp edge on my knife. Ihave no complaints so far about the product.
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tactical Shanking
Waldorf, Md
May 25, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Sharp as sh...

This thing couldn't be any easier to use. You can bring dull edges to super sharp in no time. All of my knives can shave now. Awesome and easy.
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill C
Elizabethton, TN
Jan 07, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Lansky Knife Sharpening System Delivers

Have had several different knife sharpening systems. This really works. It is easy and has put fine edges on everything I own. Love to sharpen knives now!
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Huntington, WV
Dec 02, 2009
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Easiest Way to Sharpen Knives

This tool is extremely easy to use and produces razor sharp edges in minutes. KnifeCenter as always delivered in two days.
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Shisno
GA
Jul 06, 2010
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Worth the cost

Worth the cost
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gabriel Diaz Camacho
Villahermosa,
May 26, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

complet system of sharpening

sharpening
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bryce H
Queensland, Australia
May 31, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Lanski sharpening system

I thoroughly recommend this sharpening system and I wil be buying another one for a friend. I have restored an new edge on several beat up old knives and now are super sharp using the different grades of stone.
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Surlyryder
Great Bend, Ks
Feb 01, 2010
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

sharp edge the easy way

i hate dull knives, and keeping them all sharp used to take some time. but it's easy to just touch up a edge now, only complaint is the guide rods are a little flexy and a little tough to get perfectly flat, but that's not really a big problem.
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul W
Gig Harbor Wa.
Sep 14, 2013
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None
The sharpest our knives have ever been
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill Dance
Templeton, MA
Jan 25, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Works Fantastic

Its easy to use for everyone from beginner to professional, puts a razor sharp edge on with a little time and patience. Highly recommend
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dexter
nc
Jul 15, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Lansky Kit

LANSKY SHARPENING KITS
Sharpening is a technique that every knife owner should know. Using a stone requires one to get the "science" of it all down pat. But Lansky sharpening kits eliminate all the guesswork involved, making sharpening a foolproof operation. Even your kid brother could do it (that's if you trust him with sharp, pointy objects!) As Lansky's saying goes, it's the "sharpest investment you'll ever make!" Now, on with the show.
Lansky Sharpeners produces several models of such kits, varying in the number of hones and type of hones (regular or diamond). For those not familiar with a Lansky, each kit contains the following: an aluminum knife clamp, bottle of honing oil, guide rods, and a molded plastic storage case. All you do is attach the clamp to the blade, assemble the rods to the hones, apply a light coating of oil to the desired stone, choose the appropriate angle, and begin. Flip the clamp over and work on the reverse side of the blade. Soon, you'll have a razor sharp edge. One feature I like about the kit is that there are very detailed instructions on how to set up and sharpen.
I've had my Lansky for a few years, and I'm extremely pleased with its performance. The kit is so versatile as well. I've managed to hone everything from meat cleavers to Victorinox Classics, and everything in between. Best of all, it does not take long to set up or create a mess to clean up afterwards. I've also sharpened knives for friends, and they were thoroughly impressed with the results produced. In my opinion, a Lansky is definitely money well spent. You are guaranteed a razor sharp edge every time. What's really nice about the Lansky system is that there are options available for the user to customize his/her kit. For example, there is an aluminum universal mount that will support the clamp, permitting the whole assembly to freely stand on a table top. Also available is a V-section serration hone, making it possible to bring dull serrations back to life. Sharpening serrations with this hone requires the user to work the hone inside each and every tooth. Even for partially serrated blades this will take some time, but the results make it all worthwhile to take that extra time. All in all, Lansky sharpening kits take the precise science out of sharpening. In fact, sharpening has never been this easy, ever! I think you owe it to yourself by purchasing one of these kits. The results are well worth the small fee involved. You'll be sure to "hone" your sharpening skills with one!
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mick S
illinois
Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

good kit

this sharpening system is well worth the cost .. it keeps all my edges shaving sharp.
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gps
west melbourne fl.
Jun 14, 2010
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

great product

high quality product--easy to use on almost any type of knife--produces a professional edge even when a fumble fingered clutz like me does it.I really like this kit--everything you need in one small easy to carry box--break it out and use it anywhere. This kit even comes with the stone for serrated blades.
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Julio
Gaithersburg, MD
Jun 02, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

This sharpening kit is the Truuth!

I picked this up cause I got tired of fumbling around with a diamond block I picked up from another store. This clamping system is the easiest thing to use. I didn't pick this one up perse, i got the universal kit and bought the yellow (super fine?) hone later. I didn't think any of my knives would get back to the sharpness that they were when I first bought them, but they are there if not sharper. I have many bald spots on my fore-arms and legs to prove it!
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Keith Arquette
blissfield mi
Dec 30, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great product

hunting knives their are six family members that are all deer hunters and sometimes we process our own venison. as i stated, their deer hunters not meat cutters so their are alot of knives to be sharpened at the end & during the season. i bought this product as a gift to relieve me of some of the sharpening duties they deligated to me for the last 20 yrs. as i have owned a lansky kit for that period of time i hope theirs last as long as mine did.
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul T.
Tulsa, Ok
Sep 12, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
This is the best way to sharpen knives, every knife user or collector should get one. The only way it could be better is if it automatticaly sharpened your knives.
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ronald Hix
Oceanside, CA
Oct 12, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great System!!

The system works amazing! I was able to put razor sharp edges on all different kinds of knives. My kitchen knives slice through everything like butter now and I could shave with my bowie knife if I wanted to. I would recommend this product to everyone.
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Daddy
Maui, Hawaii
Jun 03, 2010
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Love it, Worth it, use it every day!

I've been cooking for a living over 30 years, been building my own fixed angle sharpening toys for about 20 of those years! Looks like they've been doing it just as long, but I didn't know. Anyone can use it with great success, would highly recommend a pedestal (as low as $5). This product will actually help your free-hand sharpening style (if you are concerned about that!) What an affordable treat! Thank you
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ari Winston
Greenbrier, TN
May 06, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Very satisfied with the product purchased...

Was a gift for my husband and he says he loves it, it sharpens his knives so much easier than using a steel bar. And I was very happy because it was exactly like the picture showed, not some skimpy product that looks nothing like the picture...
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin
Canada
Aug 02, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great device for the price

I'm not experienced at sharpening blades at all, so I was looking around at sharpening systems that would give me a good edge without breaking the bank. The Lansky was one of the products that came recommended by friends, so I bought one. It took me a bit of playing around to figure out what I was doing, but after that was out of the way this system worked beautifully. I've so far used the rough grit stones to actually re-profile the edges on a couple of my blades, and all of my knifes are nice and sharp. It wont get your blades quite shave sharp, but for under forty bucks you can't go wrong.
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sam
Australia
Apr 25, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: None

Great product

Great, awesome for all my hunting knives keeps them sharp as hell!
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gilbert Giuliani
Odenton Maryland
Feb 04, 2013
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Lansky profesional knife sharpening system

everything about this product was excellent . the sharpening system is extreamley easy to use and the results were great my knives had a very sharp edge in no time with little effort thanks
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kg
Jackson ms
Nov 02, 2009
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Excellent easy to use

Easy to use. Seems to sharpen my dull knives well. I am new to this type of sharpener and the video on their website is very helpful. I am sure I will get better the more I use it.
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bchase
Westminster, CO
Feb 17, 2010
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

great sharpening kit

Easy to use, and very effective. With the coarse and medium stones, you can put a good edge on a neglected knife in no time. I've used it on pocket knives and kitchen cutlery with great results. I especially like how it allows you to sharpen at different angles....much more versatile than my old Spyderco sharpening system.
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 4 stars out of 5
Frankie
London, UK
Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Ease of Use, Effectiveness, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Durability

Good but even better with the 2000 grit Sapphire stone and the strop

After buying this kit, with the stand, I added the 2000 grit sapphire stone, two leather strops, two buffing compounds and then finally I got some really good results. Sometimes it can be difficult to actually get a bevel, but when you do, just repeat the same amount of strokes on the other side, with the same amount of pressure, go up through the stones, including the sapphire 2000 grit, stropping with the two different buffering compounds from Silverline and you can achieve a near mirror finish edge which is extremely sharp. But I am not too impressed with the rods and the vise, use painters tape to protect your blade, as well use finger pressure upwards on the rod when honing, it is the only way to get a consistent result. At least for me it working! But if you only buy the kit, I can understand that some be a bit disappointed as the provided stones are not enough to get a perfect edge. I have added the above mentioned and are getting good results. But I am saving up to buy a Wicked Edge system, but until then, this is the system giving me the desired results with some additional kit.
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 4 stars out of 5
K. Tan
Hong Kong
Aug 02, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: Durability, None

Easy to use and works great

Simple and easy instructions. Works and knives sharp as razors!
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ozgeardo
Australia
Dec 16, 2010
Pros: Ease of Use
Cons: None

Something fool proof at last

I have never been very good at sharpening knives with a plain stone. At last I have something that takes some of the skill (I lack) out of the process. First attempt at putting a new edge on my CRKT M21 seems to be very good. It can only get better with this unit.
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kartik S
India, and no I don't wear a turban. :-)
May 17, 2012
Pros: Durability, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Use, None

Nice system for beginners.

Very nice sharpening system. It will put an edge on your knives that would be just a hair shy of razor sharpness. You can use a strope if you like your knives to be scalpel sharp. A word of advice, When you use the system take a photograph of exactly where you put the knife in the clamp because if you don't, the second time you use it, it will give your blade a wavy edge.
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 4 stars out of 5
Léo L
Bretagne FRANCE
Sep 15, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Lansky sharpening system.

Used on all my knifes. A little dangerous !
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brian
Somewher down the road
Jan 09, 2013
Pros: Ease of Use, Effectiveness, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Durability

True Value for money

This is a good product for the price, Gives me razor edge knives, The angles are set a few millimiters inside the base of the clamp, so when you use it, the angles will be a little bit higher than the one written, also the nubs that hold the guide rods bends the rods when your regularly remove it, The stones work well..... Gives me razors edge knives. This is not only a sharpener, its a reprofiler Good value for the money, :D thanks Lansky :)
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 4 stars out of 5
|Slayer|
West Point, NY
Mar 21, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

excellent kit

Kit is easy/intuitive to use, and provides a sharp, consistent edge without difficulty. Is unusable on top-edge tapered/double-edged blades (clamp slips off easily).
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brett
Los Angeles, CA
May 13, 2013
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Easy and convenient system

I used this for the first time the other day. I really like the rod system to help ensure I get the correct angle on every stroke. I sharpened my EDC's and all my kitchen knifes as well. It couldn't be much easier. However I would like to see about purchasing the stand for it as holding the bracket gets a bit tiresome after a while. Overall, a good product. I'm very happy with it.
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 3 stars out of 5
Aravinthan R.P
Tamilnadu, India.
Aug 03, 2014
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use, None
Cons: Overall Quality

Good but not Great

The kit arrived a day earlier than the intended date. The plastic box is cheap and not of good quality. While using at 17 deg angle, the red tightening screw was an hindrance to the guidening rod. I think ceramic sharperners are the ones I am good at.
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 3 stars out of 5
Brian Massey
Atlanta Georgia
May 27, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, None
Cons: Overall Quality

Knife Sharpening System

The Lansky Knife Sharpening System has always provided me with the sharpest blades. I've noticed the quality of the kit has decreased. The stones are thinner and the knife "vice" is cast aluminum. The older "vice" was one solid piece of aluminum as pictured and was a better quality.Knife Center was great to deal with, I'm pleased with their service and will continue to do business with them.
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 2 stars out of 5
Greg
connecticut
Jun 13, 2013
Pros:
Cons:

sharpener

i thought it would be better quality, the vise that holds the blade and keeps the angle of the stone in line is very flimsy and cheap feeling and looking, and the instructions(basically there is none) dont really tell you how to use the stones effectively.
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 1 stars out of 5
Sean B.
minnesota, USA
Oct 02, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use

really call this a knife sharpener?

Ok I ordered this having looked at you-tube.. and reviews paid over 40 bucks and got it delivered in good time... that's the good news..! Its rubbish..from the start! I spent a good hour reading, setting up and sharpening my first knife... nope nothing better than what I started with ! I said to myself maybe its the knife..so I got myself a sharpening stone... two sided,and viola.. within 5 minutes a razor sharp knife ..tried another ... same results ... and the saddest part... You cant return it if unsatisfied because its now used..as the warranty for money back is ..if you get it out and rub one blade on it...goodbye money !- DO NOT waste your money ..go get a stone !
Lansky Professional Knife Sharpening System
rated 1 stars out of 5
Stropback
Wa
Feb 19, 2018
Pros: Ease of Use, Effectiveness, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Durability

Do not reccomend lansky systems

Hello, i have been doing freehand sharpening for over 14 years now. Ive been whittling hairs for most of that time and ive sharpened almost every common steel and most of the uncommon ones like 10V. S110V, to Aus, all of them. I began with DMT diafolds. A couple years ago i got the worksharp field sharpener, and it is a portable one tool does everything that i like to use on the go. So then i wanted to try different abrasives. Whats an arkansas stone like? SIC, ceramic, alox, ect. So my wonderful wife got me all of the lansky kits for christmas. Diamond, ceramic, natural, arknsas, round, and serrated. Three strops with three diamond pastes too. Having an even edge is very important for testing knife performance, and it is cosmetically appealing and theraputic. Ocd kicks in bad. So i have noticed that the idea of the lansky is great. It will really help you if you mentally know how but cant product results with your hands. Here are some issues i have with the system. No this isnt a one star review because of the poor shipping or wrong item or wrong color or its not my birthday or whatever crybaby garbage people review the product as being bad. Deal breaker- The clamps arent the same. All those kits mentioned above, will all produce different angles on the same spot on the knife with the same stone. Even less or more torque on the screw and trying to turn the edge up or down. I cant match them at all. The qc and casting then has proven to be not consistent to some degree. Deal breaker- the rods can bend when you pull them out of the box. Thats just poor design. I had to cut them out. Iffy annoying babysitting thing ninber one- its very easy to slip off the stone when working the tip and stab yourself or worse the side of the stone and ruin it. Also trying to get the most out of the real estate will result in a slip off the back and slice your fine stone and grind your perfect edge off. What did i do? I glued popsicle sticks to the metal of the diamond stones. I shouldnt have to but it helps. Other annoying thing- you need to runner cement the clamps to avoid scratching. It was clean. Not a coated blade. Aluminum is super soft but it somehow scratches knives. Use tape. Other annoying thing number two- you should oil the rod and it will eventually rub away your favorite spot on the clamp. Unique problem to lansky diamonds only- they are so big and coarse hey are smooth and down really cut very well. For reprofiling knives they will chip the edge on the lowest angle. The orange does not. The other non diamond stones do not. Other diamond stones dont have this problem. They all bite deep and cut aggressively at all grits. Oh and by the way the diamonds are disposeable. Maybe ten knives and the metal shows through. I sharpend and notched tally marks in my dmt diafolds and got about 150 knives per year getting a new set every christmas or birhday for a decade that was my average. And they all lasted a year. Its not even march and these are dead. And i dont sharpen much anymore. Annoying product should be fixed complaint number c- the box. So hard to open and close. Ive dealt with thai and chinese and pakistani manufacturing of containers. These are the worst. Warped. Wrong size. Here is the thing. My other three apprentices have all said the same thing. I still use this system. Because the edge is pretty and sharp when im done. Usually. Its not a hateful rant. Just be aware of these things. Now that ive gotten mine all figured out its a three star product at least. Well. Back to the k2. Trying to get 10V to 17dps im six hours in so far.