Reviews and Ratings for Lansky Universal Knife Sharpening System - LKUNV

Lansky Universal Knife Sharpening Systemrated 4.1819999999999995 stars out of 5 (11 reviews)
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
1
Lansky Universal Knife Sharpening System

 

Price: $42.95

Save $7.04 (14%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Lansky Universal Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bruce
CA
Oct 23, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None
I wished I had bought this sharpening system years ago. Real easy to get a consistant edge on any knike.
Lansky Universal Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cliff
Phoenix, NY
Nov 18, 2013
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Great Sharpener

This is a great product, can sharpen all my knives, both kitchen and hunting, with ease.
Lansky Universal Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rick G
Florida
Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Superb tool.

I've had this Lansky system for well over 20 years now, wouldn't trade it for anything, especially with the addition of 3 of their diamond stones I purchased separately. I have only 2 minor complaints : I find it really tough to sharpen a tanto pattern blade, or a really large blade. But for 99% of my knives you can't beat it.
Lansky Universal Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Virginia
Sep 03, 2014
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

It really works

I've accumulated a box full of knives over the last few years. And, sharpening them can be a chore. So, I was looking for a good sharpening system. One of the ladies at the Knife Center recommended the Lansky system. At first I was skeptical, since the video made it look too complicated. However, once I received the package, I saw that it is easy to set up. Because of the ease of use, you can get an assembly line going if you have several blades to sharpen at a time. I really like the angle guide, since I can never estimate the right angle when I'm using a wet stone or one of the hand held sharpeners. And, this system works on the bigger fixed blades as well as folders. If you're looking for a system to keep your cutting edges sharp as razors, this is the tool for you.
Lansky Universal Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Floyd Fow
1610 S. Salford Blvd, North Port, Fl.
Dec 21, 2013
Pros: Ease of Use
Cons: None

So far so good

Have used the product twice, so far it has performed well. Will keep using it to better familiarize myself with the way it works.
Lansky Universal Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gc Baker
3rd Bde Combat Team-3rd ID, FOB Kalsu, Iraq
Apr 20, 2010
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

My Benchmade loves it

I'v got a Benchmade,"McHenry & Williams", that Iv'e carried for 10 yrs., and use pretty much daily. Needless to say it can get kind of raggedity. With the "Lansky Universal System" I had the edge back on in 10 minutes. Once I figured out the instructions, which good be a little more in depth, the ease of use was fanatstic. I'm not letting a good knife get raggedity again.
Lansky Universal Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dexter
NC
Jul 15, 2009
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Lansky Kit

LANSKY SHARPENING KITS
Sharpening is a technique that every knife owner should know. Using a stone requires one to get the "science" of it all down pat. But Lansky sharpening kits eliminate all the guesswork involved, making sharpening a foolproof operation. Even your kid brother could do it (that's if you trust him with sharp, pointy objects!) As Lansky's saying goes, it's the "sharpest investment you'll ever make!" Now, on with the show.
Lansky Sharpeners produces several models of such kits, varying in the number of hones and type of hones (regular or diamond). For those not familiar with a Lansky, each kit contains the following: an aluminum knife clamp, bottle of honing oil, guide rods, and a molded plastic storage case. All you do is attach the clamp to the blade, assemble the rods to the hones, apply a light coating of oil to the desired stone, choose the appropriate angle, and begin. Flip the clamp over and work on the reverse side of the blade. Soon, you'll have a razor sharp edge. One feature I like about the kit is that there are very detailed instructions on how to set up and sharpen.
I've had my Lansky for a few years, and I'm extremely pleased with its performance. The kit is so versatile as well. I've managed to hone everything from meat cleavers to Victorinox Classics, and everything in between. Best of all, it does not take long to set up or create a mess to clean up afterwards. I've also sharpened knives for friends, and they were thoroughly impressed with the results produced. In my opinion, a Lansky is definitely money well spent. You are guaranteed a razor sharp edge every time. What's really nice about the Lansky system is that there are options available for the user to customize his/her kit. For example, there is an aluminum universal mount that will support the clamp, permitting the whole assembly to freely stand on a table top. Also available is a V-section serration hone, making it possible to bring dull serrations back to life. Sharpening serrations with this hone requires the user to work the hone inside each and every tooth. Even for partially serrated blades this will take some time, but the results make it all worthwhile to take that extra time. All in all, Lansky sharpening kits take the precise science out of sharpening. In fact, sharpening has never been this easy, ever! I think you owe it to yourself by purchasing one of these kits. The results are well worth the small fee involved. You'll be sure to "hone" your sharpening skills with one!
Lansky Universal Knife Sharpening System
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike F.
Linden, NJ
Sep 20, 2011
Pros: Effectiveness, Durability, Ease of Use
Cons: None
I bought this kit so I could sharpen a few of my knives. So far I have sharpened about 8 knives and no complaints. This kit will do the job.
Lansky Universal Knife Sharpening System
rated 3 stars out of 5
Andrew D
New Fairfield, CT
May 05, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None

Meh

I find it more convenient to just use the stones without the clamp and rod. The serrated edge and fish hook combo sharpener is nice to have. I ended up buying a double sided, paddle-type diamond stone and I prefer something like that over this especially since the Lansky takes up a lot more room in a camper's backpack.
Lansky Universal Knife Sharpening System
rated 2 stars out of 5
Bubba
utah
Mar 26, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Ease of Use

MARGINAL SHARPENING SYSTEM

This product has a great concept with the rods and angle system however the clamp is worthless in my opinion. I would almost rather go outside and find a suitable rock to sharpen a knife with rather the use the clamp supplied with this kit. The system other than that seems fine.
Lansky Universal Knife Sharpening System
rated 1 stars out of 5
Bill C
Charlotte, NC
Aug 24, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: Effectiveness, Ease of Use

Looks Cool, Doesn't Work

I had high hopes for this device, but was sadly disappointed. This tool is too small to be effective on anything but a small pocket knife. It is tedious to use as the knife's blade must be repositioned several times during sharpening. For a large knife, this tool is simply not suitable. And when it's all said and done, it doesn't put a good edge on the blade. I personally prefer the "V" ceramic sharpeners.