Reviews and Ratings for Mantis BK-1 Wicked Boot Knife 2" Black Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles

Mantis BK-1 Wicked Boot Knife 2" Black Blade, Carbon Fiber Handlesrated 3.091 stars out of 5 (11 reviews)
3 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
3
Mantis BK-1 Wicked Boot Knife 2 inch Black Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles

 

Price: $35.95

Save $22.05 (38%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Mantis BK-1 Wicked Boot Knife 2" Black Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scotty G
Central, Maine
Dec 11, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Fantastic!
I have several pairs of 5.11 Tactical boots that have a pocket on the outside of the boot that holds this knife in the sheath very well. The handle sticks out just right and the pocket is tight enough to hold the sheath without any tie down. The knife pulls out perfectly. I haven't had to use this knife yet, and hope I never do, but it seems like it will slice and dice very well.
Mantis BK-1 Wicked Boot Knife 2" Black Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jm_Snell
Cleveland, OH (Kabul, Afghansitan)
Dec 03, 2010
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Small but effective
I know I need to start reading the specs more carefully before I buy, I was expecting the blade to be about palm sized, maybe 3 inches long and 2 inches wide. This knife was significantly smaller than I imagined it would have been. BUT! That's not necessarily a bad thing. Overall, the size of the sheath and handle combined, it is VERY easily concealed on a belt or boot. I originally intended for this little guy to be secured at the shoulder of my body armor for quick access in hand to hand combat. But I am easily comfortable with it being a quick access self defense knife as well. It's size and weight as well as handle shape and functionality make it very fast to jab and slice with, and it's nonreflective black finish makes it difficult to see (especially when wearing tactical gloves) so your opponent will not understand why he is so easily bleeding when getting into a scuffle with you. I am very pleased overall with the design and effectiveness of the knife. My only complaint is that the sheath's clip isn't strong enough to facilitate a quick release by pulling the handle straight out. In order to do so, you would need to tie it down using paracord or zip ties, which is possible due to the sheath's tactical design.
Mantis BK-1 Wicked Boot Knife 2" Black Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Silviyius
Florence Montana
Dec 01, 2010
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard
I used this product for a couple of months. Not much but a toy. My friends all think its a wicked knife. "Very vicious looking". I used it a few times to cut packages open and chip ice and it worked like a dream. I was a little upset the Sheath is so cheap. The blade can rock inside of it and its quite annoying. I think I'll eventually Ghetto rig the Sheath to make it nicer. The other thing is that it came a little dull. Though for most things it wouldn't have a issue cutting.
Mantis BK-1 Wicked Boot Knife 2" Black Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mark
Albuquerque, NM
Jan 29, 2018
Pros: Handle Material, Finish
Cons: None
For the price, not bad at all.
This blade is not bad for the price. The design is obviously a big selling point, but it doesn't really compromise the functionality as a push dagger as much as I thought it might (tested on cardboard and plastic sheeting.) The sheath had a loose rivet but maybe it just slipped through QC, which could happen with any company. The retention in the sheath is excellent. Finish of the handle and blade is likewise excellent. Overall I would recommend if it suits your taste.
Mantis BK-1 Wicked Boot Knife 2" Black Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Shogun
Edmonton, AB
Mar 19, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None
Definitely a conversation piece!
Great for a last ditch self defense item. Its made to be used as an extension of your fist. However, depending on the size of your fingers the handle can be brutal near the knuckle. Overall this is a wicked knife and definitely a conversation piece. My friends are always asking to see it.
Mantis BK-1 Wicked Boot Knife 2" Black Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Double Deuce
Illinois
Mar 24, 2010
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
if all else fails, i'll be happy to have this
Practical daily applications seem far and few between but as a concealable, personal safety, "gotta have something over nothing" knife for those instances where its your life or theirs, I'll be glad to have this on my person. Just make sure your local laws permit you to have a dagger style weapon. The handle fits well into my hand and rests nicely in the grip of your closed fist. (kinda awkward if you have on glovesthough). the knife seems very well made with a good finish. the sheath appears of good construction as well. I have seen just three things I would like different and they all deal with the sheath. One, I would like the belt clip to have a "retention lip" of sorts to keep the holster from being pulled off the belt when I have it there. two, though the holster seems to grip the knife well...I would like to see a more secure hold requiring more lbs of pull applied to extract the knife from the holster. and three, when the knife is seated properly in the holster, there is some wiggle between the holster and the knife (though it is still secured). All in all, a good buy
Mantis BK-1 Wicked Boot Knife 2" Black Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Megan
Utah
Jul 03, 2010
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Loved it - Lost it
First - I recommended this knife to a Salt Lake City Police Officer who is now buying one. Second - I loved my knife - until I lost it. Which brings me to the draw-backs. The clip needs something to keep the sheath from being pulled off your belt/boot/purse/pocket. It needs to be more secure. Second, the knife itself needs to be held more securely in the sheath. I finally sewed a snap onto the pocket strap of my purse to hold it in place so it wouldn't slide out. But once the sheath was so firmly in place, the knife fell out. Without me noticing. So, alas - I love the knife enough I'm buying it again. But this time I'm getting a custom made sheath for it so I can't lose it again.
Mantis BK-1 Wicked Boot Knife 2" Black Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Mike F
san francisco, ca
Dec 28, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
BADASS LOOKS; NOT PRACTICAL
i have a few problems with my purchase i'd like to review before i decide if i want to return/refund/exchange... i did a normal run through test with the mantis bk-1: paper and cardboard slash & thrust; quick draw from multiple positions on the body; weight comparison/cutting ability v other blades (spyderco) here's where i stand: the blade out of box hardly seems sharp enough for slash for either paper or cardboard; in terms of penetration, the double points have a bit of a problem with the depth as compared to the single point on the spyderco... the other design flaw is that the haft of the blade where the knuckles hit during a thrust/penetration come against are squared-off and can cause damage quite easily (pics below: injury, then divot scar on healing)... and there is a several mm gap in the tolerance of the plastic case that has the blade jiggle/jostle when moving... have other customers had problems like these or did they just buy this because it has such a badass design?
Mantis BK-1 Wicked Boot Knife 2" Black Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Tim W
Phoenix, Az
Mar 04, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Very cheap
The clip on the sheath isn't strong. The sheath is nice. The small half circle on the tip isn't even sharpened. If you think you're going thrust and stab someone good luck. Overall it's not very sharp, I think it's a piece of crap. I wish I would have checked YouTube for reviews before buying.
Mantis BK-1 Wicked Boot Knife 2" Black Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Daryn
Elgin, Il
Oct 07, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Finish
If it was 1.50 it would be pricey for the quality.
sheath lets blade fall out terrible edge all uneven tip has the rounded shape thats completely unsharpened.After resharpening the blade for a proper edge it may work for slashing.pretty useless for a PUSH DAGGER.Unless you manually put your own edge on the stamped half moon at the tip.This a a 1.50 dollar china sub crap.And of course the cheap handle thats not fitted to the blade material, the fiber handle is way smaller than the metal.Before you buy this just use a screwdriver and a cardboard tube as a sheath and you have a better made push dagger.
Mantis BK-1 Wicked Boot Knife 2" Black Blade, Carbon Fiber Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Dsnuts
Elgin
Oct 26, 2017
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Overall Quality
cheap
The cutout at the tip is not sharpened as in other model of the same look.So basically it's only good for slashing and not very good at that either.The carbon handles are cheap not sized to the knife just generic small patch for huge variables in production.overall pictures are way better than the knife in person. About a 2 dollar knife with inflation added.P.S. my sheath lets knife fall out no retention it's a plastic holder not a sheath, literally if I turn the sheath over knife falls out.