Reviews and Ratings for Mantis Knives MK-3vXb Encore Folding Karambit Knife 2" Blade, Steel Handle

Mantis Knives MK-3vXb Encore Folding Karambit Knife 2" Blade, Steel Handlerated 4.000 stars out of 5 (12 reviews)
4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
2
Mantis Knives MK-3vXb Encore Folding Karambit Knife 2 inch Blade, Steel Handle

 

Price: $52.95

Save $17.05 (24%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Mantis Knives MK-3vXb Encore Folding Karambit Knife 2" Blade, Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
J. Kam
California
May 13, 2011
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Very Nice Knife
This is a great karambit. It comes EXTREMELY sharp. It was one the sharpest knife I own, and still is. Its steel is great, and definitely keeps it's razor edge. The Encore isn't too easy to open in reverse grip with your pinky, but with some practice, you can. After getting the feel of it all, it is quite easy to open the blade with your pocket like a wave. One of my favorite things about this is its low pocket clip. Sometimes, the knife isn't even visible. Also, it is very light and thin, and I can't even feel it in my jeans most of the time. A great design from a great company.
Mantis Knives MK-3vXb Encore Folding Karambit Knife 2" Blade, Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nate Sussangkarn
Bangkok, TH
May 19, 2011
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Overall Quality
Just freaking buy it and get it over with
I've been edc-ing karambits alot lately and this is the one to get. Fits perfectly in the hand. Handle design is thicker at the top (hole side) and thinner closer to the blade making every part of the handle match the hand in a 'hole-up, blade-down' grip. Balance of the knife is utterly perfect, lying rite in the center of the hand letting all movements flow naturally. For me the pocket clip was a little to strong, i adjusted to allow for easy 'wave open' which can be done very easily after just a little practice to find that sweet spot. Having a reversible pocket clip is what every folding karambit needs and this one doesn't disappoint. The 'mantis knives' on the pocket clip is just awesome. Mine came hair shaving sharp out of the box and slices paper and cardboard with ease. The frame lock was a little loose, that is, i could push it in further into the handle... yet still there is no blade play, up, down left or right which is kind of surprising. In conclusion... just get it. For the money u pay for it u won't be disappointed.
Mantis Knives MK-3vXb Encore Folding Karambit Knife 2" Blade, Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Clayton F
Tucson, Az
May 13, 2012
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Handle Material, None
Great martial tool
i love my encore, its probably one of the most comfortable karambits ive ever owned, the ring is wide enough to give stability and confidence when doing quick silat drills, or transitioning to the 'extended' grip. I use mine for nothing other than martial arts:a defensive carry that is very discreet. It will be a very sad day that it actually sees real use, already have used it to discourage an attacker at a gas station. on the overall, i wouldnt worry too much bout hard use on the knife, because mantis will always have your back when you need it replaced. Also, it has a much more defined curve than most karambits have, wich is great for the instance of having to hook tendons and ligements in a defense situation.
Mantis Knives MK-3vXb Encore Folding Karambit Knife 2" Blade, Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joab Camp
UNDER A ROCK, NOMANSDLAND
Jan 01, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Materials, Finish
sharp as balls!
i got this knife for Christmas, and a cold steel rajah 2, and i have been carrying the kerambit ever since, and its still sharper than the cold steel! its very sharp factory,IF YOU ARE A KALI OR FIGHTING KNIFE ENTHUSIAST, BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!, ITS EFFIN BEASTLY!!!!!!, i have not had problems with it yet, but i did have to mess with the locking mechanism a little, but otherwise...VERY PLEASED!!!
Mantis Knives MK-3vXb Encore Folding Karambit Knife 2" Blade, Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joab Camp
UNDER A ROCK, NOMANSDLAND
Jan 01, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Materials, Finish
sharp as balls!
i got this knife for Christmas, and a cold steel rajah 2, and i have been carrying the kerambit ever since, and its still sharper than the cold steel! its very sharp factory,IF YOU ARE A KALI OR FIGHTING KNIFE ENTHUSIAST, BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!, ITS EFFIN BEASTLY!!!!!!, i have not had problems with it yet, but i did have to mess with the locking mechanism a little, but otherwise...VERY PLEASED!!!
Mantis Knives MK-3vXb Encore Folding Karambit Knife 2" Blade, Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joab Camp
UNDER A ROCK, NOMANSDLAND
Jan 01, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Materials, Finish
sharp as balls!
i got this knife for Christmas, and a cold steel rajah 2, and i have been carrying the kerambit ever since, and its still sharper than the cold steel! its very sharp factory,IF YOU ARE A KALI OR FIGHTING KNIFE ENTHUSIAST, BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!, ITS EFFIN BEASTLY!!!!!!, i have not had problems with it yet, but i did have to mess with the locking mechanism a little, but otherwise...VERY PLEASED!!!
Mantis Knives MK-3vXb Encore Folding Karambit Knife 2" Blade, Steel Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Gabor L
Szekesfehervar, Hungary
Nov 28, 2011
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, None
Cons: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Weight
Unique shape
She shape is really great, but the blade is sharp only on one side. And it isn't sharp actually. It's heavy and difficult to open. The ring is bulky, so it isn't convenient for the fingers.
Mantis Knives MK-3vXb Encore Folding Karambit Knife 2" Blade, Steel Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mitchell
phoenix
Jan 02, 2015
Pros: Handle Feel, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
looks great
the Mantis looks great ,feels good in the hand but the action is a bit stiff .
Mantis Knives MK-3vXb Encore Folding Karambit Knife 2" Blade, Steel Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Eric Kopp
St. Louis, MO
May 21, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
very well constructed
Great EDC knife. Very well built,good fit and finish,good lock up no blade play at all. Wasn't impressed with sharpness out of the box, steep edge bevel and unable to cut my thumb even with heavy pressure.A little work on a spiderco stone yeilded a scalpel sharp edge. The blade steel seems to be quite good. over all happy with this knife at this price.
Mantis Knives MK-3vXb Encore Folding Karambit Knife 2" Blade, Steel Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jeff A.
San Diego, Ca
Jun 08, 2011
Pros: Materials, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Overall Quality, Finish, None
Not for the fighting arts in mind
The karambit is not a good edc option unless you're cutting rope or carpet where a hawkbill shaped blade is needed. Originally used to rake roots it evolved into a fighting blade. Now I carry this around specifically for self defense. It is not friendly for the reverse grip as it should be held, the finish leaves sharp edges that dig into your index finger and when performing extensions will occasionally cause discomfort. The gimping on the blade that acts as a "wave" feature works just fine, for a normal grip. If you deploy it tip down you have to twist it so the blade faces opposite from your hip and pull up, this guarantees a catch. Other methods under stress will fail more often. And pulling on the ring the wrong way will cause the sharp edge around that ring to dig into your finger. Actually performing cuts and forms with it asides from extensions, it's a wonderful knife. Overall the knife has a beautiful design and function, and it comes shaving sharp,there's ways you can adapt to the kinks in its design but it is not designed with the fighting arts in mind.
Mantis Knives MK-3vXb Encore Folding Karambit Knife 2" Blade, Steel Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
Aaron C
Colville, Wa
Aug 25, 2015
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Terrible.
This is a really cool looking knife, but unfortunately there are too many things wrong with it. The knife showed up with a completely dull blade like a "trainer", no edge at all. The blade wasn't centered in the handle when closed, it leaned hard to the right and rubbed on the handle when opening. Once the blade was out, it was loose and sloppy. It moved side to side quite a bit even when locked. The very worst thing though was it had these cheap plastic nuts holding the pin going through the blade and the second time I opened the knife one of them fell off! It looks like it was held on with a dab of glue. I'm extremely disappointed with this knife and will be returning it. Do yourself a favor and buy something else.
Mantis Knives MK-3vXb Encore Folding Karambit Knife 2" Blade, Steel Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
Tyler L
Alberta Canada
Jan 23, 2018
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Not very well constructed
Screws falling out as if they're held in by some cheap glue, also the one sided edge put me off as well, not my type of knife as well as not the type of knife for any consumer in mind