Reviews and Ratings for Ontario Field Machete 18" Blade, Knuckle Guard - 8514

Ontario Field Machete 18" Blade, Knuckle Guardrated 4.667 stars out of 5 (15 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Ontario Field Machete 18 inch Blade, Knuckle Guard

 

Price: $21.95

Save $15.00 (41%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Ontario Field Machete 18" Blade, Knuckle Guard
rated 5 stars out of 5
Karl Hoffman
Fort Worth, Texas
May 27, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
I use the Ontario Field Machete for field work, especially tree surveys where I often must hach my way through briar to tag and measure individual trees. This machete is tough, well balanced, and keeps a great edge.
Ontario Field Machete 18" Blade, Knuckle Guard
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zombie Hunter
massachusetts
Apr 16, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
great blade, great investment
i bought this blade for clearing brush around my property and so far it has worked great. this is the second ontario knife works blade that i have purchased and i have found the quality to be truly superior. not to mention, it feels good to buy a product made in the U.S.. before purchasing this machete i considered getting the 22", but am really glad that i went with the 18". the blade is sufficiently long for any work or zombie killing that i have to do, and i don't have to worry about fatigue. the only thing i don't like about the machete is that the handle is a little thicker than i would like. i am sure that i can and will take a rotary tool to it to thin it down a little, but otherwise it is an awesome purchase.
Ontario Field Machete 18" Blade, Knuckle Guard
rated 5 stars out of 5
Twinstick
Western NY State
Nov 09, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish
Great buy !!!
I have had one for many years. I love it. Buy the plastic military sheath for it, it's well worth it. It continues to amaze me. Have had to tap the rivets a few times with a hammer to re-tighten the handle after some severe use, but no issues. I have mine hair shaving sharp. Have not seen anything that can even come close for the money.
Ontario Field Machete 18" Blade, Knuckle Guard
rated 5 stars out of 5
Barry
el cajon ca
Feb 15, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
the best quality
camping weight it is perfect
Ontario Field Machete 18" Blade, Knuckle Guard
rated 5 stars out of 5
American Chopper
Kansas City, MO
Dec 17, 2010
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
The Premier Machete
I have had this thing for several years now. It has gone through everything. I have chopped thigh sized trees to tall grass, it can do it all. It takes a good edge and keeps it, due to the 1095 carbon steel. The blade is very ridged and the handle is very comfortable. This is the best machete I own. I only wish it came with a sheath.
Ontario Field Machete 18" Blade, Knuckle Guard
rated 5 stars out of 5
Anthony
Clarinda, IA
Jan 13, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Good quality for price
For the price, this product seems good. This is a high carbon steel blade that I think would be the same quality as most military combat knifes which are tough. Can't beat the quality for the price. Seems thick and sturdy as well.
Ontario Field Machete 18" Blade, Knuckle Guard
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wilson Cur
Louisiana
May 29, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
First rate product
We've been using these machetes for 10 years. I bought this one for a friend. We use them to clear shooting lanes and small roads on our forested property. We also use them during hunting season to clear shooting lanes. We keep one in all our trucks. The handguard protects the hand in heavy brush and helps folks retain and control the blade. They are easy to keep sharp after the initial sharpening and they hold an edge well. The 22" version is a better chopper with the extra 4" of blade, but the 18" is easier to carry in a backpack. You can't go wrong with this Ontario Knife.
Ontario Field Machete 18" Blade, Knuckle Guard
rated 5 stars out of 5
La
NC
Feb 24, 2009
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Great Blade
Ontario Knife machetes are the best (even better than Cold Steels). My only complaint is that they don't come with a sheath/scabbard. I don't think any machete comes sharp and mine needed further sharpening. Because the blade is made from 1095 carbon steel, it holds and edge very well. Put a nice convex grind on the edge (good enough to slice paper like a razor) and you can cut down lots of bamboo without any nicks or apparent dulling. My only problem is that when carrying around something this sharp, you really need a sheath.
Ontario Field Machete 18" Blade, Knuckle Guard
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott
Maryland
Aug 04, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
I Think I Could Use This On Some Zombies
Great machete for smaller branches, trees, weeds, vines, and brush. Bigger items require a few more whacks. I bought this item to replace the exact same knife that I bought from a local military supply store that I accidentally put into my fire pit with tree debris.
Ontario Field Machete 18" Blade, Knuckle Guard
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jorge C
España
Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Weight, Materials
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Buena herramienta
Featured on thick branches medium hardness with very strong shocks. It is tough and the edge is not altered. Its weight makes it effective . Utilizado en gruesas ramas dureza media con muy fuertes golpes. Es resistente y el filo no se altera. Su peso la hace eficaz.
Ontario Field Machete 18" Blade, Knuckle Guard
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
South central Kansas
Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Still a dependable tool
Bought a copy of this blade to serve as a backup after the "D" hand guard broke off of my original Ontario machete. Ontario has changed the handle from a rivetted hard plastic to an injection molded handle. I find the new handle to be slimmer than the old. I think a little grip tape will fatten it up. The blades appears to be the same between the two. I've used my Ontario machete for about 15 years and it is the most dependable piece of equipment I have in my survey truck. A little careful attention from a file keeps the edge in fighting shape. They should include a good scabbard with this blade.
Ontario Field Machete 18" Blade, Knuckle Guard
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rs
PacNW
Sep 15, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Great machete
This is a great machete for doing general clean-up work or cutting paths in the woods. It's the only machete I have that has a blade of 1095 steel. My other machetes have either 1055 or 1075 for a blade steel and while those make for a good tough blade, they don't hold an edge like a good 1095 blade. The only thing I don't like is the lack of a sheath so I can put it someplace other than sticking it in a log when I need two hands.
Ontario Field Machete 18" Blade, Knuckle Guard
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dave
New England
Jun 11, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Super quality
The design and size of this machete is perfect for my tastes. Stiff and weighty enough for chopping but not so long and heavy to be unwieldy. I like the hand guard too. Very comfortable and reassuring grip. My only gripe is that it comes pretty dull with no directions on how or at what angle to sharpen it. knifecenter.com was the cheapest and provided supper service.
Ontario Field Machete 18" Blade, Knuckle Guard
rated 4 stars out of 5
Aravinthan R.P
Tamilnadu, India.
Jun 21, 2014
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard
Ontario Field Machete 18" Blade
Thanks KC. This is a beast I should say. The blade is mate finished. Unfortunately for me the machete was not sharp out of the box. But thats ok I think. The knuckle gaurd is little big for my hand but for someone with large hand it would fit perfectly. I am glad that I did not buy the 22 inch blade because for work that consumes a lot time the blade would be heavy. Thanks KC, ONTARIO and FedEx. BTW there is no sheath with the product, would have been great if one comes along with the product.
Ontario Field Machete 18" Blade, Knuckle Guard
rated 3 stars out of 5
Axe
Ontario, NY
Jun 04, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Handle Material
Plastic Handle
Been using these knives at work in blazing heat and freezing cold for 3+ years. The steel holds an edge very well but is tough to sharpen without a stone. The handle is easy to hold with minimal effort as it can comfortably hang from one hand. Mistriking a hard surface -- not hitting it perpendicularly -- will torque the knuckle guard into the back of your hand and make you wish you had not purchased the knife, let alone bring it along. Mistriking a large sappling in the winter will crack the handle. And while you will be able to complete a day's work, it is at the end of it's career. I beleive Ontario provides a warrantee service for this series; so mail it back to them directly. The blade steel is very rigid, but can be bent while prying with moderate force and it just springs back. Left unsharpened, the tip is very good for piercing the ground and its shape can remove dirt relatively well. I've seen nothing short of a kantana better at cutting limbs and sapplings. If your leg can accomodate the extra length, go for the 22". (And sheath of course.)