Reviews and Ratings for Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath - 6150

Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheathrated 4.406000000000001 stars out of 5 (64 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
39
4 star
17
3 star
4
2 star
3
1 star
1
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5 inch Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath

 

Price: $59.90

Save $15.05 (20%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brian
New York
Nov 01, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None

Excellent

Excellent knife. I plan on packing this knife away for future use. It has a coating on the blade to protect it from rust while in storage. Nice weight, and feel very sturdy.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
E. Davis
East Tennesse
Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Exceeded expectations

I purchased 2 Air Force survival knives, one for my wife and another for myself. We enjoy primitive camping in the North Georgia mountains. These knives will be used mostly during camping outings. I am very pleased with the quality and ruggedness of these knives, for the money they are alot of bang for the hard earned buck. The service from the Knife Center was outstanding. I am excited about the numerous products sold on the Knife Center, and am certain more purchases will be made. I highly recommend the Knife Center, and encourage all serious outdoorsmen and women to add the USAF survival knife to their required equipment inventory. Thank you.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert Bo
Morton Grove, Il
Apr 24, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

My turn!

My brother bought this knife a while ago. He has put this thing through hell and back and it stays sharp and is versatile. I have since bought my own and can't say enough about it. Plus made in America!
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Yuri
UNITED STATES
Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

NOTHING BEATS QUALITY

AS A U.S. AIR FORCE VETERAN I HAD AN UNFORTUNATE MISHAP THAT LEAD TO THE LOST OF MY SURVIVAL KNIFE FORTUNATELY TWENTY SOMETHING YEARS LATER I WAS ABLE TO PURCHASE ANOTHER IT IS AN EXCELLENT TOOL FOR CAMPING AS WELL AS SURVIVAL ITS DURABILITY AND STRENGTH ATE IN A CLASS BY ITSELF...
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pop's
Louisiana
Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

I love my knife.

Just a quick note to say thanks for the great service, my order arrived exactly as ordered. This was my first attempt at ordering, and it will now certainly not be my last. Thank you for the excellent price, great service, and fantastic selection.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
John H.
Ohio
Aug 06, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None

The Real Deal

I am in the process of putting together a 3-day GoBag/Bug-out-bag and wanted a great utilitarian fixed blade knife - and this is the ticket. It's not pretty, or fancy and it's not a knife for your collection, by any means. It's an industrial 'tool' that flat out works. And it's easy to sharpen, with its included stone. If you need a knife that is going to be used as a knife - buy it. .
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mattdog
Tx
Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Solid knife

I haven't gotten to really use this knife in the great outdoors, but I have used it around the house for small cutting tasks which is perfect for the 5 in blade. The pommel was also effective for hammering in nails. A big plus is that I am really enjoying the feel of the leather handle. I'm still considering stripping the black coating. This is a fantastic utility knife.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
M. Frost
Shangri La
Mar 03, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Not Bad

Had one of the original 80's ones...and have this one. It's not bad. Not my first choice as an 'only' survival knife, but great to have around camp. Would buy again.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hayden
Jul 07, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None

Great knife

Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rob
Ny
Aug 25, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None

No frills classic worker

For the money, My go to outdoor blade. First knowing some personal refinement was necessary for this knife before use is IMO a plus. To get it exactly right I soak the handle, tang, 1/2 inch of blade in molten beeswax until they reach equal temp. sealing up all spaces for water to enter. Leather soaks up wax, darkens and seals while giving slightly tacky grip once dry. needs sharpening and sheath likes to be snow sealed. all in all you take care of her and she will be there when you need her. I have used an original issue AFSK that was older than me and the only real difference was sheath and years of conditioning. Like a ball cap it takes some wearing in but over time will be the one you reach for.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim
Virginia
Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Serious knife

Ridiculously over-engineered, this knife is for people who are serious about having a knife that WILL NOT FAIL them in a survival situation. Forget all the other "survival" knives - I was issued my Ontario knife 35 years ago, and I have used it and abused it in the backwoods and around the house ever since. It's small enough to not be a burden, large enough (and thick enough) to beat on with a froe to chop down a tree, use as a pry tool, field dress game - you name it. The sheath is not pretty, but it wears pretty much as well as the knife it protects. Sewn and riveted, metal-backed - it's not going to fail you either. Great knife - forget Gerber, Bear Gryllis and all the other pretenders - this is a serious knife for serious situations. Take care of it and it will take care of you - for a long, long, time.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
T. J. K.
The swamps.
Apr 06, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None

Great performing blade

I use it for around the campsite. Also I sharpened the blade's edge to a razor sharpness with a Spyderco sharpener and the blade literally shaves the hair off of my forearm. That's the reason I've always preferred 1095 carbon blades: they're very easy to sharpen. And I like my survival knife to have a metal pummel.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Roberto A
Vitoria-Gasteiz,Basque Country,Spain
Aug 21, 2012
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Finish, Weight

Great knife

Doing mountain It Is very robust To much weight with the sheath ,some little things in the sheath
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jc K.
NJ
Dec 02, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Made in America!

Made in USA! Buy it for that alone! Full tang means it is nearly indestructible. Mine still goes. Bought it b/c of that and the stacked leather looks and smells so great. Powder coating will eventually get w n t, but that's what it is for! A little oil and some time on a stone keeps this thing SO reliable for any job. Agree with a little snow seal or beeswax on leather only makes it look even better. I'm getting 2 more to store away for my 2 sons. It's not often anymore such a quality piece is made outside of China. Well done.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
P .Floris
CYprus-GReece
Jul 04, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

OkNife 499.

good overal quality.its a handtool for many uses.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kimbo
NJ
Nov 08, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Finish

Gteat Deal

This knife is everything it is cracked up to be...durable, great looking with the stacked leather handle, full tang. Indestructible, as far as I can tell. Yes, dull out of tje box, but of you can't put an edge on a knife, you shouldn't't be handling one. Put some snow seal/bee's wax on the handle and oil the blade after sharpening and you're good to go. Great knife.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ken K
Seattle area
Dec 27, 2012
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None
I will use this for general camping activites. I like the non-slip leather handle which can stand some light hammering like tent pegs. Even came with laces for tying sheath to legs or whatever. Like the sharpening stone in the sheath. Mine was cracked on arrival but replaced immediately by Knifecenter. I soaked the leatherhandle in neatsfoot oil for 3 days and used some oil for the sheath, with does darken it some. I did sharpen it a just a little so that it will slice the edge of a piece of paper. I think of it as durable and practical, to be used, not a display piece. It was designed for immergencies, but should last a lifetime.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sere Level C Trained - Tiger 1
Texas
Feb 21, 2013
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None

Pilot Issue in S.E Asia War

I was an Army attack helicopter pilot/section leader on SOG in Laos/Cambodia plus Vietnam. This knife was selected by the Army and Air Force as the standard pilot issue as it worked when needed for combat/survival situations as it does now for time in the outdoors. Even though I have many other knives, I consider this knife to be with me most of the time as it remains quite functional and works as intended.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
James
Virginia
Oct 07, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Materials
Cons: None

Tough Knife

I really like this knife. I have two, they are very sturdy. I keep one in my toolbox and have used it quite often. This knife is a Air force knife, I read where the saw teeth on the back of the blade were designed to cut through the metal skin of an aircraft to assist the pilot in freeing themselves from their plane. Not real good for sawing through wood though. A great knife!
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Blue Monkey
Upstate , Ny
Mar 08, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: None

499 Air Force Survival Knife

I purchased this knife mostly to keep in my glove compartment as an emergency tool - won't find me skinning game or building a lean-to anytime soon. What sold me was that it's designed to assist a pilot in escaping a mangled plane wreck......so I'll assume it should work equally well for a mangled car wreck. I love the solidity and heft of this piece , and I enjoyed sharpening it , oiling it and treating it's leather myself - it looks and feels great in the hand and is now hair shaving sharp. I especially like that it's point of balance is well behind the cross guard - that translates to better blade control - I also like the sharpened clip point which allows for a 'back cut'. Last but not least , I love that this fine piece is made right here in 'my own back yard' so to speak , made by Americans here in beautiful Upstate New York !!
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Adam W.
Pennsylvania
Jul 17, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness

13 years and still going strong ...

I got mine in '99 as a general purpose outdoors knife. The big Rambo knives were all the rage back then, and most every one of them was overpriced junk. Ontario has made this model for decades ... if it ain't broke, don't fix it. Yes, the blade sharpness out of the box leaves a lot to be desired. I even picked up some rust between the leather rings and the guard and butt cap, but a steel brush and some BreakFree took care of it no problem. Everything else about this knife is top notch. Quality construction, tough metal, excellent sheath ... for $40! AND it's made in the USA! I have several other OKC knives, but this one is my sentimental favorite. Nothing fancy, nothing high tech. Just a great value and bang for the buck. It's really the perfect knife for everything from a camping ruck to a bug out bag.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Luke S.
Madison, CT
Jan 26, 2012
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

Raw Rough Survival Knife

My good friend lost her knife similar to this and I'm reducing my life to one large backpack so I figured I would get a no nonsense knife. I liked the price as well as the reviews of this knife and I have to say I agree with most reviewers. This thing aint pretty like my buck 110, but I would use this for a lot more grunt work than the buck and I know that it could take it. The sharpening on them is bad out of box, you need to make it better yourself. once you do that you'll be ready to stab bears and climb waterfalls with this thing clamped in your teeth!
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
idaho
Aug 08, 2013
Pros: Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None

Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife

Excellent product for its purpose - this is not a "defense" weapon, it is a robust tool which can be used to cut, pry, or pound things; features many knives cannot support. I haven't really beat on the blade so I don't know if it holds an edge, but it does come with an albeit small sharpening stone.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Davemcilmoyl
Saskatchewan
Feb 27, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Review of the Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife

I got the Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife to use as my main personal knife for camping. It is a good size to carry and has a full tang and robust blade that can take some hard use for all the chores that come when camping. The leather handle has a good grip and the butt end will work for minor pounding jobs. The blade is a useful length and sharpens easily. I put a treatment of mink oil on the handle and sheath to keep it well preserved. The sheath is functional but the stone that comes with it is small. All in all this is a great general purpose knife.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Colonelkorn
NC,USA
Jul 06, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

My Favorite Knife

Initially bought for a general purpose knife to be used in deer camp. From skinning to butchering to cooking and even a few things I never intended, the edge always held up. This is the one knife I recommend as standard equipment to anyone who asks. Thee only thing That I would improve is the sharpening stone, it is a little small and to coarse of grit to get a fine edge.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eino
Suomi, Keminmaa
Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

One of the best knives

My brother had this knife so long i can remember. And its one of the best knives out there. When he gave it to me i was so happy....
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mr. A
Montery Park CA
Mar 27, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Rugged Ontario Air Force Survival Blade

This knife was purchased to use as a general purpose camping/field knife. Its medium size rides on the belt very nicely and complements the Ontario RTAK-II carried in my backpack. The rugged construction and stacked leather handle give this knife an all business appearance that I find in common with my WWII era knives to be quite appealing as well as practical. A steal at the price paid at Knife Center!
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
Greenville, NC
Aug 09, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Great knife.

Used these knives for survival training while I was in the USAF and beat/abused the absolute heck out of it. This is a great no frills knife.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Theodore B
Northern Kentucky
Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Perfect all a round outdoorknife

This is my shtf knife I will be taking with me when the time comes, I use it every day now and it has not disappointed. Quality materials and made in the U.S.A.!!!!!!
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Okayusa
Central Texas
Dec 27, 2009
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness

My first real knife

I bought this knife for several reasons, the first is because it is build to help my fellow countrymen. Second is it is a real survival knive ( blunt end for hammering or clunking, the holes drilled in guard for spearing, and saw blade that works great). When I got the knife I brought it to my local leather shop to have loops attached to the sheath to wear it horizonaly on my belt works great. The problem was it would bearly cut paracord, so I started sharping it. It took around 3 hours to get a good edge, it had no degree in it's edge. Now I have the perfect knife. Also paid 10 bucks more than K C sells it for.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Erik
North Texas
Nov 04, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

One of the best knives I own

When I found this product I was Just looking for a quality Texas legal Every Day Carry knife. For around $40 this knife can't be beat! For a knife designed to cut through aircraft, it cuts wood very well. Popular misconception is that the saw is for wood, it is actually for cuting through aluminum. The stacked leather handle is comfortable, and the blade is great steel. Mine was made in 2011. Great for backpacking, youth, camping, hand to hand combat, or just about anything. You would be stupid not to buy this knife.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lucas Tyler
West Newton Mass
Nov 24, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

no bs knife

We used these knives for everything from opening cans to digging bunkers, they are the real deal no B.S.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sue H.
Illinois
Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None

Great knife

I love it, this is the perfect size knife to carry around the farm.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Evan
Massachusetts
Jun 10, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None

Great knife

I bought this knife for my son. After reading the reviews I thought we'd have to sharpen it but it came pretty sharp. Nice carbon steel blade and well balanced full tang with a nice leather wrap. We treated the handle and it darkened up nicely. He wears it all the time and the sheath sits on his hip great.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Donald B
Rochester New York
Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Great working knife, that is built like a tank!

It's been a long time coming but I finally found a great knife. I have wanted a knife like this to replace the Navy Knife (similar knife) I lost in Viet Nam. I can't praise it enough. It's a working knife not one of those fake RAMBO knives, You can mistreat it, use it as a hammer, Pry with it, cut wire, and it will still only take a few strokes of the sharpening stone (that comes with it) to get it back to sharpness. The sheath is even better than the one I had back in the 1960's. The handle of knife is special, you won't loose your grip even when your hands are wet with blood as you skin out game. This is one of the best Knives I have ever owned.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Former_Pilot
Buffalo, NY
Dec 11, 2010
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

Old school quality

I bought this knife as a replacement to one I had from the 80s. It's well made from parkerized steel and leather just lime my original. About the only difference I noticed was the metal sheath reinforcement on the original has been made larger on this issue to cover most of the back (an improvement I think). Overall a sturdy no nonsense knife for camp or survival.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
poconos pa
Jan 06, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

bets knife I own

I love this knife its just what i have been looking for will be getting another as a gift soon
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark
WA State
Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Finish, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness

Great survival and general utility knife

I got my Aircrew Survival Knife in the US Marine Corps shortly after OCS 30 years ago. I attached it to my 782 gear and used it through TBS and my other training. It was used for trimming branches, building small fires, opening C-rat cans, making booby traps, cutting through ammo boxes, and pounding in my shelter-half stakes. Years later it was used for deer hunting, camping, and cleaning off the bottom of the lawn mower. I treated my leather handle and sheath with Mink Oil and never had to touch it since. On the positive side it's a great low-cost survival/utility knife. It can pound things, and perform wilderness survival tasks. The 1095 carbon blade is fine and it will hold an edge. However it takes a little time to get a really sharp edge on the thick blade. Every tool has a specific purpose and the military purpose of this knife was to be used for emergency survival.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gene R.
Oakwood, GA
May 06, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness

Great Knife

I love this knife! It's extremely tough and the included sharpening stone is convienient. The sheath also seems to be well-made, and should last a long time.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Daddy Sturgis
Dallas, Texas
May 03, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Ontario Air Force Survival Knife

It is basic - "No Frills" Field Knife. A great value multiuse tool.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bill
Indiana
Oct 24, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

Good basic survival knife.

Nothing fancy, just a basic survival knife. I have many knives, and this is one that may become one of my favorites. I like the balance and general style of the knife and it appears to be pretty durable. Not very sharp, but I fixed that quickly enough. I ordered two--one for myself and one for a gift. Interestingly, the sharpening stones on both knives were broken. Called KnifeCenter and they immediately sent replacements. It's really nice working with a place that has such good customer service.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Hayden
Atlanta, GA
Sep 28, 2010
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Blade Sharpness

Not a shelf or show case knife but fantastic hard use knife

Well, first off it smells like leather. Leather when wet isnt that great but this looks like itll be fine when wet. What I like about the knife is in comes with lines and scratches on it, most from the sheath, so you're not afraid to knock it around ever. It has a VERY powdery finish and scratches easy but, its tough as a nail. It comes too dull to cut paper, it just tears it. and the blade is so uneven it will snage and pull tones of fibers out of cloths your run it along. I use this as a primary for backpacking, and its a fantastic survival knife because of the flat hammer capable end cap, holes in top thumb guard for spearing, saw teeth, and durability. It just needs a very lentghy and deep sharpen. I dont like the exessively powdered finish and the sheath isnt molded (or however they shape leather) very well.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dylan
Forty fort
Mar 04, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, None
Cons: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Weight

Good utility knife

Great utility knife, unbalanced tho. I changed it to a Scandinavian grind
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Troy
midwest
Mar 05, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Finish

not a bad knife

I'm starting to collect knives so it just kinda sits around but its ever thing I thot it would be just a raw old school army knife its heavy duty the blade needed honded and smoothed out win I first got it and that took some time but that just means it will hold a sharp edge thru lots of abuse and just needs leather treatment on the Handel but that's what I liked about it you can make it what you want I hate ordering a knife and its not all you thot it wold be this knife is ever thing they say it is and you make it the way you want it to look like the sheath is nice too not just some cheep knilon crap most knifes come with enemy more I have no regrets about this one im happy I ordered this knife
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ruben Alcantara
Manila, Philippines
Feb 10, 2010
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

A superb knife for an excellent price

I'm an avid mountaineer from the Philippines, and I decided to get myself one of these knives to serve as an all-around beater when i climb. i purchased this knife from Knife Center on a recent trip to MD, and have no regrets in doing so. the edge was a bit rough out of the box, but a quick sharpening gave it a shaving- shard edge. i've since taken it out on a few climbs through dense jungle, and it hasn't let me down. the heft really lends to handling survival tasks,and the soft-ish 1095 tool steel is dead easy to sharpen with the included stone. it handles well, and has faced fire-making, peg hammering and cooking tasks without the slightest problem. i highly recommend this knife.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Evgenk
Toronto, Canada
Nov 08, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Finish, None

Not as good as older models

Good knife overall however not as good as the 1981 version I have. Coating on the blade feels cheap, other than that it's a great knife.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bruce
Montana
Sep 11, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

Really a great knife

I've owned one of these for going on 25 years now. Not sure if my original was Ontario or not, but it doesn't really matter. The leather handle feels great and it's easy to care for with a little bees wax. The phosphate finish is designed to hold the oil to the surface to prevent rust. The sawtooth is a little silly. I'm sure it would be great if you were laying around with a broken leg and really needed to saw through a stick. But you're better off with a wire saw in most situations. The sheath is nice with a metal backer that will prevent the knife from cutting it's way out and it actually makes a usable entrenching tool in a pinch. Both of my boys are at that age where it's time for a sheath knife. They picked out this one as their favorite, so I ordered them up. Nice to see some things haven't changed. Comes with a hacking edge but it'll need some touchup before any self respecting boy will carry it.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kevin D
saxton, pa.
Sep 25, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Material, Finish

two,one for my lady and i

I bought two of these knives for my lady and i. They are our together, survival, tribute gifts to our relationship so to speak. We hunt, dish, camp and scout together and these knives comes with US.,for all we use them for to our needs there great. Simple,practical not fancy just good USA knives for the outdoors and self defense use when needed. All and all good knife.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chase
Florida
May 28, 2013
Pros:
Cons:

Good Knife

Overall, I was satisfied with the knife. It came a little dull, but it didn't take much honing to get it sharp. The leather where the hand guard is pressed against when it is sheathed began to deteriorate, but it isn't too bad.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mike
Oklahoma
Jun 04, 2013
Pros:
Cons:

Good Knife

If you don't mind a little do it yourself then this knife should work for you. I am pleased with this knife after working on it. Takes a very sharp edge. I put his knife in my bug out bag.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jeff
The swampy hell of Florida
Apr 12, 2016
Pros:
Cons:

Classic hard use knife.

I first ran into the this knife in the early 1980s. A good friend of mine had been in the Air Force, and a PJ recommended this knife to him when they were getting survival training. It is inexpensive, tough as nails, and takes a good edge. What more could you want in a knife? The saw on the back is for soft aluminum and plexiglass, in case you were wondering. If you are a pilot in the USAF, you already know all about it. These have changed subtly over the years, but are pretty much the same great knives they have always been. You can pay more, but you would be hard pressed to find a better survival knife.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Stacey M
Bloomington, Tx
Mar 06, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Good knife

Love this knife I have wanted one for a while. No problems with it.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Shep482
Fort Wayne
Jun 15, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

Classic working knife

Up front I bought this knife because it appeared in the movie Red Dawn '84. I have always wanted one and after the passing of Powers Boothe a month ago I finally purchased one. It's a solid knife that I'm sure would serve me well if I ever had to bail out behind enemy lines. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is that the rivets that hold the sharpening stone pouch onto the main sheath scratch up the blade on withdrawal or insertion. Nobody wants their blade scratched when inserting or withdrawing.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chuck R
Bloomington, IL
Apr 02, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

Just what I needed.

This was my second purchase from Ontario and my third from Knifecenter. I am well pleased with both my Ontario blades and could well be counted a fan of both companies now. I haven't had a chance to thump on this blade as yet but it has performed a few work chores admirably. This is the first knife I have owned with the stacked leather handle and I was surprised how nice they feel in-hand. This blade shines when it comes to comfort both in ease of carry and the feel coupled with some reassuring heft when you use it. I was also surprised by the quality of the sheath for the price point. I've never been overly fond of a leather sheath but this one performs well beyond what I expected. especially the attachment point, just like a hammer-hanger on a tool belt and a hard design to break easily I've found. I've been wearing this handy bit of steel now all-day everyday for a couple of weeks and I'm quite glad to have it. A nod to the other reviews, the factory edge was a little ragged for my taste but cleaned up nicely with a little work. All in all it's a great tool that won't break the bank.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Fuono
Ireland
Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Good

Steel bent and Handel ripped
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jj
Dallas, Texas
Nov 01, 2019
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

I was Issued this in the USAF

I used this knife for its intended purpose, survival. Yes, the blade was a bit dull when issued and I tried to hone it with the included stone, to no avail. The stone is the junk part of the set but, it's better than nothing. However, upon obtaining an Arkansas Stone, I got from a Buddy, the Blade became sharper than those stupid Ginsue knives. The leather sheath suited the knife just fine; I have no idea what the other reviewer meant about screws inside the sheath. The only thing I did to alter the knife and sheath was to sharpen the knife, of course, dye the leather handle black, used saddle soap on the sheath then Murphy's Oil Soap for an extra GP (general purpose) and lastly applied Sno-Seal to totally waterproof the sheath. The knife served me well and I was in just about every type of environment, i.e., Jungle, Desert, Mountains, et cetera for over 15 years. If used for its intended purpose, this knife is just fine; if need be and you are trained, you can fight with it. There really is nothing wrong with this knife and I only gave it 4 stars because of the stone and the knife being hard to initially hone.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Stainless01
Brisbane, Australia
Jan 29, 2010
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Finish

Ontario Air Force Survival 5" Blade Leather Handle and Sheath

This knife I will use as a general duties camp knife. It is tough, has a great coating, and is quite compact which helps its practicality. Unfortunately, I am not a great fan of the blade finish. The edge it quite(very) rough, to the point where it is badly burred to one side. Once I hone the burred edge off, I am hoping it will have a good edge. Also, the original (read 1960s) knives had luminous (yes, glow in the dark) paint on the butt of the knife. Why was that discontinued? It was a good feature on this knife, and aided in it's retrieval in dark environments, at least for the first ten or so years.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Chris F.
Wellington, Somerset, Ae
Jan 02, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Materials, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Finish, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard

Good

A good but basic knife; seems well made but will rust! Perfect for what I need as a good basic knife. There were no instructions how to look after blade or handle.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Ozgeardo
Australia
Feb 22, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, None
Cons: Finish, Materials

Not quite the same as the "Old Stock"

I purchased this knife based on my previous experience with it over many years. Whilst I am sure that this is the genuine modern day production I just don't get the same feeling as the older models. The blade material does not seem to be finished to the same standard and the leather and fittings on the sheath are not the same quality as what was fitted on the older models (I recon these knives have been around for 40+ years ?). I will do some minor work on the blade to bring it up to the finish I require (nothing a file, belt sander and good stone will not fix). The sheath will need a good drenching in linseed oil and some other chemicals to bring back that "genuine" appearance. I will also need to replace some cheap rivets and metal fittings. The metal shield on the base of the sheath is a very cheap modern interpretation on the original. The original I believe came with leather binding laces whilst the new version just has a pair of shoe laces? For the money I think it was OK and still a good all round basic survival knife
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Siu Kit
HONG KONG
Jun 21, 2019
Pros: None
Cons: Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness

Too heavy and not sharp

Too heavy and not sharp
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Anonymous
USA
Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Blade Material, Materials, Finish, Blade Sharpness

Honestly is the best policy

This feels like a knife as solid as they come. The weight is heavy, which is good to know it will take a beating and keep on. The hammer end is as hard as a rock, the hand guard isn't going anywhere either. The leather handle is freshly tanned (and even ready for a coat of sno-seal or neatsfoot oil). This is probably one of the most well put together knives I've ever held in my hand, however the blade material feels really cheap, the finish is rough and rugged. It's built for ruggedness but as for one comment I read about this knife I agree with = Paraphrase: "When I buy a knife, I expect it to be finished; I shouldn't have to sharpen, and fix it myself." The blade is so dull, I couldn't cut a shirt thread with it. In my view, either treat or temper the 1095 steel better (which is a great steel in general by the way), or do a better job putting an edge on the blade. Horrible quality control.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Joe
Central mass
Jun 04, 2019
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Overall Quality, Materials, Handle Material, Finish

Loose finger guard and leather

Ok quality very low.Stick to kabar.camillius.etcpay more get better quality
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Max92
Paris, Ile-De-France
Jul 08, 2019
Pros: Materials, Blade Material, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Blade Sharpness

Not so great

Hello, Came not sharp at all ! A real spoon. It's a problem for OKC in general they need to adress it, I won't buy again until they don't sort it out. I sharpened it with several wet stones but I don't like the angle of the blade and the result is not so great. Don't bother using the stone thay came with it, it's absolute crap and I cound not find a proper way to use it or have info about it. However the knife is very pointy, it's a good point. Blade is very solid and there is a good overall construction. A but heavy for the size... Handle is not the best quality but ergonomy is enough for me. Sheath is massive sh*t, there are screws inside ! It's damaging the blade leaving marks. Plus it's really hard to put it inside the sheath, it's like the blade is too big for the scabbard and you are forcing to put it... Not well designed, almost need 2 hands. The price is low and it does the job of cutting into soft airplane metal (what it's also designed for), but it has many flaws that could be easily corrected. With all that I think it should be 30-20% cheaper.
Ontario 499 Air Force Survival Knife 5" Sawback Blade with False Top Edge and Blood Grooves, Natural Leather Handle and Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Greent
USA
Nov 03, 2019
Pros: None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness

absolute junk Ontario 499/ 6150

I love American madenOntario knoves but now have seriois concerns if this knife and other too are really made in America or the China made junk knives. I bought this knife to use as an every day carry around farm and was shocked beyond belief to discover the blade edge grind was only partially done and on one side. The edge was rough too. The corners and other areas, even the leather handle was extremely rough. Note: the blade or sheath does NOT have any Ontario brand markings anywhere, so where's that American pride supposed to advertised now? The sheath is very cheaply assembled with rivets that protrude enough from the rough end/ rivet bottom, to scratched the knife blade horribly as I inserted the knife into the sheath. The sharpening stone is poorer quality than some I've seen at dollar stores. Perplexing to see the factory carton with a Made in U.S.A label. So apparently these knives were either made in America with extremely poor quality control or the company has outsourced their production and allowed cheap knives to be sold and the company expects consumers to easily accept their junk without any backlash.