Reviews and Ratings for Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles - 8848

Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handlesrated 4.771 stars out of 5 (83 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
65
4 star
17
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6 inch Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles

 

Price: $37.65

Save $11.10 (23%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Woodland Tactical
California
May 07, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Awesome budget blade! In love!
I was looking for a good budget EDC knife that could take a beating and I found it in the RAT 1. This knife is amazing. The ergonomics on the handle are great, the liner lock is extremely strong, the edge retention is the best I have ever seen on any AUS 8 knife, the spine throws sparks from a ferro rod no problem, and the pocket clip holds the knife in the pocket very well! I have two videos on this knife on my youtube channel (Woodland Tactical) and will soon be reviewing the D2 version of the RAT 1 as well. If you want a tough budget knife this is it. I've fallen in love with this knife and will recommend it for many years to come!
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sd
JO. CO.
Nov 19, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
GREAT KNIFE FOR THE MONEY
CAN'T BEAT THIS KNIFE FOR THE MONEY.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nick The Blade
Phila. Pa.
Jul 27, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
lots for the money
Its a real handful of knife, seems really sturdy. I like the flat grind, and the lock-up is solid, I haven't carried it much yet but it seems like a work horse. Probably the best knife I own for this price range. Right up there with my Spyderco tenacious for the money. A good deal.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zack G.
Kent, Wa
Feb 18, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Handle Material, None
RATs might be dirty,but this knife is clean!
Purchesed knife for EDC. Letter/package opening,randing cord cutting, steak knife, etc. Higher quality than one might expect if only considering the price. Great handle and blade shape,ambidextrious thumb studs,solid lock up pretty decent steel. Sharp right out of the box.(but about to get sharper!) The only thing I would like different is the handle material. Not such a big fan of plain nylon scales,hopefully I can find some g10 or micarta scales to put on. Other than that,this knife is a great buy for someone looking for an inexpensive and quality EDC blade. Thanks knife center and ontario!
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris L
Connecticut
Nov 09, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, None
Great Value
I bought this knife because i figured it was time for a new edc tool and this knife is excellent in that field. Ontario did a great job on this thing, came shaving sharp and the lockup is solid as a rock. I'm really impressed with the quality of this knife for under $30. If i had to detract from this knife in one way i would criticize the handle scales as not being very textured but i honestly don't think it's a problem considering that the jimping on the knife is not going to fail. overall great knife.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
J F
Maryland
Mar 02, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Best knife for the money...period
I bought this knife originally for the low price but once I received it and put it though it's paces. I emediatly bought two more one with the serrated blade. This knife in my opinion is the knife to beat all knives. The entire construction is well designed and can be disassembled or reassembled with the use of a torxs wrench the AUS-8 steel even after cutting through dozens of boxes a deer that I shot and doubling as a grout knife (not the best use but it did the job) or can opener I couldn't be happier!!! If you have little girly hands then you might not like it since this knife was designed for large MAN hands. Best knife I ever bought and I want all the new colors. Cheap enough to use and abuse!
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Leon M
Johannesburg, South-Africa
Oct 03, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, None
Great product for the price
Great build quality. Handle does bive great grip but this should only be a problem with stabbing and would be good enough for normal edc use. Thumb stub not well placed for quick deployment.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Old Timer
MN
Apr 09, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
A lot of knife for not a lot of money
This is pretty much your standard mid- to large- sized liner-locking folder. It's a little beefier than I expected, but not so large or heavy as to reduce its usefulness or ease of carrying. The liner lock is reassuringly solid, and AUS-8 is a good choice for an all-around utility blade, though I would have liked to see them use 1095, as in their small fixed blades. It has a high, flat grind, making it good for slicing, and it tapers towards the point. It's shaving sharp out of he box and is relatively easy to touch up. I wondered if the deep finger choil would make it awkward to choke up on the blade, as I find myself doing for many fiddly tasks, but it's not a problem. The little thumb ramp on the back of the blade is just enough for a good secure thumb position, and doesn't prevent laying the thumb along the back of the blade. This is a knife I would happily take into the field. The best thing about this knife, however, is the price. For under $30 you can pick up a useful folder with good blade steel, solid lock and G-10 slab handles that will perform like a $150 Benchmade.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ted A.
NE, CT
May 09, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Fantastic Folder
Good edge holding ability, Fast opening, slim and low profile carry. The flat grind is a total asset in sharpening, edge retention, and penetration when slicing.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Trigger
melbourne, australia
Oct 17, 2009
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Weight
very nice
feels very good in my hand, love the handle size, really nice knife, bit on the heavy side though
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dragan
Republika Srpska
Jan 29, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Feel
good
Excellent knife
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Luc V
Belgiu
Aug 31, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
What can i say! Awsome knive. Here in Belgium with has no knive culture at all. Is it difficult to buy a good knive. Due to a limited range of products on the market. The price setting is verry high. For a good knives you pay 100 euro and more. I was verry reluctant to by this knives for about 25 euro. In this country , that price means usualy crap knives. But the Ontario 1 ! WHAT A KNIVE for the money. I used it as EDC and verry happy with it. It's not to big for me. Mainly because in Belgium it's actually illegal to carry locked blades. But because nobody hardly makes other knives , the police usualy doesn't enforce the law. But the knive has to be in your pocket, not visable on your belt of pocket. The blade comes razor sharp out of the box and the deployment is incredible smooth. It's like an assisted spring knive.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Armando
Tx
Aug 05, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: None
Wow!
This knife is the sharpest knife straight out of the box I have ever seen. Wow!
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Daniel
Edmonton
Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Amazing!
Great all around knife. Lots of blade for the money! I gave one to my dad, and bought a second because I missed it. Love the opening on it. Manual, but you'd swear its assisted with how quick it flys open. Sharp, great size and feel! A must have for any knife owner.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kiwimark
New Zealand
Apr 12, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Excellent knife!
This is an excellent knife - I love playing with it (opening & closing, sharpening) and have gotten mine REALLY sharp - sharp enough to split hairs! I can't believe that a knife going for this price can be so good - it must be the best value for money in a one handed opening folder available. The steel isn't the best in the world - but it is pretty good steel and takes a fantastic edge. It is very stainless - no signs of corrosion or staining after more than 4 months of ownership. I love the blade shape and the full flat grind - RAT designed a great knife here.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alg
Portland, OR
Jan 30, 2020
Pros: Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None
Great Knife - Great Value
RAT = Randall's Adventure Training Knife = Substantial, SHARP, Rugged, Affordable Me = Happy The RAT1 blade deployment was tight when it first arrived but continues to get better over time. The heft of the knife takes it out of the realm of EDC for me - still, it's great for work around the home, throwing in a pack for the trail or keeping in the car/truck to ward off bad guys. If I had to choose one folding knife to bring into the wilderness with me, this would be it. You can beat the ever-living life out of it and never worry about it breaking. If it ever did break, then I would be more than happy to purchase it again.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tuffthumbz
pendell PA
May 03, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Insanely great knife for the price
i dont know why such a well constructed knife is so cheap but ill take it. I love this thing, it comes razor sharp. Not G10 but its one of the most comfortable knives ive handled. If you dont have it buy it. Its a great knife to hold you over untill you buy a higher end knife. It will scratch that itch.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe
Portland, Or
Mar 20, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Durable EDC Work Knife
I use this knife daily at work, cutting cardboard and plastic sheeting, I've had it three months and have yet to sharpen it, I just run it across my kitchen steel every couple days and while not as sharp as out of the box, it can still shave arm hair. The weight isn't an issue for me, when I work I'm carrying it in my Nite-Ize pockit, when I'm out around town, it's in the back pocket. The construction is durable (I've used it closed to hammer stuff), no play in the blade, opens and closes easily and the clip can be reversed for us left handers. I would like to have seen a plain steel finish, rather than the satin, but that's a pretty minor complaint. I wouldn't mind seeing a wood handle version, as well.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe S
los angeles CA
Feb 22, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
hefty knife
this is the tank of knives. its built well and opens smoothly. but its on the heavy side
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
Maui, Hawaii
Mar 06, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Quality Quality Quality
It is so easy to mess up a knife. Bells and whistles will be the death of most folders. The Rat 1 is all business and no bling. It makes no claim to be anything but a no nonsense pocket folder, built right. And if that is not enough it is a beautiful thing. It's a keeper.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mo
Pasadena, MD
Oct 29, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
$26.00 are you kidding me????
$ 26.00 for this knife....I felt like I stole it!!! I use this knife for everything!! Great in the pocket, great lock awesome blade!!! When I tell you this knife can be sharpened to a razor edge, I KID YOU NOT!!!! I love this knife!!! 26 bucks seriously they are almost giving this thing away! I would love to see an assisted blade on this knife!!! Tah being th only thing I would do different on this knife. It would not be a deal breaker though. Just goes to show that you dont have to spend the rent on a great knife.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ali A.
Galway, ROI
Jul 07, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Best budget EDC
Nice size, feel good handle, nice steel and razor sharp blade. Perfect for EDC if you are not doing something require heavy blade use. Good size to have it in the pocket, fast opening . Highly recommended.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim
Kentucky
May 25, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
EDC Done Right!
To pay $30 for a knife of this quality, sharpness, weight, brass washers, 3.5 inch blade. Is utterly mind nummbing today with so many choices that are not even worth the money. . I have spent hundreds on knives for different jobs. I am always looking for the best EDC knife to do everything. This seems to fit the bill perfectly. I am use to carrying much larger knives. This is a breeze to carry. If you like knives get this one. Nothing to lose but everything to gain.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
101Doc
Afghanistan
Nov 19, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Weight, Blade Material
Great bang 4 buck
I bought these as general carry knives for my soldiers. I love the design. Excellent size and shape. The blade arrived very sharp and is easy to resharpen. Great knife for the money. I personally like this knife slightly better than the Spyderco Tenacious. Negatives: somewhat heavy as folders go; mid-grade (AUS-8) steel; plastic handle material; non-skelatonized liners that add to weight.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Forrest
Prescott Arizona/ Maui Hawaii
Dec 07, 2010
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Material, Weight, Handle Feel, Handle Material
This and the Spyderco Tenacious are the best folders for $30
This was a gift for a friend and he most defiantly likes this knife. For the price it can not be beat, this is a great user since you do not feel bad trashing something like a Benchmade or Spyderco.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tank
Georgia
Dec 15, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Amazing Knife
While it's not as slim as some other folders on the market, this knife is now my EDC. The handle fits my hand perfectly, the jimping on the blade is perfect and the edge is flawless. Out of the box sharpness is amazing. Shape of the blade is perfect. The back edge of the knife is planed perfectly for using with a firestarter. I'm selling some of my high end knives. Just don't need them now.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff
Florida, USA
Sep 30, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great knife at a great price
I bought one of these back in 2010 and have used it extensively. It is well made, workhorse of a knife. I have large hands, and the feel of this is great. It sharpens well, and holds the edge. The scales seem a little slick at first, but in actual use, this has never been a problem. The only issue for some folks is that it may seem a little big and heavy. Fear not, the RAT 2 is 20% smaller, and just as well made. I have used it as well, and it too is excellent.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
C.J.
North Carolina
Dec 09, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
I bought these for gifts because my RAT Model 1 performs so well. My only complaint is the crummy paint on the pocket clip. Otherwise, cutting performance, handling, and carrying are all above this knife's price point.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe A.
CT
Jun 01, 2016
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Handle Material
Works great!
The Ontario Rat 1, an excellent knife for the price. I've put this one through the ringer; rope, cardboard, split kindling wood, steak, fruit, and worn while in salt water. this knife to me is very versatile and comfortable to use. I had to buy a tool to be able to disassemble and clean it every once and awhile and a sharpener to keep it going. if I had to change one thing it would be the handles, they feel cheap but keep the knife lighter.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jose C.
Texas
Sep 09, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None
RAT Model 1 - Well-made knife for a decent price!
This is one heck of a deal! This knife came razor sharp right out of the box! AUS-8 steel holds a good edge and I put this bad boy to the test the day after I received it. I haven't taken this out into rough country, yet. However, I did test it at work cutting THICK heavy duty cardboard, thick-ply paper bags, and heavy plastic bands. This is a repetitive task for a long 12 hour shift, and this knife took it and came out shining at the end! The blade is still sharp enough to shave paper after all the work I put it through! The nylon handle material is adequate - although I would've preferred G-10 - but the nylon provides an adequate amount of grip/traction for the hand. The lock is tight and after a long day of work, it remains that way. Overall, I would definitely recommend this knife to anyone in the market for a low-cost, high quality pocket knife. If you're already looking at this knife, don't waste any more of your time...JUST BUY IT!!! You won't be disappointed!
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul G.
Arizona
Nov 06, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Impressed
Kept seeing people praise this knife on different forums and had to try one out. Super impressed so far, but I've only had it for a week so we will see. This knife is far higher quality than the other knives I have bought in this price range, even the fancy ones designed by fancy knife makers.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe S
los angeles CA
Feb 26, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
great purchase
this is a tank of a knife. awesome knife very sharp out of the box,and when its opened it makes an awesome sound.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom
Chicago
Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Ontario Rat Model 1
Nice EDC when you want a larger blade but not one that’s excessively large. Great to take on a motorcycle run for example; fits in your jeans pocket comfortably on the bike, doesn’t interfere with your ride and yet looks sufficiently badass when you pull it out! I consider this a three season EDC knife, meaning it’s too large and thick to carry in thin or tight summer clothing but with typical Fall through Spring clothing or in a jacket it’s perfect. Sturdy, takes and holds a super sharp edge, snaps open quickly for a non-assisted opener, looks great.. totally love it!
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jw Dulin
Sellersburg, IN
Feb 15, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Excellent Quality Knife
I just recieved this knife today and the quality out of the box is A1. I found the fit to finish Great! no complaints. Edge was very sharp & smooth no rough edge whatsoever. The lock up is tight and like others have said no wobble. The price is what sold me on this knifeyour getting alot of KNIFE for the money! I will carry this one until it wears out. It will be tested as my camping pocket carry knife too. I love this knife.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
George M
Euclid,Ohio
Apr 04, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Really a great knife. Excellent sharpness right out of the box! Initially I thought it was a little tough to flip open the blade, but with a little practice, no problem. I would definitely recommend this for anyone's EDC.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Knifegeek7
Durand, MI
Apr 02, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Feel, None
Very solid knife
I love the overall quality of this knife! Even more, I love that the blade is a full flat grind which makes it an awesome slicer, but is still not too thin as to make it flimsy. I would love it even more if it was made in the US, but I can't fault the quailty at all. As I saw from many other reviews, the blade locks up tight with no play at all. If you are considering buying this knife, do not hesitate! In my oppinion it is just about the best knife out there, especially at this amazing price! The only thing I would recommend is that you get the satin finish blade as the black blade just has a really cheap black paint. KnifeCenter rocks!
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Serge
Toronto,ON
Aug 31, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Material, None
Cons: Pocket Clip
VERY GOOD!!!
VERY GOOD!!!
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Codie
Polson MT
Dec 26, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, None
Quality
For the price and the quality of the steel, it is an awesome knife. The factory sharpen is great and lasts forever with the dense steal
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andrew
california
Jan 06, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use
Cons: None
awesome knife!
had this knife for about a month and fell in love with it mostly utility use in military and does its job and stays sharp i also figured it is decent for puncturing
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ruman.Cz
Czech republic
Jul 13, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Very good knife, very good price
This knife is very good. Perfect processing and good materials at a reasonable price. Thank you for your professional conduct and prompt delivery
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Felix
Ashland
Oct 05, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: None
One of the best !!
The knife is just gorgeous! Almost impossible to find a similar quality for such ridiculous money. Perfectly suitable as a knife for survival or for EDC. Very solid, reliable and durable construction.In my opinion every self-respecting fan of a knives should have it in your collection.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rex Shepherd
Kentucky
Jun 18, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Very happy with knife and service!
A good solid lock/back knife. Once you open the blade there is no give whatsoever. A very good design...primarily to be a reliable cutting tool. A great price! Would be a very good buy at twice the price for a knife of this quality.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
Dunedin, Other
Nov 25, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Lock Type, None
A favourite from beginning to end
Everything about this knife is amazing. I can flick this knife open without following the thumb stud all the way to the opened position, and with no help from a flick of my wrist. It also locks open very solidly for a liner locked knife (snaps across further than most) even though I'm not usually a fan of them. Although It opens quickly, smoothly, and without hassle, it won't open accidentally in your pocket or otherwise. The weight I feel is perfect, and the handle shape and size is good for my XXL size hands. Sure it may not have much grip when wet, but it beats most in that area anyway (I reckon if you complain about the grip of a folding knife when wet you shouldn't be using it for the tasks you are).The pocket clip is one of the more sturdy options I have seen and holds your pocket well, I also really like how you can put it in any of the four places on the knife. I have seen many mixed reviews about aus8 steel, and I have discovered that comparisons seem to be lost between this steel and others. In my day to day use I have found that it holds a better edge than 8cr13mov and 440a but is not quite as good as any of the super steel options such as vg10 and s30v (most testing was done on wood cardboard and a body-board made with foam and plastic). Overall quality was incredible, the blade is perfectly centred and all the materials are flush with no jagged edges (though keep an eye on the spine of the blade it feels like it may be sharp enough to cut something under the right circumstances), I am extremely pleased with this knife.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Urizen
Southeast,us
Sep 03, 2010
Pros: Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great knife at a great price
Solid build and a really nice edge right out of the box. Ergonomics are perfect.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Richard
arkansas
Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None
Great knife, great price, quick delivery
I am very pleased with this purchase. The quality of this knife far exceeds what one would expect at this price point. I use this for edc. Typically for cutting cardboard, food, string, rope, whatever comes up. I would prefer it to be a little lighter but the weight would not prevent me from making the purchase again if I needed to replace it. I really like the blade size and the flat grind. This knife really fits well in the hand and was very sharp right out of the box. I really don't have any cons, the weight thing is just my preference.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Shawn
Northeast PA
Aug 27, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great tactical blade!
This is my 3rd purchase for this blade. One is for everyday carry, one is for a gift for a friend and one is to have just in case I loose mine. This is a great buy for a quality folding, tactical blade. It holds its edge well and is easy to resharpen. The clip holds the blade firmly in my pocket and allows 4 methods of carry. It is a easy opening blade so deployment is quick with a liner lock that holds fast every time. I also love that it has a lanyard hole that will fit paracord.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Buzz
Maryland
Jul 06, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: None
Good edc
I own a variety of pocket knifes,,cold steel,,sog,,spyderco,,to name a few . For the money this knife is as good as lot of high dollar knifes. Good blade steel,,,solid construction,,opens quick,,,comfortable to use,,good blade style and length. If you can only buy one pocket knife,,,this is the one.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Comb2
Ohio
Jun 14, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Weight
Best knife I ever had. I have used this for EDC for over the last 10 years. Has never failed me. I use it pretty regularly too. I say I pull it out minimum 5-10 times a day. After 10 years it still locks up tight with very very little side to side movement. The only thing I have had to do is lock tight the screws that hold the clip on. A nice thing about the clip is you can mount it 4 ways so you can put in any pocket and have the blade orientated the way you like. After buying the first one and using it for a bit I bought 2 more for back up just incase
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rusty
Utah
Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
I own a lot of knives in a wide price range ( 200$ to 30$). I try to rotate through several knives as my everyday carry. I find that I keep going back to my rat as my favorite. I use it for all cutting chores including field dressing 3 elk to date. Using it as a spatula in camp, opening canned foods,bottle opener. The knife has held up to this abuse well and I will continue to make sure I have a Rat 1 with me as an every day carry
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Specgrade
Ohio
Mar 09, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: None
Great Budget Folder
I bought this knife because the reviews are mostly positive. I agree that the knife is on the big side. i like the fact that the carry clip is 4-way adjustable and the knife is reasonably light. Feels nice in the pocket. Not tac-ti-cool, but practical. I use my knife to cut everything but rocks...lol.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Justin G.
CAMBODIA
Dec 02, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Awesome EDC
I researched long and hard for an EDC to replace my much beloved and now lost Buck110 ( which is NOT an EDC !) . The Rat is just a superb value knife on all fronts. I can't fault it. it will now go everywhere with me.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pkeusem
Savage, MN
Oct 22, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None
Great value!
This is a great value! You get a lot of knife for your money. It's razor sharp out of the box and it locks up like a bank vault. It's a big, sturdy knife. The down side is it's a bit on the heavy side but not enough to bother you unless you're a real weight weenie.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Leo
Usa
Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Handle Material, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Amazing
Great knife recommend more than the rat 2. Made in Taiwan which sucks. But other than that its very helpful and I use this knife as an edc.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rafter
Norway
Sep 09, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Material, None
Solid and well made. Buy at Knifecenter- they are the best. Great service!
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
NY
Sep 16, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Awesome knife, look no further.
I use this knife everyday and love it. Love the way it feels in my hand, the blade sharpness and even the handle. I bought many of knives before this one, I can honestly say.........Im done shopping for a carry knife.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Arch
tennessee
Mar 30, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
awesome knife
this is an awesome knife
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jason R
Livingston, Mt
Nov 23, 2015
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
LOVE THIS KNIFE!!!
I really love this knife. Extremely sharp out of the box. Its been my edc for months(slightly bigger than im used to) but just a great knife. The AUS 8 steel is great in my opinion. Cuts through things like butter.....cutting down cardboard boxes for work no sawing motion just straight through. Handle feels great as well. Cant wait to get the model 2!!!
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scout
Here and There
Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Feel, Handle Material, Weight, None
Great knife
It is a large knife, some might find it uncomfortable as an EDC, but it's very strong, easy to whip out at a moments notice, and came to me razor sharp right out of the box. I've seen a video review of this knife before ordering that ranks it better than Spyderco's Tenacious, and I'd have to agree so far.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Odi
Switzerland
Dec 30, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
VIP folder
Versatile useable In good quality and robust Perfect size (blade and handle) and you get it for lowest cost of ownership
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vladimir
Feb 03, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
The greatest knife
It is not knife - it is a legend. That quality for this price - it is fantastic. This knife have no rivals in price between 0 to 45 $.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
J Frank
Maryland
Mar 02, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Best knife for the money...period
I bought this knife originally for the low price but once I received it and put it though it's paces. I emediatly bought two more one with the serrated blade. This knife in my opinion is the knife to beat all knives. The entire construction is well designed and can be disassembled or reassembled with the use of a torxs wrench the AUS-8 steel even after cutting through dozens of boxes a deer that I shot and doubling as a grout knife (not the best use but it did the job) or can opener I couldn't be happier!!! If you have little girly hands then you might not like it since this knife was designed for large MAN hands. Best knife I ever bought and I want all the new colors. Cheap enough to use and abuse!
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mr Mikey
KCMO
Sep 13, 2019
Pros: Weight, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Awesome EDC
What surprised me about this knife is how strong and versatile it is. Its SO good for everyday mundane tasks and the full flat grind makes it great for food prep as well as outdoors use. Mine always accompanies my BK2 when I go camping, even though I own much more expensive blades. This is a Neo classic that I Highly recommend.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rex Shepherd
Kentucky
Jun 29, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Very good quality for the price.
I looked at two other knife sales web-sites before I placed my order here. Even with shipping charges you're paying half price for the knife. It wasn't in stock when I placed my order over the phone. I was told that once a supply of this model knife arrived those who had an it on order would receive it first. The knife arrived less than ten days later. This knife is an excellent quality field tool. I'd recommend it to anyone.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sepentinear86
Green Bay, WI
Jul 24, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, Handle Material, None
Rat 1 folder review.
Hands down, one of the best quality knives in this price range. Fast Deployment, strong composition. I love it.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
atlanta GA
Jul 25, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None
I bought 2 of these; one plain edge black blade and one plain edge satin. The satin blade became my EDC because it was smoother (and i use a spidey drop usually to deploy). I went looking to get a higher end knife to replace it with...bought a Strider sng, large Sebenza 21... although those were better quality and the strider has a superior grip, i still use old trusty rat 1. might order the od green one soon.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brad H
New Jersey
Dec 17, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, None
Ideal Style
The large folding knife is the ideal style for eviscerating (gutting) deer. Here in New Jersey we kill a lot of deer and the RAT has proven itself on the hunt. When we gut deer we like to remove the sternum. This requires cutting through the rib joints on each side. The knife must be sharp, strong and large enough for the task, but easy to carry. The RAT meets these requirements. It locks up solid (no blade play) and was sharp out of the box. After use the blade only required a touch-up on the diamond sharpener The reason for the 4 rating is the blade steel. AUS-8A is a good knife steel, but not great like ATS 34 or S35V so it requires touch-up more often.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
John Doe
sc
Jan 07, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Handle Material
great value
It's a very good knife. I particularly like the blade shape and ffg. Put G-10 on the handles and it would be a bargain at $70. The aus-8 steel will get razor sharp even if it's not the highest tech steel.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Adam Rosio
wisconsin
Jul 12, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Feel, Handle Material, Weight, None
satin knife
For a every day carry knife/emergency defensive blade its a little on the heavy side and the handle material is a little slick and cheap. Hokey paint finish comes of with normal use. For the price this knife is a steal, Great feel, good thumb ramp and jimmping, Locks SOLID, deploys fast, great for out door tasks and defensive means. Good blade material and great liner. A bargin at this price! Some mod's you could do are put some hang gun adhesive grip or skateboard deck grip on the handles. rough'n up the handle material with a dremel tool. Paint thinner the cheesey satin finish or black finish(if you bought the black one) and duracoat It. LOVE THIS KNIFE!
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brian L
West Hartford, CT
Aug 25, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Good Knife, Great Price.
Very sharp out of the box, solid construction.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
John D
NY 10570
Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Type, None
Pleasantly Surprised
fits like a glove in my averaged size hand blade came extremely sharp
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jesper K
Denmark
May 18, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Pocket Clip, Weight, None
Great work knife.
I use my knife daily for work, cutting boxes plastic exc. Easy to sharpen, but the pocketclip is wery loose from factory, but nothing a tool can't fix.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Armando
Helotes, TX
Apr 20, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Weight, Ease of Opening
Stout well built knife
Excellent value for the money. Great blade shape. Have not used it enough to judge sharpness retention. Opening a bit stiff, hard on thumb (may smooth out with use). A bit heavy for EDC, great for work, camping and hunting.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jim B.
Santa Rosa, CA
Jun 04, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, None
Cons: Blade Material, Weight
Great knife for the price!
A lot of knife for the price. The steel is not the greatest but it's adequate and easy to sharpen and takes a very sharp edge. I was not bothered by the nylon handles. They are adequate. A little heavy for EDC but great for camping trips. I'm very satisfied with the purchase.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Phantom4
Silver Spring
Sep 23, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Well made and solid
Very well made with solid lock up. Very sharp out of the box. This is a large knife and has some weight to it but is very comfortable in the hand and looks and feels like it can't take abuse.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chris Mcc
Allen, TX
Jul 08, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None
What a great pocket knife!
I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 because of it's weight....a bit on the heavy side, but that is the only remotely negative thing about this knife (and that may be subjective...up to you). It's everything you'd expect from Rat knives....great blade, great looking, tightly fitting parts, nothing loosey goosey at all. It's my new EDC knife.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kalev
Estonia, Tallinn
Oct 12, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Edc
Nice the hard worker for any trips for city.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joshua S. Harris
Western Mass
Jul 17, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Weight, Handle Feel
Rugged ...
Easy to open and plenty of knife to do the job. The width of the handle is a little big for pocket carry.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
The Person Whom Purcahst This Kinfe!
Arizona
Oct 31, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight
A must for EDC tasks!
This knife rides In my pocket everyday and every task I ask if it, it excels in every aspect. The knife comes out smooth with a flick of your thumb. But the knife has some flaws especially with the blade the steel is great aus8 is spectacular for a $30 knife but the release edge looks like a 4 year old got a hold of the grinder its all messed up so i did a Quick job touching it up, And I think the top of the knife is sharper than the intended edge. for $30 bucks this is a diamond in the ruff take some time with it when you get home and you will be supper happy with this knife.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Daniel N
Roselle, IlRoselle, Il
Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None
The very definition of value!
Buy it, you will not be disappointed. The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars in my book is because of the handle scales being a bit slick, but the handle ergonomics make up for that.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Anatolie M
Hasselt, Belgium
Dec 28, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Lock Type
RAT1
Hello everyone. Very much and long familiar with this knife on the Internet. Like of something very good in your pocket for little money. But probably not so easy sometimes. Knife and beautiful, and fits nicely in your pocket. Very good quality. But the castle crosses all well and good. My first knife with lock. May need to get used to this, but I really, really uncomfortable to close the knife. We'll have to sell it and forget for a lifetime Liner locks Very, very sorry. A Knife Center.com just beautiful and very fast company. December 15 ordered a knife and 22 December got it in Belgium. Thank you very much!
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Docwatson
paducah, ky
Nov 05, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great knife
the action on this knife is one of the smoothest folders, I have ever used. Lock up is perfect, and the blade shape along with the flat grind, makes for an efficient cutting edge. Knife is very robust, I detest the saying excellent value for the money, as this knife is just a very good knife. As proof of this I own three of them. If you buy get the uncoated/painted blade, as the paint is cheap and will flake off, and also makes the jimping on the blade less secure.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dan G.
Tennessee
Nov 02, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Does what it says on the tin.
This is my every-day carry knife. I use it for just about anything, as one would expect. It's held its edge beautifully since I purchased it, and it came out of the box shaving sharp. It's a pretty simple knife, but it's definitely solid. The liner lock holds incredibly well; even after a little stress testing there's no give at all. The handle is comfortable in the hand, and even when it's wet it hasn't slipped from my grip. The thumb opener was stiff at first, but after playing with it a while it's loosened up to the point where I can open it nearly effortlessly. It's also not hard on my pockets when I clip it on. I've seen others on here talking about the weight as an issue - I disagree completely. I can't actually find anything bad to say about this knife. With something as simple as this, I suppose that's the idea. Great knife.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Marcelo
Belo Horizonte, Brazil
May 29, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Feel, None
Bom
Canivete muito bom para o preço. Dei azar, o meu veio com o lâmina muito fora de centro e com as talas ligeiramente empenadas. A ergonomia é razoável: é um tanto escorregadio e deveria ter um desbaste nas talas para facilitar o acesso aos thumb studs. Os liners com acabamento bead blasted são um convite à ferrugem. A geometria da lâmina é espetacular, muito funcional.