Reviews and Ratings for Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Combo Blade, Black Nylon Handles - 8849

Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Combo Blade, Black Nylon Handlesrated 4.769 stars out of 5 (13 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6 inch Satin Combo Blade, Black Nylon Handles

 

Price: $37.65

Save $11.10 (23%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Combo Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cobretti
Houston, TX
May 29, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, Lock Type, None
You'll be hard pressed to find a better knife for the money!
Just a rock solid knife for the money. I read several reviews indicating that this knife is a great value and if you have to get 1 knife for under $40 this is the one to get. It's a tad on the heavy side, but for me that is just part of how solid this knife really is. You will not be disappointed if you decide to purchase this item.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Combo Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jacob D.
Jupiter, FL
Oct 06, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, Weight, None
Ontario RAT 1: Folding tactical excellence
Just got this a little while ago and have already put it to good use! It's a truly solid blade that locks up well. Handles aren't the grippiest, but they are fine and look very nice. The blade opens lightning fast and has good gimping on the top of it. The serrations are unusually good as compared to some serrations on other blades. The logo on the blade adds a bit of a cool factor and the shiny satin finish is great. While it is a little on the heavy side, it is a solid, reliable, and beautiful knife. I highly recommend it!
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Combo Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bobby Diesel
Amherst NY
Feb 25, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great Knife
I bought this after seeing a fellow coworker/collector having one. I been just introduced to the existance of RAT knives and I like their products. For $25, this knife is a steal. Nice hefty weight, easy to flick open. AUS8 blade for this price is awesome. Very sharp. It has become my EDC knife at work and home. comfortable grip and nice back strop on the blade for thumb rest and to apply pressure. I would recommend this to everyone. The liner lock is stiff, so that would be my only complaint, but its not super stiff.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Combo Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Garym&P
Mid-South
Mar 11, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
RAT-1 Folder
Great fit and finish. Feels good in the hand. Solid lockup with no blade play in any direction. Full flat ground makes it a good user and the AUS 8 holds an edge. Definitely a bargain at this price.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Combo Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alberto B
San Juan, PR
Jul 08, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Weight
Best buy!
Strong, excellent quality and extremely affordable. Razor sharp out of the box. Ordered another one for my son. I own over 20 blades for EDC and find that I´m going for the "Rat" more often than for any other.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Combo Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ant
Crown Point, IN
Jul 05, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Feel, None
heavy duty
heavy duty
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Combo Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wayne
Auckland, Other
Jun 21, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
A tactical razor
The best value folder I ever seen. For less than 30 bucks, you get a very high quality knife like 100 dollars one. The factory edge is excellent, sharp like a razor. The ergo and grip are also comfortable. will by some more very soon.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Combo Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tdawgee
mchenry,illinois
Apr 06, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Material, None
i'm buying more !
Such a Quality Knife For The Money,I'm Buying More For Gifts,And Spares !!
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Combo Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rafter
norway
Sep 19, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath, None
Really awesome product- great value.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Combo Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ben
WA
Mar 10, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Material, None
Big quality folder for dirt cheap
Cons- Handle scales are a little too smooth (but the ergo is excellent), would like one with more grip, material is ok but the pattern is too smooth. I would like the serrations to be on the other side of the blade (I'm right handed). Pros- Literally everything else. This is a big knife with a little price tag. The lockup is very solid, nice and STRONG spring on the liner lock and very utilitarian blade. 4-way adjustable pocket clip. This is the best pocket knife for the price I've ever seen period.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Combo Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Geekboy
Seattle
Dec 27, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
good knif
right out of the box knife was dull but I was able to sharpen it very quickly
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Combo Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Wookie
Indianapolis IN
Feb 02, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Type, Ease of Opening
Great for the money
Im giving the knife a 4-but that is considering what I paid for it. Price is great. Blade seems very sharp out of the box- but I haven't used it enough yet to see how it holds an edge. It was very stiff opening at first, but a little lube and work has helped that.Feels great int he hand. But is not at sturdy as the Cold Steel it replaced. But that knife was twice as expensive. For the money it seems to be a great knife. If I paid twice as much- it would just rate as good.
Ontario RAT Model 1 Folding Knife 3.6" Satin Combo Blade, Black Nylon Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mike W
Janesville, Wi
Dec 31, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great EDC/Tactical knife for the price
I approach my knife evaluations from a few perspectives, first, what did I pay for the knife, second, what do I expect of the knife for that price, third did the knife reasonably meet my expectations. In the case of the RAT 1, the price, very reasonable. My expectations for a knife this price were fairly reserved, but I must say I was pleasantly surprised. The knife came razor sharp from the box, I found the thumb opening process quite easy and non intrusive. While the knife doesn't have the tightest lockup, I found no loose play up/down/side to side. The knife scales were grippy without being obnoxiously abrasive. Overall impression of this knife is a very capable and reasonably priced knife that would serve you well.