SHOP ALL HOLIDAY SALES! Details

KnifeCenter strives to provide individuals with disabilities access to its products and services, including through an accessible website. If you have questions, comments, or encounter any difficulty in using this site, please e-mail info@knifecenter.com or call - (800) 338-6799

Skip to main content

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using our website you consent to our Cookie Policy.

SHOP ALL HOLIDAY SALES! Details

Reviews and Ratings for Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles - 8860

Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles4.759 (58 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
45
4 star
12
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0 inch Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles

 

Price: $27.50

Save $19.45 (41%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Cb
Washington
Aug 16, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
EDC all day
Perfect edc folder. Lightweight, good size, locks up solid. Feels great in hand. Excellent blade geometery.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Newton
Georgia
Jan 11, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: None
Nice knife
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Darrin
Eastern U.S.
Sep 10, 2013
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Outstanding Knife for any price
This little knife is an absolute GEM. Very light weight for the size, perfect size and blade shape for edc, superb build quality. After a disassembly, clean and polish, and re-lube this knife is as smooth as anything. I'm talking custom smooth, in the realms of a sebenza or KVT knife. Lockup is as solid as one could ever ask for and edge retention on this AUS 8 steel blade is very good considering the price. I've done a few mods to mine and I honestly don't see it ever leaving my collection.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Paul V.
California
Jul 03, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Excellent for every day use
I'm no expert, just a guy that uses his knife most every day for general use like box and package opening, around the house uses like wire cutting, etc. I received a RAT 2 as a gift last year and loved it. Perfect hand fit, AUS8 blade is nice, easy to sharpen, & easy to open. Then I made the mistake of leaving it in my backpack as I went through TSA at the airport. Unfortunately it was confiscated and I was pretty bummed. So this is my second one of these and have to say I am a big fan of this knife. And the price point is excellent as well. I highly recommend.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Jezter
California
Jan 06, 2018
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Wanting a Rat 2.. for a long time
I love this knife. Love everything about it... It is a hard knife to fault.. Great EDC
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Lawrence H
Palmyra, Tn
Apr 15, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
I really like this for my edc knife. It is light enough and tough enough. It rides well in my watch pocket with a fob attached to help pull it free. Perfect size.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Seth
BFE
Aug 23, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great little knife
great little everyday carry knife. four clip positions and great size.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Charles H.
Mason, Tn.
Mar 15, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great EDC!
If you liked the RAT1 but felt it just a bit too big for EDC, you will absolutely love the RAT2! Its identical to the RAT1 but shrunk down. Its just perfect. The knife came razor sharp. It locks up with a solid click like its big brother. The blade has a jimped thumb ramp for good control. All the edges are rounded. This knife will see a lot of carry.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Randy R
Mobile al
Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Caspar
Australia
Dec 26, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
The perfect EDC as well as a way to start collecting
I mainly collect knives however I got two of these one as an edc and the other as a BNIB for collection. It opens smoothly with consistent travel from the closed to the open position meaning that one doesen't have to flick the wrist to get it to fully open but rather it glides into place with a flick of the thumb so that you dont have to shift you weight as one would when you flick your wrist (important for when you are holding something in your offhand (non knife hand). While it opens smoothly the blade is securely held in place and will not open with centripetal force as a RAT 1 would (this is due to its higher blade weight and could damage your knife) thus this is legal to import under Australia federal law as well as own under state law (this at time of writing check to be sure) while the RAT 1 is ILLEGAL import under federal law. A four position pocket clip is always a big plus as I'm left handed and like the option of carrying it blade down or blade up. AUS8 steel is a good one will keep an edge and is more than adequate for a knife of this size. Will keep an edge for good amount of time depending on use and more importantly allow a sharper edge to be gained which would be pointless on a cheaper steel as the cheaper steel would dull very very quickly. It comes out of the box very sharp and am most satisfied with it. Handle material is nylon which works well on this knife allowing okay though not perfect in very wet environments although considering the cost it does not detract from the knife and for people who do not work in wet environments it aids in the removal from the pocket as it doesn't grip the inside of the pocket. The knife clip holds the RAT 2 securely inside the pocket and can be used to help grasp the knife when opening and once open does not make it uncomfortable to hold in the hand (on top of this you have four positions so you can tailor it or even just remove it if you desire). Overall i would say for its cost is an outstanding knife and would defiantly recommend this to anyone looking for an edc knife. If one would desire a slightly larger blade then consider the RAT 1 which is the bigger brother of the RAT 2 with the understanding that RAT 1 are ILLEGAL to import into Australia while the RAT 2 is legal to import into Australia (at time of writing read and make yourself aware of the law at your time of purchase).
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Chuck
Ohio
Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Material
New fav
Edc knife, very solid lockup very sturdy sharp little bugger, if you practice a little you can open this sucker with a flick of your thumb every bit as fast as an assist open. Will buy several more
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Anonymous429
Northern Wisconsin
Oct 02, 2019
Pros: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: None
Despite Numerous Attempts To Replace, Still #1
I've carried a 3" RAT for over three years now and despite numerous other purchases of non-assisted and non-flipper knives under 3", this is still my everyday carry. I have tried 15+ other knives, all under $100, to find that perfect carry knife, and the 3" RAT is what I grab every day. I have to have tip down with a thumb stud or usable hole. I can get that type of knife out and back so fast many grown men marvel at it, and in that classification this knife rules the roost. The blade flies open with no adjustment or lubrication. I can't bring myself to carry a $300 knife that might get left on a shelf in the warehouse, nor will I carry something my peers will call a "pig sticker". This knife is the right size, right thickness, right weight and has the right pocket clip. The clip isn't deep. People will see it, but it doesn't have screws under the clip that tear up the edges of your pocket. It snaps open, even after excessive use, with authority. The lock is great and easy to release. The handle is perfect. All of your fingers are in the right place and safe. My only complaint, if it is a real complaint, is the dual thumb studs. Ambidextrous is great, but don't let them protrude past the handle scales, which they do. I ground the clip side stud down, but a little bit of engineering would save that hassle. If you don't it drags on your pocket hem and will tear it apart, not to mention slowing things down. Blade steel is adequate. I sharpen often and while it doesn't hold an edge as long as I would like, a couple passes over a ceramic rod brings it right back. In all, and after many tries to replace it, which isn't a bad thing, this knife has been the perfect EDC for me.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Brad
High Shoals, Ga.
Apr 03, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
the perfect EDC
Of all the folders I've bought, sold, kept , or given away, this suits me the best so far. For me it's the perfect size & weight. Thin with a slim profile. Great ergonomics. I favor the full flat grind. Fit & finish is near perfect. Surprising quality, given the price. I'll probably have to get one for a back-up & they'd make great gifts.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Borzy
Sydney
Jul 22, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great
Sharp out of box. Very smooth opening action. Blade position sits slightly behind and thus lags behind hand in cutting motion: allows greater application of force in cutting motion.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Marc
Ottawa
Mar 13, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Weight
Very good, a little small
Nice blade (came razor sharp). Smooth, lightning fast opening one oiled. Strong pocket clip, but is too low on the knife (the knife protrudes too much from the pocket when clipped) A little too small for my hands, makes using the balde for heavy tasks and flick opening a little akward but not very much. Conclusion: Good EDC blade, would recommend.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Kevin W.
Dallas, Tx
Feb 05, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: None
Excellent for the price!
After reading the reviews here I decided to go ahead and get one. I must say I am very happy I did. When clipped to my pocket I don't even feel it until I need it. I am very impressed with the quality as well. Blade is centered when closed. Easy to open with one hand with solid lock up and no blade play. Sharp right out of the box. The feel of the knife in my hand is excellent. So much so that I ordered her big sister as well. Service from Knife Center, including packaging for shipping, was top notch as always.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
David
New York
Apr 16, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
HARD TO BEAT FOR THE PRICE!!
I really don't know how they do it for the money. This knife along with it's bigger brother the RAT 1 compares to a knife that would cost two to three times as much. Perfect size, smooth action with bronze washers and a fairly decent blade steel. Great EDC knife that can take a lot of punishment and still hold up. Just wish they would offer one with G-10 scales. I would gladly pay a little more for this option!
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Carlos R.
Barranquilla, Col.
Nov 16, 2015
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
Great EDC!
Fit and finish are great, very sharp out of the box, really lightweight. A great knife for its price.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Vlh
Broomfield, Co.
Dec 04, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Excellent EDC value
The best EDC knife value on the market today.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Kim
Springville, Al
Apr 07, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Excellent Knife
I use this as my EDC for the work week. It is just the right size and is very sharp. I have no problems getting it sharp when needed and keeping it sharp by stropping in between. Very smooth opening. This is definitely one of my favorites.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Aaron
Johnstown, PA
Oct 07, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Feel, None
Great Product
This knife comes out of the box razor sharp, and ready for any cutting task. I had owned a RAT Model 1 for several years before giving it to a friend in a trade for a Kershaw Leek. The Model 2 is identical to the Model 1, but for a bit a size difference, which I enjoy. The Model 2 is a little smaller, a little lighter and just easier to put in your pocket and forget about. I do wish the handle was a little longer. However, I really enjoy the knife, and have used it for a few cutting jobs since I purchased it. I'm a fisherman, and use it for associated jobs. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a reliable knife that won't break the bank.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Thomas
beeville,tx.
Aug 09, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
great knife
i' have wanted this knife for awhile,and i'm glad i have one.this knife will find a spot on my edc rotation.my rat 2 came very sharp,fit and finish are excellent.i haven't carried it much,but i plan on it.great knife!
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Underdog
East Tennessee
Apr 02, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, None
They got it correct
RAT Model 2 - Lightweight - thin 10mm - very easy to deploy the blade. I think it is very close to perfection
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Louis
,
Aug 15, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great Knife!
I can't say enough good things about this knife. Now that there's a D2 steel option it's even better!
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
T. M
S.F. Bay
May 11, 2013
Pros: Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Perfect small edc
This is just like the rat 1 in every way but size. Quality and build are excelelent. It is SMALLER than the stats make it seem. But it is a great size for those who like a smallish edc. For the price cant go wrong.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Mike B.
Sterling Va.
Jun 18, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Better then more expensive knives.
Great EDC knife, feels great in the hand and pocket,perfect size. Razer sharp out of the box, would greatly recomend this at its price point,cant beat it.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Peter Jar
CANADA
Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
ONTARIO RAT MODEL2 FOLDING KNIFE3.0
GOOD PRODUCT
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Greg
Frankenmuth
Jul 08, 2016
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
RAT 2
This is a great little edc knife for the price, using the thumb stud it deployed smooth right out of the box and was nice and sharp. Although, slightly smaller than i though, it is a great size and weight for edc. I do prefer a deep pocket clip, this clip was good and the texture was not so aggressive that made it too grippy to get it out of the pocket. Overall, great value.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Serpent Lord
Kentucky
Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Lightweight Winner
I originally bought the model with the black painted blade and used that knife on & off for about a year and a half. It was happily in the rotation of all my edc blades. The black paint on that model is not extremely durable unfortunately! For a cheap knife I can't complain though and after thinking that I'd lost it, I immediately looked at this satin blade for a replacement. Don't be confused; this is an excellent little knife. It's edge retention is better than a lot of the Kershaws I own. It'll really hang in there! It is a 5-star blade. Just know that as much as you love it, your seatbelt will love it more and it'll sneak it out of your pocket and you'll never feel it go! It's happened twice now.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Nick The Enforcer
Illinois
Apr 23, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Great Size!
Same quality as the RAT-1. Super sharp and tight lock-up. Prefer a SS clip though. It is a great value about the size of a Delica or Skyline [length].
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Phil
Montreal
Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Awesome edc knife
This is a great knife. Razor sharp out of the box. Easy to open. When open, it's well balance and secure. Great price and fast delivery. It's my everyday knife. I use it for cutting cardboard, open boxes, to cut ropes, tubing and tie wraps. I took it on a camping trip recently and it trows spark on a ferro rod like a champ.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Bill R.
Eastern N.C.
Mar 30, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
A serious bargain.
This is easily a Forty or Forty Five dollar knife. The fit and finish are excellent. Top notch quality control. Good blade centering, lightening fast deployment , razor sharp from the box. Take notes Spyderco; this is how you do "Budget". Fast deployment, great quality control, perfect fit and finish.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Anthony F
NC
Sep 01, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, None
RAT model 2
My only flaws are with the smooth handle and trying to open with thunb studs!!...I have large hands and should have bought the bigger model #1 version.this knife was very sharp out of the box and the blade lock up was outstanding!!... I would recomend this knife as a camp knife or Edc!!...im very happy Ontario knives...they are some of the best knives on the market!!
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Collin
ellicott city, md
Mar 24, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
rat 2 awesomeness
Rat 2 is an a amazingly good knife for the money u cant beat it. It's nicer than my skyline damascus hands down and i think it compares closer to benchmade knives than kershaw or many other name brand companies agian cant say enough about build quality and fit and finnish if someone told me it was a $60 or even $100 dollar knife i would not be shocked from the feel of this thing
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Km
MD
Aug 22, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
great knife
Great knife for the price def a good edc
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Rick P
Carmel In
Sep 06, 2017
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Material, None
Ontario Rat 2
I own over 100 knives an avid collector this is my first experience with the Ontario Rat 2 it's absolutely amazing near flawless except for the steel but for $30.00 can't complain. Fit and finish spot on . Ease of opening near perfect I am very impressed 👍
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Dillon
Houston
Feb 15, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Best bang for your buck!!!
Can't beat it!!!
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Ray
Las Vegas
Apr 23, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great little brother
Everything you expect from a Ontario Rat 1 but smaller. Easy edc not too small not too big. I beat on my Rat1 everyday at work never failed hope to get the same results
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Kjartan
Sweden
Apr 19, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
EDC Champ
The best EDC knife ever built. Period.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Jeff
Florida
Apr 02, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
A classic EDC knife...
The Model 2 has everything the Model 1 has, its just smaller. If you know and love that knife, then you need no more details from me. If you need details, here they are: Fit and finish are excellent. This knife is relatively small, but still has a substantial heft. The blade geometry is excellent. I have large hands, but the knife is still comfortable to use. The blade came very sharp, and being AUS 8, I will be able to sharpen it easily. I love the flat grind. I can pop it open very easily. Lockup is very solid. Last and most subjectively, I love the way this little knife looks. It has a simple, utilitarian, elegance. The only issue is that the pocket clip is a little tight to wear it on jeans, but it still works. On chinos and thin tactical pants it is perfect. I usually carry my Model 1 when I wear jeans anyway... All in all it is a tremendous value, and I am extremely pleased that RAT and Ontario put this knife out.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Ldk
Woodstock, GA
Dec 16, 2013
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great for everyday
My husband says it is the perfect size and weight to carry in dress pants. He loves it.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Seanyboy
Bellingham, Washington
Apr 08, 2018
Pros: Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Quality budget edc
The quality for the price is hard to beat. Fits well in my hand as well as my pocket. It easily handles all of my small tasks and then some. I really like the clean design of this knife. Highly recommended!
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
K
NC
Mar 14, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great knife
I just got this knife and I couldn’t be more satisfied with the quality and design. The lockup is solid, the deployment is buttery smooth, and the size of the knife is perfect for every day carry. I would highly recommend the Rat 2 folder to anyone in need of a good knife.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Dean S.
Maine
Mar 28, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Lock Type, None
For the price this knife is a great find. Opens smoothly. The blade is centered in the handle when closed. Feels good in my hand. Great blade design. The ends on both sides are drilled for placing the clip where you like for your carry preference. Sits low enough in the pocket for discreet carry. Has steel liners that could have been drilled for a little lighter carry but the knife is fairly light as it is. The liner lock is tight so that you have no blade play. Handles are just grippy enough for a solid purchase in the hand but not so rough as to tear your pants up when you pull it from your pocket. My first reaction was "Im getting another one of these for everyday carry!" Good blade material and sharp out of the box.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
5 out of 5
Mick
USA
May 20, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Can't beat it for the price
Carry and use it daily, built like a tank. Only negative is it is hard to open one handed.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
4 out of 5
Schnelly
Midwest
May 07, 2014
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Handle Material
Excellent bang for your buck. 4.5 stars
Great knife overall! This is a lot of knife for your money. Could it be improved? Yes. The handles are fairly slick and the steel is an adequate compromise between price and performance. Improved materials would raise the price though. As is it is functional and tough. This is a fairly small knife, about as small as I go for serious use, but makes a good edc for most. I have both the Ontario Rat 1 and Rat 2. The Rat 1 is a big tough knife, but it may be too large for some. For me, the Rat 2 is slightly too small. Ideally, what I'd like is a Rat 1.5, a just in between size.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
4 out of 5
Jed Sl
Berwyn, Il
Jun 26, 2013
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Feel, Lock Ease of Use, None
Everything you need
Perfect reasonably priced Edc. I've carried a knife in my pocket since I was a little boy, and this one nails it. An exact little brother to the rat 1 a little smaller than I first imagined it, maybe too small if you have giant hands or sausage fingers, but for normal guys its perfect. Great price and it won't kill you if it pops out of your pocket someday, just buy another cant really say the same for a few I've lost.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
4 out of 5
Andrew
Ontario, Canada
Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Handle Material
Possibly the greatest EDC under $50
Considering there are plenty of knives out there around the $40 to $60 range that are still using 8CR13mov and AUS8, the fact that this $25 knife has AUS8 steel and a nice FFG is VALUE at its BEST. The thumbstuds are nice and the opening is smooth (especially after some lubing), the lock-up is very tight so far, and the blade came RAZOR sharp out of the box. The only thing the knife suffers from is a rather weak tip, mine broke after a week, but it was my fault for not being more careful with a FFG. Be careful of the tip and this knife will serve you just as well as many knives double it's price. Props to Ontario Knife Company.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
4 out of 5
Gordon
california
Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Ontario RAT Model 2
Used as a EDC knife
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
4 out of 5
Cole W.
Phoenix, AZ
Jan 01, 2015
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Handle Material
Rat 2 - 1.5 year review
I've been using this knife as a part of my EDC rotation for over 1.5 years now, and it has served me very well. I carry it as my friendlier-looking knife for everyday use, and for in places where blade length is limited. I've carried this knife through multiple states, different backpacking/hunting trips, even to the other side of the globe. It has never let me down. This knife is ideal for general cutting, scraping, etc. uses, and shouldn't be expected to do work outside of it's design. While some knives are much beefier and can be abused/pressed into other uses like prying or batoning, this knife is not one of those. I have definitely abused this knife because of how cheap it is, I'm comfortable pressing it into hard work. I've chipped the tip from prying/using it as a screw driver, swam/surfed with it on me for a week, banged it up, cut material that shouldn't be cut with a knife, used it to scrape carbon off of BCGs and more. It keeps rocking. I have lost one of the screws for the handle, but that's it. Favorite things about the knife are the high quality to low cost ratio, the weight, and ease of maintenance. I did stipple a little section on the left-side scale to aid in drawing the knife, and took it apart about 6 months in to clean/polish everything. The lock-up is at about 90-95% now, but that's probably expected after the use this knife has seen. The handles are a little slippery, and the coating on the clip comes off easily. I love this knife. I would absolutely recommend it if you are looking for a cheaper EDC knife. The blade shape is very useful, the steel has held up well, and the quality is higher than expected. While this is the lowest cost knife I would ever rely on if given the option, it is still better than some knives I have tried that cost more.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
4 out of 5
Eirik
Norway
Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, None
Perfection
This is the perfect knife. I've been waiting for years for a smaler rat 1. It weighs next to nothing. And feels perfect in my hand. You can't go wrong buying This knife. I just wish they would've made it deep carry and made it out of a CPM steel
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
4 out of 5
Sean B
Cleburne, TX
Aug 24, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Go To EDC
This has turned into my favorite EDC blade. It's just the right size, quality is excellent, and this knife is a work horse. My only complaints are the retention on the liner lock is too tight for my taste. You have to really press hard on that little piece of jimped steel. Also, the right angles on the back of the blade are so sharp, I actually cut my finger on them, while the knife was folded. That's a first for me. All in all this is a great knife that is worth the money.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
4 out of 5
Thierry L
Geneve, Ae
Oct 26, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None
very nice for the price
very nice for the price. small, strong and easy to sharpening. Just one thing to know about all ontario's knives : the blade is not sharp whathever, very good product
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
4 out of 5
Keith
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 28, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Rat 2 is good.
Nice knife. Sharp and easy to keep it so. I'm glad I can move the pocket clip. Thumb stud should be a little more forward. I had to loosen the pivot screw to make it easier to open. I use it to open packages and slice fruit and tomatoes at lunch. Slices tomatoes better than my kitchen knives.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
4 out of 5
Steve F
Rochester, NY
Mar 02, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
right size and weight for a good edc
For the money, this is a great deal. Lots of knife for very little dollars! It opens smoothly enough. While stud placement isn't perfect, it's utilitarian and not cumbersome. The scales, while textured, aren't so rough that your pants get shredded between the clip and the scale--but it holds on tight. You won't lose this one (well, not by having it fall from your pocket, anyway). Strangely, the clip came set for lefthand tip-up carry. No problem, it's got #6 torx screws on the clip, so I moved it and it's now set up for righthand tip-up carry. It's unclear to me why they wouldn't set this up for righthand carry initially, given that 93% of the population is right-handed. While the carry is not deep pocket, it doesn't stick up much, and it's pretty easy to retrieve from the pocket (I do not use a lanyard, although there is a hole for one, if you use them). Blade centering is fair; it's maybe 65% to one side. No functional effect on this small a variance. The fit and finish are otherwise surprisingly good at this price point; there is ZERO lateral or vertical blade play or frame play when the blade is deployed. That's unexpected at this price level; many folders that cost what this one does exhibit a little play (or more than a little). The liners aren't the thickest, but the result is a very light knife that you don't feel in your pocket (especially using the clip). Under some circumstances this thin of a liner on a liner lock knife might give me pause, but it doesn't here, because the liner lock clicks in dead center in the middle of the blade. Most are a bit off to the side--no problem, especially with substantial liners. This one is as centered as I've ever seen. Nice and secure. The blade shape is nice for 'rolling' kinds of slicing, and also for high-angle slicing, which many blades don't do so well. It's AUS-8 steel--certainly not premium, but not by any means junk. It takes an edge easily and holds it decently--plenty well enough for an EDC. This is not a shop knife--the edge would dull too quickly and roll too easily for that application--but it's perfectly suitable for the kinds of package-opening, cardboard-cutting, coupon-clipping, string and rope-cutting, plastic bubblepack-slicing kinds of things one does with an EDC. It works fine for food, too (applies, oranges, vegetables, pizza...). I will no doubt use the back of the blade to turn a slothead screw at some point; my EDCs always seem to come to that eventually! The blade was reasonably sharp out of the box when I got it, but I took it up a little from there. In sum, this is a really nice value at Knifecenter’s price, and it fits the EDC bill perfectly in size and weight. Although it’s made in Taiwan, it is sold by Ontario, a New York State company, so that’s at least partially great!
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
4 out of 5
Tyler
Northern Virginia
Apr 03, 2014
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
great for edc
I already owned a rat 1 and really liked the knife but I found that if was just a little too big to carry most days. The rat 2 is a perfect for light duty edc (every day carry). One of my favorite edc knives is the spyderco delica, but this knife gives the delica a run for its money when you consider the price difference. Sure the blade material is of a lesser quality but is still a great steel. It comes wicked sharp as you would expect from Ontario. The 4 way pocket clip is near perfect and its a light knife, you'll forget you have it. The only thing I can criticize is that it has a little bit of a late lockup. It locks up tight and strong but the lock bar is over halfway across the locking ramp (blade tang). It's not just my knife that does this. Every model has this same characteristic. That being said, its a minor thing and doesn't affect functionality. Amazing knife for the money. Buy one.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
4 out of 5
Gabe V
Denver,CO
Apr 02, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, None
testing the Rat model2 knife
The Rat2 came very sharp ,and holds nice edge,plus it opens very smoothly it's light weight,slices very nice also cut some rope and it did well one of the drawbacks to this knife, is that for such a small knife it should have a thinner handle,it feels like the length/width ratio is off ,but its not really a deal breaker. This Rat 2 would be a nice gift for someone that needs a good ,dependable work/hobby knife,and the quality is tops better than a lot of knives that cost 2x as much,Taiwan has been putting together some really good knives in the past few years,I am very happy with my purchase will also be getting the larger version.
Ontario RAT Model 2 Folding Knife 3.0" Satin Plain Blade, Black Nylon Handles
3 out of 5
Gordon Lew
Elkins Park, PA
May 01, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Weight, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use
Not bad, but not great
I had read good things about this knife and, because it's so affordable, thought I'd try it out as possible EDC. It came razor sharp and felt well constructed in a no-frills sort of way. What I didn't care for was the overall feel. Even though I have medium-sized hands, the handle felt a bit too short for a full four-finger grip. Because of the handle's shape and lack of a guard behind the choil, it's possible but not safe to choke up on the blade. I also found it difficult to get a good enough purchase on the thumb studs to flip the blade out, regardless of which hand I used. Finally, I found the liner lock slightly awkward to release. I'm left-handed though, so that's to be expected. None of this makes it a bad knife, just a slightly better than average one.