Reviews and Ratings for Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath - 9466

Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheathrated 4.250 stars out of 5 (32 reviews)
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
19
4 star
7
3 star
2
2 star
3
1 star
1
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5 inch Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath

 

Price: $129.95

Save $106.55 (45%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hawkeye
Wisconsin
Aug 05, 2015
Pros: Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Great specialty knife
This is my first karambit. I wanted to get one because I recently became involved with a Philippino martial art and I believe that's where they come from. I like that it's a single piece of steel. Seems very durable. Also, I prefer micarta for knife material and it's got that covered too. I would prefer that the false edge be sharpened but I guess I'll do that myself. Overall I think it's a really good specialty knife.
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
Florida, USA
Sep 29, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Best knife ive ever bought.
This knife is by far one of the best knives i've ever bought. I use it for everything. From opening boxes with ease, To SD. I've dropped this knife about three times and there has been no damage. The knife comes dull, but with great reason. This knife is so tough when you sharpen it, it stays sharp for a long time because of the carbon. The handles are a really nice touch and have not come loose yet. The only thing i wanted to know before i bought this knife was if it was a double-edged knife or not. once you unbox it, the knife looks double sided, i still can't tell. but overall i love the knife and have not found anything wrong with it after 3 months.
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nick
Bussell
Jan 05, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Wonderful purchase
This knife is exactly what I was looking for. It has good weight to it and its really sharp. The side holster is ok I thought it came with a shoulder holster.
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Han Solo H
San Jose, NM
Jun 03, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Just amazing
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Anonymous
D.c
Jan 02, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Materials, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Weight, Finish, None
Awesome blade
This karambit is fantastic. Great hard use steel, very dense in hand and it feels very sturdy when used. The blade doesn't come super sharp but it isn't very hard to sharpen it. Going to sharpen the swedge soon. Overall a great buy
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nicholas S.
Columbia, S.C.
Dec 06, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Hook bladed Juggernaut.
I have used this knife while going camping, fishing, and hiking; it has not let me down once. The steel is incredibly tough, which makes it difficult to sharpen, but once sharpened this monster stays sharp. For outdoor enthusiasts or collectors I would highly recommend this knife. The only downside to this knife is the sheath, it's a bit awkward at first, but it grew on me so I like it now, has a cool quick draw effect.
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dalton
Mississippi
Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Excellent karambit!
I can't find anything to.complain about when it comes to this knife. However, the sheath is inconvenient for concealed carry.
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tuco
USA
Aug 12, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
The real mean thing
Feels good man
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Juan S
Puerto Rico
Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
excelet knife
self defence
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevyn M
Dallas
Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Finish, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, None
My friends say I'm a Velociraptor now...
I hope this review helps some of the more skeptical folks out there as well as some seasoned karambit carriers. From out of the box, this thing has been on my belt every day (3 weeks at this point). Now the sheath is chunky and positioned completely backwards (if drawing reversed grip), but I've wanted to conceal carry this bad boy with a custom sheath for months so I knew the sheath wouldn't factor in on my purchase. I was surprised it came in a different kydex sheath with more suspension grommets and a detachable belt loop which may enable this sheath to belong on a backpack or MOLLE plate carrier later. Now the knife. It's fat, but in a good way. I like the balance, proportion, and arc angle compared to every other karambit i've played or worked with as it functions naturally forward and reversed. I find that more curved blades almost work against you in forward grip. The negative on it's weight is that you have to carry it well or it'll drop your pants or slide all over the place. Similar to carrying a pistol. The pommel ring is 1" in clear diameter and fits my medium fingers well. I think it could deliver on a pommel strike and protect my finger well enough. The simple ergo is smart for accommodating multiple hand sizes while the routed index groove and 3 gouges in the micarta don't even slip when wet. On sharpness, the karambit is not intended to be a razor as many tanto or drop-tips are, but rather utilizes the point/tip to slice as the body of the blade applies the pressure, like pricking a balloon. That's why you can effectively split heads open as easily with the sharpened edge as with the spine of the blade. This EOD even helps that by beveling the spine to a needle-like point, making it a truly effective melee option from many angles of attack. This thing is the real deal, OKC Ranger EOD and no knock-off, just make sure you get some training with it before you depend on it to save your life.
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wayne
America
May 08, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Love this knife
The sheath is a little akward but works very well with an IWB strap. The knife itself is giant. The handle does appear green and not black which is also a bonus. Very easy to sharpen if you have a clue what you are doing but its not meant to be shaving sharp. Perfect for big hands and is an all around sturdy well built knife.
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Extraordinaire1
Ca
May 02, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
The Karambit to beat.
So I waited a while to buy this. I also got the knife price match at a local shop. My hand is huge. This knife fits. The blade can use some sharpening. And the kydex sheath is a bit of a challenge. But if you want to carry in reverse draw, you can put it right side through the belt loop. Like a concealed holster. I may have a custom leather sheath made for it. But this thing is built. And American made! Buy it.
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gps
west melbourne fl
Apr 19, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
BAD-ASS BLADE
super tough knife-excelent for pulling cuts or puncturing.also very good in a self defence roll.quarter inch thick steel,comfortable grips and easy to cary consealed.a little pricy but the quality and the fit and finish make it worth the money.ontario has made this an indestructable piece that should last a lifetime under the hardest conditions-great job onterio--and kudu's to the knifecenter for their, as always, great service.
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ian
UK
Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Good knife poor belt clip
I really like the knife it is heavy and feels great straight from the box however what lets the package down is the sheath and the 1930's belt clip, the sheath is too square on one corner but thats easily fixed with a hacksaw and file, I would take the clip off and fit either a tek lok or spyderco g clip the original is **** it hinders the removal from the sheath (which locks on/in good) and would be a nightmare to actually get a belt through so in summation knife 10/10 sheath 9/10 and clip -100/10 hope this helps. Ian UK
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Greg
Reno, NV
Jul 09, 2014
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Ontario ranger karambit
Really like this knife. Quality all around, production blade with features you would pay twice as much for from other makers. Bought a fox 599 and was not happy with it. Should have got two of these instead.
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ralph K
manitoba,canada
Sep 13, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
ontario ranger karambit
a great tool, fits excellent in hand.use it around the farm to open feed bags,cardboard boxes,to trim fruit trees or others and general day to day uses.very happy with product
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zeb
NW montana
Jan 31, 2019
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Materials, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Weight, None
Nice
I got this knife as an edged carry weapon I'm new to Karambits but I really like Ontario knives so I went with this one, it is really tough and feels good in the hand and good balance it is a little heavy for it's size but that also works to it's favor when using the blunt surfaces to strike it hits hard and punctures/ slashes really well, in the right hands it can do some nasty damage to an attacker and really change their mind about messing with you. the black matt finish makes it invisible in poor lighting conditions, your weapons should be felt not seen. The sheath is formed plastic which took some getting use too but I do like it its very comfortable to wear you dont even feel it.
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Randal
Avenel, Nj
May 02, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Very Good Knife & Sheath
First, the sheath issues noted by others has been addressed. The sheath shipped with my knife was made by De Santis and is very functional. Fit and finish is fine. The belt "loop" can be removed and the sheath carried any number of ways. I use mine "as is". Easily concealed. The knife is substantial, good weight. Micarta handle fits my large hands well. Blade not shaving sharp, but easily sharpened with ceramic rods. This knife will not break, and you won't loose your grip. I carry mine daily, and I have many to choose from. Built for a lifetime of use.
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charlie
New York
Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
awesome knife
Okay I personally own this knife and love it. I hear a lot of complaints about sharpness. You boys need to remember that 5160 is a tough steel. Not highly wear resistant. The design is a fighting/slashing knife. It is not a knife to be beaten with a hammer. It is an excellent blade and should be used as designed.
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dan D
Philadelphia Tennessee.
Nov 23, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, None
Really like this knife, very well made. It is almost indestructible. Although, it did not arrive very sharp and the sheath is a poor design.
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Monkeywrench133
Phoenix, AZ
Feb 19, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Finish
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
A beast of a knife!.....with one problem
This is my first Ontario product, and I'm very impressed. This knife is built like a tank. It's a little on the heavy side, but it's built for heavy use. I have large hands, but it fits well. The blade feels like a natural extension of you hand, with either traditional, or reverse grip. The micarta handles are substantial, and feel good in the hand. The blade was a bit dull when I got it, but 5 minutes with a honing steel fixed that. The kydex sheath is horrible though. It's unnecessarily large, and feels cheap. Mounting options are severely limited. You can basically carry it straight up an down on strong side for traditional draw, on your left side for left hand reverse draw, or maybe a horizontal small of the back right handed draw. The problem is that the belt loop portion is not reversible. There are only screw holes on one side of it, so your options are really limited. I had planned on making this an EDC, but it'll probably never leave the house now, because of the sheath. If you're willing to spend extra money on a custom sheath, go for it. If not, but something else with a decent sheath, and skip this knife.
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jose R.
MADRID, SPAIN
Sep 08, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Weight
JUST EOD!
TOUGH & BEAUTIFUL! BLADE COULD SURELY BE SHARPER BUT IT IS STRONG!
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Steve Van
ANTWERP BELGIUM
Apr 06, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
OVERALL GOOD QUALITY
OVERALL A GOOD QUALITY KNIFE . NOT REAL SHARP OUT OF THE BOX AND VERRY HARD TO SHARPEN IT YOURSELF BECAUWSE OF THE THIKNESS OF THE BLADE AND THE WAY IT IS PRE-SHARPEND. THE SHEAT IS A HARD MOLDED PLASTIC ....EUH, THING I DON'T LIKE IT MUCH.THE WEIGHT AND HANDELING OF THE KNIFE I FIND, ARE VERRY GOOD.
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Denny F.
Oklahoma City, OK
Oct 10, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard
Good Knife
I have purchased and trained with a variety of karambits. I purchased an OKC EOD Ranger Karambit and found it to fit my larger hand well. The micarta grips are a little large for my taste but I removed and filed them down a bit and now they aren't as bulky. the kydex sheath was a bit of a let down. The knife fit loosely in it and there were not may wear options on a belt...these however were easy fixes. I reheated the kydex in the oven and pressed it a bit more...the blade now fits snug with no risk of falling out. I removed the belt loop attachment from the sheat and added a Blackhawk CQC belt attachment, which now allows me for a front draw in the prime blade down grip. I didn't even have to fab new grommet holes. Overall, a good heavy pieve of steel that needed a good diamond stone and sheath adjustment,
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Zaekyras
Florida
Apr 07, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
good knife
I am learning about this type of knife, and how to use it. The knife is sturdy well made feels good in the hand. The sheath works very well for the intended use, although I cut the bottom of the loop to make it a clip on and off version. The only complaint I have is it was the dullest knife I have ever purchased. Nothing a little time sharpening won't fix, but really? That dull from the factory?
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Gtr1400
Florida
Feb 16, 2019
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Onterio ranger eod
This thing is built like a tank that's the good. Blade is not Sharp at all it's like the blade was never actually sharpened at the factory. The knife will have to go to a professional knife guy to have the blade worked like it should have come from the factory. I bought stones specifically to sharpen a karambit and it's useless. Depending on what a knife guy charges to grind and sharpen it this knife could not be worth the price.
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Doc D
dallas Tx
Jun 22, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Blade Material
Cons: None
should be nice
This should be nice....I believe this is the one they copied from Jeff Crowner
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Peyton Raburn
knoxville, TN
Jul 08, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Materials, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Blade Sharpness
i was so excited
i was very excited when i got this knife in th mail but when i started to play with it i realized how poor the quality of this knife is. the blade is dull...it rips paper the micarta is uneven the sheath is loose and the knife could fall out if i shook it upside down,i cannot tighten the phillips head screws o like the design of the knife but for the money more detail could have been pu into it
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
D H
Jacksonville Fl.
Jun 13, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Finish, None
Cons: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Everything but an edge!!
EDC, good design, Blde and handle way to thick.
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Marco
rome (italy)
Jul 14, 2019
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality
sin could be a masterpiece .........
the magnificently designed Ontario karambit is beautiful to look at is sturdy and perfectly balanced but it is not worth the purchase price, the blade is irregular and does not cut - bevel grinding is bad the blade is too thick to perform an acceptable sharpening must be carried by a professional to raise the micro-chamfer by removing a considerable amount of metal the karambit as delivered by the factory is unusable only good to put it on display
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Adam K
Afghanistan and Fort Benning, GA
May 14, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, None
Cons: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Disappointed
I use the product in a variety of way, from prying, cutting, and hammering, as I am in the military and need a solid knife. The design of the knife is very cool looking, but when i received it and the subsequent use of it has left me disappointed. When I first got it, it was dull and needed sharpening as I could not even cut a piece of paper with it. Once i spent some time with my whetstones and put an edge on it, I was pleased. However, the sheath is terribly designed. The screws/rivet backings holding the sheath onto the belt holder have all broken off within one week of use. I had to improvise and tie it together with 550 cord. The Black finish is highly resistant to scraping, but it will flake off in large chunks when struck head on. The steel itself is quite tough, once an edge is put on, it stays on. I use my knives quite a bit and did like that aspect of it. In summation, for the approx $140 i spent to purchase it, I feel that money could have been better spent on a Benchmade or Stryder. If I had not gotten bored and put an edge on the backside of the knife I would return it.I was extremely disappointed that my sheath would fall off while I'm overseas out on target because someone wanted to skimp on some screws. Makes things difficult. With this experience I do not think that I shall purchase another OKC knife again nor recommend them to others. I'll just stick with my Benchmade, Stryder and Chris Reeve knives.
Ontario Ranger EOD Kerambit (Karambit) Knife Fixed 3.5" Carbon Steel Blade, Black Micarta Handles, Kydex Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Keith
Old Bridge, Nj
Jan 28, 2019
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Quality Control
I am a knife collector. This blade had the worst grind of any blade I've owned. Having to pay to have a blade reground out of the box makes this product. definitely don't buy.