Reviews and Ratings for Ontario Traditional Machete 22" Blade - 8294

Ontario Traditional Machete 22" Bladerated 4.533 stars out of 5 (15 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Ontario Traditional Machete 22 inch Blade

 

Price: $22.95

Save $15.00 (40%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Ontario Traditional Machete 22" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris S.
Moscow PA
Jul 27, 2011
Pros: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
GREAT!!!
I got this machete for camping and its the best machete ive ever gotten it came sharp and over months still doesnt lose its edge its perfect
Ontario Traditional Machete 22" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Neocon
Birmingham, Al
Mar 20, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Just Broke My Ontario Mechete
Broke it after using it for 18 years. Made a couple grand clearing land with it.
Ontario Traditional Machete 22" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
H
Long Island, NY
Aug 11, 2009
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Finish
well made, sturdy
Chopping weeds or lopping tree branches off, this is a nice tool. Unlike other blades I've purchased and used, this one is built to last. Handle could have been a little less squared off. Had to perfect the edge, but it's holding.
Ontario Traditional Machete 22" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Christian M
55 Richard
Dec 16, 2012
Pros: Materials, None
Cons: Weight
This product holds strong and looks awesome like it was in combat use. It holds very well when chopping wood down and it's comfortable in your hand the lengh is perfect and gives it great advantages.
Ontario Traditional Machete 22" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cmr
Spokane, WA.
Jun 13, 2012
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Weight
Tough as "...."
If you're looking for an almost indestructible machete, look no further. The plastic handle scales are tough, but they need a bit of work to get comfy. The blade comes about as sharp as a sharp butter knife, so keep that in mind. It has no thickness-taper. Meaning it is 1/8th of an inch thick at the handle, as well as near the tip. Forget Cold Steel, get this. Also, because it doesn't taper, the blade is VERY heavy. The blade holds an edge forever.
Ontario Traditional Machete 22" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Barry B
el cajon california
Sep 11, 2012
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Weight
Best on the market
This is the machete used in the walking dead series.
Ontario Traditional Machete 22" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Bloomfield NM
Jun 20, 2013
Pros:
Cons:
Definitely tough!
I'm a retired Marine GySgt, and I recall more than a few occasions when I had to use one of these machetes. They were tougher than hell back then and they still are. Ontario makes a simple, tough, durable and very workable tool. Buy this, you won't be disappointed!
Ontario Traditional Machete 22" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Alabama
Dec 04, 2013
Pros:
Cons:
I live on a farm and have always relied on a machete for most small clearing jobs. This is the best on the market in my opinion. Correct blade length and thickness are the keys to being able to use a machete properly - this one has both.
Ontario Traditional Machete 22" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ivan
Tahlequah ok
Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Material
Cons: None
USA quality shows
USA made machete that has solid feel and holds an edge well. Used it all day cutting 1-2" saplings with a single stroke, and it still had plenty of edge to dispose of a timber rattlesnake at the end of the day.
Ontario Traditional Machete 22" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charles C
Springfield, Mo
Oct 03, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: None
You just can not go wrong with these machetes.....a beast !!!!
I use it for general work on the farm and it loves it !!!
Ontario Traditional Machete 22" Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Eric
New York
Feb 18, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Nice heavy machete for larger peron
Machete arrived sharp and ready for work around the perimeter of my yard trimming pricker bushes and small branches.Worked well for trimming back the bushes,the 22" blade made short work of it, but keep in mind this is a heavy machete and fatigue will be an issue. My only complaint is that I've needed to sharpen the blade after almost every time I've used it. While the handle feels good in hand, I'd recommend getting some para-cord for it because once you start sweating it can get slick. I also ordered the basic Ontario 22" sheath with it and it's fine.The black coating they put on the blade will look buggered up after the first use but a machete is not made for beauty but for function. If you order this machete I think you'll be happy with It but remember It's not made for for Grandma.
Ontario Traditional Machete 22" Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Nate Dog
georgia
Apr 26, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
good length
the shape of the handle could be better. the blade needed to be sharpened. the blade is a little more flexible than i like . this is a top quality product with a great price. high grade steel that's been properly heat treated. this should last a long time.
Ontario Traditional Machete 22" Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Matt
Quinton, VA
Apr 19, 2010
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight, Handle Material
as the name implies...
This machete has a very thick blade (for a machete) near 1/8". This helps with chopping of larger woody stems, but the reach also makes this machete a good slasher for thinner vegetation and dense branches. At the same time, it is a very heavy machete to carry all day long, especially for active slashing in dense vegetation. Still, the reach is a major benefit for tackling multiflora rose, rubus, and greenbrier. It comes fairly sharp from the factory, but a little work on the belt sander to bring the bevel back a bit goes a long way in biting power. The handle is relatively solid, but it has a flat portion on the edge side that is very uncomfortable on the hand. I modified my handle to round this out and taped it with cloth athletic tape for grip. The steel is 1095 hi-carbon, which is great for retaining a very sharp edge; however, it is not easily sharpened by hand with a file. Since I have a belt sander at home, I prefer this harder steel to the 1055 and 1075 commonly used for machetes, but others may prefer something more easily workable in the field. All in all, this is a very good machete and I would recommend it to anyone who uses a machete hard and often. I am always critical of cutting tools, but this is probably the highest quality machete that I have owned. With the exception of the handle material, and with regard to functionality it is probably the highest quality machete as you will find, even at higher prices. Ontario also makes smaller models that may appeal to more people.
Ontario Traditional Machete 22" Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Alfred V
san gabriel valley in sunny ca.
Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material
ontario traditional 22" machete
this thing is a beast after sharpening the blade to a razors edge (which did not take long) i used it in fallbrook ca to stump some avocado trees this thing cut 3" branches in diameter with one swipe my buddy said let me try it he cut a 14" in diameter, 40 foot tree in about 9 minutes like i said this things a beast handle just needs some r&d work
Ontario Traditional Machete 22" Blade
rated 2 stars out of 5
Robert
washington
Aug 27, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Finish, Blade Sharpness
fits of finish
I'm not impressed with the fit and finish of this machete. I know and expect a machete to be a working tool and so therefore do not expect that it be beautiful, yet I do not like the messy grinding that noticeably notches the blade towards the handle area, and thins the blade from it's full 1/8" thickness! (the thickness is one of the reasons I decided to purchase this machete). On a 22" Ontario machete, the blade material is 1075 not 1095, which is not bad steel, however this tool is generally marketed as having 1095 steel. The tool works okay. Nothing great. I would've liked it to be even heavier! I destroy Scotch broom on many acres of land, and the extra weight of a thick and long blade really helps with chopping these ugly Celtic weeds down. This is why I'd like an even heavier blade of long length. The handle is uncomfortable, the blade comes dull as a butter knife.( Although I don't really care about how sharp a machetes comes to me from the factory, as I will sharpen the blades myself to their full lethal potential). I use machetes almost every day for long periods of time, and I own many different kinds. This one will work, but I think that Condor makes a better product by far, and I'm willing to pay their price. I wish I could find exactly what I want in a machete...I truly have not found it yet.