Reviews and Ratings for ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate

ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Platerated 4.694 stars out of 5 (36 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
29
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
1
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875 inch 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate

 

Price: $61.95

Save $35.93 (37%) Off Retail

View Product Details
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nomad
Midwest
Feb 22, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Great little knife

Good little all around knife can't wait to process some game with it next year. Been using it mainly for food prep in the kitchen and making small kindling for the camp fire
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rob D
lansdale, pa
Jun 20, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

just what i was looking for

I had been looking at these for a while and finally decided to pull the trigger. I'm so glad I did. Stout and tough blade that came razor sharp out of the bag. The thermoplastic sheath is the best I've seen. Better than any kydex sheath that I've ever had. A perfect fit. It also came with a wallet sized card with a few survival tips. A great idea for a carry option is to take a 2 inch section of bicycle inner tube and put it around the sheath to feed your belt through for horizontal carry. You'll never know its there. As always Knifecenters service was terrific.
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mustangfreak4357
fort worth
Jan 22, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

this knife is amazing

i live this KNIFE
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tris
East Boone
Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

dandy tool

Tough, durable, and efficient. Takes a razor edge with ease and keeps it. Keep it moderately dry an drust doesnt enter the equation at all. ESEE makes a quality tool in this one!
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tnzayatz
NJ
May 23, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None

tough little ant

Nice piece, tough and sharp. Works like a much larger knife. Great in a travel pack as it doesn't take much room.
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff
Palmer, Alaska
Dec 31, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Finish, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

RAT Izula

This is the most comfortable necker that I've ever encountered. The blade length is sacrificed a bit to give another 1/4 inch of grip. In theory, I disliked this. But it makes all the difference when you handle it. This knife is solid. It began life as my back-up woods knife and has now become an EDC knife (along with a little folder).
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 5 stars out of 5
R.S.
Northern Virginia
Apr 15, 2011
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

Second Izula

I was soo happy with my first Izula, I had to have another. The third will come shortly.
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff
Louisiana
Aug 17, 2009
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

THE BEST NECK KNIFE I'VE OWNED!

I use this knife for small cutting jobs (since I also carry a RAT RC-4) such as cutting paracord, opening boxes, cutting up food, and setting traps. I have been in search of the "perfect" neck knife for a long time. I get one, use it for awhile, and then eventually put it aside for one reason or another. Most are either too small, too large, too bulky, or just not useful. However, the IZULA has gone beyond my expectations. It has the correct proportions for me, the weight is perfect, and it's size is just right. I have never been disappointed with any knife from RAT Cutlery.....and I have several. They perform, they are tough, and they are made for cutting. Highly recommended!
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jp
Ocala, FL
Jan 12, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Love It!!!!

Easy to use, easily accessible, always there when I need it.
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 5 stars out of 5
Student
Portland, Oregon
Aug 28, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Material, Finish
Cons: None

Worth every penny

One of the other reviewers noted that this knife was too expensive. I would like to respectfully disagree. It is extremely well made, sturdy, and has the best warranty in the biz. Also, it is made in the USA, which is important when considering the price. The design is flawless. I thought that this knife was going to be too small for my grip, but it handles great. You can slip it in your pocket, mount it to a shoulder strap or belt, or hang it around your neck. This knife is a freaking home-run.
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 5 stars out of 5
Craneman
Port Angeles, WA
Oct 07, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

Dynamite in a small package

Just an excellent product all around. Keeps a razors edge that is super easy to sharpen, even on a simple ceramic "v" type sharpener. Tough little sucker, will cut anything you throw at it and then some. My go to knife when camping in the RV .Food prep, fire starting, any utility cutting chore you can think off. I have even opened cans with mine. Don't let the size fool you, get a fancy paracord wrap on it or micarta handles and it simply can't be beat. I own 2 of these and gave two more to my kids - one in the air force and one an outdoor nut. They love this knife as well.
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul C.
Fairview, OR
Aug 15, 2012
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

Just what was looking for...

After much research towards finding just the right knife for me, this is what I settled on. I wanted something lightweight, strong, and sharp that I could carry horizontally on my belt. This knife fits my needs almost perfectly. It is sharp as hell right out of the box, and it is super lightweight. The provided sheath is very strong, and holds the knife tightly with no jiggle. However, it does not work in a horizontal belt configuration, so I found a gentleman online to make me a custom sheath. All in all, this is a great knife for anyone seeking a small, lightweight, sharp fixed blade.
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rigrunner
SC
Sep 17, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Izula - Awesome Knife!

Great knife! Use it to carry in the truck and it hasn't let me down yet. Great all around knife that tackles many different tasks. Going to carry it this weekend on a gator hunt. Highly recommend to anyone who wants a compact fixed blade knife that handles anything that comes its' way. Only thing I need to add to the knife is the paracord wrap. Even without the wrap, it feels great in the hand. Thanks RAT Cutlery for a wonderful knife!
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 5 stars out of 5
B.Kinsey
Gold Coast Australia
Nov 21, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Handle Material, None

All Purpose Master

Carry for an EDC, cutting hundreds of cardboard boxes every week. Use it for a fishing knife and general purpose. Keeps a great edge, with a light oil the sea water doesn't mark it. Coating is nice and strong, wont chip or mar. Couldn't ask for more in such a neat little package!
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jb
bham
Oct 07, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

Excellent

Love this knife, stays sharp
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 5 stars out of 5
Grabagear
wi
Mar 29, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

awesome!

I read a lot about the izula before buying and thought I better see myself. I'm glad I did! Probably the best 50 bucks u can spend on a knife. The finish is tough and looks perfect. Razor Sharp out of the box! Even the plastic sheath works great. I carry it in my small front pocket of my jeans with a small paracord securing it to my belt and I barely know its there. I never carried a fixed blade for edc but this thing is perfect for that. I use it everyday at work and this past weekend while getting a load of wood I used it to clear some small bushes in my way and its still very Sharp.
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 5 stars out of 5
Flm7672
Sabah, Malaysia.
Jan 13, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Small but Smart!

this is suitable with that name 'Izula'..small but smart. Easy to carry. Sharp from factory..i'm so impress with this knife.
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ray
Orange County, CA
May 21, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Esee IZULA

I wanted a small, every-day carry, fixed blade knife that would be strong, and fit my hand. The Esee Izula fit the bill perfectly. It is not bulky at all, but feels substantial enough in my hand that I would feel confident to use it in any sort of heavy-use situation. The skeletal frame is good to use "as is", but I cord-wrapped it per Esee's web site instructions, and it feels better. I looked a long time for a good, small, affordable fixed blade--or "necker"--and the Izula is perfect.
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pete
Austinburg Ohio
Jan 29, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Great knife

I bought an Izula for my GF for her to carry on her walks. Its small size and great craftsmanship are perfect. The skeletonized handle is nice to personalize with different paracord weaves and colors. I'm finding myself a little jealous and will defintely be ordering myself one soon.
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hh
wy
May 19, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Very sharp, usefull shape.
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 5 stars out of 5
Court Srt
Long Island, NY
Oct 04, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Great little knife

The ESEE IZULA is a excellent well balanced knife. I currently carry it everyday on the job. I purchased the handles which not only look great, but provide a solid grip. Very sharp and for its size can do many tasks.
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 5 stars out of 5
David
HK
Mar 28, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Finish
Cons: Blade Material, None

Great

this little knife is just great, but I don't like the carbon steel, keep waiting the stainless stone wash version.
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 5 stars out of 5
Suchmuchfun
TX
Sep 06, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Just plain awesome

You can't imagine how nice it is until it is in your hand. Just a perfect, solid knife.
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 5 stars out of 5
D Sauer
Mount Airy, MD
May 22, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Awesome

The knife is as good as promoted. Eventhough small it fits the hand very well.
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joev
Houston, TX
Jul 06, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

excellent EDC

I think this will replace my EDC folding knife, except for when I'm at work. Razor sharp and strong. More heavy duty than any folding knife in this blade size. I like the thickness (wish the RAT3 was this thick). The IZULA micarta handles are a must.
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
CT
Jul 15, 2009
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

excellent knife

this knife is kept for self defense and utility
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 5 stars out of 5
Does It Matter Who I Am?
Dallas TX.
Jul 10, 2009
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Clearly a useful knife.

This knife can do anything. For such a small blade, it makes me wonder why i even bothered spending decent money on larger knives when this one fits right in my pocket and is made of 1095. Endless ways to wrap the handle (youtube), and the blade profile is easy to use and sharpen. Only reason i've had to re-sharpen it is because it fell in some soil with large rocks in it. The edge chipped, but with virtually no loss in fine cutting ability. The epoxy coating only gets smoother with wear which is good, RAT wins the utilitarian knife fight in the art studio and in the field. The sheath is very cool. This also makes a good throwing knife should you get bored out in the woods.
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 5 stars out of 5
Policeman
Maryland
Jun 20, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
I love this knife. Its , sharp, light, comfortable, quick to access, vanishes under your shirt, is MADE IN THE USA, comes with the best warranty around and doesn't break the bank when you purchase it. I cord wrapped the handle just for the fun of it and it feels very nice. The knife is very well made. For being so small it "fills" your hand. The finish on these knives is excellent. Its somewhat rough which improves the grip. The sheath has a secure hold on the knife. I do think that the sheath has the potential to loosen up after extended amounts of draws. Its made of injection molded plastic, not kydex, so its less abrasion resistant. A bonus feature of the sheath is that it can be carried in multiple modes. As a neck nife is my favorite. It can be belt mounted, it can be attached to web gear or a backpack strap. An innovative way to mount it is as follows... Make a loop about 10 inches long (20 inches of cord), attach it to the hole at the end of the sheath, loop it on your belt just above your pocket it and drop the sheath, point down in your pocket. When you draw, the knife and sheath come out of your pocket and then the lanyrad will pull the sheath off of the knife. The sheath will remain on your belt until you are ready to put the knife back. The knife and sheath is so slim you can hardly feel it in your pocket. A best buy in my opinion.
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rob
Lake Tahoe, CA
Jan 03, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
I bought this knife for my brother as a gift. It is now used as a daily carry and reported as "very handy".He prefers the skeletonized handle and simply keeps the knife in his pocket with no clip with NO problems reported. I own the izula 2 and prefer the micarta and longer handles as I have large hands.Both knives arrived hair popping sharp.My use for this knife is a skinner the sits in my pack so I do not need a clip or any neck carry accessories. For this use this is the perfect blade for me.
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 4 stars out of 5
Louie
Tolland, Conn.
Aug 06, 2009
Pros: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

Decent knife, should cost $20 less

This is very concealable knife despite the bulky (though functional) sheath. The trade-off is that the handle is a little small in my larger-sized hand. Cord-wrapping improved my grip. Nice finish and the razor-sharp edge seems to be holding up well. The quality of this knife is evident, however its size and simplicity of construction belie justification for its price. This knife is good, but it ain't $50+ good.
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 4 stars out of 5
Taczac
Torrance Ca
Dec 02, 2011
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

I really wanted to love this knife.

I am a knife collector and edc user. I bought this knife because of its reputation, great looks, and steel. I don't want to be the only hater on this nice little knife but I guess I am. It might see some use in the back country but for edc its just not for me. It came razor sharp and perfect fit and finish. The sheath is tight and well made but leaves a bit to be desired. I just couldn't find a comfortable way to carry it. Guess I'll stick with my Spydercos for edc.
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 4 stars out of 5
Connor M.
Boulder, CO
Apr 02, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Finish

Esse Izula

Excellent blade. Bought this as a lightweight camping and utility blade mainly for backpacking. Very good quality materials, and very versatile. The small size makes it easy to wield for simple camp jobs and is light on the hip or in pack. Very tough knife, does not bend or chip even under the heaviest abuse. Great for survival, tough for battoning, and good hunting knife too. Sheath is nice, holds knife solidly in place with no wiggle for safe carry around the neck. The skeletonized handle is not very comfortable to hold but i wrapped mine in paracord. Not only does this make it easier and more comfortable to grip, but it also assures that you will always have a few feet of paracord with you in a survival situation. For the price and versatility, it can't be beat. Only con for me was the knife's sharpness out of the box. It was pretty dull, but after a few minutes of sharpening it and wearing down the black oxidized coating, i got it to be razor sharp and once sharpened, the edge holds forever. Overall, fantastic knife and for just over $40, you can not buy a better small fixed blade.
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 4 stars out of 5
"Monkey In A Conrete Jungle"
America
Sep 15, 2009
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

Shucks.

I gave this knife a 4 because I can't break it. :] A knife with fives stars is probably one that's too pretty and perfect to be as indestructible as this work of metal. Repeated throws against the concrete and massive torqueage on the handle. Nada. The edge is chipped and chinked here and there, but i don't really care. This knife has proven abuse worthy.
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 4 stars out of 5
Harold P
Sep 06, 2012
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

Nice product

I haven't used this knife very much but the little use I have done with it, it has performed perfectly! The steel on this knife is a very nice choice for a blade, I believe it could take quite a beating. Sharpening it is very easy, I used the spyderco tri angle sharp maker and ended up with a very sharp edge. This could be a great survival/edc depending on your lifestyle.
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 3 stars out of 5
Alex
Switzerland
Jan 17, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Materials
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, None

Price/Quality OK

Nice to hold, light, easy to throw and hide. Be careful about the size.
ESEE Knives IZULA-B Neck Knife Fixed 2.875" 1095 Carbon Blade, Black Powder Coat, Black Sheath, Clip Plate
rated 1 stars out of 5
Terry
tropics
Aug 04, 2010
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Material, Materials, Finish

Not for the tropics

this knife was obviously not meant for the tropics. anyone who does jungle survival or outdoor activities in Southeast Asia will know that the humidity and dampness are survival factors that have to be negotiated. the blade is not rust-proof and is thus a long-term problem for jungle rats in the tropics. when you're tired and sleep-deprived, the last thing you want to do is to clean and oil your knife at the end of the day. you want a knife that you can put aside with absolutely no fuss when soaked in fatigue, and then use again you need 100% performance. in such cases, stainless steel is the best. the izula is cute and sharp - but for the long-term, in the tropics, its a no-no.