Reviews and Ratings for Schrade KM1 Large Kurki Machete 13.3" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone - SCHKM1

Schrade KM1 Large Kurki Machete 13.3" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stonerated 4.125 stars out of 5 (8 reviews)
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
1
Schrade KM1 Large Kurki Machete 13.3 inch 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone

 

Price: $35.95

Save $25.04 (41%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Schrade KM1 Large Kurki Machete 13.3" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Adrian J.
Biasca,
May 13, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Very useful tool
This machete is a must have if you are into camping and hiking. it is very lightweight and perfectly designed to chop all kinds of branches. its long enough to be useful in any situation and its short enough to be easy to carry around. Right after unboxing it i could cut trough paper with no problem and after a little test where i was cutting palm branches it still didnt lose its sharpness. Personally I was researching for various machetes for about 2 months before choosing to buy this one, and I can say that it will accompany me in my future adventures!
Schrade KM1 Large Kurki Machete 13.3" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert
Florida
Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Bad assss tool
For this price range you can't go wrong with this beast.I would venture off into the woods with this setup and feel confident about my survival.
Schrade KM1 Large Kurki Machete 13.3" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nick Gab
Plymouth, MN
May 02, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Mostly Satisfied
Everything about the machete is great. The weight feels right, the handle is very comfortable. The blade material is good quality. However, the sharpness was not good. I was under the impression that it comes sharp out of the box. Mine could not even cut regular paper. To be fair though, one or two blades tend to slip through the works, so I'm assuming that is what happened with mine. Don't let this review stop others from buying the kukri machete, it really is a good buy for a low price. And since it does come with a sharpening stone, I'll just put that to use.
Schrade KM1 Large Kurki Machete 13.3" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rod
New Zealand
Feb 17, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Big Fella
I just recently purchased a KM1 after having it recommended by a friend who also has one, my job consists of walking the main high pressure gas line through some extremely rugged back country, swamps, steep terrain, river crossings and traversing through under growth and thick bush here in New Zealand. This tool has proved itself to be an extremely valuable asset when cutting and clearing tracks through thick scrub, under growth and bush, i have had "other" machetes (quite a few in fact) break, blade twist or split and chip, or handles just fall off on me in situations where we have needed them to perform, the KM1 has not failed me and has proven to be a reliable mainstay of my field survival kit and shall remain so for a long time to come. The handle grip is well designed with the palm swell positioned for maximum grip in all weather conditions (including very hot days when my hands would sweat), the blade is shaped with the right amount of curve to get through some thick under growth, i can only imagine the holes in the top of the blade are there to reduce the overall weight, other wise i have yet to find a use for them, the sheath is absolutely great and a well thought out design, i used the shoulder strap to wrap around my field kit and secured the KM1 (or as i call it, "the big fella") to my bag or daypack, the smaller leg holster type straps i have used to secure other things to my kit, very useful indeed. It has come to the point where even if i go for a short day hike with the family i will bring the "Big fella" with me, i have come to rely on it and have had no troubles with it at all, great design, great blade, and great value, i feel as though i have ripped schrade off given the low price asked for such a high quality tool.... I highly recommend this product to anyone serious about outdoorsmanship
Schrade KM1 Large Kurki Machete 13.3" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Allen F.
Wisconsin
Aug 08, 2014
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Material, None
many various camping tasks
Schrade KM1 Large Kurki Machete 13.3" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tom
New Zealand
Apr 17, 2018
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Solid machete
Have used it a few times now so can't speak for longevity but good so far, used to clear old logging track of BlackBerry and gorse mainly, clears the smaller stuff well and has no problem chopping through a decent sized gorse bush trunk if needed. -Comfortable handle with good grip -Nice amount of weight in the blade and comes sharp enough out of the box -sheath is pretty good I wish it had molle style clips but not a biggie.
Schrade KM1 Large Kurki Machete 13.3" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jose
france
Feb 21, 2018
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Materials, Finish
review large schrade KM1SM kukri machete. good for the price.
i received mine with the blade bent , but can be easely fixed . good price. not very sharp out of the box. mild steel.stainless steel. blade too thick. (4mm) but still effective. excellent shape.(handle and blade) blackpowder finish a little bit messy when sharpening.(and toxic)
Schrade KM1 Large Kurki Machete 13.3" 3Cr13 Stainless Blade, Safe-T-Grip Handle, Ferro Fire Steel and Sharpening Stone
rated 1 stars out of 5
Damian W
Henniker NH.
Dec 28, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Material
Piece of Crap
Well I hate to be the bearer of bad news but I just purchased the SCHKM1 for $ 80 and was so excited to use it. It came with a free winter hat with 2 LED light bulbs well hidden in the front so this is why I justified the cost. I took my three kids who are 6, 7, and 10 out in the woods to see if we could make a quick shelter and pass on some skills they would be able to use in the future. Well 5 wacks into a green pine sapling and the blade split in half longways ( as if it were 2 seperate 1/16 inch full blades laminated together) about a 6 inch chunk broke off and fell to the ground and there was rust between the piece that broke off and the remaining blade. I figured I would continue to chop and in less than an hour of cutting the same soft pine the blade looks serated as bits and pieces have busted off the entire length of the blade. There is no way this piece of crap is made of stainless steel. Unless I got the one they made on a friday before a long weekend then I am giving it negative 5 stars. Sorry but disappointment is the only thing I can say. Show less