Reviews and Ratings for SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath - F01TN-CP

SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheathrated 4.561 stars out of 5 (82 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
55
4 star
23
3 star
0
2 star
3
1 star
1
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75 inch Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath

 

Price: $48.95

Save $11.00 (18%) Off Retail

View Product Details
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ivan
USA
Jan 03, 2019
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
A really nice small SOG Tactical Tomahawk (Axe)
This small tactical tomahawk Axe arrived with a really sharp ground blade all handle hardware was tight, the Axe looked like in had a quality build and a quality finish. This not an Axe to chop down a large tree, but it can do a lot of chopping of your firewood needs. I took it out and gave it a quick testing chopping on a really hard old log and it preformed great, blade showed no signs of chipping and remained very sharp the handle remained tight at the Axe blade with no signs of a failure. The included nylon sheath will protect you from handling harm, and it fits tightly to the Axe with a good large snap. I will be doing a longer testing later but keep in mind this is a small tactical tomahawk , it will demand respect of anyone seeking to harm you, no one in their right mind will want to get in the way of a swing with this simple tool. I feel for a small lite weight Axe this SOG product will work just fine for my needs. And again the Knife Center provided quick shipping of this item.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Shelby
TN.
Mar 15, 2013
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great
Better quality than I expected for the price. Nice feel and weight and I really like the longer hand makes it easier the use
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Policeman
Maryland
Jun 12, 2009
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
For the money this is an excellent buy!! It is an impressive chopper. I carry it in my patrol car when on duty and have used it to chop up medium sized trees that fell into the road during a storm. The spike is somewhat dull. The blade is devastating. With a hard swing it will sink two and a half inches into green wood and that's across the grain. I have cut a 1.5 inch sapling in one swing. I haven't gotten to use it for breaching but I would say be careful not to hit anything too hard as the edge is quite thin and would chip if you hit rocks, concrete and probably thick metal. Its a trade off... thin sharp blade for extreme slashing and chopping of wood and flesh vs. a thick, dull edge for cutting through sheet metal and concrete. Plus it just looks intimidating.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jr
Florida
Feb 16, 2016
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great item
Great for nearly everything and came sharp, ready for work!
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Randall
Knoxville, TN
Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Construction, Handle Material, Head Material
Cons: None
light, and sturdy
Excellent construction and weight distribution. My grandson, who is a Boy Scout, loves it!
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stephen K.
Pensacola, Fl
Sep 24, 2012
Pros: Weight, Construction, Balance
Cons: None
Nice product!
This is in my emergency evacuation kit. (hurricane country). You never know when you need to cut away branches from an impassable road, secure nails, or even emergency breaching. During the last storm we had people in our area, trapped in attics, without tools, and rising water levels. It is light enough to throw in my bag, and has enough heft behind it to cut through thick branches.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike Ike
Elko, Nevada
Aug 09, 2011
Pros: Construction, Head Material, Balance
Cons: None
SOG Fusion
I am camping later this summer and this tool is exactly what I needed. The information describing the tomahawk on your web site was right on!
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
D. Moore
La Mesa, CA
Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great product
This is a great product for car use in emergencies like breaking out windows if trapped in a crash also camping all around use.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Knife Enthusiast
Texas
Dec 28, 2013
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
A Survival Must Have
I love this tomahawk. It is rugged and a good thrower. If I had to take one thing to use in a survival situation, it may be this tomahawk. The belt-loop on the sheath is pathetic, for storage, I would take a belt or something so that you can tuck the 'hawk into that. Overall, IF YOU ARE AN OUTDOORS KIND OF PERSON, GET THIS. YOU WON'T BE SORRY!
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mol
CT
Dec 23, 2010
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
SOG Fusion Tomahawk
The tomahawk is very sharp, well constructed with a weight forward balance.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kelly502
Arkansas
Jun 20, 2015
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great axe!
I put this thing through some abuse. I've spent several days throwing this axe into a 4by4 leaned against a tree, it flies true and penetrates the wood with ease. I didn't sharpen it at all during the abuse tests. Finally, when I decided I was done, I looked the axe over, she is solid, it remains sharp enough to chop wood. My thoughts afterwards, well I bought two more. I'm out of the Infantry now but if I was still in I would carry one on me, I would also give my team one each. What I'm getting at is I would trust this piece of equipment to get me through any and all close quarters fighting if my main gun was down, and I couldn't reload immediately due to the quickness of close fighting. So if you have a love for axes, this one will probably outlast the owner! Holds a sharp edge, and the spike is a good penetrator, it punches through things well, I'm half tempted to punch it through an old Kevlar helmet I have to see how she does, since really that's what the spike is for, punching through a helmet to stop the threat in front of you. Other than that the spike is not something you won't want to sharpen if you're not going to use it for fighting.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Angel
US
May 11, 2012
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Excellent product
Excellent product
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Manuel
Fort Wayne, ION
Nov 15, 2014
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Fast service, no issues
Enjoy feel of this tomahawk, good balance, quality craftsmanship, excellent edge on blade. This one is in my car in case of emergencies (or in case a would be carjacker would like to try and take a shot at the title.....)
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sebastien
Quebec, Canada
Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great and solid
Very well made throwing axe! Best bang for the buck you'll find! Compare to many others, it'll take a LOT of abuse!
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charles R
Normal, Il
May 25, 2012
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
New Hawk.
I had been eying this hawk for some time before I found the deal I was looking for, apparently it was Tomahawk Christmas down at the local Wal-Mart and I was able to purchase and subsequently fall in love with it's little brother the Fast Hawk, Knifecenter made my day with a phenomenal sale and that was all the excuse I needed. Haven't thrown it any yet, but all signs point to it being a quality tool. Good weight and feel, not as facile as the Fast Hawk but she's got more reach. The sheath isn't bad, but the belt loop seems a bit small to me. No matter, I run it on my pack or let it ride in one of those Mag-Lite flashlight holders looped on my belt. These days I let me Ma hold onto the Fast Hawk and I run the full-size Tactical. Another quality product from SOG.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wilson
Elkins, WV
Mar 25, 2020
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Weight
Best Tomahawk on the market
First SOG tomahawk I've owned. Have plenty of their knives and I'm not crazy about them. The craftsmanship isn't great on their pocket knives. But this tomahawk I've had for 2 years now. I use it to throw. That's what I bought it for. Most say It's a little on the heavy side for a tomahawk and I agree but I love its weight. But it gives me a perfect throw almost every time. Only con to it is that I cant throw it as long range distance as my others, other than that I'm most accurate with the SOG. I even use it to split Kinlin with bc its heavy enough, unlike other tomahawks that are way to light to actually to any damage with. It's made with great steel. Stays sharp and is easy to re-sharpen. 1 of the 2 years I've owned it I had lost it and it was in the middle of my field for a whole year the only part that was rusted was the torx bolts on it and the rust came off easily using a piece of emery cloth. Definitely recommend 5 stars
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Doc Olson
Kane, Pa
Aug 28, 2009
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
SOG Fusion Tomahawk
"Blade" magazine had a review/testing on several "tactical" tomahawks and the SOG Fusion came out on top. So this is the one I bought from Knife Center at a great price. I am impressed with the quality of the materials used, its construction and design. I am definitely going to carry it on my hunting trips. It has enough weight to function well as a hatchet and survival tool.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
John K
California
Feb 22, 2013
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Awesome Hawk
Very well built and sharp as a razor.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dane
ks
Dec 09, 2014
Pros: Weight, Construction, Balance
Cons: None
Good tomahawk
I've just used it for some light chopping, trimming branches etc. The weight and balance feels great, it just wants to chop something. The edge was sharp enough to shave out of the box. I like the handle length, I think its just right for the head size.was a good enough deal for me
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim
California
May 06, 2013
Pros: Construction, Head Material, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Nice
For the price I think it is great. I just wanted something for the go pack I keep in my car. This works. We threw it a few times and manged to stick it a few times. I don't intend to use it for that purpose but it was fun.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mr. C.
Virginia
Oct 14, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Kills well.
Does the job it was made for. Hollowed areas in blade carried over more splash than I thought they might, and a bit of gore in them after.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Spike
FL
Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
ISIS Repellant
Keep in my Harley Road King saddlebag for first responder or self defense situations.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Z
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
You do want this
Oh man I like this thing. Took it on a few night camping trip and it is a great tool and a fun toy. This is great for throwing, it is nicely balanced!
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Peter K
Missoula MT
May 04, 2012
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great tool
The lightest functional hatchet/tomahawk I have used. Works very well to chop through stems because of its relatively narrow blade but good weight behind the head. Handle is synthetic and very durable. Back spike serves many uses including digging. I will carry this backpacking and hunting in the mountains as the best all-around tool there is. Steel appears to be good quality. The person who designed this had his/her act together!
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Futureseal24
Atlanta Georgia
Dec 24, 2010
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Fantastic
Fantastic multi-purpose axe. Great for throwing and small chopping needs. Came with a great edge and great balance.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bobcat
Klamath falls, Oregon
Dec 13, 2017
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
As a Wilderness Survival Instructor i use the SOG tactical tomahawk.
I use the tomahawk to chop limbs for lean-to, dead falls. I have used it as a hammer, as well as a digging tool. I have also used it to kill small caught in my traps. As a Wilderness Survival Instructor I strongly endorse this tomahawk. Thank you for an excellent tool.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Manuel
Fort
Nov 15, 2014
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Fast service, no issues
Enjoy feel of this tomahawk, good balance, quality craftsmanship, excellent edge on blade. This one is in my car in case of emergencies.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wellington1
Queensland Australia
Dec 09, 2009
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
SOG FUSION TOMAHAWK
Will be used for camping chores, and various tasks on manuevres. It is incredibly sharp, well balanced, and seems quite strong. To be honest I can't think of anything bad about it.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Woodsman
Maine
Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Sog F01T Tomahawk
This is my second one and I am very pleased with the Tomahawk and the service delivered. KnifeCenter.com always meets my expectations.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom H
Illinois
Mar 04, 2017
Pros: Weight, Balance, None
Cons: Construction
Light 'n' Fast -Durable?
For the low price, this is a 5 star 'hawk. The purpose is tactical/defense, and it is light, fast, and fairly sturdy for that purpose. This is not a combat, or extraction/breaching 'hawk, meaning it is not built to stand up to continual abuse (handle attachment will always be the weak point). Look at S&W 671 E&E, or Browning Black Label Shock 'N' Awe if you want something full tang, and tougher than your mother-in-law, that you could hand down to your great-grand kids when your through using it (both available at Knife Center).
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Russ
North woods
Feb 07, 2017
Pros: Construction, Weight, Balance
Cons: Handle Material, None
Get one no get two..
Perfect..It's a SOG..Put one in the truck and one on your hip..Wife got me one I love it got another for the truck I was impressed.5 stars sure their are better for alot more but price point SOGs are a good bet. If you need better god help you..Knife center you to get 5 stars.. Always fast shipping and good service..
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Monkey
Japan
Mar 25, 2011
Pros: Construction, Balance, Weight, Head Material, None
Cons: Balance, Weight, Construction, Head Material
For the camp.
The item which is the optimal for the camp.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sentinel Six
Clymer, Pa
Sep 22, 2012
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
You just can't go wrong with SOG!
This is a superb tool for what it is intended for. This is first and foremost a weapon. It is not primarily designed to be a camp hatchet, a splitting maul, or a back yard gardening tool, although it could be pressed into service as those things. It just won't be as great at it as a tool designed exactly for those things. The secondary role where it would do best is a camp hatchet, because it is about the right size, weight, and design to do that job pretty well, if you only had to carry one tool with you. Now in use, I have not done edge retention tests on this yet because I have only thrown it, and done some chopping around the campsite. I did use it to clear out some small 2-4 inch trees around out throwing lane, and it did a damn fine job, and so far I have not needed to sharpen it. The edge is still very sharp. What about throwing, you ask? Well, this thing is designed for that very thing (as well as CQB) and it performs exactly as intended, provided you do your part. Throw it right and it sticks every time. As far as CQB, let's just say it has the weight, edges and design to get the job done in the most efficient manner possible. If you have this in your hand, just about the only thing that may worry you is a firearm. While it's a serious weapon, it's damn neat and cool just to own it for fun too. While there are many other more expensive options out there, I can't really see the need to spend the money on them. The only exception I can see to that is the guys kicking in doors over in the sandbox, but even then - I think this is robust enough for them to rely upon to keep them on this side of the great unknown. The only down side is the sheath that comes with it. Spend the extra money and get the Kydex one. It's worth it.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Don F.
Evergreen
Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
The best tomahawk I've ever had!
I mostly use the product for throwing and such and they are amazing for that and really durable. Just wish they were a little bigger though...
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mol
berlin, ct
Feb 07, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
great axe
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jd
Richmond VA
Feb 09, 2015
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Sog Tomahawk is Great
Great for camping, weighted perfectly and even with the small edge size it is great for simple outdoors purposes, or any zombie invasion!
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Chicago
Jan 07, 2013
Pros: Weight, Head Material, None
Cons: Handle Material
Good Tomahawk
Foe the money this is the best in its class, i enjoy this all the time.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ralph W
Quinton, Al
May 17, 2012
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Good overall tomahawk
This is a great tomahawk, and I wouldn't recommend any other brand than SOG for this useful tool. It came out of the box very sharp. Just dropping the weight of the axe on a limb about 2 inches in diameter cut clean through it. It has a lot of weight at the head which provides a powerful swing with every slice. It also as a very neat handle, even when wet it wouldn't slip out of my hands.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Russ D
Axton Va
Sep 16, 2011
Pros: Construction, Handle Material, Balance
Cons: None
Bulletproof
Tough,powerful, and accurate if thrown!
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hawkeye75
California
Aug 26, 2019
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
great tomahawk
I have had this tomahawk for a few years and it's a good tool. A big reason I chose it was handle construction which is as stout as it looks. Takes and holds a good edge on both sides. The only thing I didn't like when I got it was the tip on the spike which was reshaped with no problem. The sheath works good but took a little getting used to, overall well worth my money.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dick D
Virginia Beach, VA
Sep 23, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
TOMAHAWK!!!
Exactly what I wanted!
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kyle
South Carolina
Apr 11, 2011
Pros: Construction, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Handle Material, None
Super Sharp
Sharpest Blade ever
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gilbert Giu
odenton maryland
Apr 25, 2013
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
sog fo1t tactical tomahawk
This productt t is well made and a good value as only th knife center can provide thanks again for another wonderful product Gil
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
K
College of Charleston, SC
Sep 21, 2010
Pros: Construction, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Handle Material, Balance, None
Fantastic
It is the perfect weight, size, and blade. The blade is sharp enough to shave with.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Blake
Seattle
Nov 13, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Good Buy
Great tool. The value couldn't be beat.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Barry
Nov 30, 2008
Pros: Balance, Construction, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Handle Material, None
great balance, makes a good thrower
I am carrying as part of my field kit - great balance, makes a good thrower if I was dumb enough to throw a weapon this good away. Have used to force open a number of things, with both ends. Worried about the handle strength but it has held up so far. Handy for field craft, very intimidating in the combatives mode and useful for breaching.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jose
Caguas P.R.
Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Balance, Construction, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Handle Material, None
awesome tomahawk
The tactical tomahawk I purchased was exactly as advertised, sharp and perfect for my preppers kit. It was shipped promptly, and I received it sooner than I expected."
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tracker
Illinois
Dec 31, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
My Best Thrower
I have several tomahawks, both modern and traditional, and today I threw my SOG for the first time. I had read accounts of the handle breaking at the ferrule and was afraid of injuring my hawk. Well, I was amazed at what a fabulous thrower it is! The slight upsweep at the top of the blade just blasts into my hawk block like nothing I have ever seen. The shape and extreme sharpness resulted in three big pieces of my 4" thick hawk block falling out of the original round slice of tree. No loosening was evident after about 30 throws. The spike end is very helpful in getting the blade out of the block. I think I'll get a second one to have in reserve before the do-gooders outlaw these. Another great design from SOG!
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Darren W.
Florida
Mar 31, 2012
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Field tested for over a year!
We have a group that field trains for 3 consecutive days and 2 nights every month. Many of us have this item in our gear and they are used extensively. Harsh elements and rough use have proven this item to be an excellent survival tool!
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Timothy S
Fort Myers, Fl
Oct 09, 2015
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
SOG TOMAHAWK
Incredible Tomahawk, very sharp, as sharp as a knife, well balanced. This can be used around the yard or saved for hiking, camping, or to fight off the Zombies! I bought 2 of them for that priceollll
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Ruston , La
May 25, 2017
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great Tomahawk
Awesome tomahawk! Has a great "feel" to it. I like the weight of it. It is not overly large, but is good and sturdy and has a good heaviness to it that I like. I buy things like this more for show than use, and it looks great where I have it hanging.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brian U.
Colorado Springs, CO
Jun 27, 2012
Pros: Weight, Balance
Cons: None
Excellent!
Great for throwing, I was worried that it might break after excessive use, but I have been pleasantly surprised. I have thrown it at least 2000 times and it is still holding up.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Frank
Long Island, NY
Apr 11, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
1st Tomahawk
Very happy with the quality of this tomahawk.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bruce
Ohio
Nov 08, 2012
Pros: Balance
Cons: None
Two words love it. Had doubts about lack of full tang but no problems so far no heavy use as of yet but willl be putting it to the test soon.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jason M
Yorba Linda, CA
May 15, 2012
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Handle Material
It's the right weight and size to carry around and not wear you down!
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Larry
Ohio
Dec 25, 2014
Pros: Balance, Handle Material, Construction, Head Material
Cons: Weight, None
Feels great, nice handle, ordering 2 more for gifts Product was shipped out very quick
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Steve
crAkron
May 23, 2012
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Head Material
Cons: None
Just what I needed
This is going to be an all around tool. It will be carried in my work car and on camping trips.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Non
Oct 21, 2009
Pros: Handle Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Balance
It's reasonable, but the axe which is Good
When you're reasonable for "emergency situation", and the axe which can be trusted is bought, this axe is a nice choice!
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Be Prepared
a very cold place
Feb 20, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
i keep this in my truck as an emergency tool,window breaking/raking, car roof cutting,door prying etc. i plan to get another 1 to carry on the ice while ice fishing but might get the cold steel trench hawk for the hook end that i hope i wont need to use
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bluewater Man
Jacksonville, FL
Aug 18, 2009
Pros: Balance, Construction, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Handle Material, None
Tactical Tomahawk
Only real complaint is that the handle is somewhat hard to maintain a good hold on when extremely dry or if sweaty or oily. A slip-on textured rubber grip or a paracord wrapping would help immensely.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ricky S
Staunton VA
Jul 11, 2012
Pros: Construction, Balance, Weight, Head Material
Cons: None
Tactical Tomahawk. SOG FO1T
Have it in my jeep to help clear the way
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Matt
canada
Nov 04, 2012
Pros: Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: Head Material, None
ive put this through hell
this product kicks ass. i have beat the hell out of this product and this has held together over hundreds (not an exaggeration literally hundreds)of throws, chopping wood, and accidentally killing a god damn squirrel. Aside from the steel this product is awesome. chipped it on a rock but sharpened it right back out. perfect length, cold steel is just a short axe and the vietnam hawks are 12 inches...... what am i supposed to do with that? this is a good length. well done.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
M.C
Southeast Asia
Sep 25, 2019
Pros: Weight, Construction
Cons: None
Solid tomahawk
I mainly use this tomahawk to chop down small and medium sized trees. The tomahawk is tough and it does not feel heavy when i use it. Overall, it's feels light enough and it is tough. It performed much more than i thought it would. A very capable and solid tomahawk.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Eric
Northern California
Jan 07, 2013
Pros: Weight, Head Material, Balance
Cons: None
GREAT
I got this as a gift for a friend, he took me out with him to try it out this weekend. It is great, light and cuts great. It feels pretty good in the hand, but we didn't use it too long so not sure how it will hold up for long periods of use and how the grip will feel as well after long use. Nice buy, and great price.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chris
Duluth
Jan 29, 2013
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
good
Nice Item - will come in handly out in the woods ..
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tdawgee
mchenry,Illinois
Mar 24, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Construction, Head Material
Cons: Balance, None
chose over cold steel vietnam tomahawk
Was Shopping Around for a tomahawk.Was looking at Cold steel,Have not Used It Yet,Looks good Overall.I Like The Tough Fiberglass Instead of Wood,However I Think They could have made It a bit more "grippy",Handle Is A little Slick,I Fixed the problem With some Sports Tape
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Sj
Ca
Mar 10, 2013
Pros: Balance, Construction, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Handle Material, None
Great cheap Hawk by SOG
Title says it all, SOG yet again makes a great product. Though it only gets a 4 due to the fact that the handle is glass-filled nylon and it has to be specially made for the hawk, you have to send it to SOG to get it replaced if it breaks, and i suggest getting the Hard nylon sheath since the cordura one is cheaply made.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Colbuckshot
Florida
Oct 11, 2011
Pros: Construction, Head Material, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
should do the job
Should be able to handle any job comparable size hachet could do, only looks sexier
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Average Person
St. Louis, Mo
Sep 10, 2009
Pros: Balance, Handle Material, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Construction, None
My review of the SOG Fusion Tomahawk.
When I received my tomahawk in the mail I immediately took it to my friends house (who happens to have a old tree he wants to chop down) and started throwing! The tomahawk has pretty good balance and I got pretty good at sticking the tree from about 8' and 16'. Both the blade and the spike had good penetration, not to mention the handle proved to be quite durable on the throws I botched! So after five hours of throwing, it held up pretty well and remained fairly sharp! My only complaint is that the head got a little loose, but after hammering the steel ring a little further over the wedge and it seems to have fixed it...
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Terry
Northeast Ohio
Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Balance, Weight, Head Material
Cons: None
I already own the smaller SOG Tomahawk and liked it but I wanted one that had a larger cutting edge and more weight. I love this one overall. I made my own sheath though. I like to draw the hawk up not down. The set screws on the handle came loose after some hard use. I like the weight and balance. As always Knife Center,s shipping was fast.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Alan
Loris, SC
Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Construction, Balance, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great product, fine price
I've wanted one of these for a while, so when Knife Center advertised them at a great sale price, I bought one. Really good balance, and throws well. My one surprise was how dull the factory edge was. I loaded the coarse belt on my Work Sharp and had a razor edge on it in just a few passes. Like everyone notes, the nylon sheath is really poor, but other than those two observations, the tomahawk itself is super.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Richard L.
Denver, Co.
Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
SOG F01T Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
Nice Product. Very handy in the camp. Thank you, Richard.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Richard L.
Denver, Co
Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
SOG F01T Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
Great camping and throwing axe.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Keith
new HAVEN CT
May 14, 2012
Pros: Construction
Cons: None
good construction
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Nicolas
Paris (France)
Nov 06, 2014
Pros: Head Material, Construction, None
Cons: Balance, Handle Material
No surprise
Solid contruction, very sharp but the handle is a little bit short.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Anthony G. Wilson
Alabama
Jun 17, 2009
Pros: Head Material, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: Balance, None
Seems well made of good quality materials. Should hold up to rough and rigourous use.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dave-O-Matic
I'm from Texas, what country are you from?
Jan 14, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Its a tomahawk!
How could you not need one? This is my first one, and it well exceeded my expectations for the price.I've seen a ton of videos of guys throwing, and hacking into everything with this sog tomahawk. I plan on not bashing this into crap I dont mean to destroy, but I'm sure it will handle any task I need a hawk for. the best I've heard about this hawk is its not great at any one thing, but good at just about everything. If you need to chop wood, buy an axe.if you need to drive stakes, buy a hammer. If you need to kill something, buy a gun. If you want something that can hack at all those things, get this hawk!
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Oldtimerbought
KCMO
Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Balance, Construction, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Handle Material, None
Measures Up
Bought based on price & prior reviews. Very satisfied. Only negative, handle felt too thin & would have liked a knob at end to avoid slipping. Hefty & sturdy.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
American Chopper
Kansas City, MO
May 26, 2012
Pros: Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: Head Material, None
decent contruction, poor steel
I have wanted a Vietnam style tomahawk for a while and I liked the tactical look of this particular model. The one thing I was worried about was the 420 steel. Some may like it, but I have not had a good experience with 420 stainless steel. When I decided to get it, I was amazed by the hair-shaving edge on the blade. When I cut through the cardboard box that it came in (as I always do) the blade was already no longer shaving sharp. After chopping with it for a short time, the blade had become dull. My Cold Steel rifleman's hawk has cut through at least 50 more saplings and boxes and I have never had to sharpen it. I will stick with cold steel tomahawks and carbon steel. Sog, you can keep your 420 stainless, because I want nothing to do with it.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Joe
Ma
Jun 20, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: Weight, Construction
Blade quality
Blade had delamination issues when I opened it.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Barry
South West Asia
Oct 02, 2009
Pros: Head Material, Weight, Balance
Cons: Handle Material, None
Handle didn't hold up
I gave this hawk high marks in an earlier review. Having to rethink it now. Handle broke off clean at the ferrule. I carried as a part of my combat kit but no longer - at least until I can find something strong enough to make a new handle. Using my fall back Cold Steel riflemans hawk until I come up with a plan. SOGs warranty is useless. for $35, they'll replace the whole thing - all i need is the handle. I may do it anyway cause it sure throws sweet and sticks deep.
SOG Tactical Tomahawk 15.75" Overall, Black, Nylon Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Dissapointed
IN
Jan 26, 2010
Pros: None
Cons: Handle Material
Cannot recommend
I cannot recommend this product. I purchased one at a gun show for $45 because I like tomahawks and wanted a modern version. Well, after 3 throws into an old maple tree, the head was loose and after 10 throws the handle bulged and broke completely under the steel ferrule. Handle is NOT fiberglass, handle is wood! I am junking this thing and am in the market for a good cast one piece hawk/handle.....